Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Winfield S. Hancock Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hancock, Winfield Scott, 1824-1886.
Title: Winfield S. Hancock Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1864-1886
Quantity: 1 volume.
Abstract: American Civil War general. Collection consists of biographical scrapbook, possibly compiled by a John Taylor whose name is stamped on the front.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

General Winfield S. Hancock (1824-1886) was an American Army officer and Civil War general. He is particularly remembered for his personal leadership at the Battle of Gettysburg. He was also the Democratic Party nominee for President in 1880.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Winfield S. Hancock Collection consists of a biographical scrapbook containg photographs, letters, and added biographical information. The collection was possibly compiled by a "John Taylor" whose name is stamped on the front. An itemized list of contents is available in the finding aids file.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hancock, Winfield Scott, 1824-1886.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army.

Subjects

Generals -- United States -- History -- 19th century.

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Winfield S. Hancock Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Oct 2010
Revision history: 16 Feb 2017 - box label updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Memorabilia
Oversize 1 Scrapbook 1864-1886 - letters, photographs, added biographical data on typed cards

Return to top