Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Grove Press Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Grove Press.
Title: Grove Press Records
Inclusive Dates: 1953-1985
Quantity: 775 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American publishing house founded by Barney Rosset. Collection contains editorial records, manuscripts, legal and office files, Evergreen Review files, financial records of the Film Division, books, and miscellaneous printed material, including publishers' catalogs and posters. Correspondence and office memorandums of Grove Press editorial staff, including that of Donald Allen, Fred Jordan, Richard Seaver, and Judith Schmidt.
Abstract: Editorial records contain a variety of materials which for any particular title may include contracts, correspondence, legal records, photographs, publicity material, reviews, royalty statements, and production records relating to the publication of books by Emmanuelle Arsan, Alan Ayckbourn, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Samuel Beckett, Eric Berne, Paul Bowles, James Broughton, William S. Burroughs, Marguerite Duras, Wallace Fowlie, Robert Frank, Jean Genet, Allen Ginsberg, Maurice Girodias, Witold Gombrowicz, Juan Goytisolo, Nat Hentoff, André Hodeir, Eugène Ionesco, Jack Kerouac, D.H. Lawrence, Henry Miller, Pablo Neruda, Frank O'Hara, Charles Olson, Joe Orton, Harold Pinter, George Reavey, John Rechy, Kenneth Rexroth, Alain Robbe-Grillet, Michael Rumaker, Hubert Selby, Gilbert Sorrentino, Amos Tutuola, Parker Tyler, Tomi Ungerer, Alan Watts, and others.
Abstract: Extensive legal records and clippings files relating to the censorship trials surrounding the American publication of D.H. Lawrence's Lady Chatterley's Lover, and Henry Miller's Tropic of Cancer.
Language: Majority is in English; a few manuscripts in German, Russian, Spanish, French, Swedish
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Grove Press is an American alternative book press founded in 1951 by editor and publisher Barney Rossett. It merged with The Atlantic Monthly Press in 1991 and as of 2010 is an imprint of the publisher Grove/Atlantic, Inc. Grove Press was known for its unusual and sometimes controversial publications, including French avant-garde authors Jean Genet and Eugene Ionesco; Beat Poets Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg, and William Burroughs; and books deemed obscene at the time, such as unexpurgated editions of Henry Miller's Tropic of Cancer and D. H. Lawrence's Lady Chatterley's Lover.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Grove Press Records consists of editorial records, Evergreen Review files, manuscript production files, publicity files, and film files.

PLEASE NOTE that each series begins again with "Box 1." When requesting items, please be sure to include both the series and the box number -- for example, "Editorial files, Box 34" or "Film files, feature films, Box 2."

Editorial records include contracts, correspondence, legal records, photographs, publicity material, reviews, royalty statements, and production records.

Evergreen Review files consist of published issues of Evergreen Review and in some cases a small amount of related financial or other material.

Manuscript production files include plate proofs, page proofs, galley proofs, manuscripts, layouts, camera copy for various pieces of books (covers, pages, etc.) and other material.

Publicity files contain advertisements, publishers' catalogs, posters, correspondence, exhibits and honors, photographs, and assorted promotional material. There are also several folders relating to censorship cases.

Film files include material relating to both feature-length (e.g. Finnegan's Wake, Titticut Follies) and short films, as well as film rentals. Film files are subdivided by type (feature, short, miscellaneous, and rental); within that, feature films are in alphabetical order by title, while short films are in alphabetical order by filmmaker's name.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Editorial file are arranged alphabetically by author's name. Evergreen Review files are in numerical order by issue. Manuscript production files are in alphabetical order by author's name. Publicity files are in alphabetical order by type of material.

PLEASE NOTE that each series begins again with "Box 1." When requesting items, please be sure to include both the series and the box number -- for example, "Editorial files, Box 34" or "Film files, feature films, Box 2."

Note also that the collection has received minimal processing and for the most part remains in the original folders as received.

Return to top

Other Related Finding Aids

A list of titles for various Grove imprints is available online at http://home.pacbell.net/washley/groveidx.html. Please note that this list is not maintained by Special Collections Research Center and we make no guarantee as to the accuracy or completeness of this list.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

CLOSED: The Grove Press Records will be closed to researchers starting on August 1, 2011. The records are being processed and we estimate the collection will reopen in June 2013.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a substantial collection of works published by Grove Press in its Rare Books holdings. Please refer to SUMMIT, our main catalog for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Allen, Donald Merriam, 1912-
Arsan, Emmanuelle.
Ayckbourn, Alan, 1939-
Baraka, Imamu Amiri, 1934-
Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989.
Berne, Eric, 1924-
Bowles, Paul, 1910-1999.
Broughton, James Richard, 1913-
Burroughs, William S., 1914-1997.
Duras, Marguerite.
Fowlie, Wallace, 1908-
Frank, Robert.
Genet, Jean, 1910-1986.
Ginsberg, Allen, 1926-1997.
Girodias, Maurice.
Gombrowicz, Witold.
Goytisolo, Juan.
Hentoff, Nat.
Hodeir, André, 1921-
Ionesco, Eugène.
Jordan, Fred.
Kerouac, Jack, 1922-1969.
Lawrence, D. H. (David Herbert), 1885-1930 -- Censorship.
Lawrence, D. H. (David Herbert), 1885-1930.
Miller, Henry, 1891-1980
Miller, Henry, 1891-1980 Censorship.
Neruda, Pablo, 1904-1973.
O'Hara, Frank, 1926-1966.
Olson, Charles, 1910-1970.
Orton, Joe.
Pinter, Harold, 1930-
Reavey, George, 1907-
Rechy, John.
Rexroth, Kenneth, 1905-
Robbe-Grillet, Alain, 1922-
Rosset, Barney.
Rumaker, Michael, 1932-
Schmidt, Judith.
Seaver, Richard.
Selby, Hubert.
Sorrentino, Gilbert.
Tutuola, Amos.
Tyler, Parker.
Ungerer, Tomi, 1931-
Watts, Alan, 1915-1973.

Corporate Bodies

Grove Press -- Archives.
Grove Press. -- Film Division.

Associated Titles

Evergreen review.

Subjects

Authors and publishers.
Authors, American.
Authors, French.
Censorship -- Law and legislation -- United States.
Censorship -- United States -- Cases.
Obscenity (Law) -- United States.
Periodicals -- Publishing -- United States.
Publishers and publishing -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Book reviews.
Books.
Clippings.
Contracts.
Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Legal files.
Manuscripts for publication.
Motion pictures.
Periodicals.
Photographs.
Publishers' catalogs.
Slides.

Occupations

Publishers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grove Press Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Grove Press, 1967-1987.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 26 Feb 1993
Revision history: 1 Jul 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

RESTRICTED: CLOSED: The Grove Press Records will be closed to researchers starting on August 1, 2011. The records are being processed and we estimate the collection will reopen in June 2013 with a detailed inventory.

Return to top