Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Abraham Harriton Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Harriton, Abraham, 1893-1986
Title: Abraham Harriton Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1915-1965
Quantity: 1.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence (1937-1965); personal papers (1950-1952); photographs of Harriton and his work (1918-1962); manuscripts by Harriton on art and artists (1949-1964); scrapbooks (1915-1962); published material (1922-1964); and biographical material.
Abstract: Correspondents include Bernard Berenson, Isabel Bishop, Philip Evergood, Ralph Fabri, Hans Hofmann, Elia Kazan, Leon Kroll, Peter Neagoe, Edward G. Robinson, Raphael Soyer, Max Weber, and the Whitney Museum of American Art.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American Jewish painter. Born in Bucharest, Rumania.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1914 to 1970, the Abraham Harriton Papers comprises correspondence, artwork and memorabilia of the Rumanian-born American Jewish painter. Documenting his professional life, the collection not only illuminates Harriton's growth and development as an artist, but also reflects his political orientation amidst the turbulence of the depression.

Arranged alphabetically, the Correspondence-Subject Files include both incoming and outgoing letters and other material relating to individuals as well as organizations. Correspondents include fellow artists (Isabel Bishop, Sidney Dickinson, Philip Evergood, Marie Zoe Greene, Hans Hofmann, Leon Kroll, Ross Moffett, Katherine Nash, Raphael Soyer, Harwood Steiger, Abraham Walkowitz, Max Weber); art critics and authors (Bernard Berenson, A.L. Chanin, Howard Devree, Edward Alden Jewell, Peter Neagoe, Harry Salpeter); and patrons (Edith Halpert, Joseph H. Hirshhorn, Alexander Z. Kruse, A. Philip McMahon, Henry I. Riker, Ralph E. Samuel). Organizational correspondence encompasses gallery affiliations (ACA Gallery, Anderson Galleries, Garelick's Gallery); museums (Art Institute of Chicago, Carnegie Institute, Metropolitan Museum of Art, National Academy of Design, Whitney Museum of American Art); and professional organizations (An American Group, Audubon Artists, National Institute of Arts and Letters, National Society of Painters in Casein, Inc., Provincetown Art Association).

Artwork includes a single original watercolor sketch and reproductions, both printed and photographic, of Harriton's paintings. In addition, two scrapbooks containing reproductions of Harriton's work, writings, clippings about the artist, and a pencil sketch may also be found among these materials. Arranged by subject, Writings encompass both Harriton's artistic philosophy and painting technique.

Photographs and printed material, including clippings (1914-1964) and exhibition catalogs, invitations and announcements (1915-1968) constitute Memorabilia.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Berenson, Bernard, 1865-1959
Bishop, Isabel, 1902-
Evergood, Philip, 1901-1973
Fabri, Ralph, 1894-
Harriton, Abraham, 1893-1986, Archives
Hofmann, Hans, 1880-1966
Kazan, Elia
Kroll, Leon, 1884-1974
Neagoe, Peter
Robinson, Edward G., 1893-1973
Soyer, Raphael, 1899-1987

Corporate Bodies

Whitney Museum of American Art

Subjects

Art, American
Art, American, 20th century
Artists, Jewish, United States
Jews, American
Painters, United States
Painting, American
Painting, Modern, 20th century, United States
Romanian Americans

Genres and Forms

Articles
Clippings
Correspondence
Exhibition catalogs
Photographs
Press releases
Scrapbooks
Slides

Occupations

Artists
Painters

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Abraham Harriton Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Mar 1997
Revision history: 13 Nov 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 9 Jan 2012 - box numbers revised (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-Subject Files
Box 1 ACA Galleries 1944-1962
Box 1 American Artist 1951, 1960
Box 1 American Artists' Congress - program
Box 1 An American Group 1936
Box 1 Anderson Galleries (New York, NY) 1922 - auction catalog, receipt
Box 1 Archives of American Art 1962
Box 1 Artists for Victory, Inc. 1944-1945
Box 1 Art Institute of Chicago 1938, 1943
Box 1 Audubon Artists, Inc. 1955-1960
Box 1 Berenson, Bernard 1955-1956, undated
Box 1 Bishop, Isabel 1953-1965, undated
Box 1 Bocour, Leonard 1950 undated
Box 1 Carnegie Institute 1941-1950
Box 1 Chanin, A.L. 1950
Box 1 College Art Association 1937
Box 1 Columbia University Press 1955-1956
Devree, Howard
See The New York Times
Box 1 Dickinson, Sidney 1943
Box 1 Dodd, Lamar 1955
Box 1 Downtown Community School (New York, NY) 1956-1958
Box 1 Engle, Michael M. 1959-1960
Box 1 Evergood, Philip 1940-1965
Box 1 Fabri, Ralph 1956
Box 1 Ford Foundation 1960
Box 1 Garelick's Gallery (Detroit, MI) 1956-1957
Box 1 Gayle, Margot 1962
Box 1 Greene, Marie Zoe 1962
Box 1 Halpert, Edith G. 1922
Box 1 [Joseph H.] Hirshhorn Collection 1957
Box 1 Hofmann, Hans 1965
Jewell, Edward Alden
See The New York Times
Box 1 Kazan, Elia 1962
Box 1 Kroll, Leon 1958, 1962
Box 1 Kruse, Alexander Z. 1946
Box 1 McMahon, A. Philip 1930
Box 1 Metropolitan Museum of Art 1941-1955
Box 1 Moffett, Ross 1956, 1962
Box 1 Nash, Katherine 1962
Box 1 National Academy of Design 1918, 1930
Box 1 National Institute of Arts and Letters 1955-1963
Box 1 National Society of Painters in Casein, Inc. 1956
Box 1 Neagoe, Peter 1945
Box 1 The New York Times 1937-1962, n.d.
Box 1 Pfeiffer, Fritz and Hope 1951
Box 1 Piper, Raymond F, 1952-1960
Box 1 Provincetown Art Association, Inc. 1952, 1964
Box 1 Riker, Henry I. 1915
Box 1 Robinson, Edward G. 1939-1940
Box 1 Salpeter, Harry 1937, n.d.
Box 1 Samuel, Ralph E. 1954
Box 1 Silvermine Guild of Artists, Inc. 1963
Box 1 Soyer, Ralph 1950
Box 1 Steiger, Harwood 1937
Box 1 Walkowitz, Abraham n.d.
Box 1 Wares, James A. 1951
Box 1 Weber, Max 1940-1951
Box 1 Whitney Museum of American Art 1936-1962
Box 1 Miscellaneous, A-Z
Artwork
Original
Box 1 Watercolor sketch, untitled
Reproductions
Box 1 Clippings (by title, A-Z)
Box 1 Greeting card 1970
Box 1 Photographs (by title, A-P) (5 folders)
Box 2 Photographs (by title, Q-Z and unidentified) (3 folders)
Box 2 Slides
Box 2 Scrapbooks - 2 scrapbooks, with reproductions, writings, and clippings. Scrapbook 1 contains a single pencil sketch.
Writings (by subject)
Box 2 Artistic philosophy
Box 2 Painting technique
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Memorabilia
Box 2 Photographs - Harriton, ca. 1902-1962
Box 2 Printed material 1914-1960s, n.d. - clippings (7 folders)
Box 3 Exhibitions, invitations, announcements 1915-1968, n.d. (6 folders)
Box 3 Miscellaneous

Return to top