Finding Aids
printer friendly version

William Gropper Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gropper, William, 1897-1977.
Title: William Gropper Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1918-1971
Bulk Dates: 1943-1944
Quantity: 8 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American painter, illustrator, cartoonist, lithographer. Correspondence (1927-1950); original drawings, paintings, and prose by Gropper and others; published material, including cartoons from New Masses, clippings, exhibition lists, and illustrations (1918-1968); and a scrapbook containing birthday congratulations.
Language: Majority in English, some in Czech, French, German, Polish, Russian, Spanish and Yiddish
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Gropper (1897-1977) was an American born Jewish cartoonist, painter, lithographer, and muralist. Born in New York City on the lower East side where his parents worked in the garment industry, he attended the Ferrer School and the New York School of Fine and Applied Arts and began exhibiting his paintings in the 1930's. As a cartoonist he worked for the Daily Worker, Morning Freiheit, New Masses, New York Tribune, and several other mainstream and leftist publications. Gropper was known not only for his depiction of social injustice as it played out in the day-to-day life of the common laborer, but also through his satirical portrayal of the elite and powerful and the effects of capitalism and war on American life.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Gropper Papers, spanning 1918-1970 (bulk 1942-1944), comprises correspondence, artwork, writings, and memorabilia of the artist.

The mostly incoming Correspondence consists primarily of notes and letters presented to Gropper at the 1944 birthday celebration given in his honor. The Birthday Scrapbook was compiled by Gropper's friends and fellow artists, and Edward K. Barsky, M.D., Chairman of the Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee, in honor of Gropper's 47th birthday. The dinner celebration was hosted by screenwriter and producer Edward Chodorov (opening remarks are included). Speakers included Carl Sandburg, Frederick Myers, and Norman Corwin with tributes by Dean Dixon, Dorothy Parker, Henry Varnum Poor, Captain Orest Shevsov, and Margaret Lombardo Toledano. Sponsors included Leonard Bernstein, Van Wyck Brooks, Marc Chagall, Aaron Copland, Louis Lozowick, W. Somerset Maugham, Anton Refregier, Louis Slobodkin, Moses Soyer, and Margaret Webster, among others. Cards, letters, telegrams, signatures, and artwork from Ella Reeve "Mother" Bloor, Earl Browder, Carreño, Theodore Dreiser, Howard Fast, Joseph Hirsch, Langston Hughes, Harold Ickes, Rockwell Kent, the Kukryniksy artists, Luis Quintanilla, Paul Robeson, Bodo Uhse, and Max Yergan are included. Labor unions, artist and political associations, and newspapers are also represented.

Correspondence from various U.S. government departments and offices include: the U.S. Coordinator of Information, inviting Gropper to contribute cartoons that will be sent abroad for propaganda purposes; the U.S. Coordinator of Inter-American Affairs regarding a pamphlet on Lidice, Czechoslovakia; the U.S. Federal Works Agency in connection with Gropper's Lidice drawings and exhibitions of Gropper's artwork; the U.S. Office of War Information regarding government war posters, the Lidice book(let), and a memo to Archibald MacLeish, Director of the Office's Office of Facts and Figures, about a meeting of artists MacLeish called to discuss how they might contribute to the war effort; and the U.S. Treasury Department concerning war bond posters, an exhibition on war cartoons, the Lidice drawings, and a trip to visit the Parker and Grand Coulee dams in preparation for his mural in the U.S. Department of Interior building.

Note: Some of the items have been removed from the scrapbook for conservation purposes and placed in the correspondence file folders. The details and an index to all correspondence are given at the end of this finding aid.

Artwork includes original and reproductions of cartoons, drawings, etchings, and sketches for publications such as Freiheit and the New Masses. Mediums include charcoal, pastel, pen and ink, and pencil. Printed materials, such as a calendar and other publications Gropper illustrated, are also included, along with clippings of published artwork appearing in journals and newspapers.

Writings include an outline of Gropper's life and handwritten statements and comments regarding his testimony before Senator Joseph McCarthy's House Un-American Committee in 1953.

Memorabilia comprises an award from the U.S. Treasury Department for services rendered on behalf of the National War Savings program; book reviews and publicity for Gropper's book, Alay-Oop; cartoons by J. Sennep (Jean Pennes); exhibition materials such as announcements and invitations, catalogs, and publicity and reviews; financial and legal material encompassing a voucher from the U.S. Treasury Department for the materials, painting, and installation of the mural in the Department of Interior building; from the U.S. Office of Emergency Management for illustrations included in a booklet on the Lidice (Czechoslovakia) massacre, sketches for war-themed posters depicting Hitler and Mussolini; a contract with the Philosophical Library to provide illustrations and a jacket drawing for Shaw's Crime of Punishment (Crime of Imprisonment); publicity (general) including New Masses and Art Editions ads for Gropper's lithographs and a New Currents ad for a reproduction; sketches of Gropper drawn by others; theater programs (in Russian); and writings by others (two poems by Gladys Oaks). Miscellaneous items include football and concert programs (in Russian), the constitution and by-laws of the American Artists' Congress, invitations, award committee lists, the 1944 birthday program, stationery, lists, handwritten notes, and newspaper clippings.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Refer to the index to correspondence at the end of this inventory for a detailed list. Artworks is subdivided into originals and reproductions, and within that arranged alphabetically by media. Printed material is arranged alphabetically by type of materialand within that alphabetically by title of the publication. Writings are also arranged alphabetically by title, while Memorabilia is arranged alphabetically by form of material (e.g., exhibit catalogs).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Gropper, William, 1897-1977.

Associated Titles

New masses.

Subjects

Art -- Political aspects.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Illustrators -- United States.
Lithographers -- United States.
Painters, United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 20th century -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drawings.
Exhibition catalogs.
Illustrations.
Paintings.
Photographs.
Programs (documents)
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Artists.
Cartoonists.
Illustrators.
Lithographers.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Gropper Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William Gropper, 1964, 1969.

Framed item, gift of Bert Boyson, 2010.

Original pen and ink sketch, purchased 2013.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DO
Date: Jul 2004
Revision history: 29 Sep 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 29 Sep 2008 - "Hammer" additions (MRC); 1 Feb 2011 - added framed item, made arrangement, format and style corrections (MRC); 21 Nov 2011 - updated Shtetl, Plantation Strut (MRC); 19 Dec 2011 - all box types/numbers updated (MRC); 18 Jun 2012 - LCSH updates (MRC); 13 Feb 2014 - adds P-13-127, fixed index and description (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Biographical material
See also Memorabilia for additional material about Gropper and his artwork.
Correspondence files
Box 1 A-Z circa 1931-1951, bulk 1942-1944 (32 folders)
See also Birthday scrapbook for additional correspondence
Artwork
Originals
Box 2 Charcoal drawings
Box 2 Etchings
Box 2 Oil and wash/watercolor paintings - includes negatives for reproductions
Box 2 Pastel drawing
Box 2 Pen and ink drawings (5 folders)
Oversize 9 Pen and ink drawing - 9-panel illustration on wage slavery; note on back suggests it may have been for the Soviet magazine Krokodil
Purchased 2013.
Box 2 Pencil drawings
Box 2 Sketches
Reproductions
Box 2 Linoleum cut
Box 2 Pen and ink drawings
Box 2 Photograph of a painting
Box 2 Photograph of a sculpture
Box 2 Photographs of pen and ink drawings - includes negatives (4 folders)
Artwork - printed material
Advertisements
Oversize 9 Invitation to "Playboys' Plantation Strut and Mississippi Steamboat Jubilee" (Playboy: A Portfolio of Art and Satire)
Oversize 1 War bonds
Books
Oversize 1 Alay-Oop - book jacket, front cover
Oversize 1 Down There (La Bas) by J.K. Huysmans - illustrated by Gropper; book jacket
Oversize 1 Whither, Whither, or, After Sex What? by Walter S. Hankel - illustrated by Gropper; book spine
Calendars
Oversize 1 Russian War Relief Inc. Sep 1942
Oversize 1 "Victory 1942, a Calendar and Sixteen Prints for Democracy" (United American Artists)
Clippings
Journals
Oversize 2 The American Commentator Oct 1934, undated
Oversize 2 Arts & Decorations Mar 1923
Oversize 2 The Bookman undated
Oversize 2 The Fight for Peace and Democracy Feb 1938, Mar 1939
Oversize 2 Folio 10 Feb 1924, undated
Oversize 2 Judge 6 Apr 1929
Oversize 2 KEN 7 Apr 1938
Oversize 2 The Liberator Jan 1919
Oversize 2 The Literary Review 28 Oct 1922
Oversize 2 Look 12 Apr 1938
Oversize 2 The Medical Quip undated
Oversize 2 Motion Picture Magazine undated
Oversize 2 The Nation circa 1932-1947
Oversize 2 The National Financial News Jun-Jul 1923
Oversize 3 New Masses 1927-1946 (12 folders)
Oversize 2 The New Pearson's Feb 1923, Jun 1923, Jul 1923
Oversize 2 The New Republic circa 1947-1948
Oversize 2 PIC May 1948
Oversize 2 Playboy: A Portfolio of Art and Satire (New York) undated
Oversize 2 Shadowland undated
Oversize 2 Tennis Jun 1931
Oversize 2 Vanity Fair May 1934, Aug 1935, undated
Oversize 2 Vogue 1 Apr 1934
Oversize 2 The Working Front undated
Oversize 2 The Younger Set Feb 1924
Oversize 2 Unidentified 1948, undated (4 folders)
Newspapers
Oversize 4 The Advance circa 1922-1923
Oversize 4 The Capital Times 11 Feb 1940
Oversize 4 Daily News 2 Nov 1942
Oversize 4 Daily Worker 1927-1947, undated (2 folders)
Oversize 4 Fur & Leather Worker Aug 1944
Oversize 4 New York American 1934, undated - includes Robert Benchley columns (2 folders)
Oversize 4 New York Evening Graphic Magazine Aug-Sep 1929
Oversize 4 New York Evening Post Literary Review 1924, undated (2 folders)
Oversize 4 New York Times Book Review circa 1931-1947
Oversize 5 New York Tribune 1918-1919
Oversize 5 New York Herald Tribune Books 14 Sep 1930 (2 folders)
Oversize 5 The New York World 1925-1926, undated (2 folders)
Oversize 5 PM's Weekly 24 Aug 1941; Sep 1941
Oversize 5 The San Francisco News 20 Feb 1937
Oversize 5 Sunday Worker 1939-1940
Oversize 5 The Young Worker 3 Dec 1927
Oversize 5 Ring Lardner columns circa 1926
Oversize 5 Unidentified 1924, undated (5 folders)
Newspapers and journals
Oversize 5 Clippings from scrapbook, disassembled
Newspapers, foreign language
Oversize 6 Czechoslovakian (tvorba) 1948
Oversize 6 French 1930, undated
See also Memorabilia: Cartoons by J. Sennep (Jean Pennes)
Oversize 6 German circa 1920-1928, undated
Oversize 6 Polish 1950, undated
Oversize 6 Russian circa 1927-1938, undated (3 folders)
Oversize 6 Spanish 1938, undated
Box 3 Yiddish (Morning Freiheit) circa 1924-1948, undated
Oversize 7 Yiddish (Morning Freiheit) circa 1924-1948, undated - oversize items
Miscellaneous
Oversize 9 Framed piece with three Gropper items 1971, 1930 - anti-racism first day cover with Gropper cartoon, signed, and a Gropper illustration from Pionier-Kalendar; also a small candid photo of Gropper
This item gift of Bert Boyson, 2010
Box 3 Portraits of American Ecclesiastics undated
Cover art (journals)
Oversize 1 The American Stockholder Sep 1934
Oversize 1 Caravan Sep 1945
Oversize 1 China Today Dec 1934
Oversize 1 Direction Jan 1940
Oversize 1 Echo: The Rocky Mountain Magazine Apr 1927
Oversize 1 The Fight for Peace and Democracy Mar 1935, Nov 1936
Oversize 1 Der Hammer (Yiddish) Oct 1926, Aug 1927, Feb 1934, Mar 1934, Oct 1934
Oversize 1 The Liberator Aug 1922
Oversize 1 Magazine of Art Aug 1937
Oversize 1 New World Review Nov 1951
Oversize 1 Pagan May 1921
Oversize 1 The Revolutionary Age Jul 26, 1919
Oversize 1 TAC (Theatre Arts Committee) Jul 1938
Oversize 1 What's New mailing envelope undated
See also Artwork - Printed material: Clippings: Journals: New Masses.
Pamphlets
Oversize 1 "In Gold We Trust" by Larry Harr - illustrated by Gropper
Oversize 1 "The Last Mile" - playbill cover illustrated by Gropper
Oversize 1 "A Noon-Hour Talk on the Communist Party" by Harrison George - illustrated by Gropper
Oversize 1 "12 Cartoons Defending WPA" - American Artists' Congress
Oversize 1 "12 Etchings" - foreword by Alan Fern
Oversize 1 "Unity" - in Polish, illustrated by Gropper
Prints
Oversize 9 Shtetl
Oversize 10 Shtetl
Writings
Manuscripts
Box 3 "Anyone who thinks a witness gets a fair hearing at the hands of McCarthy..."
Box 3 Gropper's life - outline
Box 3 Paul Bunyan
Box 3 Statement of William Gropper [before HUAC] 6 May 1953
Box 3 "When an American Artist whose work is in the permanent collections of the most important museums throughout the country..." - re: Sen. McCarthy and the House Un-American Committee (HUAC)
Memorabilia
Box 3 Articles about Gropper 1930-1963, undated (5 folders)
Box 3 Articles about Gropper Aug 1935, undated - re: Gropper's depiction of Emperor Hirohito in Vanity Fair (6 folders)
See also Artwork - Printed material: Clippings: Journals: Vanity Fair
Box 4 Award 27 May 1942 - U.S. Treasury Department
Box 4 Book reviews and publicity for Alay-Oop circa 1930-1931 (4 folders)
Box 4 Cartoons by J. Sennep (Jean Pennes) circa 1935 - in French
Box 4 Exhibition announcements and invitations circa 1950-1970
Exhibition catalogs
Box 4 National Arts Club Galleries (New York) 1921
Box 4 A.C.A. Gallery (New York) 1936
Box 4 Living American Art, Inc. (New York) 1936-1937
Box 4 Whitney Museum of American Art (New York) 1937
Box 4 Art Institute of Chicago (Illinois) 1937-1938
Box 4 Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) 1946
Box 4 Bothner's Gallery (Johannesburg, South Africa) 1946
Box 4 Encyclopedia Britannica Collection (Chicago, Illinois) 1946
Box 4 Galerie M. Bénézit (France) 1950
Box 4 Youngstown Jewish Community Center, Butler Art Institute (Youngstown, Ohio) 1952
Box 4 Katonah Village Library (Katonah, New York) 1956
Box 4 University of Miami (Coral Gables, Florida) 1958
Box 4 Garelick's Gallery (Detroit, Michigan) 1960
Box 4 Joseph Massa Galleries (Los Angeles, California) 1960
Box 4 Heritage Gallery (Los Angeles, California) 1968
Box 4 A.C.A. Gallery (New York) 1968
Box 4 Willard Straight Hall (Ithaca, New York) undated
Box 4 Exhibition publicity and reviews circa 1930-1957
Box 4 Financial and legal material circa 1938-1945
Box 4 Publicity, general circa 1943-1944
Box 4 Sketches of Gropper drawn by others circa 1949
Box 4 Theater programs (in Russian) circa 1948-1949
Box 4 Writings by others undated - poems by Gladys Oaks
Box 4 Miscellaneous circa 1927-1950 (2 folders)
Oversize 8 Birthday scrapbook, inscribed "To Bill Gropper from his friends December 4, 1944"

Return to top

Index to correspondence

All correspondence contained in the Gropper Papers is filed alphabetically under Correspondence or contained in the birthday scrapbook. Loose correspondence from the scrapbook was removed and filed alphabetically under Correspondence. These items are so noted in the index and the scrapbook, and on the back of the correspondence item. Some signatures were difficult to read. Partially readable names are indexed and include a "?" while unreadable names are indexed under the heading "unidentified correspondence/signatures."

Page numbers are designated "B1" for correspondence filed in Box 1 or "S" followed by the page number for correspondence found in the scrapbook (page numbers have been assigned and are not original). Bold "S" numbers indicate a drawing is included while italicized numbers indicate signatures only. For loose correspondence removed from the scrapbook and added to Box 1, the designation "B1" appears first, followed by the "S" number in parentheses, to indicate original placement.

  • "MW" (initials reversed) : See unidentified
  • "WM" (initials) : See unidentified
  • Abrams, Harry M. : S48
  • Abrams, Nina : S48
  • Abromowitz, Ben : S41
  • Abusch, Alexander : S20
  • Adamic, Louis : S8 (program); S31
  • Addis, Dr. Thomas : S11
  • Adlow, Dorothy : S50
  • Albany Print Club : B1
  • American Artists Group, Inc. (New York) : B1
  • American Committee for Protection of Foreign Born (New York) : B1 (S47)
  • American Communications Association, CIO (St. Louis) : B1 (S55)
  • American Fraternal Society : S68
  • American Labor Party (New York) : B1 (S33)
  • Amter, Israel : S6
  • Anderson, Margaret? : B1 (S35)
  • Apresian, Stephan : S38
  • Arnold, August : S62
  • Arons, George : B1 (S56)
  • Art Institute of Chicago : B1; S6
  • Art Supplies for Russia (San Francisco) : S61
  • Associated American Artists, Inc. (New York) : S62
  • Auslander, Dr. Jacob B. : B1 (S49); S40
  • Auslander, Mrs. J. : S40
  • Bachrach, Marion : S63
  • Baer, Howard : S40
  • Baker, Fannie : B1 (S71)
  • Baker, Fran : S36
  • Baker, Jacob : See Vanguard Press
  • Bakery and Confectionery Workers' International Union of America (New York) : S64
  • Balaban, Josephine : S34
  • Ball, Archey D. : See Methodist Church, (Leonia, NJ)
  • Balokovic, Zlato : S8 (program)
  • Banning, Margaret Culkin : B1 (S43)
  • Barasch, Sylvia : S36
  • Barbusse, Henri : B1
  • Barlow, S.L.M : S8 (program)
  • Barnett, Fannie : S46
  • Barron, Samuel. : See The Daily Worker (New York)
  • Barsky, Edward K. : S10 (program)
  • Bass, Charlotta A. : See The California Eagle (Los Angeles)
  • Bassow, Mary : S32
  • Bassow, Sam : S32
  • Bayer, Flo : S28
  • Bayer, Theodore : S42
  • Beach, Sara Brown : S34
  • Bedacht, Elizabeth : S34
  • Bedacht, Max : S8 (program); S34
  • Beim, Jerold : S28
  • Beim, Lorraine : S28
  • Beinberg, Sarah : S48
  • Beloff, David : S48
  • Beloff, Sonia : S48
  • Bennett, Richard Dyer : S10 (program)
  • Benson, Arthur : S62
  • Bergman, Bernard : S62
  • Bergman, Ruth L. : S26
  • Berkowitz, Sylvia : S28
  • Bernstein, Leonard : S8 (program)
  • Bert, Erik : S42
  • Bessie, Alvah : B1 (S58)
  • Beube, Edith D. : B1 (S35); S30
  • Beube, Frank E. : B1 (S35); S30
  • Beuhenwald, N. : S30
  • Beuhenwald, Stella : S30
  • Biberman, Edward : B1 (S56)
  • Biddle, George : See U.S. War Department
  • Bidner, William R. : See National CIO War Relief Committee (Los Angeles)
  • Biggs, George. : See U.S. War Department
  • Bittleware, Eva : S50
  • Black, Helen : S48
  • Blitzstein, Maddie : S60
  • Blitzstein, Sam : S60
  • Bloch, Harry M.D. : S46
  • Block, Jack : S28
  • Block, Lota ? : S28
  • Bloor, Ella Reeve "Mother," S60 : S65
  • Blossom, Frederick A. : B1 (S24)
  • Blume Peter : S8 (program)
  • Borchardt, Mr. and Mrs. A.E. : S71
  • Borden, Sidney : S3
  • Boulder Eagle : S26
  • Boutte, Oliver : S68
  • Bowman, Franklin : S40
  • Boyd, Helen : S60
  • Bradley, Chester D. M.D. : B1 (S29)
  • Bradley, Francine : S61
  • Bradley, Lyman R. : S61
  • Brandl, John : B1 (S19)
  • Brandon, Delphine : B1 (S45)
  • Bravetell, Louise : B1 (S50)
  • Brechsbee, Dr. William : S47
  • Brewer, Joseph : S26
  • Bridges, Harry : S36
  • Brigadier, Anne : S40
  • Brigadier, Maurice C. ? : S40
  • Brigman, Mrs. B. : B1 (S65)
  • Brodin, Greta : S26
  • Brook, Alexander : S8 (program); S48
  • Brooks, Van Wyck : S8 (program)
  • Browder, Earl : S33
  • Browder, W. E. : See The Daily Worker (New York)
  • Brown, Adele S. : See U.S. Federal Works Agency
  • Brown, Blanche. : See Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Brown, Milton W. : See Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Brumer, Abe : S36
  • Bryan, Alice Reid (Mrs. W.S. Plumer) : B1 (S45)
  • Bryan, Helen R. : S3
  • Buckler, Leslie H. : See University of Virginia
  • Buckmaster, Henrietta : S8 (program)
  • Budenz, Louis F. : S42
  • Burger, Rev. Fred William : S72
  • Burt, Ethel : S38
  • Burt, Sam : S38; S59
  • Cacchione, Peter V. : S6
  • Calder, Alexander : S8 (program)
  • Candela, Louis : S68
  • Carmier?, Theresa : B1 (S35)
  • Carnegie Hall : S42
  • Carnegie Institute : B1
  • Carrell, Theodora M. : S66
  • Carreño : S5
  • Carter, Edward C. : See Russian War Relief, Inc. (New York)
  • Case, Kenneth T. : See U.S. War Department
  • Cervantes Fraternal Society, IWO (New York) : S39
  • Chagall, Marc : S8 (program)
  • Chamberlain, Lowell. : See The Pilot (National Maritime Union of America, CIO)
  • Chamberlain, Miriam : S36
  • Chamberlain, Thomas : S36
  • Chase, Allan : S8 (program)
  • Chatham Music School : S26
  • Chatham Pharmacy (Lynn, MA) : B1 (S45)
  • Chattanooga Times : B1
  • Chefs, Cooks, Pastry Cooks and Assistants Union of New York : B1 (S51)
  • Cheremenykh, Mikhail : S9
  • Chertak, Dorothy : S50
  • Chodorov, Edward : S4 (opening remarks); S7 (program); S8 (program); S10 (program)
  • Chodorov, Jerry : B1 (S24)
  • Chodorov, Midge : S3
  • Christensen, Thomas : S63
  • Cimbalo, Michael : B1
  • Cirkovsky, Nicolai : S30
  • Cleveland, Colby : S48
  • Club Obreo Español, Inc. (New York) : S68
  • Coffee, John M. (Cong.) : See U.S. Congress
  • Cohen, Louis : S65
  • Colgate-Rochester Divinity School (Roch., NY) : B1 (S47)
  • Colin, Charles H. : S30
  • Collins, Charles A. : S30; S64
  • Collins, Veola N. : S30
  • Colloms, Lionel : See United Federal Workers of America, CIO
  • Colman, Louis : S30
  • Colon, Jesus : S39
  • Colvin, Berris D. : S30
  • Colvin, Charles H. : B1 (S25)
  • Committee Pro Democracia Española : S68
  • Communist Political Association (New York) : S6; S33
  • Connelly, Philip M. : See Los Angeles City Council
  • Connolly, Eugene P. : See American Labor Party (New York)
  • Conrad, Mabel : See American Labor Party (New York); Washington Pension Union (Seattle)
  • Consul General of Mexico in New York : S14
  • Cope, Eliza M. (Mrs. Walker) : B1 (S50); S50
  • Copland, Aaron : S8 (program)
  • Corretjer, Juan Antonio : See The Daily Worker (New York)
  • Corwin, Norman : S7 (program); S8 (program); S10 (program)
  • Costrell, H.J. : S30
  • Council for Pan American Democracy (New York) : S63
  • Covarrubias, Miquel : S20
  • Cowan, Leo : See Chatham Pharmacy (Lynn, MA)
  • Cox, Edwin : See Kenyon & Eckhardt, Inc. (advertising)
  • Coy, Wayne : See White House: Roosevelt Administration
  • Cramer, Marie : B1, (S24)
  • Crawford, Rev. Horatio H. : S72
  • Croation Benevolent Fraternity of America, IWO : B1 (S18)
  • Cuesta, Fabri : S3; S11; S20
  • Cunningham, Dorothy : S36
  • Cunningham, E.J. : S36
  • Czechoslovak Information Service (New York) : B1
  • D'Inzillo, Mario : S68
  • Daigel, Louis : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Davidson, Jo : S8 (program)
  • Davis, Benjamin, J. Jr. : S72
  • Davis, Effie L. (Mrs. W.G.) : S71
  • Davis, Horace B. : S70
  • Davis, Lena : S28
  • Davis, S.K. : See Minnesota Labor (Minneapolis)
  • De Maio, Ernst : S23
  • Deak, Zoltan : See Magyar Jövö (Hungarian daily journal)
  • DeCicco, Michael : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Dehn, Adolf : S8 (program)
  • DeKoren, Renee : S62
  • DeLacey for Congress (Seattle) : S39
  • DeLacey, Hugh : S39
  • deLappe, Pele (and Vicky ?) : S61
  • Delehanty, John M. : See U.S. Treasury Department
  • DeMaio, Ernest : See United Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers of America, CIO
  • Denisovsky, N.F. : S9
  • Dennis, Eugene : S33
  • Desmond, R. J. : See U.S. War Department
  • Detwiller, Frederick K. : S42
  • Deutsch, Babette : S40
  • Deutsh, Helen : See Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Pictures (Culver City, CA)
  • Diamant, Rose B. : S38; S70
  • DiBiase, Adelina : S34
  • DiBiase, Joseph : S34
  • Dicks, Evelyn : B1 (S19)
  • Dirkss, John : S26
  • Dixon, Dean : S7 (program); S8 (program); S10 (program)
  • Dodson, Luelith W. : S65
  • Douglas, Helen Gahagan : Gahagan, Helen
  • Dowbak, Peter : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Downie, Douglas : S26
  • Dows, Olin : See U.S. Federal Works Agency; U.S. Treasury Department
  • Draper, Paul : S8 (program)
  • Dreiser, Theodore : S60
  • Drosier, Juliet : S28
  • Drury, James : See National Maritime Union of America, CIO (New York)
  • Duboff, Elizabeth E. : S6
  • Duboff, Samuel J. : S6
  • Dubro, Ann : S48
  • E. Spertner Jewelry Corporation (Norfolk, VA) : S66
  • Ealand, Maria K. : See U.S. Treasury Department
  • Eberly, May : S62
  • Edmundson, Carolyn : S40
  • Ehreneich, Bernard : S38
  • Ehreneich, Emma : S38
  • Elliot, Marian : S62
  • Emma, Florence : S62
  • Endore, Guy : B1 (S22)
  • Engelman, Sue : S30
  • Epstein, Beatrice E. : S38
  • Estra, Samuel : B1 (S27)
  • Evanoff, John : B1 (S54)
  • Evans, Nancy : S38
  • Evergood, Philip : S8 (program)
  • Fabiola, Miriam : S62
  • Fadiman, Clifton : See Lidice (Czechoslovakia) Lives Committee (New York)
  • Fast, Howard : S8 (program)
  • Fenton, Nancy : S36
  • Fernandez, Eleuterio : B1 (S57)
  • Ferrero, Frank L. : S31
  • Field, Frederick V. : S63
  • Field, Natalie : S26
  • Finger, Louis : B1 (S45); S26
  • Finger, Marya Carrell : B1 (S45); S26
  • Finley, David : See U.S. War Department
  • Finn, Dorothy K. : S30
  • Firstenberg, Fred R. : S40
  • Firstenberg, Helen : S40
  • Fishman, Moe : S3
  • Flau?, H. Lawrence : S34
  • Fleischman, Pauline : S40; S46
  • Floch, Joseph : S28
  • Foley, Mary Sexton : S29
  • Ford, H.M. : B1 (S21)
  • Ford, J.O. : See Hotel Sinnott
  • Ford, James W. : S33
  • Ford, John Anson : See Los Angeles Board of Supervisors
  • Foster, William Z. : S33
  • Franceschini, Rocco : See United Shoe Workers of America, CIO (New York)
  • Frankel, Nathan ? : S30
  • Frankfurt, William : See Industrial Insurance Agents Union, CIO (New York)
  • Frederick, Hyman : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Freed, Celia : S36
  • Freed, Harry : S36
  • Freed, Irving : S30
  • Freehafer, Edward G. : See New York Public Library
  • Freiheit, Manning : S30
  • Freud, Ruth : S65
  • Friedenthal, Louis : S28
  • Friedenthal, Rose L. : S28
  • Friedenthal, Ruth : S28
  • Friedkin, Ann ? : B1 (S65)
  • Friedkin, Meyer : B1 (S65); S48
  • Fritchman, Stephen H. : See The Christian Register
  • Fur Dressers and Dyers, CIO : B1 (S14); S59
  • Furdman, Abraham : S48
  • Furman, Felix : S3
  • Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York) : B1 (S22)
  • Gahagan, Helen : S32
  • Gallagher, Leo : See Katz, Gallagher & Margolis (Los Angeles)
  • Gamarf, Gustave : S66
  • Gambell, Jose Gamiño : S20
  • Garibaldi American Fraternal Scociety, IWO : S68
  • Garlin, Martha : S65
  • Garlin, Sender : S65
  • Garraffa, Joseph : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Gartelman, John : S71
  • Gebert, Boleslaw : S11; S34
  • Geleerd, Elizabeth R. : S31
  • Gerasimov, Alexander : S9
  • Gershon, Gladys : B1
  • Gilden, Samuel : S42
  • Giligian, Ann : S72
  • Gleason, Lev G. : S26; S41
  • Gleekman, Lewis W. : S39
  • Glickman, Maurice : B1 (S49)
  • Goff, Sophie : S36
  • Gold, Ben : S59
  • Goldberg, Ann : S42
  • Goldberg, Claire Brown : S36
  • Goldberg, Jack : S36
  • Golden, Samuel : See American Artists Group, Inc. (New York)
  • Goldfarb, Samuel : S28
  • Golditch, Leonard E. : S61
  • Goldman, Marcus I. : S46
  • Goldman, Tillie : S40
  • González, Ernestina : B1 (S54); S40
  • Goodman, J.A. : Writers' War Board (New York)
  • Gordon, Max : S42
  • Gorman, Samuel : S48
  • Gormen, Rose : S48
  • Gragis, Peter A. : S46
  • Greater New York CIO Council : S63
  • Green, Abner : See American Committee for Protection of Foreign Born (New York)
  • Green, Nan : S9
  • Greenberg, Dr. Sarah R. : S26
  • Greenberg, Esther : S38
  • Gropper, Gene : S28
  • Gropper, Lee : S28
  • Gropper, William : S12
  • Gross, Chaim : S8 (program); S40
  • Gross, Renee : S40
  • Guba, Selma : S40
  • Gumpel, Morris : S38
  • Gurr, Lena : S38
  • Guttman, Alexander : S36
  • Gwathmey, Robert : S8 (program)
  • Haim, Bruce : S40
  • Haim, Irving : S61
  • Haim, Tillie : S40
  • Halberstadt, Ernst : S60
  • Halberstadt, Luba : S60
  • Hall, A.W. : See U.S. Treasury Department
  • Hammer, Dr. Julius : S26; S44
  • Hammer, Greene : S26
  • Hammer, Rose : S26
  • Hammer, Victor J. : S26
  • Hanley, Neal : S18
  • Hanson, Hilda : S37
  • Haraz, Wojciech : S34
  • Harburg, E.Y. : S8 (program)
  • Harkavy, Minna : S8 (program); S11
  • Hart, Vivian : S40
  • Hartgen, Vincent A. : See University of Maine
  • Hasen, George : S65
  • Hasen, M. : S65
  • Hawley, Peter K. : B1 (S27)
  • Hays, Arthur Garfield : S40
  • Healy, Ned R. : See Los Angeles City Council
  • Hellenic-American Fraternal Society of the International Workers Order (New York) : S67
  • Heller, Abe : B1 (S22)
  • Henderson, Donald : See United Cannery, Agricultural, Packing and Allied Workers of America, CIO (Phil.)
  • Higier, Martin M. : S48
  • Higier, Ruth : S48
  • Hill, Ricardo G. : S14
  • Hirsch, Joseph : S8 (program); S15
  • Hollander, Mary Louise : S34
  • Hollander, Max : S34
  • Honig, Charlotte : B1 (S21); S36
  • Hopkins, Rev. Dr. John Henry : S49
  • Horowitz, Arthur : S26
  • Horowitz, Joseph : S36
  • Horowitz, Sylvia G. : S36
  • Hotel and Club Employees Union, AFL (New York) : S14
  • Hotel Sinnott (Paducah, KY) : B1 (S37)
  • Howard University : B1 (S53)
  • Huchthausen, Alice M. : S34
  • Hudson, Roy : S33
  • Hudyma, Mike : S38
  • Hughes, Langston : B1 (S57)
  • Ickes, Harold (Secr. of the Interior) : S13
  • Industrial Insurance Agents Union, CIO (New York) : B1 (S21)
  • Institute of Design (Chicago) : B1 (S47)
  • Institute of Paper Chemistry (Appleton, WI) : S59
  • International Brigade Association : S9
  • International Federation of Architects, Engineers, Chemists, and Technicians (New York) : S39
  • International Fur & Leather Workers Union of the U.S. and Canada, CIO (New York) : B1 (S13); S59
  • International Jewelry Workers Union (New York) : S39
  • International Workers Order : B1 (S21); B1 (S55); B1 (S57); S67
  • Iranian Institute School for Asiatic Studies (New York) : S69
  • Isaacs, Stanley L. : S8 (program)
  • ISIS : B1 (S58)
  • Islez, Florence : S38
  • J.R. Watkins Company (Lowell, MA) : B1 (S58)
  • Jacobi, Marie : See U.S. Office of War Information
  • Jacoby, Lois : S48
  • Jaffe, Irma : S46
  • Jaffe, Sam : S46
  • Jennings, Robert E. : B1 (S57)
  • Jewell, Edward Alden : See New York Times
  • Jewish Peoples Fraternal Order, IWO (New York) : B1 (S43); B1 (S54)
  • Johnson, Crockett : S8 (program); S48
  • Johnson, Mordecai W. : See Howard University
  • Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee : S3; S11
  • Josephson, Barney : S28
  • Josephson, Isabel : S28
  • Josephson, Lucy : S28
  • Jungman, Erich : S20
  • Junta Patriotica Mexicana : S20
  • Justiz, Harry M. : S64
  • Kahn, Albert E. : S8 (program)
  • Kahn, Gordon : B1 (S22)
  • Kamsly, Louise : S44
  • Kamsly, Samuel : S44
  • Kaplan, Joseph : S62
  • Kaplan, Murray : S62
  • Kasustchik, Daniel : S34
  • Kathe, Betty : S40
  • Katz, Gallagher & Margolis (Los Angeles) : B1 (S27); B1 (S52)
  • Katz, Leo : S20
  • Katz, Otto : S20
  • Kaufman, Sara S. : See Jewish Peoples Fraternal Order, IWO (New York)
  • Kay, Helen : See State County and Municipal Workers of America, CIO (New York)
  • Kellman, Shirley : S26
  • Kent, Rockwell : S8 (program); S20
  • Kenyon & Eckhardt, Inc. (advertising) : B1
  • King, Nettie : S40
  • Kisch, Egon Erwin : S20
  • Kleinman, George : See International Fur & Leather Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Kohler, Rudolph : S37
  • Kohn, Ilanya : S36
  • Kollenmeyer, Helen H. : S28
  • Kosolov-Skalya, Pavel : S9
  • Kostin, S. : S9
  • Kozar, Mary : B1 (S50)
  • Kramer, Dana : S3
  • Krauss, Ruth : S48
  • Kreymborg, Alfred : See Poetry Society of America
  • Kroll, Henry A. : S38
  • Krylov, Porfiry (Nikitch) : S9
  • Kukryniksy : S9
  • Kull, Ginger (Mrs. Brook) : S48
  • Kuniyoshi, Yasuo : S8 (program)
  • Kupriyanov, Mikhail (Vasil'yevich) : S9
  • Kusman, Felix : S11
  • Kyle, Constance : S36
  • Labor Defender (IWW newspaper) : S65
  • LaFarge, Henry : See U.S. Treasury Department
  • Lake, Zeke : See Chattanooga Times
  • Lamb, Leonard : S36
  • Landau, Anni : S41
  • Lane, Harold J. : See United Cannery, Agricultural, Packing and Allied Workers of America, CIO (Phil.)
  • Larkin, Jim : S48
  • Larkin, Mona : S48
  • Laufman, Sidney : S8 (program)
  • Lawrence, Paula : S31
  • Lawson, John Howard : S8 (program)
  • Leach, Porter F. : See Walls Have Ears (New York)
  • Lederman, Nathan. : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Lederman, Solomon. : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Leider, Ruth : S71
  • Lengyel, Dr. Emil : S33
  • Leredu, Andrew : S39
  • Lerman, Bella : S66
  • Lerman, Joe : B1 (S27)
  • Leskow, Peter : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Leslie, Bob : S26
  • Leslie, Kenneth : S41
  • Lev, Ray : S8 (program)
  • Levett, S.O. : S60
  • Levi, Julian E. : S8 (program)
  • Levin, A. : B1 (S65); S44
  • Levine, Belle : S34
  • Levine, Ben : S42
  • Levine, Nathan : S34
  • Lewenthal, Reeves : S62; See also U.S. War Department, B1
  • Lewis, Beatrice E. : S42
  • Lewis, Samuel : See United Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Employees, CIO (New York)
  • Lezberg, Joseph M.D. : S67
  • Liberson, ? : S9
  • Lidice (Czechoslovakia) Lives Committee (New York) : B1
  • Lieber, Maxim : S30
  • Lieber, Minna Edith : S30
  • Liederman, Maurice : S62
  • Lilienthal, Dr. Howard : S69
  • Lilly, Margaret L. : S30
  • Liptzins, Sam : S30
  • Litchfield, Donald : See Seattle Post-Intelligencer
  • Littman, Hy : S48
  • Littman, Rose : S48
  • Locke, Alain : S47
  • Loeb, Dot : S42
  • Logan, Louis : S48
  • Logan, Sylvia : S48
  • London, Kate : S28
  • Lopez, James A. : S71
  • Lopez, Jim : See American Communications Association, CIO (St. Louis)
  • Los Angeles CIO Council : B1 (S56)
  • Los Angeles City Council : B1 (S54)
  • Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors : B1 (S24)
  • Loth, Dave : See U.S. Coordinator of Inter-American Affairs
  • Lovett, Miriam B. : S28
  • Low, David : S11
  • Low, Nat : S42
  • Lowry, Jan Gabrial : B1 (S13)
  • Lozowick, Louis : S8 (program)
  • Lucchi, Pietro : S59
  • Lustig, James : S71
  • Mabry, Thomas D. : See U.S. Office of War Information
  • Mackay, Elayne : S62
  • MacLeish, Archibald : See U.S. Office of War Information
  • Madison, Pete : S46
  • Magazine House Publishers : S41
  • Magaña, Manuel : S68
  • Magyar Jövö (Hungarian daily journal) : B1 (S53)
  • Mahler, Fritz : S8 (program)
  • Mahoney, James Owen : See National Society of Mural Painters (New York)
  • Mainberger, Adam : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Maletich, Rev. Strahinja : See United Committee of South-Slavic Americans, New York)
  • Malone, Maud : S42
  • Mandel, Estelle : S62
  • Maniscalso, Steffi : S62
  • Mann, Heinrich : B1 (S51)
  • Manochor, Evelyn : S40
  • Manship, Paul : See Russian War Relief, Inc. (New York)
  • Marcantonio, Vito (Cong.) : See U.S. Congress
  • Mardo, Bill : S42
  • Margolis, Ben : See Katz, Gallagher & Margolis (Los Angeles)
  • Marinos, Nick : S67
  • Marron, Mary : S3
  • Marshall, Marjorie : S40; S62
  • Martel, Harry : S38; See also Fur Dressers and Dyers, CIO
  • Martin, Charles : S48
  • Martin, Fletcher : S8 (program)
  • Maugham, W. Somerset : S8 (program)
  • Max, Alan : S42
  • Maymudes, A. : See International Workers Order
  • Mazza, Richard : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • McAdory, Mildred : S42
  • McCarty, Milburn Jr. : See U.S. Treasury Department
  • McGee, Frank ? : S39
  • Meadow, Hilda : S30
  • Meadow, Leon : S28
  • Meadow, Natalie : S28
  • Melden, John : S42
  • Melish, Rev. William Howard : S8 (program)
  • Melnick, J. M.D. : B1 (S65)
  • Merker, Paul : S20
  • Merrill, Lewis : S8 (program)
  • Messina, Joseph C. : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Methodist Church (Leonia, NJ) : B1 (S66)
  • Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Pictures (Culver City, CA) : B1 (S53)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York) : B1 (S56)
  • Metzger, Ethel : S3
  • Meyas, Chick : S30
  • Meyer, Edwin Justin : S40
  • Meyer, Manan Murr ? : S26
  • Middleton, John E. : S67
  • Miller, Louis M.D. : B1 (S43)
  • Miller, Rosemary : S38
  • Mills, Saul : S63
  • Miloz, Alice : S50
  • Miloz, Milton : S50
  • Minnesota Labor (Minneapolis) : B1 (S55)
  • Minor, Lydia Erbson : B1 (S25)
  • Minor, Robert : S33
  • Mitchell, Louise : S42
  • Miterstein, Bessie : B1 (S45)
  • Mitropoulos, Dmitri : S8 (program)
  • Moholy-Nagy, L. : See Institute of Design (Chicago)
  • Moldavan, Belle : S34
  • Moldseva, Nicolas : S34
  • Montgomery, Anne : S70
  • Moore, Jennie LeGon : S28
  • Moore, Phil : S28
  • Moret, Enrique : S63
  • Moret, Margaret : S63
  • Morning Freiheit (New York) : B1 (S68)
  • Morrison, Paul : S29
  • Moscovitz, Sam : S3
  • Motion Pictures Artists' Committee (Hollywood) : B1
  • Muhlenberg College (PA) : B1
  • Murray, Donald : S50
  • Myers, Beth : S36
  • Myers, Frederick : S7 (program); S8 (program)
  • Nard, Tibel : S28
  • National CIO War Relief Committee (Los Angeles) : B1 (S55)
  • National Committee to Combat Anti-Semitism (New York) : S61
  • National Maritime Union of America, CIO (New York) : B1 (S23); S13; S18; S63; S68
  • National Society of Mural Painters (New York) : B1
  • National War Labor Board (New York) : B1 (S27)
  • Negro Labor Victory Committee (New York) : S64
  • New Age Magazine (Washington, D.C.) : S62
  • New Masses : S20
  • New York City Council : S6; S72
  • New York Post : S26
  • New York Public Library : B1
  • New York State Association of Elks : S63
  • New York Times : B1 (S71)
  • New York University School of Education : S33
  • Newman, Elsie : S3
  • Nikolaun, Sam : S34
  • Norman, Johanne : S66
  • Northrup, Clark S. : S72
  • Novick, Paul : See Morning Freiheit (New York)
  • Nurenberg, Rubina : S28
  • Nurenberg, Thelma : B1 (S25)
  • Nuñez, Juan R. : S20
  • O'Connor, John Jr. : See Carnegie Institute
  • Oaks, Gladys : B1
  • Obermeier, Mike : S14
  • Ogull, Louis : S36
  • Oliver, Rose : S48
  • Osman, Arthur : S34
  • Ostrower, Jack : S38
  • Otero, Carmen : S11
  • P?kins, Bea : S42
  • Page, Charles : See Motion Pictures Artists' Committee (Hollywood)
  • Paine, Lola : S42
  • Paine, Rose Chandler : B1 (S19)
  • Pais, Emanuel ? : S38
  • Palant, Meriam : S26
  • Papanek, Dr. Jan : See Czechoslovak Information Service (New York)
  • Parcal Mary L. : S62
  • Parees, Max : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Parker, Dorothy : S7 (program); S8 (program); S10 (program)
  • Parsons, Alice T. L. (Mrs. Edgerton) : S32
  • Parsons, Bishop Edward L. : S11
  • Pass, Morris : S42
  • Patri, Giacomo : S11
  • Pearlman, Amalia : B1 (S45)
  • Peetrow, Samuel ? : S69
  • Pennock, William J. : See Washington Pension Union (Seattle)
  • Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission (PHMC) : B1
  • People's Daily World (San Francisco) : B1 (S13); S61
  • Perez, Constantino : S68
  • Perfiliew, Eugene : S38
  • Perlman, Lucille R. : S36
  • Peterson, Frank : S66
  • Pettus, Terry : S70
  • Pfeffer, Max : S44
  • Philadelphia Quartermaster Depot : S6
  • Phillips, W. B. : See U.S. Office of War Information
  • Picon, Molly : S8 (program)
  • Pierera, Emilio : S11
  • Pine, Geri : S62
  • Pinner, Berna : B1 (S33)
  • Pittman, John : See People's Daily World (San Francisco)
  • Platt, David : S42
  • Poetry Society of America (New York) : B1 (S51)
  • Polak, Hilda : S36
  • Polak, N. : S36
  • Polesie, Herb : S26
  • Polesie, Midge : S26
  • Pollock, Abigail : S38
  • Pollock, Wakel : S3
  • Polonia Society : S11
  • Poor, Henry Varnum : S7 (program); S8 (program); See also U.S. War Department
  • Pope, Arthur Upham : S69
  • Posner, Esther : S36
  • Poteat, Edwin McNeill : See Colgate-Rochester Divinity School (Roch., NY)
  • Pottenger Sanatorium and Clinic (Monrovia, CA) : B1 (S53)
  • Pottenger, F.M., Dr. : See Pottenger Sanatorium and Clinic (Monrovia, CA)
  • Powell, Dr. Adam Clayton Jr. : S8 (program)
  • Prago, Albert : S38
  • Pressman, Lee : S8 (program)
  • Pritz, Dora N. (Mrs. Carl E.) : S31
  • Proctor, Jim : S28
  • Proctor, Miriam : S34
  • Proske, Jos.? : S42
  • Quintanilla, Luis : S1; S10 (program)
  • Rab?, Rose : S40
  • Rabinowitz, Marcia : S36
  • Rabinowitz, Mrs. L.M. : S36
  • Rabinowitz, Victor : S36
  • Rabson, Lt. Comr. M. L. (USNR) : S38
  • Radio Research Laboratory (Harvard University) : S60
  • Radoff, Elana : S70
  • Radoff, Freda : S70
  • Rajkovich, N.S. : See Croation Benevolent Fraternity of America, IWO
  • Ramieri, G. : Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Randau, Carl : B1 (S27)
  • Raphaelson, Samson : S8 (program)
  • Raymond, Harry : S42
  • Refregier, Anton : B1; S8 (program); S38
  • Reiter, Oscar : Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Renn, Ludwig : S20
  • Resnick, David : S30
  • Resnick, Isabel : S30
  • Rey, John : See Chefs, Cooks, Pastry Cooks and Assistants Union of New York
  • Rice, Lillian Lloyd : S30
  • Rich, Daniel Catton : See Art Institute of Chicago
  • Robeson, Paul : S7 (program); S8 (program)
  • Robinson, Boardman : S8 (program)
  • Robinson, Clara : S40
  • Robinson, Earl : S8 (program); S18
  • Rochester, H. H. : S32
  • Rodrigues, Raymond P. : S49
  • Roemer, J. M.D. : S41
  • Rogers, Elmer, E. : S62
  • Roland, Anna : S30
  • Roland, Samuel : S30
  • Rosenbaum, Mr. and Mrs. Hyman : B1 (S45)
  • Rosenberg, Amy : S47
  • Rosenberg, David : S47
  • Rosenberg, I. : See United Shoe Workers of America, CIO (New York)
  • Rosenfeld, Alice : S67
  • Rosenthal, Mildred : S61
  • Rosenthal, Mrs. A. M. : S26
  • Ross, Shirley : S36
  • Rossen, Robert : S8 (program)
  • Rossin, Alice H. : S38
  • Rossin, Edgar L. : S38
  • Rotenberg, Sol : See International Workers Order
  • Rouch, Ida : S30
  • Rowan, Edward B. : See U.S. Federal Works Agency; U.S. Treasury Department; U.S. War Department
  • Rubin, William M. : B1 (S14)
  • Ruffner, Lester : B1 (S14)
  • Russell, Rose V. : S50; S64; S69
  • Russian War Relief, Inc. (New York) : B1
  • Russin, Robert I. : S62
  • Rycoff, Irving M. : B1 (S51)
  • Saint Gaudens, Homer : See Carnegie Institute
  • Saltzman, R. : See Jewish Peoples Fraternal Order, IWO (New York)
  • Sandburg, Carl : S7 (program); S8 (program); S10 (program)
  • Sanger, Eileen S. : S40
  • Sannella, Lee S. M.D. : S72
  • Sarkisian, ? : S9
  • Sarton, George : See ISIS
  • Savitsky, G. : S9
  • Scheer, Nancy : S65
  • Scheneidernau, Betty : S40
  • Schenk, Pepi : S62
  • Schlesinger, Frank : S59
  • Schneider, Isidor : S42
  • Schneider, Sylvia T. : S38
  • Schreiber, Sidney : S26
  • Schwartz, Herbert A. Jr. : See U.S. Treasury Department
  • Schwartz, Josephine : S30
  • Schweiger, Sol : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Schweitzer, Rose M. : S30
  • Scudder, Vida D. : B1 (S29)
  • Seattle CIO Council : S37
  • Seattle Post-Intelligencer : B1
  • Seaver, Edwin : S69
  • Seiler, Willy : B1 (S42)
  • Selvin, Minnie Frank : S71
  • Shafritz, Morris : See International Workers Order
  • Shain, Mac A. : S34
  • Shain, Rosa : S34
  • Shapiro, David (Dr. and Mrs.) : B1 (S45)
  • Sherman, Florentine, S. : S48
  • Shevsov, Captain Orrest : S7 (program); S8 (program); S10 (program)
  • Shields, Art : S26
  • Shoemaker, Henry W. : See Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission (PHMC)
  • Shukhmin, P.M. : S9
  • Shumlin, Herman : B1 (S22); S8 (program)
  • Silver, Michael : S64
  • Simon, Helen : S42
  • Singer, Laura : S50
  • Singer, Maxwell : S50
  • Sirianni, Francesco : B1 (S57)
  • Skiba, Emil : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Slate, Marie : S36
  • Slater, Dab : S36
  • Slobodkin, Louis : B1 (S52); S8 (program)
  • Smith, Jessica : S42; S48
  • Society of Cultural Relations (USSR) : S9
  • Sokolov, Nikolay (Aleksandrovich) : S9
  • Solovyov, ? : S9
  • Soloway, Irving H. : S44
  • Sommers, Diane : S30
  • Sondergaard, Gale : S8 (program)
  • Sotomayer, Antonio : S17
  • Soviet Russia Today (New York) : S42
  • Soyer, Ida : S38
  • Soyer, Moses : S8 (program); S38
  • Soyer, Raphael : S8 (program)
  • Spector, Marjorie : S36
  • Speigal, Betty : S28
  • Speigal, Eda : S28
  • Spencer, Niles : S28
  • Sperber, Dr. Perry : B1 (S33)
  • Spertner, H.B. (Mrs.) : S66
  • Spiegal, Walter E. : S28
  • Stanek, Julia : S64
  • Stanley, Edward : See U.S. Coordinator of Inter-American Affairs
  • Stase, George ? : S34
  • State County & Municipal Workers of America, CIO (New York) : B1 (S52)
  • Stefansson, Vilhjalmur : S8 (program)
  • Steig, William "Bill" : S8 (program); S43
  • Steinbeck, John : See U.S. War Department
  • Steinke, Herbert A. : See Albany Print Club
  • Stepanian, Gabe : See J.R. Watkins Company
  • Stock, Alexander : S34
  • Stone, Harriet : S62
  • Stone, Victoria : S28
  • Strand, Paul : B1 (S58)
  • Strauss, Arnold F. : S41
  • Strauss, Marjorie S. : S41
  • Strauss, Mark : S48
  • Studio Morris Topchevsky : S6
  • Stutz, Hyman : S36
  • Sues, Ilona Ralf : B1 (S37); S8 (program)
  • Suller, Dean : S30
  • Sullivan, Glenda : S30
  • Surbeck, John : S59
  • Suskind, George : S42
  • Swerdlove, Harry : B1 (S65)
  • Szyk, Arthur : S8 (program); S38
  • Szyk, Julia : S38
  • Tabb, Roslyn : S28
  • Tamaris, Helen : S8 (program)
  • Tannard, Madeline : B1 (S43)
  • TASS Window Artists (USSR) : S9
  • Teachers Union (New York) : S64; S69
  • Teichware, David : S50
  • Teichware, Sabrina : S50
  • Tendi?, Antonio : S38
  • Terry, David : S40
  • The California Eagle (Los Angeles) : B1 (S53)
  • The Christian Register : B1 (S25)
  • The Daily Worker (New York) : B1 (S23); B1 (S24); B1 (S52); S42
  • The New World (Seattle) : S70
  • The Pilot (National Maritime Union of America, CIO) : B1 (S13)
  • The Protestant : S41
  • Thomas, Maxine Smith : S34
  • Thompson, Louise : See International Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Thompson, Robert : S33
  • Tiller, Dixie : S69
  • Tobias, Dr. Channing H. : S8 (program)
  • Toledano, Margaret Lombardo : S7 (program); S8 (program); S10 (program)
  • Topchevsky, Morris : S6
  • U.S. Bureau of Engraving and Printing : See U.S. Treasury Department
  • U.S. Congress : B1 (S21); B1 (S54)
  • U.S. Coordinator of Information (Office for Emergency Management) : B1
  • U.S. Coordinator of Inter-American Affairs : B1
  • U.S. Department of the Interior : S13
  • U.S. Federal Works Agency (Public Buildings Administration) : B1
  • U.S. Office of War Information (Office for Emergency Management) : B1
  • U.S. Treasury Department : B1
  • U.S. War Department : B1
  • Uhse, Bodo : S20
  • unidentified correspondence/signatures : S20; S28; S30; S34; S38; S40; S42; S48; S62
  • Union of Soviet Artists of the USSR : S9
  • Union of Yugoslav Americans : S64
  • United Cannery, Agricultural, Packing and Allied Workers of America, CIO (Phil.) : B1 (S23); S69
  • United Committee of South-Slavic Americans (New York) : B1 (S55)
  • United Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers of America, CIO : B1 (S23); S71
  • United Federal Workers of America, CIO : B1 (S56); S50
  • United Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Employees, CIO (New York) : B1 (S25)
  • United Shoe Workers of America, CIO (New York) : B1 (S35)
  • University of Maine : B1
  • University of Virginia : B1 (S37)
  • Untermeyer, Jean Starr : S26
  • V?novic, Mrs. Joseph : S49
  • Van Veen, Sadie : B1 (S52)
  • Vanguard Press, Inc. : B1
  • Varga, Magit : See U.S. Federal Works Agency
  • Varian, Dorothy : S40
  • Viglei, Aurora : S30
  • Voska, Julia : S34
  • Voska, Rudolph : S34
  • Wagner, Aaron : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Wagner, E. : S38
  • Wald (k)man, Alice : S34
  • Wallock, Rose : B1 (S45); S28
  • Walls Have Ears (New York) : B1
  • Ward, May McNeer : S40
  • Washington Pension Union (Seattle) : B1 (S51)
  • Watson, Forbes : See U.S. Treasury Department
  • Webster, Margaret : B1 (S29); S8 (program)
  • Wecker, Eddie : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Weingarten, Fannie : B1 (S35)
  • Weinstein, Bobbie : S3; S40
  • Weinstein, Joe : S3; S40
  • Weller, Charles F. : B1 (S43)
  • Weller, Eugenia, W. : B1 (S43)
  • Werner, Nat : S62
  • Weschler, Anita : S32
  • Wess, Gladys E. : S26
  • Westin, Elliot : S38
  • Weston, M. Moran : S63
  • Wheeler, Margaret L. : S44
  • Whelan, Grover : See Worlds Fair Exhibition of Contemporary American Art Committee
  • White House: Roosevelt Administration : B1; See also names of specific departments, e.g. U.S. War Department
  • White, Joshua : S8 (program)
  • White, Rev. Eliot : S41
  • Whitelaw, Elaine : S38
  • Whitty, Dame May : S8 (program); S70
  • Wholesale and Warehouse Workers Union : S34
  • Wilcox, Mildred : S31
  • Wilcox, Philip E. : S31
  • Wilkinson, C? : S28
  • Williams, Barbara : S28
  • Williamson, John : S33
  • Wilson, Helen : S38
  • Wilson, John : S49
  • Wilson, Mitchell : S38
  • Wise, James Waterman : S8 (program)
  • Wise, Louis E. : S59
  • Wolfson, Marion : S19
  • Wolfson, Sidney : S19
  • Wolman, Aaron A. : S31
  • Wolman, Minnie H. (Mrs. Aaron A.) : S18; S31
  • Woodner, Ian : S30
  • Woodner, Ruth : S30
  • Woods, J.B. : S40
  • Worlds Fair Exhibition of Contemporary American Art Committee : B1
  • Writers' War Board (New York) : B1
  • Yeller, Deborah : S38
  • Yergan, Max : B1 (S62)
  • Young, Art : B1
  • Yudin, A. : S30
  • Yuditch, Paul : S67
  • Yutang, Lin : S8 (program)
  • Zarian, Dolia : S40
  • Zerner, Charles : S48
  • Zerner, Mimie : S48
  • Zide, Abraham : See Furniture Workers Union, CIO (New York)
  • Zorach, William : S8 (program)
  • Zugsmith, Leane (and Ann ?) : B1 (S27)

Return to top