Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Frances Ward Harrington Newspaper Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Harrington, Frances Ward.
Title: Frances Ward Harrington Newspaper Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1783-1940
Quantity: 11 items.
Abstract: 18th and 19th century newspapers from in and around New York State.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frances Ward Harrington (1904?-1990) was an American magazine editor. Born in Wichita, Kansas, she graduated from Syracuse University in 1924. Among other career highlights she was editor of Mademoiselle and editor in chief of Charm magazine.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frances Ward Harrington Newspaper Collection consists of several 18th and 19th century newspapers from in and around New York State. Local newspapers include issues of the Syracuse Daily Star (29 Jul 1846), the Hudson Gazette (8 Feb 1825), the Albany Gazette (11 Nov 1796) and the Western Herald and Steubenville Gazette (17 Oct 1838). There is also a page from Ballou's Pictorial Drawing Room Companion (1856) with illustrations and text about Syracuse.

Of particular interest are the earliest and the most recent items in the collection. The earliest item is an issue of the Pennsylvania Gazette from 16 Jul 1783, which contains the text of a letter from George Washington addressed to the Governors of all the states and written on the occasion of the disbanding of the army. In it he lays out four principles which he believes are "essential to the well-being, I may even say, to the existence of the United States." The fourth item is "that pacific and friendly disposition among the people...which will induce them forget their local prejudices and policies; to make those mutual concessions, which are requisite to the general prosperity; and, in some instances, to sacrifice their individual advantages to the interest of the community."

The most recent item is the 18 Jun 1940 issue of PM, with the large headline, "Hitler Joins Mussolini in Munich" and the sub-headline, "Dictators confer today on price they propose to exact for stopping destruction of France...Unconditional surrender reported only basis for negotiations..."

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The collection originally also included a number of autograph letters and documents from notable individuals, including Mary Queen of Scots, and assorted other items. At the time of processing some could no longer be located. The others have been separate into individual small collections. For a full list, see the finding aids files.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Harrington, Frances Ward -- collector.
Washington, George, 1732-1799.

Associated Titles

Frank Leslie's illustrated newspaper.
Pennsylvania gazette (Philadelphia, Pa.)
Syracuse daily star.

Subjects

Newspapers -- 18th century.
Newspapers -- 19th century.
Newspapers -- New york (State)
World War, 1939-1945 -- Newspapers.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Newspapers.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Newspapers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frances Ward Harrington Newspaper Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Francis Ward Harrington.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 6 Jan 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 21 Nov 2011 - processed, updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Newspapers
Package 1 Spencer Phips 31 May 1756 - Lt. Gov. of Massachusetts; text of speech, printed in newspaper
Package 1 Pennsylvania Gazette, Philadelphia 16 Jul 1783 - contains text of George Washington's letter dated 12 Jun 1783, on disbanding of army
Package 1 Albany Gazette 11 Nov 1796
Package 1 Hudson Gazette 8 Feb 1825
Package 1 The Evening Post (NYC) 20 Feb 1834
Package 1 Western Herald and Steubenville Gazette 17 Oct 1838
Package 1 Syracuse Daily star 29 Jul 1846 - complete issue
Package 1 Ballou's Pictorial Drawing Room Companion 1856 - 2 pages, pictures and text about Syracuse
Package 1 New York Herald 3 Apr 1862
Package 1 Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper 8 Apr 1876 - 1 page
Package 1 PM 18 Jun 1940 - headline: "Hitler Joins Mussolini in Munich"

Return to top