Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Grand Army of the Republic, Root Post No. 151 (Syracuse, N.Y.), Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Grand Army of the Republic. -- Root Post No. 151 (Syracuse, N.Y.)
Title: Grand Army of the Republic, Root Post No. 151 (Syracuse, N.Y.), Records
Inclusive Dates: 1910-1944
Quantity: 3 folders (SC)
Abstract: Minutes, correspondence, photographs of the Syracuse, New York chapter.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

In 1866, Union veterans of the Civil War formed a fraternal organization known as the Grand Army of the Republic (GAR), with both social and political goals, and with the stated principles of Fraternity, Charity and Loyalty. The organization was politically powerful; their General Order #11 (1868) established May 30 as "Decoration Day" which later evolved into Memorial Day, and they were active in passing legislation on pensions and retirement homes for veterans. These "Old Soldiers' Homes" eventually led to the current United States Department of Veterans Affairs.

Because membership was open only to those who saw active service in the Union army, the GAR's lifespan was necessarily limited. During 1881 and 1882 the GAR formed the Sons of Veterans, U.S.A. to carry on its traditions; some of the earliest divisions were in Pennsylvania, Ohio, Virginia, and New York (the New York Division was later renamed the New York Department). In 1956, with the death of the last surviving member, the GAR was formally dissolved.

In 1925 the Sons of Veterans changed their name to Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, which is the name it uses at the present day. Membership in the organization is open to anyone who can demonstrate descent from a GAR member (interested parties who are not descendants are admitted as Associate Members). The SUVCW, along with the Daughters of Union Veterans of the Civil War and three other organizations, comprise the five Allied Orders of the GAR.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Grand Army of the Republic, Root Post No. 151 (Syracuse, N.Y.), Records consists of a administrative records, correspondence, and photographs.

Administrative records consist of a single bound volume, containing minutes of the group's meetings. A few items of official correspondence have been tipped in. The earliest set of minutes are dated 13 Jan 1910 and the last is dated 27 Nov 1919. One side of the back free end paper has a pencilled list of member deaths, and the other side has notes regarding accounts.

Correspondence is all outgoing, and consists mostly of invitations and letters of thanks or acknowledgement.

Photographs contains a group portrait of the Root Post marching band.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Grand Army of the Republic. -- Root Post No. 151 (Syracuse, N.Y.)

Subjects

Fraternal organizations -- United States.
Veterans -- Societies and clubs.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Societies and clubs.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Minutes.
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grand Army of the Republic, Root Post No. 151 (Syracuse, N.Y.), Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 13 Nov 2015
Revision history: 13 Feb 2017 - additions, P-15-281 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Administrative records
SC 768 Minutes 1900-1919
Correspondence
SC 768 General 1927, 1931-1932, 1936-1937, 1944
Memorabilia
SC 768 Photographs undated

Return to top