Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Wilbur C. Hallenbeck Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hallenbeck, Wilbur C., 1892-1986
Title: Wilbur C. Hallenbeck Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1887-1987
Bulk Dates: 1971-1975
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers consist primarily of correspondence, planning materials and proposals related to the "University Without Walls" program at Roger Williams College in Rhode Island. There are also some reports, pamphlets, books and dissertations.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Wilbur Hallenbeck began his career as a Presbyterian minister, having graduated San Francisco Theological Seminary. In 1932, he received his doctorate from Columbia University Teacher's College in adult education, and joined the faculty as professor of adult education and sociology. Hallenbeck's work included consulting with the United States military in Korea and at the University of Natal in Durban, South Africa. After his retirement in 1958, Hallenbeck held visiting professorships at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, at the University of Michigan and at the University of Wisconsin.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection consists primarily of the proposals, correspondence, and planning materials related to the "University Without Walls" program at Roger Williams College in Rhode Island, where Hallenbeck's son was project director. In addition there are some miscellaneous pamphlets and reports, two books with dedications, and two typescript dissertations. The bulk of the material is dated 1971-1975.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection begins with the "University Without Walls" materials, and is followed by the miscellaneous pamphlets and reports and the dissertations. Each of these three small divisions is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

In particular, see the Joseph W. Jacques Tape Recordings for a tape-recorded interview with Hallenbeck

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hallenbeck, Wilbur C. (Wilbur Chapman), b. 1892, Archives
Verner, Coolie

Corporate Bodies

Roger Williams College
University Without Walls

Subjects

Adult education
Educators, United States

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Pamphlets.
Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Wilbur C. Hallenbeck Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EEA
Date: Jul 1991
Revision history: 1 Jun 2006 - converted to EAD (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

University Without Walls
Box 1 Alternate Learning Project (High School)
Box 1 Clippings
Box 1 Correspondence 1971-1981
Box 1 "Education is Experience" - WCH 1946
Box 1 Evaluation workshop
Box 1 First report 1971?
Box 1 Handbook 1974
Box 1 Information and forms 1974
Box 1 "Non-Collegiate Sector: Statistical Snapshots of Adult Continuing Education" - Address 1974
Box 1 Notes 1973
Box 1 Preliminary planning paper 1973
Box 1 "On Choosing a Facilitator" (proposal) - WCH
Box 1 Union Graduate School proposal 1974
Books
Box 1 Adult Education (C. Verner and A. Booth) 1964 - dedication copy
Box 1 Education for Literacy (R. Narain) 1958 - dedication copy
Box 1 Education in Urban Society (B.J. Chandler, Lindley J. Stiles, and John I. Kitsuse) 1962
Pamphlets and reports
Box 2 Grace Hewell (U.S. Govt.)
Box 2 "History of the Nottingham Mechanic's Institution" 1887
Box 2 Invitation 1978
Box 2 Obituaries, correspondence 1986-1987
Box 2 Pamphlets
Box 2 "Reflections of an Adult Educator" - WCH 1966
Box 2 Reports 1963
Dissertations
Box 1 Dissertation, Joe William Underwood 1976
Box 1 Dissertation, Karen Ann Waldron 1975 (2 folders)

Return to top