Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Betty Blanc Glassbury Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Glassbury, Betty Blanc.
Title: Betty Blanc Glassbury Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1944-1966
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American poet. Collection includes manuscript poems and a small amount of printed material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Betty Blanc Glassbury (dates unknown) was an American poet. Her works have been published in the United States, Canada, England and Australia. She served as president of the Composers, Authors and Artists of America and the National League of Creative Artists, and was an active member of various arts-related organizations including the Chopin Society and the Ziegfeld Club.

Glassbury was also a well-known opera singer and a traveler, linguist and collector of Tibetan art. Following her operatic career she turned to art, painting and working in ceramics.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Betty Blanc Glassbury Papers consist of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts and published material.

Correspondence contains two incoming letters. Subject files include awards and clippings. Manuscripts consists of poetry written by Glassbury. Published material includes newspaper clippings about Glassbury and several issues of Composers, Authors and Artists of America.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Glassbury, Betty Blanc.

Subjects

Women poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Poems.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Betty Blanc Glassbury Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: Mar 1967
Revision history: 22 Apr 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming 1966
Subject files
Box 1 Certificates 1944-1945
Box 1 Clippings about 1965
Box 1 Clippings about others 1966
Manuscripts
Box 1 Poems
Published material
Box 1 Magazine, Composers, Authors and Artists of America 1964-1966
Box 1 Newspaper clipping about 1965

Return to top