Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Averell Harriman Recordings

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Harriman, W. Averell (William Averell), 1891-1986.
Title: Averell Harriman Recordings
Inclusive Dates: 1955-1956
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Audiorecordings (speeches, interviews) of American politician, businessman and diplomat W. Averell Harriman. There is also one of a speech by John Deane, "With Harriman in Moscow." Several date from Harriman's campaign to be the Democratic Presidential nominee in 1956.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

W. Averell Harriman (1891-1986) was an American politician, businessman and diplomat.

Born in New York City, Harriman attended Groton and Yale and shortly after graduation established a banking business. Highlight of his career include U.S. Ambassador to the Soviet Union (1943-1946) and the United Kingdom (1941 to 1943 and 1946), Secretary of Commerce (1946-1948), Special envoy to Churchill and Stalin, (1941-1946), U.S. Coordinator for the Marshall Plan (1948-1950), Governor of New York (1955-1958), two-time candidate for the Democratic nominaton for President (1952, 1956), Special Representative to the US President for the Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (1963), and US Ambassador-at-large (1965-1969).

John R. Deane (b. 1896), whose voice also appears in this collection, was a U.S. Army officer and head of the U.S. Military Mission in Russia from 1943 to the end of World War II.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Averell Harriman Recordings consists of several phonodisc recordings by or about Harriman. One is vinyl; the others may be metal with plastic coating or some other format.

Recordings of Harriman contains four items. Two are radio shows on which Harriman appeared as a guest, one is a speech to the Radio Advertising Bureau, and the last contains two episodes of a series entitled "Democracy on the Job."

Recordings about Harriman contains two copies of a recording of a speech by Major General John R. Deane, about his experiences with Harriman in Moscow.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Researcher access to the phonodiscs requires advance notice in order to produce a working copy.

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

All recordings have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

For additional manuscript collections containing material relating to Harriman, please search our collections . See in particular the Charles Van Devander Papers. Van Devander was a journalist and Executive Assistant to Governor Harriman.

For additional cataloged and other material by or about Harriman, please search the Classic Catalog .

Governor Harriman was also interviewed as part of the Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection at the Library of Congress.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Alampi, Philip.
Deane, John R. (John Russell), 1896-1982.
Harriman, W. Averell (William Averell), 1891-1986.

Corporate Bodies

Radio Advertising Bureau.
WCBS (Radio station : New York, N.Y.)
WRCA-TV (Television station : New York, N.Y.)

Associated Titles

Democracy on the job.

Subjects

Governors -- United States.
Presidential candidates -- United States -- Biography.
Radio programs -- United States.
Statesmen -- United States -- Biography.

Places

New York (State) -- Politics and government -- 1951-
United States -- Foreign relations -- Russia.

Genres and Forms

Interviews.
Phonograph records.
Speeches.

Occupations

Diplomats.
Legislators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Averell Harriman Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of W. Averell Harriman, circa 1986.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 23 May 2011
Revision history: 8 Mar 2012 - added digitization info (MRC); 09 Dec 2016 - corrected item numbering (PJM)

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

All recordings have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Recordings of Harriman
Box 1 Alampi Farm News: Governor Harriman, WRCA-TV 26 Oct 1955 - 33-1/3 rpm, 16", single sided (1 disc) (ID#: harriman_001)
Box 1 The Honorable Averell Harriman Governor of New York Address to the Radio Advertising Bureau Clinic, CBS Radio 13 Oct 1955 - 33-1/3 rpm, 12", double sided (1 disc) (ID#: harriman_002)
Box 1 Democracy on the Job: Program #5 "The Case of Elsie Newton," and Program #6 "The Case of Mrs. Consumer," New York State Commission Against Discrimination undated - 33-1/3 rpm, 10", double sided (1 disc) (ID#: harriman_003)
Box 1 Let's Find Out: Guest Governor Averell Harriman 16 Jan 1955 - 33-1/3 rpm, 12", single-sided; in maroon album stamped in gold on front (5 discs) (ID#: harriman_005 - 009)
Recordings about Harriman
Box 1 With Harriman in Moscow / Excerpts from a speech by Maj. Gen. John R. Deane, Denver, Colorado, Harriman for President Headquarters 16 Jun 1956 - 78rpm, single-sided, "WOR Veritone Process Transcription" (2 copies) , (ID#: harriman_004)

Return to top