Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Bill Gallo Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gallo, Bill.
Title: Bill Gallo Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1960-1970
Quantity: 12 linear ft.
Abstract: Nearly 900 original sports cartoons from the New York Daily News, sketches, correspondence and two newspapers.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Bill Gallo (1922-2011) was an award-winning American sports cartoonist.

Born December 28, 1922 in New York City and raised in Astoria, Queens, William "Bill" Gallo grew up wanting to work for a newspaper. His father, an immigrant from the Basque region of Spain, worked at the the Spanish-language paper La Prensa. Gallo acquired his art education through Columbia University and what is now the School of Visual Arts through the GI Bill.

In 1941, he joined the staff of the New York Daily News and worked as a reporter, caption writer and staff artist. He left in 1942 to serve with the United States Marine Corps but returned in 1945 after a tour of duty that included Iwo Jima. In 1954 his first cartoon was published in the Daily News and he became the paper's sports cartoonist in 1960, after the death of cartoonist Leo O'Melia. Not only did Gallo depict many figures in the sports world, he has also met and befriended many prominent athletes including Muhammad Ali and baseball's Joe Dimaggio.

Gallo has been an active member of the National Cartoonists Society. He served two terms as NCS president and won many of their awards including best sports cartoonist (1968-1970, 1972-1973, 1983-1985, 1987-1988), the Silver T-Square Award (1978), and the Elzie Segar Award (1976). In 1998 NCS recognized him with the Milton Caniff Lifetime Achievement Award. Gallo's work has also won several Page One Awards from the New York Newspaper Guild. Gallo has been a member of the New York Boxing Writers (serving as president), the Baseball Writers Association, Professional Football Writers, Turf Writers and The New York Press Association. His work is represented in the permanent collections of the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York.

An estimated 15,000 cartoons by Gallo have appeared in the Daily News and in 2000, Gallo published Drawing a Crowd: Bill Gallo's Greatest Sports Moments. As of 2009, Gallo was still writing a weekly sports column for the Daily News.

Gallo died in May 2011 of complications of pneumonia.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bill Gallo Papers, consist of four series. The main series, Cartoons contains almost 900 original sports cartoons drawn by Gallo for the New York Daily News during the 1960s. Gallo covered all sports but professional baseball, professional football and boxing are heavily represented in this particular collection. Only a handful of cartoons focus on college sports with particular attention given to the National Invitation Tournament.

Aside from regular depictions of the New York Mets, Yankees, Rangers, Giants and Jets and their star players, coaches and managers, Gallo commented on rivalries (such as that between the New York Yankees and the Boston "Rob" Sox as Gallo dubbed them) and the standings within particular leagues and divisions. Outside of the New York area, Gallo gave particular attention to the Los Angeles Dodgers (formerly of Brooklyn). Gallo also utilized several recurring characters including Basement Bertha and Denny Deflator as well as the "three and a half guys" who were fans of basketball and the "half of a guy" who like hockey.

Providing more than simply a caricature of a particular team or event, Gallo frequently presented analysis of a sporting event as if it were a short sports story and even explained the history of particular teams or figures such as the Southern Illinois University's mascot, the Saluki. A handful of cartoons in this vein are referred to by Gallo as "columntoons". Gallo also depicted the life of sportswriters who according to him, practically lived at Madison Square Garden as well as the process he went through in producing a daily cartoon. Also worth noting is Gallo's running gag depicting conflict between husbands who like to watch sports on television and their wives, with the wives typically drawn as being locked in the closet for the duration of Sunday afternoon's televised games.

Almost all of the cartoons are undated and therefore have been arranged in alphabetical order by caption. Gallo drew the cartoons on illustration board with pen and ink and dot screening. Captions appear in pencil. The cartoons vary in size, with most measuring approximately 11 1/4" x 14 ½". There are 13 cartoons without captions and 25 oversize cartoons which can be found at the end of the series.

Sketches contains 17 undated items by Gallo drawn primarily in blue pencil on paper. The sketches measure 8 ½" x 11 and many contain written ideas for cartoons.

Correspondence includes incoming correspondence (1960-1967, almost all typed), primarily from individuals thanking Gallo for original cartoons. Correspondents include William Shea, New York Giants coach Allie Sherman, Robert O. Fishel of the New York Yankees, and Soupy Sales as well as representatives from the Chicago Cubs, the Pro Football Hall of Fame and the Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. Also of interest are a few pieces of fan mail.

Newspapers is comprised of two issues (final and night owl editions) of the January 17, 1970 New York Daily News in which a cartoon by Gallo appeared.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The cartoons are arranged alphabetically by caption with oversize cartoons located at the end of the collection. Correspondence is arranged in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Warren King Papers for additional cartoons (editorial) from the New York Daily News from this time period.

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Ali, Muhammad, 1942- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Berra, Yogi, 1925- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Durocher, Leo, 1906-1991 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Ewbank, Weeb -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Francis, Emile -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Frazier, Joe, 1944- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Gallo, Bill.
Griffith, Emile -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Houk, Ralph, 1919- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Lombardi, Vince -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Mantle, Mickey, 1931-1995 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Namath, Joe Willie, 1943- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Sherman, Allie -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Stengel, Casey -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Corporate Bodies

Los Angeles Dodgers (Baseball team) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
New York Giants (Football team) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
New York Jets (Football team) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
New York Knickerbockers (Basketball team) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
New York Mets (Baseball team) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
New York Rangers (Hockey team) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
New York Yankees (Baseball team) -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Associated Titles

Daily news (New York, N.Y. : 1920)

Subjects

American wit and humor -- Pictorial.
Baseball -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Basketball -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Boxing -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Caricatures and cartoons -- New York (N.Y.)
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- New York (N.Y.)
Cartoonists -- United States.
Coaches (Athletics) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Football -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Hockey -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Horse racing -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Sports -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Sports general managers -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Sportswriters -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Correspondence.
Newspapers.
Preliminary sketches.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bill Gallo Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Bill Gallo, 1966-1967, 1969-1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: WHL/CAD
Date: Aug 1984
Revision history: 13 Nov 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 8 Dec 2009 - expanded bio, scope and inventory (SK); 3 Jun 2011 - updated bio (AM)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons 1960-1969
Oversize 1 A-Ben
About Face: Leo Durocher, Chicago Cubs
Acrobatics: Chicago Cubs
Advance Publicity: Jim Brown, New York Giants, Cleveland Browns
Advice to the Glovelorn (2 cartoons): boxing
After the Brawl is Over: boxing, Joey Archer, Holley Mims
Again, Again and Again: baseball, Solly Hemus
The Agony and the Agony: New York Giants, Cleveland Browns
Ah, but there was this one day in N.Y....: Don Larsen, baseball
Ali Cat: Muhammad Ali
All alone, by the...: Casey Stengel, Jimmy Wynn
All About Those Guys in the Middle: boxing
All Our Eggs in One Basket All Together: New York Knicks, Dave Debusschere, Frank McGuire
All Together Now!: NY News sports staff
All Together: Casey Stengel
Allie's Burden: Allie Sherman, New York Giants
... and a Happy New Year: Weeb Ewbank, Hank Stram, Kansas City Chiefs
And Now, A Commercial...: New York Yankees, Minnesota Twins, Cal Griffin
And Protect Yourselves At All Times: Astrodome
And the winner is...: Kentucky Derby
Angel on Their Shoulder: Al Kaline, Carl Yastrzemski, Albie Pearson, American League, baseball
Another season, another reason: holidays and regional sports teams
Answered: Mets, Tommie Agee
Any Kid'll Tel Ya...: Mickey Mantle
Anybody Here Seen...: New York Yankees, New York Mets
Anyway You Look At It: Muhammad Ali, Floyd Mayweather
Apartment Hunters: Detroit Tigers, Los Angeles Angels, Boston Red Sox, Chicago White Sox, Minnesota Twins
Applause From This Corner: Boston Red Sox, Ted Williams
The Arbitrator: Joe Cronin
Army Gets The Girl: Navy, Army, John Cartright
Army Tosses a Late Party: Navy, Army, John Cartright, Carl Woessner, Steve Lindell
The Art of Walking Backwards: baseball standings
Assignment, Fight Camp: boxing
Assignment, Madison Square: boxing, Golden Gloves, National Invitation Tournament, Madison Square Gardens
Astrodome Sideshow: Ernie Terrell, Muhammad Ali
AT - ten - shun!: New York Rangers, Emile Francis
Au Revoir: Allie Sherman
Back In the Club: Floyd Mayweather, boxing
Back In the Old Stable: New York Giants, Darrell Dess
The Back of Me Hand and the Side of Me Foot: Pete Gogolak, National Football League, American Football League
Back to the Board: Barry Goldwater, Allie Sherman, Weeb Ewbank
Bad Manners: Warren Spahn, New York Mets
Bag and Baggage: New York Mets, Juan Marichal
Bang, Boom, Bashes and Dashes: boxing, New York Rangers, New York Knicks, Olympics
Barney: Barney Ross
Basket Weaving: boxing, National Invitation Tournament, Temple University, Madison Square Gardens
Batter Up!: Baltimore Orioles, New York Mets
The Battle of the Bulge: New York Yankees
Be My Guest: Kentucky Derby
Be My Guest: New York Knicks
Beantown or Bust: Muhammad Ali, Sonny Liston
The Bear Who Came to Dinner: Leo Durocher, Chicago Cubs, New York Mets
Beatin' the Blitz: Gary Wood, Fran Tarkenton, Y.A. Tittle
The Beautiful Balloon: Lew Alcindor, Bill Bradley
The Beautiful People: New York Mets
Beautiful Shot: National Basketball Committee, dunking
Because It's There: Joe Cronin, Charles O. Finley
Because It's There: boxing, Golden Gloves (1968)
Beg Pardon: Joe Kapp, Aaron Brown
A Beginning and an End: Joe Frazier, George Chuvalo
Behind the Scenes: Vince Lombardi, Green Bay Packers
Bench Warmers: New York Yankees
Oversize 2 Ber-By

The Berth of the Blues?: New York Rangers
Best of Snow: sports news
Best Sellers: New York Mets, New York Yankees
Big Daddy: horse racing
Big Fish In A Big Pond: Hank Aaron, Mickey Mantle, Jimmy Foxx, Ted Williams, Met Ott, Lou Gehrig
The Big Caper: American League, baseball
The Big Caper (continued): Stan Musial, Dick Williams, Tom Yawkey
A Big Hand For The Knicks: Walt Bellamy, New York Knicks
The "Big" Hitters: New York Yankees, New York Mets, Bob Foster, Ralph Evans
The Big Oh, Oh: New York Knicks, Oscar Robertson
The Bigg Man: Verlon Biggs, Jackie Kemp, New York Jets, Buffalo Bills
A Bird in the Hand Is Worth Two in the Busch: St. Louis Cardinals, Ken Boyer, New York Yankees, Bobby Richardson
A Bird in the Hand ls Worth Two...: St. Louis Cardinals, Jim Gentile
A Bird on a Wing-Ding: Baltimore Orioles, New York Yankees
Birdland: World Series, Baltimore Orioles, Detroit Tigers
Bird Watcher: Baltimore Orioles
Bird Watcher: St. Louis Cardinals, Bob Gibson
Birds, Bees and Baseball: Washington Senators, Detroit Tigers, St. Louis Cardinals, Eddie Stanky
Blimp Overhead: boxing, Thad Spencer, Jimmy Ellis, Jerry Quarry
Bonanza: horse racing, Eddie Neloy, Braulio Baeza
Book of Knowledge: Johnny Sain, New York Yankees, Minnesota Twins, Detroit Tigers
Boom or Bust: hockey, National Basketball Association, American Basketball Association, National Hockey League
Boxing Notes from a Sketch Pad: boxing
Boys Will Be Boys: National Football League, American Football League
The Brave Bulls: New York Giants, Allie Sherman, Tucker Fredrickson, Bob Timberlake, Ernie Koy Jr.
Bright, My Foot!: Frank Howard, New York Yankees
...and bringing up the rear, it's...: New York Yankees
Bubbling Over: New York Mets, Los Angeles Dodgers, Tommy Davis, Derrell Griffith, Jim Hickman
Bugged: New York Mets
Bum Dope: Los Angeles Dodgers, Claude Osteen
Burp! (2 Cartoons): football, television
By George, I think he's got it!: sportswriters
Oversize 3 C-E
Calling A Turn: horse racing, Don Brumfield, Six Furlong Classic
Calling An Audible Capitol Stuff: Denny McLain, New York Giants, San Francisco 49ers, Los Angeles Rams
Capitol Stuff: Washington Senators, Gil Hodges
Case Closed: boxing
Case Closed?: Ford Frick
Cast of Characters: Boston Red Sox, St. Louis Cardinals, World Series (1967)
Cat-A-Pulter: Emile Francis, New York Rangers, Bob Seagren
The Cat's Meow!: Emile Francis, National Hockey League
The Cat's Paw: St. Louis Cardinals, Detroit Tigers, Mickey Lolich
Caught Off Guard: Allie Sherman, New York Giants
Chairmen of the Board: Mickey Lolich, Bob Gibson, Mayo Smith, St. Louis Cardinals, Detroit Tigers
The Challenge: Bob Cleroux, Sonny Liston
Chapter I: St. Louis Cardinals, Boston Red Sox, Stan Musial, Dick Williams, World Series (1967)
Chapter II: St. Louis Cardinals, Boston Red Sox, World Series (1967)
Chapter III: St. Louis Cardinals, Boston Red Sox, World Series (1967)
Chapter IV: St. Louis Cardinals, Boston Red Sox, World Series (1967)
A Character Story: Nino Benvenuti, Emile Griffith
Charge!: Kentucky Derby (1966)
Charge!: sports cartoons
Charlie Dressen - A Baseball Man: Charlie Dressen, Detroit Tigers, baseball
Chip Off the Ol' Block: Vince Lombardi
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang?: Jerry Quarry, Jimmy Ellis
Cinderfella?: New York Rangers, Stanley Cup
Cliches (But, they ain't necessarily so): St. Louis Cardinals, New York Mets, Ken Harrelson, Joe Pepitone, New York Knicks, Lou Gehrig, baseball, football
Close Quarters: National League, baseball, San Francisco Giants, Los Angeles Dodgers, Cincinnati Reds, Atlanta Braves, Pittsburgh Pirates
Collector's Item: New York Knicks, New York Rangers (November 1966)
Color It Green: Weeb Ewbank
Come an' Get Me!: New York Mets
Come'n'Get It!: George Halas, Green Bay Packers, Chicago Bears
Comin' and Goin': New York Mets, New York Yankees
C'mon Home, Knicks!: New York Knicks
C'mon Up!: Valery Brumel, high jumping
Confrontation: Bob Foster, boxing
Coolest Cat in Town: Emile Francis, Weeb Ewbank, Red Holzman, Allie Sherman, Gil Hodges, Ralph Houk
Copy Cat: baseball
Country of the Month: Muhammad Ali, Karl Mildenberger, Brian London
Coupla Cutups: New Mets, George Weiss
Court Room Drama: Muhammad Ali
Crossroads: Cus D'Amato, Jose Torres, Skeeter McClure
C-R-A-Z-Y, Cat!: New York Rangers, Emile Francis
A Crowded Room: Dan Topping, New York Yankees
The Cubs Got It Made: Chicago Cubs
A Cure for Achin' Backs: New York Rangers, Reggie Fleming, Bernie Geoffrion
Darling of the day: Red Holzman, New York Knicks
A Day with Grief: Emile Griffith, Joey Archer
Decisions, Decisions, Decisions!: Emile Griffith, Dick Tiger
Destroying the Evidence: Los Angeles Dodgers, New York Daily News
Did You Ever Notice?: National League, St. Louis Cardinals, New York Mets, New York Yankees
Do You Know What WE Went and Did?: New York Mets, New York Yankees
Don't Fight It, Girls: football
Don't Wait Up: Yonkers raceway, horse racing
Don Quixote: New York Mets, Yogi Berra, Wes Westrum
Dorian Clay: Muhammad Ali
Down the Line: American League, Joe Cronin
Dream A Little Dream: Mickey Mantle
Dream World: Y.A. Tittle, Allie Sherman, New York Giants
East Side, West Side: Frank McGuire, basketball
Easy Now: Tom Matte
Easy-When You Know How: horse racing
Eclipse: Mel Ott, Mickey Mantle
The Egg and I: New York Rangers
The Envelope, Please...: baseball
Even Steven: New York Mets, Charley Smith, New York Yankees
Everybody's Bag: Mickey Mantle, Ted Williams, Ron Swoboda, Eddie Stanky, New York Mets
Everybody's Out of Step, but...: armed forces
Excedrin Headache "No. 15": Richie Allen
The Eye is on the Sparrow: baseball
Eyes on the Ivy: Dartmouth College, Princeton University, Harvard University football
Oversize 4 F-Hello
Facts Fans and Fancy: New York Giants, football, baseball, Ron Swoboda, Ted Williams, Willie Pep, Ernie Lombardi, Sugar Ray Robinson
False Alarm - We hope: gambling investigation, Pete Rozelle, football
Famous LAST Words: New York Yankees
The Fast Race: Maury Wills, Los Angeles Dodgers, San Francisco Giants, Jack Sanford
Fatso: New York Mets
The Feature Race: New York Mets, New York Yankees
Festival Big Shots: Boston College, Joe Lapchick, Jim Walker, Providence, Bob Cousy
A Few Words: New York Boxing Writers, Muhammad Ali
Fiddler on the Roof: Philadelphia, hockey, basketball Madison Square Garden
A Fight Columntoon: boxing
Figure This: New York Giants, Minnesota Vikings, Cleveland Browns
A Fine Kettle of Fish: New York Rangers, Chicago Blackhawks, New York Knicks, Boston Celtics, Long Island University, National Invitation Tournament
Fire at Will: Bowie Kuhn, Marvin Miller, baseball
Fire Water: Rocky Colavito, Ralph Terry, Vic Davalillo, Cleveland Indians
The First 50 are the Toughest: New York Mets (1966)
The First, Last, and Always: New York Mets, New York Yankees, horse racing
The First Rushes: Tucker Frederickson, Allie Sherman
First Time Out!: Little League
Flag Wavers: Los Angeles Dodgers, San Francisco Giants, Pittsburgh Pirates, Chicago Cubs
Flirting: Weeb Ewbank, New York Jets, Denver Broncos
Folderama: San Francisco Giants, Los Angeles Dodgers, New York Yankees
Follow the Bouncing Ball: New York Rangers, New York Knicks
Follow Up: Gil Hodges
Football Is a Funny Game: Charlie Gogolak
For Cabbies Only: John Huarte
For Reel and For Real: New York Mets, Pittsburgh Pirates, New York Yankees
...for the Trees: Yogi Berra, Ralph Houk, Minnesota Twins
For Whom the Bell Tolls: boxing
For Whom the Bells Toll: boxing, Sugar Ray Robinson
Forget it, Kid!: football, television
Forward, March!: New York Giants, Washington Redskins, New York Rangers, Chicago Blackhawks, New York Knicks, Los Angeles Lakers, Cazzie Russell
Found - A Lost Art!: Ralph Houk, New York Yankees, Joe Verbanic
The Foundling: Minnesota Vikings, Ron Yary, Allie Sherman
Fowl Ball: Atlanta Braves, Cleveland Indians
From Here to Eternity: Yogi Berra
From Little Acorns: Golden Gloves, boxing
The Frustrated Puppet: New York Mets
Full Up To Here: boxing
Fun and Games: National League, baseball
Garden Menagerie: New York Rangers, National Invitation Tournament
Gentlemen, an announcement!: San Francisco Giants, New York Giants
Gentlemen, be seated!: Sonny Liston
Get in Line: George Chuvalo, Eduardo Corletti
Getting the Message: Luis Tiant, Cleveland Indians, New York Yankees, Johnny Keane
GIBSON, that's all pussycat!: Bob Gibson
Girl Talk: Millrose Games
Girl Watching: Peggy Fleming, Gabriele Seyfert, Joan Payson, New York Mets, Vera Shaw, Mildre Ignizio, bowling, figure skating, horse racing
Glove's Labor Lost: New York Mets, Roy McMillan
A Glutton: American League, Detroit Tigers
Go!: sports cartoons
Go Get 'Em, Clyde!: New York Yankees, Eddie Stanky
Going, Going....: Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig
Going to the Strong Box: Whitey Ford, New York Yankees
Goin' Outa' My Head: Joe Frazier, Jerry Quarry, New York Mets, Chicago Cubs, Ralph Houk
Golden Gloves Reviewed - A HIT All the Way!: Golden Gloves, boxing
The Golden Heritage: Sugar Ray Robinson (1969)
Gonna Build A Mountain: Vince Lombardi
Good Catch, Roberto!: Roberto Clemente (1966)
Good Field - No Hit: Joey Archer, Holly Mims, Hurricane Carter
Good Field, Plenty Hit!: John Lobianco, Willie Pastrano, Emile Griffith, Jose Torres
Good Grief!: Tucker Frederickson, Allie Sherman
Good Question: New York Yankees, Detroit Tigers
Good Vintage Year?: Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Tony Lema, U.S. Open
The Good with the Bad: New York Rangers, Rod Gilbert
Grape of Wrath: New York Mets, Ralph Houk
Gung-ho: Sandy Koufax, Cleveland Indians
A Guy and a Doll: Eddie Stanky
Haf - and - Haf: New York Rangers
Hair Raid: Ben Davidson
Halvies: sports fans
Hang In There!: New York Yankees, American League
Hangin' In There: Yogi Berra
Hangin' In There: baseball
Happiness is...: New York Mets
Happiness is a Warm Blanket: Ralph Houk, New York Yankees
Happy Easter: baseball
Happy Valentine: Allie Sherman, Ralph Houk, Leo Durocher
The Happy Wanderer: New York Rangers
Happy Water: Mayo Smith, Red Schoendienst
Hare! Hare!: Minnesota Twins, Al Lopez, Chicago White Sox
Hare! Hare!: Ralph Houk
Hatch as Hatch Can: Atlanta Falcons
Hats Off!: Alan B. Shepard Jr.
Hats Off, Commissioner!: Tom Seaver
He May Be Wrong, But...: Floyd Patterson, Cus D'Amato
He Must Be Doing Something Left: George Chuvalo, Ernie Terrell
Headache No. 1: Richie Allen, Red Schoendienst
Heads and Tails: horse racing, Belmont Stakes
The Heavyweights: New York Mets, Don Drysdale, Manuel Ramos
Hell Raiser?: Los Angeles Angels, Minnesota Twins, Detroit Tigers, Chicago White Sox
Hello and Good-bye: boxing, Joe Falu, Stanley Ketchel
Hello Yogi!: Yogi Berra
Oversize 5 Help-In

Help!: Ralph Houk
Help!: boxing, Oscar Bonavena, Jimmy Ellis, hippies (August 1964- stamp on back reads, "Used in Time")
Here's the Picture: New York Yankees, Johnny Keane
Here She Comes, Miss...: New York Mets
Here was a Ballplayer: Mickey Cochrane
Here's the Pitch: Rube Walker, New York Mets
Hey, Look Me Over: Fred Hutchinson, Los Angeles Dodgers, New York Yankees
Hi Mom!: pitchers, Mother's Day
High Card: Mike Burke:
Hip to Each Other: New York Rangers
The Hitless Blunders: Los Angeles Dodgers
Hold Everything!: San Francisco Giants, Bill Stafford, New York Yankees
Holy Cow!: New York Mets
Horse Lovers: horse racing
Horsin' Around: New York Mets, New York Yankees
Hot Dog!: New York Rangers, National Hockey League expansion (1967)
Hot Stove League: sportswriters, athletes
Hot Stuff: American League, baseball
House Rules: horse racing
How 'Bout That?: boxing, Muhammad Ali
How It Is: Baltimore Orioles, Detroit Tigers
Huffin' and Puffin': Los Angeles Dodgers, Minnesota Twins
Hurray for Harry Howell: New York Rangers, Boston Bruins, Harry Howell
I did it "My Way":
I May Be Wrong, But... (42 cartoons): Green Bay Packers, football, Ismael Laguna, Carlos Ortiz, New York Jets, Belmont, Oscar Bonavena, Joe Frazier, Floyd Patterson, Vince Lombardi, Manuel Ramos, New York Mets, New York Yankees, horse racing, Kentucky Derby, Y.A. Tittle, New York Giants, Joe Namath, Sugar Ray Robinson, Mickey Mantle, Minnesota Twins, Emile Griffith, Willie Pastrano, Joey Archer, Texas, Jose Torres, Dick Tiger, Nino Benvenuti
I'll Drink to That: New York Jets, New York Knicks, New York Rangers, sports fans
I'm yours!: Allie Sherman, Ralph Houk
If You Ask Me...: Oscar Bonavena
Immovable: Bart Starr, Vince Lombardi, St. Louis Rams
The Important Things...: Tommie Agee, New York Mets
The Important Things in Life: New York Mets
Impressions of the Fight Camps: Joe Frazier, George Chuvalo
Impressions of a Garden Fight: Oscar Bonavena, Joe Frazier
Improbable Pictures: Chicago White Sox, Chicago police, New York Mets, Washington Senators, Floyd Patterson, Fran Tarkenton
Improbable Pictures: M. Donald Grant, Ralph Houk, Joe Pepitone, Hank Bauer, Vince Lombardi, Allie Sherman, Joe Namath, Joe Dimaggio, Red Schoendienst
Improbable Pictures: Joe Namath, New York Giants, New York Jets, Vince Lombardi, Spike Eckert, Bob Foster, Frank Depaula
Improbable Pictures: Kentucky Derby, Joe Garagiola, New York Giants, New York Jets, Oscar Bonavena, M. Donald Grant
Improbable Pictures: Joe Namath, Earl Morrall, Lew Alcindor, New York Jets, Weeb Ewbank, Ben Davidson
In a Chicago Shanty: Chicago
In a State of Shock: New York Knicks
In the Driver's Seat?: New York Rangers, New York Knicks, playoffs
In Good Company: high school athletes
In Victory We Cry - In Defeat We Cry: Manuel Ramos, Joe Frazier
The Indomitable Snowman: skiing
The Infernal Machine: Mickey Mantle, New York Yankees
Inherit the Wind: Leo Durocher, Eddie Stanky
The Intangibles: New York Jets
Interloper: Leo Durocher, Red Schoendienst
Into the Lion's Mouth: Vince Lombardi, Green Bay Packers
Into the Vault: Charles O. Finley
Oversize 6 Is-L

Ismael Laguna Cha-Cha-Cha: Ismael Laguna, Carlos Ortiz
It Figures: basketball, hockey
It Seems to Me... (10 cartoons): Yogi Berra, Gil Hodges, New York Knicks, Sonny Liston, football, Emile Francis, Tucker Frederickson, Floyd Patterson, New York Giants, Vince Lombardi, Jimmy Ellis, Jerry Quarry, New York Mets, New York Yankees, Ralph Houk, Academy of Professional Sports, basketball, horse racing, Lew Alcindor, Thad Spencer, Joe Namath
It's a Raid: football, basketball, hockey
It's All in the Way We See It: Emile Griffith, Joey Archer
It's Like This...: New York Yankees, Ralph Houk
lt's Like This, See...: New York Mets, New York Yankees
It's...It's Superbird!: Ralph Houk, New York Mets, New York Yankees, St. Louis Cardinals, Detroit Tigers
It's the Berries: New York Mets, Willie Davis
It's What's Happening, Baby: football, television
It's Written All Over His Face!: New York Yankees
John Hancock, Et Al: Sandy Koufax, Don Drysdale, National Archives
The Joker is Wild: baseball, Satchel Paige, Charles O. Finley
Jose by a Whisker: Jose Torres
The Journey (Cont' d): Sugar Ray Robinson, Sonny Liston
Just Thinkin': Johnny Keane, New York Yankees, bunting
Keane Observations: Ralph Houk, Johnny Keane, New York Yankees
Keeping Posted: Gary Wood, Pittsburgh Steelers, Elliot Ness
Kelly Again!: horse racing, Kelso, Gun Bow
Kicked Upstairs: Warren Spahn, New York Mets, San Francisco Giants
Kid Ralphie: Ralph Houk
Kid White Shoes makes an Impression: boxing
Knight Ball, Anyone? Knock, Knock: baseball, pitching
Knock Knock: Long Island University, National Invitation Tournament
Knock, Knock (You know who's there, Joey!): Dick Tiger, Joey Giardelllo
Ladies Day: New York Yankees
Landing a Mark: Muhammad Ali, Ernie Terrell
Last Chance Saloon: Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers
The Last Drop...: Whitey Ford
Lasting Impressions?: Oscar Bonavena, George Chuvalo
The Laundryman Cometh: New York Rangers, Emile Francis
Leading the Chorus: Allie Sherman, Gary Wood
Legacy to Youth: John Leonard Martin
Lesson in Philosophy: New York Mets, New York Yankees
Let's Build a Stairway to...: New York Mets, National Football League
Let's Have a Hoss Quiz: horse racing
Let's Have a Sports Quiz (4 cartoons): horse racing, college basketball, baseball
Let's Not lose Our Heads: Ralph Houk, Detroit Tigers
Let Us Pray: baseball, Robert F. Kennedy
Letters to Gilly...No. 3: New York Mets, Gil Hodges
Letters to Ralphie...No. 1: Ralph Houk
Letters to Ralphie...No. 2: Ralph Houk
Letters to Ralphie...No. 3: National Invitation Tournament
Letters to Ralphie...No. 4: Stanley Cup (1968)
Life in a Goldfish Bowl: Ralph Houk
Like Grant took LA: Los Angeles Dodgers
Like Ham an' Eggs: New York Giants
The Lil' Ol' Sign Maker: St. Louis Cardinals, Stan Musial, Red Schoendienst
Lil' Two-Gun is Star Struck: New York Yankees, Baltimore Orioles, Hank Bauer
Listen to the 'Mocking' Bird: Muhammad Ali, George Chuvalo
A Little Give and Take: Baltimore Orioles, New York Mets, astrology
Living Dolls (5 cartoons): Tucker Frederickson, Vince Lombardi, Washington Senators, Nat Fleischer, New York Knicks, Bob Nevin, Eddie Stanky, Joe Pepitone, Charlie Smith, William Eckert, Jimmy Ellis, Joe Frazier, Joe Namath, Red Holzman, Alex Webster, Clyde Frazier, Allie Sherman
The Long Season: Allie Sherman
Long Wind vs. Long Pants: Muhammad Ali, Archie Moore
Look What They Did to the Blue Room!: Camille Henry, New York Rangers
Look Who'll Settle Things: St. Louis Cardinals, New York Mets
Lord Knows: Walter O'Malley, expansion
A Loser: Los Angeles Dodgers, New York Mets
Loser's Weepers: Jerry Quarry, Jimmy Ellis, Buster Mathis, Joe Frazier
Lovers: Vince Lombardi, championships
Oversize 7 M-On
Makin' the Scene: New York Mets
Making Waves: Arthur Goldberg, Curt Flood, baseball
Man of La Shea: Yogi Berra
Man of Letters: Boston Red Sox, Dick Williams, New York Yankees
The Man that Got Away: Carl Yastrzemski, New York Yankees, Boston Red Sox, Ralph Houk
Mara Tech's School Song: football
Match Race: Ralph Houk, Gil Hodges, New York Yankees, New York Mets
Matter over Bind: New York Yankees, Ralph Houk
May the Best Man Win: New York Mets, Los Angeles Dodgers
Meanwhile...: Boston Red Sox
Meanwhile, Back at the ...: boxing
Meanwhile, Over at the Boyers...: Clete Boyer, Ken Boyer
Meet Nino - the New One: Nino Benvenuti
Member of the Wedding: Muhammad Ali, Luci Johnson, Bill Gallo
Membership Drive: Emile Griffith, Manny Gonzalez
Men of Letters (5 cartoons): readers, baseball, , horse racing, boxing, college basketball, Madison Square Garden
The Merry Monster: Minnesota Twins, American League
Mirror, Mirror...: San Francisco Giants, Los Angeles Dodgers, Pittsburgh Pirates
Mirror, Mirror on the Wall...: Wilt Chamberlain
Missing - One Paddle: Ralph Houk, Yogi Berra, Johnny Keane
Mission Impossible: Vince Lombardi, Darlye Lamonica
Moment of Truth: Bill Rohr, Steve Barber
Moon over Houston: basketball
More Green Salad, Please: Weeb Ewbank, New York Jets, Superbowl
The Morning Line: baseball
The Moving Target Fights...: Joey Giardello, Dick Tiger
Mule Train: horse racing
My Secretary Speaks: boxing, New York Jets, Vince Lombardi
Mystery Man: soccer referees
Name Dropper: New York Yankees, Johnny Keane
Name of the Game: Warren Giles, National League, baseball
Nee-no, Nee-no - No! No!: Emile Griffith, Nino Benvenuti
Needles in the Haystack: Joe Pepitone, Ralph Houk
Never Say Die: Philadelphia Phillies, Houston Colts
Never Say Die: Muhammad Ali, Sugar Ray Robinson
New Boss Hoss?: horse racing, Kelso
New Faces Reviewed: boxing
The New Garden is Ready to Sprout Cauliflower: Buster Mathis, Joe Frazier, Emile Griffith, Nino Benvenuti
New Head Man: Steve Owens, Heisman trophy (1969)
New Kid on the Block: National League, Montreal Expos
New Kid on the Block: National Basketball Association, American Basketball Association
New Toy in Town: Madison Square Garden
New York is a ...: John Lindsay, New York Jets, New York Giants, New York Rangers
Next Week, the Palace!: Leo Durocher, Eddie Stanky
Next?: Muhammad Ali, draft
A Night at the Gloves with Bill Gallo (part 1 and 2): Golden Gloves, boxing
The Night Joey G. Lost It All: Joey Giardelo, Dick Tiger
The Night of the Bumble Bee: Muhammad Ali, Sugar Ray Robinson
A Night Out: hockey, basketball, Dave DeBusschere
1925-1968: Madison Square Garden
No Contest: Gene Mauch, Philadelphia Phillies, Montreal Expos (1969)
No Guarantee: football, quarterbacks
No Life with Father: sports, television, wives
No Matter How Ya Slice It: horse racing
No Mercy! (Chapter Six): Boston Red Sox
No, No Ralphie -- It's a Flower Pot: Ted Williams, Ralph Houk
No Other Way: Minnesota Vikings, television, wives
No Room at the Top: New York Yankees
Nobody's Perfect: New York Mets
...Nowhere in a Hurry: Joe Cronin, Charles O. Finley
The Nominees: Ralph Houk, Gil Hodges (1968)
Not Seeing's Believin': New York Knicks, Ned Irish, New York Rangers
O, Well, That's Show Biz: sportswriters
October Morn: St. Louis Cardinals
The Odd Couple: Ted Williams, Yogi Berra
Of Things to Come: football
Off the Wagon: Los Angeles Dodgers, San Francisco Giants, Pittsburgh Pirates
Official Greeter: Ralph Houk, Washington Senators
Oh, Johnny!: New York Jets, Joe Namath, Mike Taliaferro
Oh, the Poor Fish: Ralph Houk
Oh, Ralphie!: New York Yankees, Bill Rohr
OK, Floyd - You're a Stand-up Guy!: Eddie Floyd
OK, Let's Face lt!: Green Bay Packers, Phil Bengston, Vince Lombardi
The Ol' Clean-up Hitter is Up: Poncho Gonzales, tennis
The Ol' Creek: World Series, Los Angeles Dodgers, New York Mets
On His Guard: Eddie Stanky, Dick Williams
On the Brink: Baltimore Orioles
Once There was a Scarecrow...: New York Yankees
Once Upon a Time...: St. Louis Cardinals, Detroit Tigers
One Knock Deserves Another: Roger Maris
One of Our Fastballs is Missing: Johnny Keane, Jim Bouton (April 6, 1965)
One Scrambled Coming Up: New York Giants, Fran Tarkenton
One Week Later...: New York Giants, New York Jets, New York Rangers, John Lindsay
One Year Later...: Notre Dame, Michigan State University, football
Only Turkey In Town: New York Giants, New York Jets, New York Rangers, New York Knicks, New York Mets
Oversize 8 Oo-R
Ooh, Do We Worry!: New York Yankees
Oops!: Los Angeles Dodgers, Carl Furillo
The Open Champ: Ben Hogan, Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Julius Boros, Frank Beard, Gary Player
Open Letter: New York Mets, Casey Stengel
Open Letter: Joe Namath
An Open Letter: Bill Gallo, Colts
Opening Day - 1965: Mickey Mantle, New York Yankees
Orbiting...: Reggie Jackson
The Other Side of the Tracks: Yankee Stadium
Our Changing Times: Easter, hockey, basketball
Our Deal: Red Holzman, Emile Francis, New York Knicks, New York Rangers
Our Era: boxing
Our World: New York Giants, Cleveland Browns, Christopher Columbus
Out of Sight, Out of Bind: Ralph Houk
Over 'N"Out!: Navy, Army, Pat Donnelly
Overnight Inflation: boxing, Nino Benvenuti
Ownerships: Boston Celtics, New York Knicks
Panama Hotties: Panama, horse racing, baseball, boxing
Pardon My Glove: Los Angeles Dodgers
Partial Eclipse: Elvin Hayes, Lew Alcindor, college athletes
Passing Fancy: Jack Kemp, New York Jets, Buffalo Bills, Pete Gogolak
Paul Bunyan, Where are You?: baseball
Peace is Hell: National Football League, American Football League
Peek-A-Boo: Floyd Patterson, Jose Torres
Perchance to Dream...: New York Rangers, New York Knicks, Allie Sherman
Perish the Thought: New York Mets
Perusing the News: Joey Archer
Philadelphia Story: Philadelphia Phillies, Frank Thomas, Gene Mauch
Pia Mia: horse racing, Johnny Sellers, Pia Starr
The Picture: American League
Picture 145: New York Yankees
Pin (Stripe) Money: New York Yankees, Roger Maris, Roy Hamey
Pitchers Don't Hit: Willie McCovey, Tom Seaver
Play Ball!: Winter Olympics, Charles De Gaulle
Play Ball -. er, Hockey?: baseball, hockey
Play, Gypsy: Joe Harris, Curtis Cokes
The Play's the Thing: television, sports teams
Playin' His Cards Right: St. Louis Cardinals, New York Yankees
Please, No Jokes!: New York Yankees
Pop Art: Zora Folley
Pop Goes the Weasel: Ralph Houk, Whitey Ford, injuries
Position Wanted: Tony Kubek, New York Yankees
The Possible Dream: New York Yankees, American League
Press Conference: Ford Frick, William Eckert
Press Releases: sports news items
Prisoner of Love: football, television (1966-1967)
Prisoner of Love: New York Knicks, New York Rangers
Prisoner of Love: Leo Durocher, Chicago Cubs, New York Mets
The Prizefighter and the Washerwoman: George Chuvalo, boxing
Psst, Don't Tell Anybody, but...: New York Yankees
Pssst - Ralphie Comes Out Swingin'!: Ralph Houk, New York Yankees
Public Enemy: Madison Square Gardens
Punch Bowl - 18,759 Served in The Garden: boxing
Punch Lines (4 cartoons): boxing
Put On: Washington Senators
The Quest: Bud Harrelson, Tom Seaver
Quick Change (Relief) Artist: New York Yankees, New York Mets, Hal Reniff
The Rains Came: San Francisco Giants
Ralphie at the Hat: Ralph Houk
Ralphie - el: Ralph Houk, Al Downing, cartoons
Ralphie Falls... : Ralph Houk
Ready, Aim...: Muhammad Ali, Brian London
Ready, Aim...: Major League Players' Association
Ready When You Are, Y. B.: Yogi Berra, the Odd Couple
A Real Drag: Warren Giles
Recipe for Success: Dick Tiger
Reduced to a Stepping Stone: Joe Frazier, Doug Jones
Reflections: boxing
Reflections: Los Angeles Dodgers
Rembrandt: Yankee Stadium
Requiem for a Heavyweight: boxing
Rise and Shine: Lee McPhail
Rise and Shine: cartoons, New York Giants
Roar, Mouse, Roar!: Bradley University, Long Island University, National Invitation Tournament
Roll Out the Barrel: New York Yankees, Andy Robustelli, spring training
Room For One More: New York Jets, Weeb Ewbank
Romeo and Juliet Cont'd.: Wes Westrum, Leo Durocher, Ralph Houk
The Rooters: Little League
Rub a Dub - Dub: Chicago Blackhawks, Bobby Hull
Runs, Hits and Errors: baseball
Oversize 9 Sa-Sh
Sabbatical: horse racing
A Sad Story: Wellington Mara, New York Giants
A SAINT, You Say?: Jim Taylor
The Same to You, Fella: New York Giants, New York Jets
Sandy-All Sandy!: Sandy Koufax
The Scene Stealer: Warren Giles, Joe Namath
School's in Session: Hank Bauer
Score One: tennis
The Search: Muhammad Ali, George Chuvalo, Ernie Terrell
Second Thoughts: readers
Secret Love: Leo Durocher, Ralph Houk
Security is a Five-Letter Word: Green Bay Packers
See How They Run: baseball, horse racing, soccer
Set 'Em Up, Barkeep!: Allie Sherman, New York Giants
72 - Hour Leave: Lew Alcindor, Bob Seagren, Millrose Games, New York Rangers, Dave Patrick
Shaking the Rafters: Leo Durocher, Chicago Cubs
The Shape of Things... : Wilt Chamberlain, Oscar Bonavena
Shave and a Haircut?: Sal Magile, baseball
She May Be Wrong, But: football
She's No Lady: horse racing
Shocking: St. Louis Cardinals, Chicago Cubs, Leo Durocher
Shootout: Earl Monroe, National Basketball Association
A Shot an' A Chaser: Mickey Mantle
Show Credentials at All Times: Joe Medwick, Red Ruffing, Baseball Hall of Fame
The Show Off: New York Rangers
Shuffle Off to Buffalo: O.J. Simpson
Shuffle Off to Cooperstown: Boston Red Sox, New York Mets
Shut-in's: Ralph Houk, World Series
Sign of the Times : Muhammad Ali, draft
Signs of the Times: Walt Frazier, New York Knicks
Singles Game: tennis
Sissy Stuff: New York Yankees, Hank Bauer
Sittin' Pretty: New York Rangers
Six Blocks of Granite: Casey Stengel, Vince Lombardi
The Skaters Waltz: New York Rangers
Slants on Pants: New York Yankees
Smart Alec!: computer predictions
Snow Use: snow, Minnesota Vikings, St. Louis Rams, Cleveland Browns
Oversize 10 So-To
So Goes: New York Jets, Joe Namath, Los Angeles Dodgers, Sandy Koufax
So - Nothing's Perfect : Pete Rozelle, Superbowl
So There!: Walter O'Malley, Maury Wills
So There!: New York Jets, American Football League, record attendance
So, What Else is New?: Judge Kenesaw
So, What's the Big Idea?: readers
Some Got It - Some Ain't: Joe Frazier, Yank Durham, Jerry Quarry, Chick Wergeles
Some Tom-A-Hawk: Al Dark
Somebody Up There...: Mel Allen
Sorry About That, Wes: athletes, Wes Westrum
The Sound of Mu$ic: John Huarte
Space Grabbers: New York Mets, Apollo 11
Special Delivery: Valentine's Day
Spectator Sports: Joe Kapp
Spell It Out: Temple University, Virginia Tech, De Paul University, New York University, National Invitation Tournament
Spirit of 75: Casey Stengel
The Spirit of 86: Wilt Chamberlain
Split Decision: Cesar Toviar, Carl Yastrzemski (1967)
The Spoiler?: Joe Namath, Boston Patriots, Weeb Ewbank, New York Jets
Spots Before My Eyes: Joe Homer, New York Giants, Joe Frazier, Oscar Bonavena
Spots Before My Eyes: football ratings, hockey, boxing
Spring Training: New York Yankees
Stand back, I'm still on: baseball
Status Quo: Notre Dame, Michigan State University. football
Sticks and Stones...: Jerry Quarry
Still Out: Tucker Frederickson, Gale Sayers, New York Giants, Chicago Bears
Still Puffin': Red Auerbach, Boston Celtics, Philadelphia 76ers
Story of a Man: Primo Carnera
Street Scene: Muhammad Ali, draft
Strictly First Class: Bobby Hull, New York Rangers
[Strictly From Hossville]: horse racing
Strictly Glovemen: Pete Richert, Joey Archer, pitching
Strictly Instrumental: Yogi Berra, Harmonica Incident
Strings That Bind Over: Bobby Hull
Stripes Are Back: New York Yankees, Detroit Tigers
The Strongman: sports stories, cartoons (1967)
The Subject Is Mickey: Mickey Mantle
The Subject was Noses: New York Jets, New York Giants, attendance (November 2, 1968)
Subway Alumni: Notre Dame, Purdue, football
Success Story: horse racing
Sugar Coating: Emile Griffith, Manny Gonzalez, Sugar Ray Robinson
Sunday Dinner: Vince Lombardi, New York Giants
A Sunday Kind of Love: New York Jets, New York Giants, attendance
Sunnyside Down: New York Mets, Los Angeles Dodgers
Super Sundae: Superbowl
The Super Yankee: Joe Dimaggio, Mickey Mantle, Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig
The Supporting Cast: Lew Alcindor, UCLA, Houston
Sure, and It's a Foin Blast: Notre Dame
Sure Thing: horse racing
Sweet Charity: Ralph Houk
Tailor Made: horse racing
Tails, You Lose!: horse racing
Take the Bull By The...: George Weiss, baseball
Take Two: Walter Babes, M. Donald Grant
Tale's End?: American League
A Tale of Two Cities: New York Rangers, Philadelphia Spectrum, Madison Square Garden
Talk About 300 Hitters: bowling
Talkin' to Himself: boxing, heavyweight champions
Tall Timber: Brigham Young University, St. John's University, Providence College
Tape Measure Job: Ross Moschitto, Mickey Mantle
Terrell's Recurrent Dream: Muhammad Ali, Ernie Terrell
Testing: Vince Lombardi, Green Bay Packers
That Race, That Fabulous Race: Minnesota Twins, Boston Red Sox, Cal Ermer
That's About the Size Of It: Army, Navy, football
That's the Ball Game!: baseball, Sandy Koufax
That's the Ball Game!: Gil Hodges, Ralph Houk, Washington Senators, Nelson Rockefeller
That's Show Biz: Bill Bradley, Bing Devine, cartoons
There's a Kind a Walk You Walk: New York Mets, standings
And Thereby Hangs a Tail: Preakness
And Thereby Hangs a Tale: Cleveland Browns, Baltimore Colts, Johnny Unitas
They're a System: New York Mets
They're Off!: horse racing
They Came to Fight: Emile Griffith, Joey Archer
They may be Wrong, But... (5 cartoons): professional football, horse racing, college football
This Could Be the Straw...: boxing
This Ol' House: Yankee Stadium
This Really Hurts!: Sandy Koufax, Los Angeles Dodgers, pennant
And This Too Shall Pass: Jack Johnson, race riots, Primo Carnera, boxing, Sonny Liston, Muhammad Ali
Those Were The Days My Friend: Willie Mays, Mickey Mantle, Ike Williams, golf, college basketball, Casey Stengel
The Thought is There: Mother's Day, baseball
Thought You'd Like To Know: Southern Illinois Salukis, Rutgers University, National Invitation Tournament
Three and a half Guys: New York Knicks, New York Rangers
A Thriller, Starring "Big Ernie" and Whatzisname: Ernie Terrell
Tiger at the Gates: Emile Griffith, Dick Tiger, Candy McFarland
To the Pound?: Muhammad Ali, U.S. Army
To the Wire: Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants
To You and You and You and You...: Christmas, New York Daily News
Togetherness: Tom Tresh, New York Yankees
Togetherness: Eddie Stanky, Ralph Houk
Tonsorial Splendor: Boston Red Sox
Too Much!: Tommie Agee, New York Mets, Tommy Davis, Jack Fisher
Top Banana: Johnny Murphey
Topic A: Madison Square Garden, Irving M. Felt
Oversize 11 Tr-We Visit
Training Camp Look-In: Emile Griffith
The Tree That Grows In Chicago: Leo Durocher
Trick or Treat: New York Rangers, National Hockey League expansion
The Trouble with Cassius: Muhammad Ali
True or False: basketball, football, Detroit Tigers, horse racing
Tryouts: New York Yankees, Yogi Berra (stamp on back reads February 10, 1968)
The Trick in Pickin' Horses: Triple Crown
Truth of the Matter: baseball
TV Sketchpad: Yogi Berra, New York Yankees
21 - Skidoo!: Sandy Koufax, Los Angeles Dodgers
Two Birds Talkin' Sports: Curt Simmons, Yogi Berra, Ralph Houk
Two Footballs Talkin' Sports: American Football League, National Football League
Two Gals Talkin' Sports: baseball
Two Guys Talkin' Sports (19 Cartoons): horse racing, Vince Lombardi, New York Yankees, Lenny Dawson, Bart Starr, New York Rangers, boxing Ismael Laguna, Frankie Narvaez, betting, trades, San Francisco Giants, National League, Terry McDermott, Walter O'Malley, American Football League, Preakness
Two Horses Talkin' Sports: horse racing
Two Kids Talkin' Sports (10 Cartoons): Y.A. Tittle, Roger Craig, Allie Sherman, Weeb Ewbank, Mickey Mantle, Joe Namath, Willie Mays, athletes, Casey Stengel, Billy Martin, Hank Bauer, Old Timer's Day, baseball, New York Giants, Yankee Stadium, food, Cincinnati, Bob Cousy
Two Kids Watchin' Sports: baseball
Two Losers Talkin' Sports: Ralph Houk, Preakness, New York Yankees:
Two Teams Talkin' Sports: New York Mets, Philadelphia Phillies
Two Guys Watchin' Sports: Joey Archer
Two Paper Bags Still Intact: Doug Jones, Ernie Terrell
Two Sheep Talkin' Sports: Roger Maris, Mickey Mantle, Charles O. Finley, Kansas City
Two Stitches In Time...: Eddie Stanky, Chicago White Sox, Rocky Colavito, Ken Boyer
Under the Table: Bob Gibson, Detroit Tigers
Unhappiness is...: New York Mets
The Unknown Quantity: Sonny Liston, Floyd Patterson
The Unreachable Star: Willie Mays
The Unsinkable Major Houk: Ralph Houk, New York Yankees
Up There and Out of Sight: Los Angeles Lakers, Jerry West
Visit From Ali: Muhammad Ali
Waddaya Hear?: Yogi Berra, Chicago White Sox, New York Yankees
Waddaya Mean Goodby?: Allie Sherman, Ralph Houk
Waiting for Mickey: Mickey Mantle
And the Walls Came Tumbling Down : Wisconsin Supreme Court, Milwaukee Braves
Wanna Climb a Mountain?: boxing
Way Out: Soviet Union, Sonny Liston, Muhammad Ali
We Are Now at Ringside...: Detroit Tigers, Bob Gibson
We Draw Our Own Conclusions: University of Pittsburgh, Syracuse University, Kenny Lucas, Eric Crabtree, Floyd Little, football
We Got a Real Belt Out of 'Em: boxing
We May Be Wrong But: New York Jets, Baltimore Colts
We May Be Wrong But: Dave Debusschere, New York Knicks, Cleveland Browns, Dallas Cowboys, Kansas City Chiefs, Baltimore Colts
We May Be Wrong But: Ernie Terrell, Muhammad Ali
We Serve Punch to a Full House: boxing
We Talk to Jose Torres: Jose Torres, Dick Tiger, Emile Griffith
And We Thought He Was Out!: Detroit Tigers, Mickey Lolich
We Visit with Joey Archer: Emile Griffith, Joey Archer
Oversize 12 We'll-Y

We'll Drink to That!: New Year's (1969-1970)
Well, Hello, Fatso!: Los Angeles Dodgers, Sandy Koufax, Don Drysdale
Well, I'll be a Rhodes Scholar, if it ain't...! : Bill Bradley, New York Knicks
Well, shut my mouth!: Warren Giles, New York
We're all right, Jack!: sports, television
West of the Great Divide: Milwaukee Braves
Western Omelet: Roger Rouse, Dick Tiger
A Whale of a Catch: New York Mets, Los Angeles Dodgers
What a Relief: Ralph Houk, New York Yankees
What Creek?: Ralph Houk, Yogi Berra, Pete Ramos
What's Goin' an Here?: New York Giants, Green Bay Packers, Sonny Liston, Notre Dame, New York Knicks, New York Rangers
What's the Big Idea?: Rolling Stones, hockey
What's the Gag?: Paul Brown, Cleveland Browns, New York Giants
What's Wrong with This Picture?: New York Knicks, New York Rangers
When Irish Guys are Miling: Ron Delany, relay record
When You Look Upon a Star: 1933 All-Star game
Where There's a Will...: cartoons, Bill Gallo
Where'd Everybody Go?: Mickey Mantle
Wherefore are thou, Romeos?: Ralph Houk, Wes Westrum
Wherever You Go... : New York Yankees
Which Reminds Me...: boxing, Muhammad Ali, Ernie Terrell
Who Said So?: Ken Harrelson, Red Schoendienst, Gil Hodges, Dave Zyglewicz
Who's Buyin'?: competition
Who's Hungrier?: Buster Mathis
Who's On the Right Track?: Manuel Ramos, Joe Frazier
Who's Washed Up : unidentified athlete
The Whole Card: Don Drysdale, Los Angeles Dodgers
Why Not?: Casey Stengel
The Wild Blue Yonder: New York Yankees
Willie Peps - up the Hall: boxing, Willie Pep, Sandy Saddler
Wilt the Winner: Wilt Chamberlain, Alex Hannum
Win, Place and Show: horse racing, Notre Dame
Window Shopping: horse racing, George Sholty, Del Insko
Wired!: Johnny Unitas, Earl Morrall, Baltimore Colts
Wives' Lament: sports attendance
Without A Sound Frazier: New York Knicks
Woe, Woe, Woe: Joe Dimaggio, Oldtimer's Day
Word Game: Gabriel Elorde, Carlos Ortiz
Work of Art: Ed Giacomin, Emile Francis
The World in a Straitjacket: Robert F. Kennedy assassination, note on cartoon reads "Forgive me for veering away from my regular beat today".
Wotta World: Mayo Smith, Red Schoendienst, American League, National League
Would You Believe...: John Lindsay, Sandy Koufax, Don Drysdale, New York Mets, George Chuvalo
The Writing On the Wall: New York Giants
Written In The Stars: Mel Stottlemyre, New York Yankees (1968)
Yankee Stadium 1966: Mickey Mantle, Ralph Houk
Yanks One Up (In This League): Yogi Berra, sailing
A Year for Matadors: bullfighting, pitchers, hitters (stamp reads May 21 1968)
Yearbook - 1968: boxing, heavyweight champions
Yes I Can!: Muhammad Ali
Yesterday's Mail: Willie Pep, Carlos Ortiz, basketball
You are What You Eat: quarterbacks, Jimmy Ellis, baseball, umpires, sports cartoonists, television, football
You Can't Win Mother: television, football, New York Rangers, New York Knicks
You Gotta Have Heart (And a Bench): Red Holzman, Dave Stallworth, Mike Riordau
You Gotta Have A Strong Bench: baseball, popularity, National League
You Said It!: Sandy Koufax, Juan Marichal
You Said It!: readers
Yours, Mine and Ours: National Football League, strike, pitchers, hitters, long hair
Yours, Mine and Ours: sporting events, vacation
Oversize 12 Untitled
Casey Stengel and Yogi Berra Tapdancing
Ted Williams - "Who Was 42 Years Young August 30th"
"Under this pillow is Bill Dewitt - Owner of the Second Division Cincy Reds": Frank Robinson
Muhammad Ali with his mouth zipped
"Williams' Peak" and "Mount Lombardi"
"The Giants, today in New Haven, planted their flag atop Mount Football and proclaimed themselves KING": same message for New York Jets
Question Mark
Gallo's Pick: Jerry Quarry
Mickey Lolich
Dick Tiger - A Civil War on His Mind
The Fine Art of Winning - Mike Burke Could Always See the Stars
player with a crown
"It's Joe! But who dressed him so funny?
Oversize 13 Oversize cartoons
Ah, But This One Is Only a Dream: Allie Sherman, Gil Hodges, Ralph Houk, Weeb Ewbank
Around the Clock with Joe - The Star of the Show: Joe Namath, Weeb Ewbank
Bar Exams: Olympics, Bob Seagren
Bravo, Bravo, Benvenutt: Nino Benvenuti, Emile Griffith, boxing
Defenseless: baseball
"Enough, Enough," said the Ol' Bird: Mickey Lolich
Fire!: New York Mets, Hal Reniff
Follow the Bouncing Super Ball: Superbowl
Hey Ralphie - I was supposed to do that trick!: Ralph Houk, New York Mets
Honest, I only smoke cigars, but here's my super pipedream: Baltimore Colts, New York Jets
Hot Off the Wire: Green Bay Packers, Oscar Vonavena, Joe Frazier, New York Rangers, New Knicks, baseball
New York Skyline: New York Knicks, Willis Reed
Talk About a Landing - WOW!: Joe Namath, New York Jets, New York Mets
Testing, Testing, 1...2...3...4: Joe Namath, Buffalo Bills, New York Giants, Chicago Bears, boxing
That Day at Camp - It was a Sketch!: Muhammad Ali, Floyd Patterson
That Ol' Black Magic Has Them In a Spell: Ralph Houk, New York Yankees
The Things That Happen on April 11th Openings: baseball, trivia
They Twinked and They Shined: baseball players
The Unkindest Cut of All: Chicago Cubs, Leo Durocher, Red Schoendienst, St. Louis Cardinals
We May Be Wrong, but...: Joe Frazier, Jerry Quarry, Beau Jack
Whatever Bertha Wants, Bertha Gets: New York Yankees
When You and I Were Young, Kiddo!: children, sports
Yale Bowl: New York Jets, New York Giants
[Hello, Bertha]: Allie Sherman, Weeb Ewbank, Emile Francis
[UCLA]: UCLA, basketball
Sketches
Box 1 Preliminary sketches undated 8 ½" x 11" (17 items)
Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming correspondence 1960-1967
Newspapers
Oversize 13 New York Daily News 17 Jan 1970 - final and night owl editions

Return to top