Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Frederick T. Haneman Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Haneman, Frederick Theodore.
Title: Frederick T. Haneman Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1892-1914
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: German-American physician and a prolific author and editor of both medical and general-interest papers and articles
Language: English and German.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frederick Theodore Haneman (circa 1863-after 1940) was a German-American physician and a prolific author and editor of both medical and general-interest papers and articles.

According to the 1930 U.S. Census, Haneman was born in Prussia and came to the United States in 1888; he and his wife Laura, born in New York circa 1874, settled in New Jersey. Their surname is spelt "Hanemon" in the 1910 census. According to Haneman's own biographical statement, written in the third person and included in the collection, he spent "over 30 years on the editorial staff of Funk and Wagnalls Company as a writer for the Literary Digest, the several editions of the Standard Dictionary, the Jewish and Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedias, etc. He also was a collaborator to the latest edition of the International Encyclopedia, the Standard Encyclopedia of the Alcohol Problem, etc. For over ten years he was the editor of a well-known medical journal. During the war he was attached to the Belgian Relief...He is especially interested in sanitation and hygiene, education, history, and political science."

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederick T. Haneman Papers consists of correspondence, medical material, memorabilia, and writings.

Correspondence consists almost entirely of letters from Haneman's wife Laura during a trip to Europe in 1913; some were sent from aboard ship, others from various locations in Europe. The majority of the letters are in German; typed transcripts, also in German and of unknown origin, are present for some of the letters. There is also one letter ro "My dear Son" from "Mother"; internal evidence suggests that the letter is from Laura Haneman to their son Vincent.

Medical material contains clippings and handwritten notes on various remedies for everything from asthma to impotence, and a set of four published papers on the medical and therapeutic uses of radium.

Memorabilia consists of a handwritten document, in German, regarding a coin collection; loose pages from a book entitled Erforschung der Erdrinde (labeled in English, "History of the Discovery of the Earth's Surface"), and three small diaries or daybooks with various sorts of material laid in. Volume 1 (volume numbers are not original but were assigned for identification purposes) includes 20 or so printed and hand-colored pages of coats of arms for various German cities.

Writings, most in English and most handwritten, consist of Haneman's own biographical statement and drafts of various articles and essays. Most were likely written for one of the encyclopedias to which he was a contributor. Topics include radium, sunbathing, alcohol, German history, and politics. Of particular interest is a letter to the editor of the New York Times, annotated as "unpublished," on "Causes of the European War" written in August 1914, less than a month after the outbreak of World War I.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by type or title, with the exception of correspondence which is arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Haneman, Frederick Theodore.
Haneman, Laura.
Saubermann, Sigmund.

Subjects

Alcoholism -- Germany.
Alcoholism -- Study and teaching.
Devices (Heraldry) -- Germany.
Drinking of alcoholic beverages -- Germany.
Drinking of alcoholic beverages -- Health aspects.
Europe -- Description and travel.
Germany -- History.
Medical care -- Germany --19th century.
Medical care -- United States --19th century.
Medicine -- Formulae, receipts, prescriptions.
Medicine, Naval.
Radium -- Therapeutic use.
Sun-baths.
Therapeutics -- History -- 19th century.
World War, 1914-1918 -- Causes.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Commonplace books.
Correspondence.
Drafts.
Manuscripts for publication.
Postcards.

Occupations

Editors.
Physicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederick T. Haneman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Vincent S. Haneman, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 25 Apr 2010
Revision history: 3 Jan 2012 - processed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Laura's letters from Europe 1913
Box 1 Mother 1922
Medical material
Box 1 Advertisements ## - Vapo-Cresolene, Kleanwell toothbrushes, more.
Box 1 Book, Arzneiverordnungen zum Gebrauche für Klinicisten und practische Aerzte von Dr. S. Rabow, Professor an der Universität Lausanne [Drug regulations for the use of clinicians and practicing physicians, by Dr. S. Rabow, Professor at the University of Lausanne] 1892 - inscribed and annotated by Haneman
Box 1 Clippings undated - medical remedies from books, newspapers, etc., in German and English
Box 1 Notes undated - handwritten notes and recipes for remedies, treatment, diagnosis, etc.
Box 1 Papers on radium 1912-1914 - Radium Emanation Therapy with Radio-Rem, Radium Therapy Corporation (circa 1914);The Curative Action of Radium, Dr. Sigmund Saubermann (1914); Radium Emanation and Physiological Processes, Dr. Sigmund Saubermann (1912); An Address on the Progress of Radium-Therapy, Dr. Sigmund Saubermann (1912)
Memorabilia
Box 1 Coin collection documentation ("Münzen = Sammlung") undated - in German; includes hand-drawn family trees of various royal families
Box 1 History of discovery of Earth's surface undated - pages from a facsimile of a 17th century book, Erforschung der Erdrinde [Exploration of the Earth's crust] as well as a few interesting modern book pages with transparent overlays
Box 1 [Volume 1] undated - handwritten quotations in German, English, Latin, Greek; laid in are 20 or so printed hand-colored pages of coats of arms for various German cities
Box 1 [Volume 2] undated - handwritten quotations and other material in German, English, Latin, Greek
Box 1 [Volume 3] undated - quotations, poetry, mostly in German
Writings
Box 1 Biographical statement undated - handwritten
Box 1 Causes of the European War Aug 1914 - handwritten letter to editor of New York Times, in both German and English
Box 1 Germany [alcohol in] undated - draft, mostly handwritten with substantial edits, about 70 pages; statistics, including large tables of data; bibliography, typed (3 folders)
Box 1 Heliotherapeutics undated - two handwritten drafts (2 folders)
Box 1 Hesse undated - short type-written history of the region
Box 1 History of the Secret Tribunal... undated - translation into English of the first 14 or so pages of Histoire Du Tribunal Secret D'après Les Loix Et Les Constitutions De L'empire Germanique by Jean Nicolas Etienne de Bock; typescript
Box 1 Insanity and alcohol undated - typescript
Box 1 Mania a potu undated - handwritten draft
Box 1 Marine krieg chirurgie (misgebraucht) [Naval War Surgery (abuses of)] undated - handwritten draft, in German
Box 1 Marriage and drink undated - handwritten draft of article for Standard Encyclopedia of the Alcohol Problem; includes note to typist about formatting and invoice from typist
Box 1 Miles, Nelson Appleton undated - handwritten draft of biographical article on the United States army officer
Box 1 Nature's drugstore undated - handwritten draft
Box 1 Radium and its use in medicine undated - handwritten draft
Box 1 Sunbathing undated - handwritten draft
Box 1 Fragments, miscellaneous undated

Return to top