Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Paul Fung Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fung, Paul, 1897-1944
Title: Paul Fung Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1930-1932
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: 46 original cartoons from the newspaper comic strip Dumb Dora and 4 original cartoons from the newspaper comic strip When Mother Was a Girl.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Paul Fung (1897-1944) was an American cartoonist. He worked on a number of newspaper comic strips during his career but is most known for the work he did as Chic Young's successor on Dumb Dora (1930-1932) and as an assistant to Cliff Sterrett on Polly and Her Pals (late 1930s).

Born in Seattle in 1897, Paul Fung was educated in the U.S. and China, where his Baptist minister father, the Rev. Fung Chak, sent him to study traditional Chinese art. In 1916, he started his newspaper career doing sports cartoons for the Seattle Post-Intelligencer. Fung's first original comic strip appeared a few months later, Innocent Hing, but it was short lived. After working as an assistant on Billy DeBeck's Barney Google in the early 1920s, Fung went on to crank out a variety of quality, but short-lived comic strips—A Guy from Grand Rapids, Bughouse Fables, Gus and Gussie. In April of 1930, Fung inherited Dumb Dora and its topper panel When Mother Was a Girl from creator Chic Young, who had left the strip to launch Blondie. Fung continued on Dumb Dora for a few years, passing it on to Bil Dwyer in 1932. Subsequently, Fung worked as an assistant on Cliff Sterrett's Polly and Her Pals in the late 1930s. The Dumb Dora comic strip ceased newspaper publication in 1934, but Fung brought Dora back in the early 1940s as part of an ad campaign for Shredded Ralston cereal. Paul Fung died in 1944. His son is the noted cartoonist Paul Fung, Jr.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Fung Cartoons collection contains 36 original daily cartoons and 10 original Sunday cartoons from the newspaper comic strip Dumb Dora (1930, 1932). The Sunday version is complete in 2 panels, so note that some of our holdings are partial (see Inventory for details). The collection also contains 4 original cartoons from the topper strip When Mother Was a Girl, a companion to the Dumb Dora Sunday feature (1930).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged by title in chronological order (daily and Sunday cartoons are foldered separately).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See the Chic Young Cartoons collection and the Bil Dwyer Cartoons collection for additional material related to these comic strips. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of the cartoonist collections at the Special Collections Research Center.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Fung, Paul, 1897-1944.

Corporate Bodies

King Features Syndicate.

Associated Titles

Dumb Dora (comic strip)
When mother was a girl (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Fung Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Rendell, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: BB
Date: Dec 1968
Revision history: 8 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 20 Mar 2009 - revised (MD)

Return to top

Inventory

Dumb Dora (46)
Daily cartoons 1932 (36)
(blue pencil, pen and ink on illustration board, dimensions vary approx. 6 x 23 in. to 7 ¼ x 23 in.)
Box 1 March 28, 1932
Box 1 March 29, 1932
Box 1 March 30, 1932
Box 1 March 31, 1932
Box 1 April 1, 1932
Box 1 April 2, 1932
Box 1 April 4, 1932
Box 1 April 5, 1932
Box 1 April 6, 1932
Box 1 April 7, 1932
Box 1 April 8, 1932
Box 1 April 9, 1932
Box 1 April 11, 1932
Box 1 April 12, 1932
Box 1 April 13, 1932
Box 1 April 14, 1932
Box 1 April 15, 1932
Box 1 April 16, 1932
Box 1 April 18, 1932
Box 1 April 19, 1932
Box 1 April 20, 1932
Box 1 April 21, 1932
Box 1 April 22, 1932
Box 1 April 23, 1932
Box 1 April 25, 1932
Box 1 April 26, 1932
Box 1 April 27, 1932
Box 1 April 28, 1932
Box 1 April 29, 1932
Box 1 April 30, 1932
Box 1 May 2, 1932
Box 1 May 3, 1932
Box 1 May 4, 1932
Box 1 May 5, 1932
Box 1 May 6, 1932
Box 1 May 7, 1932
Sunday cartoons 1930, 1932 (10)
(traces of graphite, blue pencil, pen and ink on illustration board, dimensions vary)
Box 1 June 15, 1930 - (partial/1 of 2 pieces)(8 x 23 in.)
Box 1 July 20, 1930 - (partial/1 of 2 pieces)(11 ¼ x 23 in.)
Box 1 August 10, 1930 - (partial/1 of 2 pieces)(7 ¾ x 23 in.)
Box 1 August 17, 1930 - (complete/2 of 2 pieces)(19 x 23 in.)
Box 1 September 7, 1930 - (complete/2 of 2 pieces)(17 ¼ x 23 in.)
Box 1 November 16, 1930 - (complete/2 of 2 pieces)(19 ¼ x 23 in.)
Box 1 November 23, 1930 - (partial/1 of 2 pieces)(11 ¼ x 23 in.)
Box 1 May 8, 1932 - (complete/2 of 2 pieces)(19 ½ x 23 in.)
Box 1 May 15, 1932 - (complete/2 of 2 pieces)(19 ¼ x 23 in.)
Box 1 May 22, 1932 - (complete/2 of 2 pieces)(19 ½ x 23 in.)
When Mother Was a Girl (4)
Sunday cartoons 1930, 1932
(traces of graphite, pasteovers, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 10 x 23 in.)
Box 1 August 17, 1930
Box 1 September 7, 1930
Box 1 May 8, 1932
Box 1 May 22, 1932

Return to top