Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Paul Goodman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Goodman, Paul, 1911-1972.
Title: Paul Goodman Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1961-1965
Quantity: 1.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American author, poet. Includes correspondence; articles, book manuscripts, a galley proof, poems; and published material, including articles and clippings (1963-1964).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Author, poet, social critic and educator Paul Goodman was born in New York City on September 9, 1911. After graduating from City College in New York, he received his Ph.D. in Humanities from the University of Chicago. Goodman has taught at the University of Chicago, New York University, Black Mountain College, and Sarah Lawrence, and has lectured widely at various universities throughout the country. He is associated with the New York and Cleveland institutes for Gestalt Therapy and the University Seminar on the Problems of Interpretation at Columbia. He is also a Fellow of the Institute for Policy Studies in Washington, DC.

Goodman has written for Commentary, Politics, Kenyon Review, Resistance, Liberation, Partisan Review, Dissent, The Quarterly Review of Literature, The New Republic, Moviegoer, and the Village Voice. His fiction includes The Facts of Life, The Break-Up of Our Camp, Parent's Day, The Empire City, Making Do, and a volume of verse, The Lordly Hudson. He has also written two books of criticism, Kafka's Prayer and The Structure of Literature. In the area of social studies, in addition to co-authoring Communitas and Gestalt Therapy, he has written Art and Social Nature, Growing Up Absurd (the book for which he is best known), Utopian Essays and Practical Purposes, Drawing the Line, Community of Scholars, and Compulsory Mis-Education.

Mr. Goodman is married and has three children.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Goodman Papers consist of correspondence (incoming and outgoing), subject files, manuscripts and published material. Correspondence contains incoming, consisting of a selection of crank letters to Mr. Goodman and a letter from John Lindsay, and outoing, consisting of a series of letters from Mr. Goodman. Subject files contains a desk calendar, an undated test on Growing Up Absurd, a meeting notice, and minutes of a school board meeting. Manuscripts contains two manuscripts of books by Goodman and a galley proof, also lectures, magazine articles, notes and poetry. Published material contains magazine articles, newspaper clippings, and a pamphlet.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically for the most part.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Goodman, Paul, 1911-1972 Archives.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings.
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Poems.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Goodman Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Feb 1967
Revision history: 10 May 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming
Box 1 A-C, D-K, L-R, S, T-Z
Box 1 Crank letters 1964
Box 1 Lindsay, John 1963
Outgoing
Box 1 1963-1964, undated
Subject file
Box 1 Calendar 1964
Box 1 Test on Growing Up Absurd undated
Box 1 Meeting notice undated
Box 1 Minutes of school board meetings 1962
Manuscripts
Books
Box 1 The Lordly Hudson 1962
Box 1 People or Personnel 1965
Box 2 People or Personnal, galley proofs 1965
Lectures
Box 2 undated
Magazine articles
Box 2 1961-1964, undated
Poetry
Box 2 1964, undated
Published material
Box 2 Magazine articles 1961-1964, undated
Box 2 Newspaper clippings 1963-1964
Box 2 Pamphlet undated

Return to top