Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Vincent Glinsky Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Glinsky, Vincent, 1895-1975
Title: Vincent Glinsky Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1929-1964
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Spanning 1929 to 1964, the Vincent Glinsky Papers comprises correspondence, artwork reproductions, writings, and memorabilia of the Russian American sculptor and educator. While illuminating his professional career, the collection also reflects Glinsky's political activities in support of federal aid to the arts and in the interest of world peace.
Language: English, Russian
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Vincent Glinsky (1895-1975) was a Russian-American artist and sculptor.

Glinsky was born in Russia on 18 Dec 1895. After coming to America in early childhood, he attended school in Syracuse, New York and then studied at Columbia University's School of Architecture (1924-1925), City College of New York, and the Beaux Arts Institute of Design. In 1935 Glinsky received a Guggenheim Fellowship and soon after left America to settle in Italy and then France. During the Depression Glinsky returned to the United States and worked as a WPA artist and architectural artist.

He has held many one-man shows both in Europe and in the United States. Among the exhibitions he has participated in are the Golden Gate Exposition in San Francisco, the International Watercolor Exhibition in Chicago, and the Contemporary American Art Exhibition in London in 1941.

From 1938-1940 he was the instructor of sculpture at the Beaux Arts Institute of Design in New York. He also taught at Brooklyn College (1949-1955) and in Columbia University's Adult Education Division (summers, 1957-1961).

Glinsky belonged to many clubs and organizations, but his primary interest was in the Audubon Artists and the Architectural League of New York, of which he was vice-president from 1956 to 1958.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Incoming letters and a few outgoing carbons, together with a variety of printed materials, constitute the Correspondence Subject Files (Box 1). Correspondents include fellow artists (Edmond Amateis, Rudulph Evans, Joseph Konzal, Georg Lober, Oronzio Maldarelli, Jacques Schnier, Adolph Alexander Weinman); authors (Kate S. Heyman, Beatrice Gilman Proske); art patrons and specialists (John Coolidge, Edith Halpert, Archer Milton Huntington); and political figures (Sherman Adams, J. William Fulbright, Hubert H. Humphrey, Eleanor Roosevelt, Henry A. Wallace). Organizational correspondence includes that of educational institutions (Beaux Arts Institute of Design, Columbia University, New York University); museums (Carnegie Institute, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, Whitney Museum of American Art); patrons (National Safety Council, U. S. Treasury Department); political affiliations (American Continental Congress for World Peace, National Council of American Soviet Friendship, Inc., Russian War Relief, Inc., World Congress for Peace); and professional associations (American Academy of Arts and Letters, Architectural League of New York, Audubon Artists, Inc., National Academy of Design, National Sculpture Society).

Artwork consists of periodical reproductions and a photograph, while an article which appeared in the National Sculpture Review, written in collaboration with Glinsky's wife, sculptor Cleo Hartwig, is the sole item in Writings.

Memorabilia (Boxes 1-3) encompasses articles and clippings (1929-1964) about Glinsky, as well as a number of exhibition catalogs ranging from the 1920s through the 1960s.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Glinsky, Vincent, 1895-1975.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Artists -- United States.
Russian Americans.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Pamphlets.

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Vincent Glinsky Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Vincent Glinsky, 1964, 1965.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Jul 1994
Revision history: 16 Nov 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 20 Sep 2006 - bio added, updated (MRR); 6 Nov 2012 - corrected box 2-3 (MRR); 5 Dec 2016 - box 2 and collection size updated, minor style fixes (MS, MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-Subject Files
Box 1 Adams, Sherman 1958
Box 1 Amateis, Edmond 1947
Box 1 American Academy of Arts and Letters 1945
Box 1 American Continental Congress for World Peace 1949
Box 1 Architectural League of New York 1946-1963
Box 1 Audubon Artists, Inc. 1944-1946, 1963
Box 1 Beaux Arts Institute of Design 1932-1942
Box 1 Carnegie Institute 1940-1941
Box 1 Columbia University 1957-1960
Box 1 Coolidge, John 1961-1962
Box 1 Evans, Rudulph 1956
Box 1 Fairmount Park Art Association 1940, 1949
Box 1 Fulbright, J. William 1954
Box 1 Halpert, Edith 1949
Box 1 Heyman, Kate Selma 1939
Box 1 Humphrey, Hubert H. 1959
Box 1 Huntington, Archer Milton 1946-1948
Box 1 Konzal, Joseph 1956
Box 1 Lober, Georg 1947
Box 1 Maldarelli, Oronzio undated
Box 1 Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, N.Y.) 1942, 1960
Box 1 National Academy of Design 1946-1952
Box 1 National Arts Club 1958
Box 1 National Council of American Soviet Friendship, Inc. 1946-1950
Box 1 National Safety Council 1956
Box 1 National Sculpture Society 1942-1960, undated
Box 1 New York University 1952-1963
Box 1 Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts 1946-1960
Box 1 Philadelphia Art Alliance 1936, 1948-1949
Box 1 Proske, Beatrice Gilman 1952
Rivera, Diego
See American Continental Congress for World Peace
Box 1 Roosevelt, Eleanor 1946
Box 1 Russian War Relief, Inc. 1942
Box 1 Schnier, Jacques 1948
Box 1 United States. Treasury Department 1937-1939, undated
Box 1 Wallace, Henry A. 1946
Box 1 Weinman, Adolph Alexander 1946
Box 1 Western Printing and Lithographing Company 1961
Box 1 Whitney Museum of American Art 1946-1954
Box 1 World Congress for Peace 1949
Box 1 A-Z (1 folder)
Artwork
Box 1 Reproductions (by title), A-Z
Writings
Box 1 "Direct Carving in Stone" 1965 - Article, National Sculpture Review Summer 1965
Memorabilia
Box 2 Articles about 1929-1962, undated (2 folders)
Box 2 Clippings 1929-1964
Box 2 Exhibition catalogs 1920s-1960s, undated (7 folders)

Return to top