Finding Aids
printer friendly version

William Burt Harlow Papers

An inventoryof the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Harlow, William Burt, 1856-
Title: William Burt Harlow Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1832-1923
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Writings and memorabilia of the Harvard-educated teacher, writer and poet from Syracuse, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Burt Harlow (b. 1856) was an American poet and writer. Born in Portland, Maine, his family moved to Syracuse, New York in 1877. Harlow graduated from Harvard University in 1879 and returned to Syracuse as Professor of English Literature, Composition and Rhetoric at Syracuse High School. He published a book of poems (Songs of Syracuse) and a textbook on early English literature which was used by Syracuse University. He traveled in Europe a good deal and wrote accounts of his travels for the Syracuse Post-Standard. In addition to the local newspaper, many of his articles and poems appeared in the New York Tribune, Christian Register, New England Journal of Education, and other publications.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Burt Harlow Papers consists of memorabilia and writings of the American teacher, writer and poet from Syracuse, New York.

Memorabilia contains clippings on various subjects that caught Harlow's interest, in both loose and scrapbook form, and 13 small softcover notebooks used for practicing penmanship. The clippings in the scrapbook are an interesting assortment, ranging from accounts of murders, suicides and tragic accidents to comic poems and from essays to advertisements for various patent remedies.

Writings includes books, clippings and manuscript material. Books contains two copies of Songs of Syracuse, both signed and inscribed by Harlow and both with clippings of additional poems pasted in. Clippings consists of poems, letters to the editor, articles and other published items by Harlow. Sets of clippings on Bermuda and other travel destinations have been pasted into bound volumes, presumably by Harlow. Manuscript material contains the text of two poems and a small notebook with handwritten essays and observations on various topics.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Harlow, William Burt, 1856-
Harlow, William Burt, 1856- -- Songs of Syracuse.

Corporate Bodies

Syracuse High School (Syracuse, N.Y.)

Subjects

English teachers -- New York (State)
Poets, American -- 19th century.
Travel -- Europe -- Personal narratives.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Manuscripts (document genre)
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Poets.
Travel writers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Burt Harlow Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Oct 2011
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Memorabilia
Box 1 Clippings 1907, 1911, 1914, undated - several concern the trial of Edward Mylius, a French journalist jailed for criminal libel for publishing a report that King George V of England was a bigamist
Box 1 Penmanship booklets 1832-1835 - one is inscribed, "Presented by his teachers, for excellent in penmanship"
Box 1 Scrapbook circa 1880-1900 - poems, essays, advertisements, articles, jokes, pictures, anecdotes etc., clipped from various newspapers
Writings
Box 1 Book, Songs of Syracuse 1890 (2 copies)
Box 1 Clippings 1887, 1917, 1920, 1923, undated
Box 1 Clippings 1914-1922 - pasted into bound volumes
Box 1 Manuscripts undated

Return to top