Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Harry Hanan Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hanan, Harry
Title: Harry Hanan Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1947-1966
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Original daily cartoons and proofs from the newspaper comic strip Louie, correspondence, photographs, and clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Cartoonist Harry Hanan (1916-1982) was born in Liverpool, England on December 14, 1916. He was educated in England and from 1936-1940 was employed as an editorial cartoonist for the Liverpool Evening Express. His syndicated newspaper comic strip Louie ran from 1947 until Hanan's retirement in 1976. Harry Hanan died in 1982.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harry Hanan Papers consists of the following types of materials:

Cartoons: 128 original daily cartoons from the comic strip Louie (1953-1964). Daily cartoon: traces of graphite, zipatone, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 4 ¾ x 17 ½ in.

Clippings: approximately 12 newspaper and magazine clippings about Hanan and his work (includes family pictures) (1947-1950).

Correspondence: several pieces of incoming reader correspondence (1947-1963).

Photographs: 1 portrait of Hanan (undated) and 1 family picture (1948).

Proofs: 27 proof sheets from the comic strip Louie (1964-1966). Proof sheet: 6 daily comic strips per newsprint sheet, 9 x 16 ½ in.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Materials are sorted by type and arranged in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hanan, Harry.

Corporate Bodies

Chicago Tribune-New York News Syndicate.

Associated Titles

Louie (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings.
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Proofs.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harry Hanan Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Harry Hanan, 1966 and 1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Jan 1967
Revision history: 20 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 17 Apr 2009 - revised (MD)

Return to top

Inventory

Louie daily comic strips (284)
Click here for detailed inventory.
Original cartoons (128)
Box 1 1953 Sep - 1964 Dec
Proofs - (27 proof sheets x 6 comic strips per sheet) (156)
Box 1 1964 Nov - 1966 Sep
Clippings (approximately 12)
newspaper and magazine clippings about Hanan and his work (includes family pictures)
Box 1 1947-1950
Correspondence (approximately 12)
incoming correspondence from readers
Box 1 1947-1963
Photographs (2)
Box 1 Hanan family 1948 Nov
handwritten note on back: "the Hanan's arrive in the States"
Box 1 Portrait of Hanan undated

Return to top