Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Grand Central Moderns Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Grand Central Moderns.
Title: Grand Central Moderns Records
Inclusive Dates: 1947-1967
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: The Grand Central Moderns, under the direction of Colette Roberts, was a "non-profit organization dealing in Modern American Art," a branch of the "long-established institution known as Grand Central Art Galleries." Original material pertaining to group and solo exhibitions held at Grand Central Moderns as well as an assortment of personal papers of Colette Roberts. Gallery material consists of clippings, correspondence, exhibition catalogs, photographs, and press releases relating to seventy-nine artists represented by the Gallery as well as several group exhibitions. The Colette Roberts material contains correspondence, photographs, miscellaneous printed material, writings, and memorabilia.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Grand Central Moderns was the modern art division of the Grand Central Art Galleries, established in 1922 by director Erwin S. Barrie. The gallery was located in Manhattan's Grand Central Terminal and was founded as a non-profit organization designed to support American artists.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Grand Central Moderns Records collection contains material from the Grand Central Moderns art gallery in New York City from approximately 1951 through 1965 while under the curatorial direction of Colette Roberts. The Gallery material consists mainly of correspondence relatating to various artists, but also includes clippings, exhibition catalogs, photographs, and press releases. Seventy-nine artists are represented within the collection, among them Byron Browne, Lamar Dodd, Jennett Lam, and Louise Nevelson. The Colette Roberts material contains clippings, correspondence, memorabilia, newsletters, photographs of the work of various artists, and writings as well as exhibition catalogs and press releases from other galleries and museums.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Gallery material (Boxes 1-3) begins with correspondence, which is sorted alphabetically by subject or personal name. Printed material (Box 3) consists of clippings, exhibition catalogs/announcements, newsletters, and press releases, in that order.

Collete Roberts papers (Box 3) starts with correspondence and is followed by photographs, printed material, writings, and memorabilia. Correspondence is ordered by date. The photographs are of art work and are arranged in alphabetical order by the name of the artist. Printed material includes clippings, exhibition catalogs/announcements, museum guide-books, press releases, and publicity, all ordered by date. Writings and memorabilia are also arranged by date where applicable.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Roberts, Colette, 1910-1971.

Corporate Bodies

Grand Central Moderns -- Archives.

Subjects

Art galleries, Commercial -- New York (State) -- New York.
Art galleries, Commercial -- United States.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, Exhibitions.
Artists -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Women art critics -- United States.
Women art historians -- United States.
Women artists -- United States.
Women painters -- United States.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Announcements.
Bulletins.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Guidebooks.
Memorabilia.
Photographs.
Press releases.

Occupations

Art critics.
Art galleries.
Art historians.
Artists.
Painters.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grand Central Moderns Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Colette Roberts, director.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: JOD
Date: 1996-02-07
Revision history: 16 Aug 2007 - converted to EAD (JPK)

Return to top

Inventory

Gallery
Correspondence - subject files
Box 1 Activities (General) (2 folders)
Box 1 Adler, Samuel
Box 1 "An Architects's Choice" May 10-June 8, 1954 (2 folders)
Box 1 Asher, Elise
Box 1 Banks, Virginia (2 folders)
Box 1 Beattie, George
Box 1 Betsberg, Ernestine
Box 1 Boxer, Stanley
Box 1 Browne, Byron (4 folders)
Box 1 Campbell, Kenneth
Box 1 Candell, Victor (2 folders)
Box 1 Carlson, Edith
Box 1 Chadbourn, Alfred
Box 1 Cheney, Lewis
Box 1 Conway, Fred
Box 1 Cook, Howard (2 folders)
Box 1 Corcos, Lucille
Box 1 Cress, George
Box 1 Day, Worden
Box 1 De Martini, Joseph
Box 1 Dodd, Lamar
Box 1 Durfee, Hazard
Box 1 Elliott, Ronnie
Box 1 Ellis, Dean
Box 1 England, Paul
Box 1 "An Exchange Exhibition, Paris - New York" Oct 5-24, 1953 (2 folders)
Box 1 Fine, Albert
Box 1 Flettrich, Leonard
Box 1 Ford, Gigi
Box 1 "4 Murals" Nov 1-18, 1954
Box 1 Freborg, Stan
Box 2 Galantiere, Nancy
Box 2 Geoffrey, J. Iqbal (2 folders)
Box 2 Golbin, Andree
Box 2 Goldring, Milton (2 folders)
Box 2 Gonzalez, Xavier
Box 2 Grant, James
Box 2 "Guest Sculptors" Jan 3-27, 1953
Box 2 Hare, Channing
Box 2 Hasen, Burton (2 folders)
Box 2 Hebald, Milton
Box 2 Hensel, Hopkins
Box 2 Houser, Jim
Box 2 "The Island" Oct 13-Nov 8, 1952
Box 2 Kearl, Stanley Brandon
Box 2 Lam, Jennett
Box 2 Lethem, Richard
Box 2 Livitan, Israel
Box 2 Lund, David
Box 2 Macdonald, Herbert
Box 2 Madrigal, August
Box 2 Manso, Leo
Box 2 Marren, Janet
Box 2 Mikus, Eleanore
Box 2 Miyashita, Tad
Box 2 Moffitt, Elizabeth
Box 2 Morrison, George (2 folders)
Box 2 Moy, Seong (2 folders)
Box 2 Narotzky, Norman
Box 2 Nevelson, Louise
Box 2 "New York" Summer 1952
Box 2 Niewald, Wilbur
Box 2 Osver, Arthur (2 folders)
Box 2 "Outlook 1955" Jan 27-Feb 17, 1955
Box 2 "Outlook 1956" Apr 28-May 12, 1956
Box 2 Parsons, Betty
Box 2 Preminger, Mary Gardner
Box 2 Ray, Rudolf
Box 2 Reid, Robert
Box 2 Robus, Hugo
Box 2 Roth, Jack
Box 2 Rowan, Herman
Box 2 Ruben, Richard
Box 2 Russo, Alexander
Box 2 Shahly, Jehan
Box 2 Simon, Sidney
Box 2 Steffen, Bernard
Box 2 Stoltenberg, Donald
Box 3 Taplitz
Box 3 Thompson, William
Box 3 Trotter, McKie
Box 3 Twiggs, Russell
Box 3 Twirbutt, Josef
Box 3 Wald, Sylvia
Box 3 Watts, Robert
Box 3 Wilson, Sybil
Box 3 Woods, Conrad
Box 3 Zuka
Printed material
Box 3 Clippings 1951-1961, undated
Box 3 Exhibition catalogs/announcements (miscellaneous) 1952-1961, undated
Box 3 Newsletters 1953-1965
Box 3 Press releases 1951-1960, undated (3 folders)
Collette Roberts
Correspondence - subject file
Box 3 Miscellany 1953, 1957-1964, undated
Photographs
Box 3 Artwork - By artist A-Z, unknown (2 folders)
Printed material
Box 3 Clippings 1950-1964, undated
Box 3 Exhibition catalogs/announcements (miscellaneous) 1947, 1954-1965, undated (9 folders)
Museum guide-books
Box 3 The Art Gallery Oct 1962-Apr 1967 (3 folders)
Box 3 The New York Arts Calendar May 1964, Oct-Dec 1964
Box 3 Press releases (miscellaneous) 1957-1965, undated (2 folders)
Box 3 Publicity (personal) undated
Writings
Box 3 Miscellany 1953-1963, undated
Memorabilia
Box 3 Course material undated
Box 3 Miscellany 1961-1965, undated

Return to top