Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Gershoy, Eugenie, 1901-
Title:	Eugenie Gershoy Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1914-1965
Quantity:	2.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the Russian-American sculptor, painter. Incoming and outgoing correspondence; manuscripts including drawings, notes, sketches, and illustrations; published material; and photographs of Gershoy's work and family.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Eugenie Gershoy (1901-1983) was a Russian-American sculptress and painter. Born Jan. 1, 1901, in Krivoi Rog, Russia, Ms. Gershoy emigrated to the United States with her family in 1903. Ms. Gershoy (nicknamed "Johnny") won a scholarship to the Art Students League in New York where she studied under A. Stirling Caldwell, Kenneth Hayes Miller, and Boardman Robinson (1921-1922); she later lived for several years in the artists' colony at Woodstock, New York, where she was influenced by the noted sculptor John Flanagan.

Joining the Federal Art Project in 1936, Miss Gershoy developed the dextrine, glue, and plaster composition known as "polychrome," and her polychrome papier-mache sculptures were commissioned by numerous clients over the years. Ms. Gershoy also taught at the New Orleans Art School (1941-1942), California School of Fine Arts (1946), and in public schools in San Francisco. She was also an avid traveler, visiting or studying in England and France (early 1930s), Mexico and Guatemala (1947, 1948, and 1961), Paris (1951), and Africa, India, and the Orient (1955).

Ms. Gershoy's work has been exhibited in both solo and group shows in galleries and museums throughout the United States, including the Baltimore Museum of Art, Brooklyn Museum, Museum of Modern Art, Dallas Museum of Art, Isaac Delgado Museum in New Orleans, Wichita Museum of Fine Arts, Whitney Museum of American Art, Philadelphia Museum of Art, and many others. Her work is in the permanent collections of many major museums and galleries, including the Smithsonian Institution and the Museum of Modern Art.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eugenie Gershoy Papers consists of biographical material, correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, photographs, and published material.

The majority of Correspondence is incoming, including family and friends, galleries and museums, and fan mail. There is a small amount of outgoing correspondence. Subject files consists of pamphlets, newsletters, paintings and sketches (other than Miss Gershoy's), a printer's plate of "Can-Can Dancer," and other related items. Manuscripts include color tryouts, illustrations, notes, sketches, and working drawings. Photographs are of Ms. Gershoy's paintings and sculpture as well as of her family and friends. Published material includes clippings about Ms. Gershoy, published photographs of her and her work, reviews, and a few clippings about others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author, outgoing chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically subject. Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by type of manuscript. Published material is subdivided by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eugenie Gershoy Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: May 1966
Revision history: 29 May 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
		Incoming
Box 1			A
Box 1			American Red Cross
Box 1			Artists for Victory, Inc.
Box 1			Baltimore Museum of Art
Box 1			C-D
Box 1			De Porte
Box 1			F
Box 1			Fairmount Park Art Association
Box 1			Gershoy, Alex
Box 1			Gershoy, Ida
Box 1			Gershoy, Leo
Box 1			Gershoy, Polly
Box 1			H-L
Box 1			Metropolitan Museum of Art
Box 1			Museum of Modern Art
Box 1			Oakland Art Museum
Box 1			P-S
Box 1			San Francisco Society of Artists
Box 1			T-W
Box 1			Whitney Museum of American Art
Box 1			Undated
Box 1			Unidentifiable 1918, 1920, 1922, 1926, 1938, 1955, 1958-1959, 1964-1965
Box 1			Fan mail
Box 1			Letters of recommendation for Albert J. Dender Grant
		Outgoing Correspondence
Box 1			General

	Subject files
Box 1		Adult education courses
Box 1		Check
Box 1		Circulars, pamphlets, fliers
Box 1		College of Marin record
Box 2		Paintings and sketches by others
Box 2		Printer's plate of "Can-Can Dancer"
Box 2		San Francisco Women Artists - fliers and pamphlets
Box 2		San Francisco Art Association
Box 2		Travel folders and related items

	Manuscripts
Box 2		Color Tryouts
Box 2		Illustrations (age 13)
Box 2		Notes
Box 2		Sketches
Box 2		Sketches of servicemen 1945
Box 2		Sketches by others
Box 2		Working drawings

	Photographs
Box 2		Family and friends
Box 2		Photos of sculpture and paintings
Box 3		Photos of sculpture and Painting - negatives
Box 3		Photos of Sculpture and Painting - slides
Box 3		Photos of sculpture and painting - student work

	Published material
		Magazines & leaflets
Box 4			Articles about Eugenie Gershoy
		Newspaper clippings
Box 4			Articles about Eugenie Gershoy
Box 4			Photos of sculpture and painting
Box 4			Reviews
Box 4			About others

Return to top