Finding Aids
printer friendly version

James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser Papers

An inventory of their papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fraser, James Earle, 1876-1953
Title: James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1872-1967
Bulk Dates: 1900-1955
Quantity: 60 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the American sculptors, medalists. Correspondence (1878-1967), with A. Stirling Calder, Jay N. Darling, Daniel Chester French, Charles Dana Gibson, Cass Gilbert, Robert Henri, Anna Hyatt Huntington, Lee Lawrie, Eleanor Roosevelt, Augustus Saint-Gaudens, Lorado Taft, and others; approximately 200 letters of Edwin Arlington Robinson (1913-1934); business records (1913-1967) contain contracts, bills, receipts, and other financial and legal papers; designs and reproductions include sketches, blueprints, and photographs of work through various stages, including some by artists other than the Frasers; memorabilia (1872-1967) includes photographs, ephemera, and printed materials; writings (1897-1964) include articles, books, and notes by Fraser and others, notably Edwin Arlington Robinson.
Language: Majority in English, some in French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Earle Fraser was born on November 4, 1876, in Winona, Minnesota, the son of Thomas A. and Cora West Fraser. His father was a railroad engineer and contractor, and when James was less than a year old the family moved to the Dakota territory, where a railroad was pushing westward. During his childhood on the prairie outside Mitchell, South Dakota, when his family lived for a time in an old railroad boxcar, Fraser saw the Indians and frontiersmen whose figures would later appear in his sculpture.

At the age of fifteen, James Earle Fraser began his studies at the Art Institute of Chicago. At about the same time, he entered the studio of Richard Bock in Chicago as a working student. About two years later Fraser completed the first version of his most famous statue, the "End of the Trail." In 1896 Fraser went to Paris and enrolled in the Ecole des Beaux Arts. His prize-winning exhibit in the American Art Association Exhibition in Paris in 1898 brought him to the attention of the noted American sculptor, Augustus Saint-Gaudens, with whom he worked for two years, returning to the United States with Saint-Gaudens. Fraser continued to work under Saint-Gaudens for two more years before setting up his own studio in MacDougal Alley, Greenwich Village, New York.

A bas-relief portrait of a young child, Horatio Hathaway Brewster, which Fraser completed in about 1902, won favorable notice, and for several years Fraser enjoyed a substantial number of commissions, many of which were children's portraits. He also made several medals during this early period, including the Edison medal in 1906. Fraser did a number of portraits of adults including J. Eastman Chase, E.W. Deming, Warren Delano, E.H. Harriman, Louis Ledoux, Charles Dana Gibson, Morris K. Jessup, Pat Ford, Mr. and Mrs. John Jacob Albright, Dr. William Polk and M.H. Schoelkopf. He also completed several small titled pieces, including "Grief," "Dancer," "Young Artist," and "Priscilla." His most important early commission was for a marble bust of Theodore Roosevelt for the Senate Chamber, begun in 1906. From this followed other work for public figures, including a bust of Elihu Root and the William Howard Taft Memorial. Fraser designed the John Hay Memorial; a cemetery piece called "Journey Through Life;" "Cheyenne Warrior" and a seated Thomas Jefferson, both for the Saint Louis World's Fair in 1904; and the Bishop Potter sarcophagus in Saint John the Divine Cathedral in New York City. In 1913 Fraser won the competition for a new United States five-cent piece; his design was the now-famous Buffalo nickel.

Fraser taught sculpture at the Art Students League in New York City from 1907 to 1911. He was married to Laura Gardin, who had been one of his students, in November 1913, and the Frasers soon built a new and larger studio in Westport, Connecticut. James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser were close friends of the poet Edwin Arlington Robinson. Robinson was a frequent visitor to their home for months at a time during the seasons when he took a respite from writing. A special room in their house was kept as his, and the Frasers provided for him a measure of friendship in his otherwise solitary bachelor existence until his death in 1935.

In 1915 a large stucco model of Fraser's "End of the Trail" was placed in the Court of Palms of the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in San Francisco. There thousands of tourists made it a favored attraction of the Exposition. The piece was to become one of the most well-known works of American sculpture, although Fraser's name did not receive corresponding fame.

James Earle Fraser's first important public work, commissioned in 1917, was the statue of Alexander Hamilton for the Treasury Building in Washington, D.C. From that time on, he was almost never without a public commission in his studio. In the 1920's he completed two pylons, "Discoverers" and "Pioneers," for the Michigan Avenue Bridge in Chicago; four symbolic figures for the Elks Club National Memorial in Chicago; figures of Thomas Jefferson, Meriwether Lewis and William Clark for a Jefferson Memorial in Missouri; the John Ericsson Memorial in Washington, D.C. and a seated figure of Lincoln in Jersey City, N.J. He also completed two commissions for the Bank of Montreal, the "Victory" in Montreal and the "Canadian Officer" in Winnipeg. He designed the Taft Memorial and the Robert Lincoln sarcophagus, and completed a bust of Augustus Saint-Gaudens and a statue called "Primitive Inventor of Water Power" for Niagara Falls, N.Y.

In the 1930's Fraser continued to complete commission work. He designed pediments for the Archives and Commerce buildings in Washington, D.C., and two large figures to be placed in front of the U.S. Supreme Court. He completed a "Second Division Memorial," and large, seated-figure portraits of Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Edison, as well as a huge 65-ft. statue of George Washington for the 1939 New York World's Fair. In 1940 he finished the New York State Memorial to Theodore Roosevelt, which consisted of an equestrian figure of Roosevelt accompanied by figures of Daniel Boone, John James Audubon, Meriwether Lewis and George Rogers Clark.

During his career, Fraser completed numerous medals and medallions including the Navy Cross, the American Institute of Graphic Arts medal, the Yale University Howland Memorial medal, and the Gold Medal of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. World War II brought shortages of casting materials which held up several of Fraser's major projects, including the Albert Gallatin statue for the Treasury Building in Washington, D.C.; the Mayo Brothers Memorial; the Harvey Fireston Memorial, and the two giant groups for the Arlington Memorial Bridge in Washington, D.C.

After the war, although in increasing ill health, Fraser completed a few more works, among them two statues of General George S. Patton Jr., and another seated Franklin. At the time of James Earle Fraser's death, on October 11, 1953, three of his important pieces remained unfinished: a design for a Washington equestrian for the National Cathedral in Washington, D.C.; the "Buffalo Herd;" and the Reverend F. Ward Denys sarcophagus.

Laura Gardin was born on September 14, 1889, the daughter of John E. and Alice Tilton Gardin. She attended the Horace Mann School in New York and studied sculpture at the Art Students League, where her instructor was James Earle Fraser. After their marriage in 1913, she continued to work as a sculptor.

Her early works were mostly of small size, and babies and animals, especially horses and dogs, were her favorite subjects. Later she turned to work on a larger scale, and completed the reclining elks in front of the Elks Club National Memorial, for the horse's owner, Joseph Widener.

She designed a large number of medals, including the Lindbergh, George C. Marshall, and Benjamin Franklin Congressional Medals of Honor, and the U.S. Army and Navy Chaplains medal, as well as medals for the National Geographic Society, the American Bar Association, the National Sculpture Society and many others. In 1936 Laura Fraser won an invitational competition for a double equestrian statue of Robert E. Lee and "Stonewall" Jackson to be placed in Baltimore, Md. Twelve years were required to complete that work. She also completed a "Pegasus" for Brookgreen Gardens in South Carolina, a twenty-foot relief entitled "Oklahoma Run," busts of Gilbert Stuart and Mary Lyon, and three large relief panels depicting American history which were placed in the West Point Library.

Laura Gardin Fraser died on August 13, 1966. The Frasers had no children.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser Papers comprise the personal, business and artistic records of sculptors James Earle Fraser and his wife Laura Gardin Fraser. Materials from other sculptors and artists are also present in the papers, and there is a substantial body of material from the poet Edwin Arlington Robinson. The material dates from 1872 to 1967 with the bulk falling between 1900 and 1955. The papers have been organized in five sections: Correspondence, Business records, Designs and reproductions, Memorabilia, and Writings.

As additional aids to researchers, this finding aid also provides a listing of Glass negatives, a listing of Edwin Arlington Robinson materials in the collection including a listing of Edwin Arlington Robinson letters, and a General index to correspondence.

Correspondence (boxes 1-9), 1878-1967, has been arranged chronologically by year and month. An index of incoming letters has been prepared, for which correspondence was selected on the basis of significance or volume. Included are letters from a number of American sculptors and artists, including A. Stirling Calder, Daniel Chester French, Charles Dana Gibson, Cass Gilbert, Anna Hyatt Huntington, Lee Lawrie, John Russell Pope, Augustus Saint-Gaudens, Lorado Taft and Sidney B. Waugh. The most significant body of correspondence is that of Edwin Arlington Robinson. There are approximately 200 holograph Robinson letters, dating from June 1913 to December 1934. They are addressed to Fraser, to his wife, and to Mrs. Fraser's mother, Alice Tilton Gardin. Robinson's letters have been placed in negative holders for protection, and a typed transcription of the contents has been attached to each one. His correspondence has been indexed letter-by-letter in the guide to Robinson materials on pp. . Robinson wrote to the Frasers to borrow money, to inquire about their health, to offer his hesitant acceptance of their invitations to visit, and to mention his progress on his books. His letters, though brief, offer personal glimpses of an extremely modest and retiring man.

The Business records (boxes 10-21), 1913-1967, stem from a file developed by the Frasers to retain items such as contracts and agreements, bills and receipts, and other general business records that they accumulated in the course of supporting themselves through commissions for sculpture. Included are correspondence, financial and legal records, organized alphabetically by subject or by the title of the sculptural work involved.

The Designs and reproductions section (boxes 22-50) contains material related to the development of the sculptural work of the Frasers and other artists. Their chief means of recording the different stages of progress of their sculpture was through photographs, which make up the bulk of this section. The material has been arranged alphabetically by the name of the artist; then in groups according to the type of work, i.e., coins, medals, sculpture, etc.; and finally alphabetically by the title of the work. Under the name of a given work may be found pictures of the subject, called models; sketches; blueprints; photographs of the work at various stages; photographic negatives on both celluloid and glass; and newspaper clippings related to the unveiling of the piece. Since much of this material cannot be reliably dated, the folders in this section do not carry dates. The glass negatives from this section have been segregated physically and their location will be indicated by a glass negative case number on the shelf list and on dummy folders within the boxes. Photographs which are too large for retention in archival boxes have been similarly segregated in oversize boxes. Recapitulations of these two groups will be found on pp. . Also included in this section are catalogues of the works of the Frasers and other artists, listed under their names and the heading "Catalogues." The section labeled "James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser" contains one bona fide collaboration, the Oregon Trail fifty-cent piece,but most of its contents consists of a miscellaneous section of sketches, photos and negatives that apparently belonged to the Frasers but cannot be reliably identified with either one of them alone. While the works of James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser comprise by far the largest part of this section, there is also material related to works of Augustus Saint-Gaudens, David K. Rubins, Sidney B. Waugh, Anna Hyatt Huntington and others.

Memorabilia (boxes 51-61), 1872-1967,have been organized in three major sections: General, Photographs and Printed Matter. The General material has been subdivided by the names of individuals arranged alphabetically. Included here are biographical materials, certificates and awards, ephemera, films of personal subjects, medals received, newspaper clippings, notebooks, obituaries, passports and scrapbooks. Under Edwin Arlington Robinson's name are found a few items of ephemera, a substantial section of newspaper clippings about him and his work, a scrapbook, and his obituaries. The Photographs section has been organized by subject alphabetically. There are a number of very old photographs of each of the Frasers and in the folders labelled "Family and Friends." The glass negatives and oversized photos in this section have been treated like those in the Designs and Reproductions section. Printed Matter contains catalogues, magazine separates, a newspaper, periodicals, pamphlets and postcards, some of which are annotated.

The Writings section (boxes 61-66) contains writings dating from 1897 to 1964, of the Frasers and others. The papers are organized first alphabetically by author, then by type of material and finally by title. Included are articles, books, diaries, speeches, notes, interviews, films on sculptural techniques, and verse. Of special interest is the draft of several chapters of an unpublished autobiography of James Earle Fraser. The Edwin Arlington Robinson material includes one article, "The First Seven Years," and three items of verse, "Cavender's House," "Dionysus in Doubt," and "The Man Who Died Twice." Of this last poem there are two holograph drafts.

The 1977 Accession includes the Fraser Lantern Slide Collection--approximately 200 slides of Great American Artists presented by the National Academy of Design; photographs and negatives; numerous postcards; and a few miscellaneous items (see box 67).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Calder, Alexander Stirling, 1870-1945.
Darling, Jay N. (Jay Norwood), 1876-1962.
Fraser, James Earle, 1876-1953.
Fraser, Laura Gardin, 1889-1966.
French, Daniel Chester, 1850-1931.
Gibson, Charles Dana, 1867-1944.
Gilbert, Cass, 1859-1934.
Henri, Robert, 1865-1929.
Huntington, Anna Hyatt, 1876-1973.
Lawrie, Lee, 1877-1963.
Robinson, Edwin Arlington, 1869-1935.
Roosevelt, Eleanor, 1884-1962.
Saint-Gaudens, Augustus, 1848-1907.
Taft, Lorado, 1860-1936.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Bronze sculpture, American.
Coin design.
Coin designers.
Equestrian statues.
History in art.
Medalists -- United States.
Medals.
Memorials.
Monuments.
Poets, American -- 20th century.
Portrait medallions.
Portrait sculpture.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American.
Sculpture, Modern -- 20th century
Sculpture, Modern -- 20th century -- History
Women artists -- United States
Women sculptors -- United States

Genres and Forms

Blueprints (reprographic copies)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Exhibition catalogs.
Lantern slides.
Motion pictures (visual works)
Photographs.
Sketches.

Occupations

Artists.
Medalists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Earle and Laura Gardin Fraser Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Leila Gardin Sawyer (Mrs. Oliver H.), 1967, 1977.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: unknown
Revision history: 16 Oct 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 12 Jul 2012 - oversize material boxed; 1977 Accession added; box numbers revised (MBD); 26 Oct 2012 - extent revised (MBD); 13 Aug 2014 - updated diaries description (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 A-Z undated (4 folders)
Box 1 1878-1899
Box 1 1902-1914 (12 folders)
Box 2 1915-1921 (7 folders)
Box 2 1922 (2 folders)
Box 2 1923 (2 folders)
Box 2 1924 (2 folders)
Box 2 1925 (4 folders)
Box 3 1926 (3 folders)
Box 3 1927 (5 folders)
Box 3 1928 (5 folders)
Box 4 1929 (6 folders)
Box 4 1930 (6 folders)
Box 4 1931 (6 folders)
Box 5 1932 (6 folders)
Box 5 1933 (6 folders)
Box 5 1934 (4 folders)
Box 5 1935
Box 5 1936
Box 6 1937 (4 folders)
Box 6 1938 (4 folders)
Box 6 1939
Box 6 1940 (2 folders)
Box 6 1941 (2 folders)
Box 6 1942 (2 folders)
Box 6 1943 (3 folders)
Box 6 1944 (4 folders)
Box 7 1945 (3 folders)
Box 7 1946
Box 7 1947 (4 folders)
Box 7 1948 (3 folders)
Box 7 1949 (5 folders)
Box 7 1950 (4 folders)
1951
Box 7 Jan-Jul
Box 8 Aug-Dec (2 folders)
Box 8 1952 (3 folders)
Box 8 1953 (7 folders)
Box 8 1954 (3 folders)
Box 8 1955 (3 folders)
1956
Box 8 Jan-Jun
Box 9 Jul-Dec
Box 9 1957-1967 (11 folders)
Business records
Miscellaneous
Box 10 Banking 1916-1952
Box 10 Bills and receipts 1913-1954
Household expenses 1930-1960
Box 10 Alice Tilton Gardin undated
Box 10 Insurance 1933-1944
Box 10 Investments 1933
Box 10 Legal 1925-1946
Box 10 Adams, Maude 1954 - memorial
Box 10 American Academy of Arts & Letters 1922-1953 - medal
Box 10 American Bar Association 1929 - medal
Box 11 American Geographical Society 1926-1930 - Samuel F.B. Morse medal
Box 11 American History Panels 1951-1969 (6 folders)
Box 11 American Numismatic Society 1957-1958 - medal
Box 11 Arlington Memorial Bridge 1923-1935 (2 folders)
Box 12 Arlington Memorial Bridge 1936-1953 (8 folders)
Box 13 Art Commission of the City of New York 1932-1934
Box 13 Bacon, Robert 1914-32, 1937-38 - bust
Box 13 Becker 1964-1966 - head
Box 13 Bowman, Isaiah 1953-1957 - bust
Box 13 Buffalo Bill Memorial Association 1936-1943
Box 13 Buffalo Nickel 1927-1951
Box 13 Casting estimates 1915-1953
Box 13 Commission of Fine Arts 1922-1947
Box 13 Chien Blessé by Frémiet 1927
Box 13 Connecticut War Council 1943-1944 - medal
Box 13 Copyrights 1916, 1931, 1954
Box 13 Denys, Rev. F. Ward 1925-1957 - sarcophagus (2 folders)
Box 13 Drinker, Henry Sturgis 1930 - relief
Box 13 Edison, Thomas A. 1928 - medal
Box 13 Edison, Thomas Alva 1929-1946 - seated figure
Box 14 Edison, Thomas Alva 1947-1950 - seated figure
Box 14 Edison, Thomas A. 1931-1932 - tower
Box 14 "End of the Trail" 1928-1953
Box 14 Elk 1927
Box 14 Encyclopedia Britannica 1928-1929
Box 14 Endecott, John undated - memorial
Box 14 Ericson, John 1939 - memorial
Box 14 "Fairplay" 1929-1929
Box 14 Firestone, Harvey S. 1951-1956 - bust
Box 14 Firestone, Harvey S. 1940-1951 - memorial
Box 14 Forbes, William Cameron 1930 - relief
Box 14 Franklin, Benjamin 1961-1965 - relief
Box 14 Franklin, Benjamin 1927-1946 - seated figure (2 folders)
Box 14 Franklin, Benjamin 1955-1957 - medal
Box 15 Franklin, Benjamin 1947-1950 - seated figure (2 folders)
Box 15 Gallatin, Albert 1926-1948 - standing figure (3 folders)
Box 15 Garner, John Nance 1937-1942 - bust
Box 15 Gorham Company Bronze 1920-1953
Box 15 Guggenheim, John S. Memorial Foundation 1928-1950
Box 16 Harriman, E.H. 1966 - relief
Box 16 Harriman, Mary W. 1943-1946 - relief
Box 16 Hilt, William F. 1930-1931 - memorial
Box 16 Income tax, federal 1913-1937 (4 folders)
Box 16 Income tax, state 1919-1937 - New York
Box 16 Jefferson, Thomas 1939-1941 - memorial
Box 16 Lee, Robert E. and "Stonewall" Jackson 1935-1936 - equestrian figures
Box 17 Lee, Robert E. and "Stonewall" Jackson 1937-1950 - equestrian figures (5 folders)
Box 17 Lindbergh, Charles A. 1928-1930 - medal
Box 17 "The Long Long Trail" 1923-1925 - relief
Box 17 McManus, Ella Burr 1949-1950 - memorial
Box 17 Mayo, Charles H. and William J. 1940-1943 - memorial
Box 18 Mayo, Charles H. and William J. 1944-1953 - memorial
Box 18 National Academy of Design 1942-1945
Box 18 National Academy and Institute of Arts & Letters 1951 - gold medal
Box 18 National Gallery of Art Commission 1929-1952
Box 18 National Geographic Society 1930-1953
Box 18 National Institute of Arts and Letters
Box 18 National Sculpture Society 1928-1966
Box 18 National War Memorial of the Pacific 1956-1957
Box 18 "Oklama Run" - relief
Box 18 Oregon Trail Memorial Association 1926, 1929
Box 18 Patton, Gen. George F. Jr. 1946-1947 - standing figure (Boston)
Box 19 Patton, Gen. George F. Jr. 1948-1954 - standing figure (Boston)
Box 19 Patton, Gen. George F. Jr. 1946-1953 - standing figure (West Point)
Box 19 Pegasus 1946-1954 - statue
Box 19 Pelton, Agnes 1958-1962 - estate
Box 19 Public Relations 1958-1961 (2 folders)
Box 19 Quattrocchi, Edmondo 1933-1935
Box 20 Roosevelt, Theodore 1929-1941, 1947 - equestrian figure
Box 20 Roosevelt, Theodore 1943-44, 1947 - medal
Box 20 Roosevelt, Theodore 1958-1964 - bridge reliefs (5 folders)
Box 20 Saint Gaudens, Augustus 1946-1950 - memorial
Box 21 Second Division Monument 1936-1939
Box 21 Sherman, William T. 1928-1929 - statue
Box 21 Smith, Rev. Cornelius B. 1915 - relief
Box 21 Society of Medalists 1930
Box 21 Syracuse Museum of Fine Arts 1922, 1955
Box 21 Thayer, Sylvanus 1943, 1958 - medal
Box 21 U.S. Bureau of Mines 1922 - medal
Box 21 U.S. Department of Agriculture 1925 - medal
Box 21 U.S. House of Representatives 1949 - reliefs
Box 21 U.S. Information Agency 1958-1961
Box 21 U.S. Treasury Department 1922, 1933
Box 21 Walcott, Charles D. 1931-1932 - medal
Box 21 Washington, George 1941-1953 - equestrian figure
Box 21 Washington, George 1931-1932 - medal
Box 21 Washington, George 1931-1932 - relief
Box 21 Washington, George 1937-1941 - standing figure (2 folders)
Box 21 Washington, George 1931-1932 - quarter dollar
Box 21 West Point Sesquicentennial 1950-1955 - medal
Box 21 Wrestlers 1933-1936 - statuary
Designs and reproductions
Fraser, James Earle
Miscellaneous
Sketches
Box 22 Edwin Arlington Robinson
Oversize 9 Edwin Arlington Robinson (oversize)
Box 22 Sketchbooks (2 folders)
Box 22 Catalogues
Coins
Box 22 Buffalo Nickel
Medals
Box 22 American Academy of Arts and Letters
See also Glass negatives in Box 68.
Box 22 American Institute of Graphic Arts
See also Glass negatives in Box 68.
Box 22 American Society of Mechanical Engineers
See also Glass negatives in Box 68.
Box 22 Comité Americain Pour les Regions Dévastés de la France
See also Glass negatives in Box 68.
Box 22 Edison, Thomas Alva
Box 22 Harriman, Edward H.
See also Glass negatives in Box 68.
Box 22 Hot Springs, South Dakota High School
Box 22 King, Ernest J.
Box 22 Navy Cross
Box 22 New York State Spanish-American War
See also Glass negatives in Box 68.
Box 22 Norse-American Centennial
Box 22 Peace of Versailles
See also Glass negatives in Box 68.
Box 22 Pony Express
Box 23 Roosevelt, Theodore Memorial Association
See also Glass negatives in Box 68.
Box 23 Saint-Gaudens, Augustus
Box 23 U.S. Bureau of Mines
Box 23 Victory, World War I
See also Glass negatives in Box 68-69.
Box 23 Williams College
See also Glass negatives in Box 69.
Box 23 Yale University Howland Memorial
See also Glass negatives in Box 69.
Sculpture
Box 23 Albright, Joseph J. and Elizabeth - memorial
See also Glass negatives in Box 69.
Box 23 "Amazon"
See also Glass negatives in Box 69.
Box 23 Animals
Box 23, 24, 25 Arlington Memorial Bridge (9 folders)
Oversize 13 Arlington Memorial Bridge (oversize)
Box 25 "Aviator"
See also Glass negatives in Box 69.
Box 25 Bacon, Robert - bust
Box 25 "Basque"
See also Glass negatives in Box 69.
Box 25 Bear
Box 25 Brewster, Horatio Hathaway - relief
See also Glass negatives inOversize 23.
Box 25 "The Buffalo Herd"
Box 25 "The Buffalo Prayer"
See also Glass negatives in Box 69.
Box 25 "Canadian Officer"
See also Glass negatives in Box 69-70
Oversize 8 "Canadian Officer" (oversize)
Box 25 Caricatures
Box 25 Chase, J. Eastman - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 70-71.
Box 25 "Cheyenne Warrior"
See also Glass negatives in Box 71.
Box 25 Chicago University Club - relief
See also Glass negatives in Box 71.
Box 25 Children - busts
Box 25 Cleveland, Grover - memorial
See also Glass negatives in Box 71.
Box 25 "Dancer"
See also Glass negatives in Box 71.
Box 25 Debs, Eugene V. - relief
Box 25 Delano, Warren - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 71.
Box 25 Deming, E.W. - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 71.
Box 25 Deming, Henrietta - bust
Box 25 Denys, Rev. F. Ward - sarcophagus
Box 26 Denys, Rev. F. Ward - sarcophagus
Box 26 Edison, Thomas Alva - bust
Box 26, 27 Edison, Thomas Alva - seated figure (4 folders)
Oversize 16 Edison, Thomas Alva - seated figure (oversize)
Box 27 Edison Tower
Box 27 Elks Club National Memorial - "Charity," "Fidelity," "Justice," "Brotherly Love" figures
Box 27 "End of the Trail"
See also Glass negatives in Box 72.
Oversize 13 "End of the Trail" (oversize)
Box 27 Ericson, David Barnard - relief
See also Glass negatives in Box 72.
Box 27 Ericson, John - memorial (2 folders)
Box 28 Ericson, John - memorial
See also Glass negatives in Box 72-73
Box 28 Evans, June - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 73
Box 28, 29 Firestone, Harvey S. - memorial (4 folders)
Oversize 11 Firestone, Harvey S. - memorial (oversize)
Box 29 "Forces That Ride the Earth"
Box 29 Ford, Patrick - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 73
Box 29 Fountain
Box 29 Fountain, E.H. Harriman Garden
Oversize 16 Fountain, E.H. Harriman Garden (oversize)
Box 29, 30 Franklin, Benjamin - seated figure (4 folders)
Oversize 15 Franklin, Benjamin - seated figure (oversize)
Box 30 Gaillard, David D. - relief
Box 30, 31 Gallatin, Albert - standing figure (6 folders)
Oversize 7 Gallatin, Albert - standing figure (oversize)
Box 31 Garner, John Nance - bust (2 folders)
Box 31 Gibson, Charles Dana - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 73
Box 31 Goodwin, Sage - bust
Box 31 "Grief"
Box 31 Hamilton, Alexander - standing figure (2 folders)
See also Glass negatives in Box 73-74.
Oversize 11 Hamilton, Alexander - standing figure (oversize)
Box 31 Harriman, E.H. - relief
Box 31 Hay, John - memorial
See also Glass negatives in Box 74.
Box 31 Indian - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 74.
Box 31 Indian - standing figure
See also Glass negatives in Box 74.
Box 31 Jefferson, Thomas - seated figure
Box 32 Jefferson, Thomas (Missouri Memorial) - standing figure (3 folders)
Oversize 1 Jefferson, Thomas (Missouri Memorial) - standing figure (oversize)
Jefferson, Thomas (Missouri Memorial) - accompanying figures
Box 32 Lewis and Clark
Oversize 16 Lewis and Clark (oversize)
Box 32 Jesup, Morris Ketchum - relief
Box 32 "Journey Through Life"
See also Glass negatives in Box 74-75.
Box 32 Key, Francis Scott - memorial
See also Glass negatives in Box 75.
Box 32 LeDoux, Louis - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 75.
Box 33 Lincoln, Abraham - seated figure (2 folders)
Oversize 1 Lincoln, Abraham - seated figure (oversize)
Box 33 Locke, George Lyman - relief
See also Glass negatives in Box 75-76
Box 33 Mask
See also Glass negatives in Box 76
Box 34 Mayo, Charles H. and William J. - memorial (3 folders)
Oversize 9 Mayo, Charles H. and William J. - memorial (oversize)
Box 34 "Melisande"
Michigan Avenue Bridge, Chicago - pylons
Box 34 "Discoverers" and "Pioneers"
See also Glass negatives in Box 76
Oversize 8 "Discoverers" and "Pioneers" (oversize)
Box 34, 35 Patton, George S. Jr. - standing figure (6 folders)
Oversize 6 Patton, George S. Jr. - standing figure (oversize)
Box 35 Pegasus Group
Box 35 "Pioneer Woman"
Box 36 Pioneer Woman - rough Study?
Box 36 Polk, William M. - relief
Box 36 Potter, Bishop Henry C. - sarcophagus
See also Glass negatives in Box 76
Oversize 2 Potter, Bishop Henry C. - sarcophagus (oversize)
Box 36 "Primitive Inventor of Water Power"
Box 36 "Priscilla"
See also Glass negatives in Box 76
Box 36 Rankin - bust
Box 36 Riley, John - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 76
Box 36 Robinson, Edwin Arlington - memorial plaque
Box 36 Roosevelt, Theodore - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 76-77.
Oversize 7 Roosevelt, Theodore - bust (oversize)
Box 36 Roosevelt, Theodore - death mask
See also Glass negatives in Box 77.
Box 36, 37 Roosevelt, Theodore - equestrian figure (7 folders)
Oversize 21 Roosevelt, Theodore - equestrian figure (oversize)
Roosevelt, Theodore - accompanying figures
Box 38 Lewis, Clark, Audobon, and Boone (2 folders)
Box 38 Roosevelt, Theodore - national monument
Box 38 Roosevelt, Theodore - relief
See also Glass negatives in Box 77.
Box 38 Root, Elihu - bust (2 folders)
Oversize 12 Root, Elihu - bust (oversize)
Box 38 Saint-Gaudens, Augustus - bust (2 folders)
Box 38 Schoellkopf, Henry - relief (2 folders)
See also Glass negatives in Box 77.
Box 38 Schoellkopf, M.H. - bust
Box 39 Second Division Memorial
Oversize 12 Second Division Memorial (oversize)
Box 39 "Storm Driven"
Oversize 16 "Storm Driven" (oversize)
Box 39 Taft, William Howard - memorial
Box 39 U.S. Archives - pediment (2 folders)
Oversize 17 U.S. Archives - pediment (oversize)
Box 39 U.S. Archives - reliefs
U.S. Archives - seated figures
Box 39 "Guardian" and "Mother and Child"
Box 40 U.S. Commerce Department - pediments
Box 40 U.S. Supreme Court - seated figures (4 folders)
Package 44 U.S. Supreme Court - seated figures (oversize)
Box 40 Unknown Soldier - tomb
Oversize 17 Unknown Soldier - tomb (oversize)
Box 40 Urn
Oversize 16 Urn (oversize)
Box 40 "Venus de Meow Sleeping Cat" - relief
Box 41 "Victory"
See also Glass negatives in Boxes 77-78.
Oversize 8 "Victory" (oversize)
Box 41 Virginia War Memorial
Box 41 Washington, George - equestrian figure (2 folders)
Box 41 Washington, George - standing figure (3 folders)
Oversize 22 Washington, George - standing figure (oversize)
Box 42 Whitney Children - busts, reliefs (3 folders)
See also Glass negatives in Oversize 23.
Package 44 Whitney Children - busts, reliefs (oversize)
Box 42 "Windswept"
Box 42 "Young Artist" - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 78.
Oversize 2 "Young Artist" - bust (oversize)
Fraser, Laura Gardin
Box 42 Catalogues
Coins
Box 42 Alabama Centennial - half dollar
See also Glass negatives in Box 78.
Box 42 Grant, Ulysses S. - half dollar
Box 42 Liberty Dollar
Box 42 MacArthur, Douglas - Phillipines one peso
Box 42 Washington, George - quarter dollar
Medals
Box 42 Air Medal
Box 42 American Bar Association
Box 42 American Geographical Society Centennial
Box 42 Belleau Wood Memorial Association
See also Glass negatives in Box 78.
Box 42 "Better Babies"
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 42 Bide-A-Wee Home for Dogs
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 42 "Doctrina"
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 42 Franklin, Benjamin
Box 42 International Livestock Exposition
Box 42 Irish Setter Club of America
Box 42 Lindbergh, Charles
Oversize 16 Lindbergh, Charles (oversize)
Box 42 Marshall, George C.
Box 42 Massachusetts Tercentenary
Box 42 Morgan Horse Club
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 43 National Geographic Society - Richard E. Byrd
Box 43 National Geographic Society - Gilbert Grosvenor
Box 43 National Geographic Society - Hubbard
Box 43 Oklahoma Semi-Centennial
Box 43 Peace of Versailles
Box 43 Horse Association of America - polo
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 43 Smith, R. Penn Jr.
Box 43 "Steady"
Box 43 Thayer, Sylvanus
Box 43 U.S. Army and Navy Chaplains
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 43 U.S. Department of Agriculture
Box 43 U.S. Military Academy (West Point) sesquicentennial
Box 43 "Vermont"
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 43 Walcott, Charles D.
Box 43 Washington, George bicentennial
Sculpture
Box 43 Acadia Mountain plaque
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 43, 44 American history panels - relief (5 folders)
Oversize 18-20 American History Panels - relief (oversize)
#26 panel 3
#27 panel 1
#28 panel 2
Box 44 Baby Goat
Box 44 "Baby with Duck"
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 44 Bowman, Isaiah - bust
Box 44 Creche - relief
Box 44 Dog - cocker spaniel
Box 44 Dog - foxhound
Box 44 Dog, "Methuselah"
Box 44 Dog, "Snuff"
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 44 Drinker, Henry Sturgis - relief
Box 44 Duck
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 44 Elk - relief
Box 44 Elk - statuary
Box 45 Forbes, William Cameron - relief
Box 45 Franklin, Benjamin - relief
Box 45 "Goat Baby" - statue
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 45 Golf Player - sundial
See also Glass negatives in Box 79.
Box 45 "Grape Baby" - fountain
See also Glass negatives in Box 80.
Box 45 Harriman, Mary W. - relief
Box 85 Hartford Fire Insurance Company commemorative relief (modeled by Laura Gardin Fraser after Landseer) - pair of bookends created for the Hartford Fire Insurance Company to commemorate the 110th anniversary of its founding [2 cast bronze bookends]
Box 45 Hitt, William F. - memorial
Box 45 Holloway, Frances Angeline - relief
See also Glass negatives in Box 80.
Box 45 Horse, "Citroen" - polo pony trophy
Box 45 Horse, "Fairplay"
Box 45 Horse, "John"
Box 45 Horse, "Miss Buck"
Box 45 Horse, "Prince Friarstown"
See also Glass negatives in Box 80.
Box 45 Horse, "Trotting Filly"
Box 45 Kilby, Thomas E. - relief
Box 45, 46 Lee, Robert E. and "Stonewall" Jackson - equestrian figures (4 folders)
Oversize 22 Lee, Robert E. and "Stonewall" Jackson - equestrian figure (oversize)
Box 46 "The Long Long Trail" - relief
See also Glass negatives in Box 80.
Box 46 Lyon, Mary - bust
Box 46 "Minotaur and Pans" - statue
Box 46 Navy Goat
Box 46 "Nymph and Satyr"
See also Glass negatives in Oversize 80.
Box 46 "Oklahoma Run"
Box 46 Pacific War Memorial - relief
Box 47 "Peace with Justice"
"Pegasus"
Box 47 2 folders
Box 47 3 folders (1977 Accession)
Theodore Roosevelt Bridge - reliefs
Box 47 "Courage," "Power," "Leadership," "Foresight" (2 folders)
Box 47 Russell Memorial
See also Glass negatives in Box 80.
Box 47 "Simplicity"
Box 47 Smith, Carol Harriman - relief
Box 47 Smith, Rev. Cornelius B. - relief
See also Glass negatives in Box 80.
Box 47 Smith, Eugene - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 80.
Box 47 Stuart, Gilbert - bust
See also Glass negatives in Box 80.
Box 47 Tener, John Kinley - relief
Box 47 Urn with Polo Players
See also Glass negatives in Box 81.
Box 47 U.S. House of Representives - reliefs
Box 47 Washington, George - relief
Box 47 Wrestlers - two figures
Box 47 "Young Porker"
See also Glass negatives in Box 81.
Fraser, James Earle and Laura Gardin
Coins
Box 48 Oregon Trail Half Dollar
Medals
Box 48 Sketches
Box 48 Photographs and negatives
See also Glass negatives in Box 81.
Sculpture
Box 48 Models (2 folders)
See also Glass negatives in Box 81.
Box 48, 49 Sketches (7 folders)
Oversize 2 Sketches (oversize)
Box 49 Photographs
Box 49 Negatives
See also Glass negatives in Boxes 81-82.
Fraser, James Earle and T.H. Somes
Sculpture
Box 49 Grant, Ulysses S. - bust
Frémiet, E.
Box 49 Sculpture
See also Glass negatives in Box 82.
Gardin, Alice Tilton
Box 49 Catalogs
Huntington, Alice Hyatt
Box 49 Sculpture
Lane, Katherine W.
Box 49 Sculpture
Laurie, Lee
Box 49 Medals
MacMonnies, Frederick
Box 49 Sculpture
Olesen, Olaf
Box 49 Paintings
See also Glass negatives in Box 82.
Rubins, David K.
Box 50 Sculpture
Saint-Gaudens, Augustus
Sculpture
Box 50 Adams Memorial
Box 50 Diana - standing figure
Box 50 Farragut, David G. - standing figure
Box 50 Lincoln, Abraham - standing figure
Oversize 16 Lincoln, Abraham - standing figure (oversize)
Box 50 Shaw Memorial
Box 50 Sherman Memorial
Waugh, Sidney Biehler
Box 50 Sculpture
Unidentified
Box 50 Medals
Box 50 Sculpture (9 folders)
See also Glass negatives in Boxes 82-83.
Sketch
Box 50 Robinson, Edwin Arlington
Oversize 3 Robinson, Edwin Arlington (oversize)
Unknown
Box 50 Architecture and Archeology
Oversize 16 Architecture and Archeology (oversize)
Box 50 Sculpture
Memorabilia
General
Fraser, James Earle
Box 50 American Academy of Arts and Letters 1927-1948
Box 50 Biographical material 1929-1967
Box 51 Certificates and awards 1918-1944
Box 51 Medals 1915-1946 (2 folders)
Box 51 Newspaper clippings 1909-1939 (6 folders)
Box 52 Newspaper clippings 1940-1966 (4 folders)
Box 52 Notebooks 1949
Box 52 Obituaries 1953
Box 52 Passports 1929-1949
Scrapbook
Box 52 on Theodore Roosevelt's death 1919
Oversize 4 on Theodore Roosevelt's death (oversize)
Oversize 24 Slides (Fraser Lantern Slide Collection) undated
For complete list of slides, see Glass negatives in Oversize 24.
Fraser, Laura Gardin
Box 52 Address book
Box 52 Appointment books 1912-1935
Box 52 Biographical material 1919-1960
Box 52 Certificates and awards 1944-1963
Box 52 Medals 1926-1956 (2 folders)
Box 53 National achievement awards 1930-1948 (2 folders)
Box 53 Newspaper clippings 1920-1967 (5 folders)
Box 53 Notebooks 1949-1960
Box 53 Obituaries 1966
Box 53 Passports 1929
Scrapbook
Box 53 on Lee-Jackson statues
Oversize 14 on Lee-Jackson statues (oversize)
Fraser, James Earle and Laura Gardin
Box 53 Christmas cards 1935-1938
Ephemera
Box 53 Miscellaneous 1953
Box 54 Honeymoon 1913
Box 54 Invitations and programs 1927-1959
Films
Box 54 "Ann Harding and Joe Wheelwright" 1931
Box 54 "Virginia, Eleanor, JEF and LGF" 1932
Box 54 Unidentified undated (6 reels)
Box 54 Newspaper clippings 1931-1950
Fraser and Tilton families
Box 55 Genealogy
Gardin, Alice Tilton
Box 55 Ephemera 1940
Box 55 Newspaper clippings 1939
Gardin, John E.
Box 55 Newspaper clippings 1926
Harding, Ann
Box 55 Newspaper clippings 1923-1937
Robinson, Edwin Arlington
Box 55 Ephemera 1904-1933
Newspaper clippings
Box 55 Miscellaneous 1920-1965
Box 55 Book reviews 1920-1935
Box 55 Poetry 1919
Box 55 Obituaries 1935
Box 55 Scrapbook undated
Oversize 5 Scrapbook (oversize)
Saint-Gaudens, Augustus
Box 55 Newspaper clippings 1948
Box 55 Tilton, Theodore undated
Unidentified
Box 55 Blueprints and diagrams undated
Box 55 Notebooks undated
Box 67 Notebook undated
Photographs
Box 55 Miscellaneous undated
Box 55 Album undated
Oversize 5 Album (oversize)
Box 55 Animals undated
Box 55 Cowboys undated
Box 56 Darling, Jay undated
Box 56 DeCoux, Janet undated
Box 56 Dogs undated
Box 56 Family and friends ca.1880-1947 (5 folders)
Box 57 Family and friends undated
See also Glass negatives in Box 83.
Oversize 3 Family and friends (oversize)
Box 57 Fraser, Cora West undated
See also Glass negatives in Box 83.
Box 57 Fraser, James Earle ca.1894-1910 (2 folders)
See also Glass negatives in Boxes 83-84.
Oversize 10 Fraser, James Earle (oversize)
Box 57 Fraser, Laura Gardin undated (3 folders)
Box 58 Fraser, Laura Gardin undated
See also Glass negatives in Oversize 23.
Oversize 10 Fraser, Laura Gardin (oversize)
Box 58 Fraser, James Earle and Laura Gardin undated
Box 58 Gardin, Alice Tilton undated
See also Glass negatives in Box 84.
Box 58 Harding, Ann undated
See also Glass negatives in Box 84.
Box 58 Horses undated (3 folders)
Box 59 Horses undated
Box 59 Huntington, Anna Hyatt undated
Box 59 Moore, Charles undated
Box 59 National Achievement Awards 1942-1948
Box 59 Robinson, Edwin Arlington 1872-1933
See also Glass negatives in Box 84.
Oversize 3 Robinson, Edwin Arlington (oversize) 1872-1933
Box 59 Rubins Family undated
Box 59 Saint-Gaudens' Studio undated
Box 59 Tilton, Alice undated
Box 59 Tilton, Theodore undated
Views and Scenes
Box 67 Slides in Lumiere box undated
Box 59 Miscellaneous undated (2 folders)
Oversize 8 Miscellaneous (oversize)
Box 60 Europe 1949 (3 folders)
Box 60 Latin America undated
Box 60 Pacific 1949
Box 60 Paris undated
Box 60 Virginia undated
Box 60 Westport, Connecticut undated (2 folders)
Box 61 Yucatan undated
Box 61 Wheelwright, Joe undated
Printed matter
Catalogues
Box 61 "Charles Cary Rumsey" 1927
Box 61 "Small Bronzes by Great Sculptors as Prizes" 1926
Magazine Separates
Box 61 "Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel," Life 1949
Newspaper
Box 61 The Independent, XL 1888
Periodicals
Box 61 "The Diagonal," I 1920
Pamphlets
Box 61 "Hamlin Garland as West Salem Knew Him" 1951
Box 61 "Isaiah Bowman" by Gladys M. Wrigley 1951
Box 61 "War" by Kerr Eby undated
Box 61 Postcards undated (2 folders)
Box 67 Postcards with inscriptions 1909-1949 (2 folders)
Box 67 Postcards without inscriptions undated (2 folders)
Writings
Allen, Henry Butler
Articles
Box 61 "Franklin Touches Upon Presidential Authority and Morals in Politics," Franklin Institute News, XVII 1952 - pub. mat.
Faulkner, Barry
Articles
Box 61 "A Commemorative Tribute to James Earle Fraser" undated
Betts, Craven Langstroth
Verse
Box 61 "To Edwin Arlington Robinson on His Fiftieth Birthday" undated
Fraser, James Earle
Articles
Box 61 Fragments undated
"Architectural Sculpture"
Box 61 Draft undated
Box 61 Galley Proofs 1929
Box 61 Encyclopedia Britannica 1929 - pub. mat.
"Augustus Saint-Gaudens"
Box 61 Drafts undated
Box 61 Century Association Hundredth Anniversary Exhibition Catalogue undated - pub. mat.
Box 61 "Akeley, the Sculpture," Natural History 1927 - pub. mat.
Box 61 On Edwin Arlington Robinson undated
Box 61 On the buffalo nickel undated
Box 62 "Franklin's All-Pervading Curiosity," Dedication of the Benjamin Franklin Memorial 1938 - pub. mat.
"Frederick McMonnies"
Box 62 Draft undated
Box 62 Commemorative Tributes...American Academy of Arts and Letters 1939 - pub. mat.
Box 62 On Karl Anderson undated
Box 62 On the National Academy of Design undated
Box 62 On South Dakota Boyhood ca. 1945
"What Kind of War Memorial"
Box 62 Drafts undated
Box 62 The Rotarian 1946 - pub. mat.
Box 62 "Whitney's Polo Party" undated
Book (autobiography, untitled) undated
I "Indian Prairie"
Box 62 Fragments (2 folders)
Box 62 Drafts A-C
Box 62 Drafts D-E
Box 62 Drafts F-G
Box 63 Drafts H-K
Box 63 II "Minneapolis"
Box 63 III "Beaux Arts"
IV "Italian Journey"
Box 63 Drafts A-C
Box 63 Drafts D-F
Box 63 Drafts G-H
Box 63 VIII "New York"
Diaries
Box 63 (Vol. 1) 1929 - says J.E. Fraser on front, but content (e.g., references to "Jay" and "Jimmy") suggests it may be Laura's diary
Box 63 (Vol. 2) 1932 - says J.E. Fraser on front, but content (e.g., references to "Jay" and "Jimmy") suggests it may be Laura's diary
Box 63 (Vol. 3) 1949
Films
Box 63 Lincoln Circle Group undated - 8 mm
Box 64 Lincoln Memorial Group undated - 8mm
Interviews
Box 64 WCVS; Chicago, Ill. 1941 - phonodisc
WCVS; Chicago, Ill. (oversize) 1941 - phonodisc
Transferred to Belfer Audio Pictures 5/16/00
Notes
Box 64 On Adolph Weinman undated
Box 64 On Charles Dana Gibson undated
Box 64 On Lee Laurie undated
Box 64 On modeling the bust of Theodore Roosevelt undated
Box 64 On Saint-Gaudens undated
Speeches
Box 64 On Benjamin Franklin undated
Box 64 On memorials undated
Box 64 National Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters 1951
Box 64 "Why Sculpture?" 1938
Fraser, James Earle and Laura Gardin
Interview
Box 64 "Spotlight on Youth" 1947
Fraser, Laura Gardin
Articles
Box 64 "History of American Sculpture" 1959
Diaries
See also Writings : James Earle Fraser : Diaries for two volumes that may be Laura's.
Box 64 (Vol. 4) 1931
Box 64 (Vol. 5) 1933
Box 64 (Vol. 6) 1934
Box 64 (Vol. 7) 1935
Box 65 Unbound Fragments 1964
Films
Box 65 "Lee-Jackson Casting and Setting #2" undated - 16 mm
Box 65 "The Medal Maker" undated - 16 mm
Box 65 "Patton Unveiling and Bridge Groups" undated - 8 mm
Speeches
Box 65 "On sculpture" 1958
Gardin, Alice Tilton
Box 65 Diaries 1897-1898
Gardin, Frieda
Article
Box 65 "The Life of John E. Gardin" 1927 - pub. mat.
Gardin, John E.
Articles
Box 65 "Conditions in Foreign Countries" 1913 - pub. mat.
Box 65 "An Era of Financial History" 1915 - pub. mat.
Box 65 "The Future of International Finance" 1919 - pub. mat.
Box 65 "Liberty Bonds for the Business Woman" 1917 - pub. mat.
Box 65 "Protection of Our Gold Supply" 1913 - pub. mat.
Hobson, Katherine T.
Article
Box 65 "Laura Gardin Fraser. . .Seen Through Stars", National Sculpture Review 1967 - pub. mat.
Louchheim, Aline B.
Article
Box 65 "Most Famous Unknown Sculpture", New York Times Magazine 1951 - pub. mat.
McAllister, Francis
Verse
Box 65 To Ann Harding 1925
Moore, Charles
Articles
Box 65 "Fine Arts Offer Brilliant Leadership in Education", University of Ohio News Bulletin, V 1930 - pub. mat.
Box 65 "Personalities in Washington Architecture" 1937 - pub. mat.
Box 65 "Wakefield, the Birthplace of George Washington" undated
Box 66 "Washington--City of Splendor", Current History, XXXII 1930 - pub. mat.
Speeches
Box 66 "Adeline Adams, Author" 1930
Box 66 "Britain in War Time" undated
Box 66 Phi Beta Kappa undated
Box 66 On the Twenty-Fifth Anniversary of the National Commission of Fine Arts 1935
Box 66 Untitled undated
Robinson, Edwin Arlington
Article
Box 66 "The First Seven Years" 1930 - page proofs, rev.
Verse
Box 66 "Cavender's House" undated - tsc. rev.
Box 66 "Dionysus in Doubt" galley proof 1925
"The Man Who Died Twice"
Box 66 Draft A undated - holo. rev.
Box 66 Draft B 1922 - holo.
Box 66 Draft C 1922 - tsc. rev.
Box 66 Galley Proofs 1924 - rev.
Seacrest, Effie
Article
Box 66 "James Earle Fraser", The American Magazine of Art undated - pub. mat.
Sterling, George
Verse
Box 66 "His Own Country" 1921
Tilton, Alice
Verse
Box 66 On sleeping cars undated
Tilton, Elizabeth
Box 66 Diary (Vol. 8) 1876
Unidentified
Articles
Box 66 On the art of today undated
Box 66 "James Earle Fraser", The American Society Legion of Honor Magazine 1954
Box 66 "James Earle Fraser's Sculptures in Bronze", The Metal Arts undated
Box 66 On monuments undated
Box 66 Notes 1932-1953
Speeches
Box 66 On Alice Morgan Wright undated
Glass negatives
Designs and reproductions
Fraser, James Earle
Medals
Box 68 American Academy of Arts and Letters
Box 68 American Institute of Graphic Arts
Box 68 American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Box 68 Comité Americain Pour les Regions Dévastés de la France
Box 68 Harriman, Edward H.
Box 68 New York State Spanish-American War
Box 68 Peace of Versailles
Box 68 Roosevelt, Theodore Memorial Association
Box 68, 69 Victory, World War I (5 glass negatives)
Box 69 Williams College
Box 69 Yale University Howland Memorial
Sculpture
Box 69 Albright, Joseph J. and Elizabeth - memorial
Box 69 "Amazon"
Box 69 "Aviator"
Box 69 "Basque"
Oversize 23 Brewster, Horatio Hathaway - relief (2 glass plate negatives)
Box 69 "The Buffalo Prayer"
Box 69, 70 "Canadian Officer" (23 glass negatives)
Box 70, 71 Chase, J. Eastman - bust (4 glass negatives)
Box 71 "Cheyenne Warrior"
Box 71 Chicago University Club - relief
Box 71 Cleveland, Grover - memorial
Box 71 "Dancer"
Box 71 Delano, Warren - bust
Box 71 Deming, E.W. - bust
Box 72 "End of the Trail"
Box 72 Ericson, David Barnard - relief
Box 72, 73 Ericsson, John - memorial (18 glass negatives)
Box 73 Evans, June - bust
Box 73 Ford, Patrick - bust
Box 73 Gibson, Charles Dana - bust
Box 73, 74 Hamilton, Alexander - standing figure (13 glass negatives)
Box 74 Hay, John - memorial
Box 74 Indian - bust
Box 74 Indian - standing figure
Box 74, 75 "Journey Through Life" (2 glass negative)
Box 75 Key, Francis Scott - memorial
Box 75 LeDoux, Louis - bust
Box 75 Lincoln, Abraham - seated figure
Box 75, 76 Locke, George Lyman - relief (4 glass negatives)
Box 76 Mask
Michigan Avenue Bridge, Chicago - pylons
Box 76 "Discoverers" and "Pioneers"
Box 76 Potter, Bishop Henry C. - sarcophagus
Box 76 "Priscilla"
Box 76 Riley, John - bust
Box 76, 77 Roosevelt, Theodore - bust (8 glass negatives)
Box 77 Roosevelt, Theodore - death mask
Box 77 Roosevelt, Theodore - relief
Schoellkopf, Henry - relief
Box 77, 78 "Victory" (22 glass negatives)
Oversize 23 Whitney Children - busts, reliefs (8 glass plate negatives)
Box 78 "Young Artist" - bust
Fraser, Laura Gardin
Coins
Box 78 Alabama Centennial - half dollar
Medals
Box 78 Belleau Wood Memorial Association
Box 79 "Better Babies"
Box 79 Bide-A-Wee Home for Dogs
Box 79 "Doctrina"
Box 79 Morgan Horse Club
Box 79 Horse Association of America - polo
Box 79 U.S. Army and Navy Chaplains
Box 79 "Vermont"
Sculpture
Box 79 Acadia Mountain Plaque
Box 79 "Baby with Duck"
Box 79 Dog - "Snuff"
Box 79 Duck
Box 79 "Goat Baby" - statue
Box 79 Golf Player - sundial
Box 80 "Grape Baby" - fountain
Box 80 Holloway, Frances Angeline - relief
Box 80 Horse - "Prince Friarstown"
Box 80 "The Long Long Trail" - relief
Box 80 "Nymph and Satyr"
Box 80 Russell Memorial
Box 80 Smith, Rev. Cornelius B. - relief
Box 80 Smith, Eugene - bust
Box 80 Stuart, Gilbert - bust
Box 81 Urn with Polo Players
Box 81 "Young Porker"
Fraser, James Earle and Laura Gardin
Medals
Box 81 Photographs and negatives
Sculpture
Box 81 Models
Box 81, 82 Negatives (8 glass negative)
Frémiet, E.
Box 82 Sculpture
Olesen, Olaf
Box 82 Paintings
Unidentified
Box 82, 83 Sculpture (4 glass negative)
Memorabilia
Photographs
Family and friends
Box 83 Fraser, Cora West
Box 83, 84 Fraser, James Earle (17 glass negatives)
Oversize 23 Fraser, Laura Gardin (2 glass plate negatives)
Box 84 Gardin, Alice Tilton
Box 84 Harding, Ann
Box 84 Robinson, Edwin Arlington 1872-1933
Artifacts
Box 67 Box covers - box covers from the James Earle Fraser Lantern Slide Collection, removed 9 Oct 1976
Fraser Lantern Slide Collection
"This procession of Great American Artists is presented by the National Academy of Design to create a better understanding of the Art of this country."
Architecture
Oversize 24 Bacon, Henry (Lincoln Memorial) (14 slides)
Oversize 24 Goodhue, Bertram (Nebraska State Capitol) (4 slides)
Oversize 24 Goodhue, Bertram (Nebraska State Capitol) (4 slides)
Oversize 24 McKim, Charles (Boston Public Library, Morgan Library, Columbia Library) (10 slides)
Oversize 24 Towne, Eithal (Center Church, New Haven, CT) (1 slide)
Painting
Oversize 24 Abbey, Edwin Austin (3 slides)
Oversize 24 Alexander, John (5 slides)
Oversize 24 Bellows, George (13 slides)
Oversize 24 Blakelock, Ralph (5 slides)
Oversize 24 Blum, Robert (2 slides)
Oversize 24 Cassatt, Mary (9 slides)
Oversize 24 Chase, William (8 slides)
Oversize 24 Copley, John Singleton (10 slides)
Oversize 24 Davies, Arthur B. (32 slides)
Oversize 24 Durand, Asher B. (7 slides)
Oversize 24 Duveneck, Frank (24 slides)
Oversize 24 Earins, Thomas (14 slides)
Oversize 24 Earl, Ralph (2 slides)
Oversize 24 Fuller, George (8 slides)
Oversize 24 Harding, Chester (10 slides)
Oversize 24 Henri, Robert (13 slides)
Oversize 24 Hesselius, Gustavus (3 slides)
Oversize 24 Homer, Winslow (15 slides)
Oversize 24 Inman, Henry (3 slides)
Oversize 24 Innes, George (10 slides)
Oversize 24 Jarvis, John W. (6 slides)
Oversize 24 Lafarge, John (2 slides)
Oversize 24 MacCameron, robert (3 slides)
Oversize 24 Martin, Homer (6 slides)
Oversize 24 Morse, Samuel F.B. (10 slides)
Oversize 24 Murphy, F.X. (7 slides)
Oversize 24 Murphy, J. Francis (4 slides)
Oversize 24 Neagle, John (4 slides)
Oversize 24 Peal, Charles Wilson (6 slides)
Oversize 24 Peal, Rembrandt (6 slides)
Oversize 24 Ryder, Albert P. (10 slides)
Oversize 24 Sargent, John Singer (19 slides)
Oversize 24 Sharples, James (1 slide)
Oversize 24 Stuart, Gilbert (10 slides)
Oversize 24 Sully, Thomas (9 slides)
Oversize 24 Thayer, Abbott (25 slides)
Oversize 24 Trumball, John (7 slides)
Oversize 24 Twachman, John (11 slides)
Oversize 24 Tryon, (1 slide)
Oversize 24 Vedder, Elihu (5 slides)
Oversize 24 Weir, J. Alden (7 slides)
Oversize 24 West, Benjamin (5 slides)
Oversize 24 Whistler, James McNeil (13 slides)
Oversize 24 Prints (3 slides)
Sculpture
Oversize 24 Bartlett, Paul (2 slides)
Oversize 24 Borglum, Solon (5 slides)
Oversize 24 French, Daniel Chester (5 slides)
Oversize 24 Grafely, Charles (4 slides)
Oversize 24 Saint Gaudens, Augustus (2 slides)
Oversize 24 Ward, J.Q.A. (4 slides)
Oversize 24 Unidentified (5 slides)
Oversize 24 Title Slides (with names and dates of artists) (40 slides)
Edwin Arlington Robinson materials in the James Earle and Laura Gardin collection
Correspondence 1913-1934
See Index
Designs and reproductions
Fraser, James Earle
Miscellaneous
Sketches
Box 22 Edwin Arlington Robinson
Oversize 9 Edwin Arlington Robinson (oversize)
Sculpture
Box 36 Robinson, Edwin Arlington - memorial plaque
Unidentified
Sketch
Box 50 Robinson, Edwin Arlington
Oversize 3 Robinson, Edwin Arlington (oversize)
Memorabilia
General
Robinson, Edwin Arlington
Box 55 Ephemera 1904-1933
Box 55 Newspaper clippings
Box 55 Miscellaneous 1920-1965
Box 55 Book reviews 1920-1935
Box 55 Poetry 1919
Box 55 Obituaries 1935
Oversize 5 Scrapbook (oversize) undated
Photographs
Robinson, Edwin Arlington
Box 59 Photographs 1872-1933
Box 84 Glass negatives undated
Oversize 3 Photographs (oversize) undated
Writings
Betts, Craven Langstroth
Box 61 Verse: "To Edwin Arlington Robinson on His Fiftieth Birthday" undated
Fraser, James Earle
Articles
Box 61 On Edwin Arlington Robinson undated
Robinson, Edwin Arlington
Article
Box 66 "The First Seven Years" 1930 - page proofs, rev.
Verse
Box 66 "Cavender's House" undated - tsc. rev.
Box 66 "Dionysus in Doubt" 1925 - galley proof
Box 66 "The Man Who Died Twice"
Box 66 Draft A undated - holo. rev.
Box 66 Draft B 1922 - holo.
Box 66 Draft C 1922 - tsc. rev.
Box 66 Galley Proofs 1924 - rev.
Edwin Arlington Robinson letters in the collection
  • Fraser, James Earle
    • n.d.
    • n.d.
    • 1913 Jun 9
    • 1913 Jun 22
    • 1913 Dec 9
    • 1917 Feb 23
    • 1917 Dec 9
    • 1919 Nov 8
    • 1921 Jul 13
    • 1922 Jul 23
    • 1923 Jul 11
    • 1923 Jul 25
    • 1923 Sep 17
    • 1923 Oct 15
    • 1924 May 24
    • 1925 Nov 1
    • 1926 Jul 6
    • 1926 Sep 10
    • 1926 Nov 19
    • 1927 Jan 26
    • 1927 Nov 30
    • 1928 Apr 11
    • 1928 Jun 1
    • 1928 Aug 13
    • 1928 Aug 25
    • 1928 Sep 17
    • 1929 Jun 20
    • 1931 Jun 29
    • 1931 Jun 29
    • 1931 Jun 30
    • 1932 Jun 27
    • 1932 Jul 16
    • 1932 Oct 20
    • 1933 Dec 15
    • 1934 Dec 30
  • Fraser, Laura Gardin
    • n.d.
    • n.d. (fragment) -- transcription only
    • 1916 Feb 7
    • 1916 Sep 30
    • 1917 Sep 21
    • 1917 Dec 25
    • 1918 Jul 25
    • 1918 Sep 6
    • 1918 Oct 1
    • 1918 Oct 7
    • 1918 Oct 14
    • 1918 Oct 16
    • 1919 Jun 11
    • 1919 Aug 4
    • 1919 Sep 11
    • 1919 Oct 5
    • 1919 Oct 26
    • 1920 Aug 6
    • 1920 Sep 10
    • 1920 Sep 14
    • 1920 Oct 3
    • 1920 Oct 7
    • 1920 Nov 3
    • 1921 Sep 4
    • 1921 Oct 11
    • 1921 Oct 18
    • 1921 Oct 25
    • 1922 May 18
    • 1922 May 29
    • 1922 Jul 31
    • 1922 Sep 17
    • 1922 Oct 4
    • 1923 Oct 7
    • 1924 May 22
    • 1924 Aug 10
    • 1924 Sep 10
    • 1924 Nov 18
    • 1925 Mar 16
    • 1925 Apr 5
    • 1925 Apr 16
    • 1925 May 5
    • 1925 May 18
    • 1925 Jun 10
    • 1925 Jun 13
    • 1925 Jul 21
    • 1925 Aug 16
    • 1925 Sep 10 (fragment) -- transcription only
    • 1925 Sep 20
    • 1925 Oct 7
    • 1925 Nov 15
    • 1925 Nov 24
    • 1925 Dec 3
    • 1926 May 12
    • 1926 May 28
    • 1926 Jun 16
    • 1926 Aug 1
    • 1926 Oct 9
    • 1926 Oct 19
    • 1926 Oct 23
    • 1926 Nov 23
    • 1927 Jan 20
    • 1927 Jan 24
    • 1927 Jan 27
    • 1927 May 11
    • 1927 May 23
    • 1927 Jun 5
    • 1927 Jul 28
    • 1927 Aug 12
    • 1927 Aug 20
    • 1927 Sep 20
    • 1927 Nov 7
    • 1927 Nov 18
    • 1928 May 11
    • 1928 Jul 2
    • 1928 Oct 9
    • 1928 Nov 19
    • 1928 Nov 29
    • 1929 Apr 29
    • 1929 Jul 4
    • 1929 between Jul 4 and Oct 22
    • 1929 Oct 22
    • 1930 Mar 17
    • 1930 Apr 28
    • 1930 Jun 30
    • 1930 Sep 15
    • 1930 Oct 19
    • 1930 Oct 30
    • 1930 Nov 25
    • 1930 Dec 3
    • 1930 Dec 10
    • 1930 Dec 17
    • 1931 Apr 6
    • 1931 Apr 12
    • 1931 May 31
    • 1931 Jul 30
    • 1931 Oct 30
    • 1931 Dec 3
    • 1932 Apr 28
    • 1932 Jun 3
    • 1932 Jun 16
    • 1932 Jun 20
    • 1932 Aug 26
    • 1932 Oct 22
    • 1932 Dec 1
    • 1933 Mar 19
    • 1933 Apr 22
    • 1933 Jun 3
    • 1933 Sep 12
    • 1933 Oct 8
    • 1933 Nov 1
    • 1933 Nov 12
    • 1933 Nov 19
    • 1933 Dec 8
    • 1934 Mar 29
    • 1934 Apr 5
    • 1934 May 9
    • 1934 Jul 4
    • 1934 Sep 11
    • 1934 Nov 13
    • 1934 Nov 25
    • 1934 Dec 9
    • 1934 Dec 16
  • Fraser, James F. and Laura Gardin
    • 1923 Jun 20
    • 1925 May 6
    • 1933 Dec 19
  • Fraser, James E. and Laura Gardin and Gardin, Alice Tilton
    • 1923 Apr 23
    • 1929 Dec 1
  • Gardin, Alice Tilton
    • 1922 May 19
    • 1923 May 16
    • 1924 Jun 14
    • 1924 Aug 2
    • 1924 Sep 21
    • 1924 Sep 30
    • 1924 Oct 7
    • 1925 Mar 17
    • 1925 Apr 11
    • 1925 May 20
    • 1925 Nov 7
    • 1926 Apr 30
    • 1926 Jun 13
    • 1926 Aug 22
    • 1927 Jun 2
    • 1927 Jul 1
    • 1927 Jul 28
    • 1927 Oct 13
    • 1928 Apr 11
    • 1928 May 2
    • 1928 Jun 21
    • 1928 Aug 14
    • 1928 Nov 16
    • 1929 Mar 17
    • 1929 Apr 7
    • 1929 Apr 21
    • 1929 May 20
    • 1929 Jun 8
    • 1929 Aug 11
    • 1929 Sep 16
    • 1929 Oct 17
    • 1929 Nov 26
    • 1930 Apr 6
    • 1930 May 11 -- transcription only
    • 1930 Jun 1
    • 1930 Jul 13
    • 1930 Aug 5
    • 1930 Sep 4
    • 1930 Nov 9
    • 1931 May 11
    • 1931 Nov 17
    • 1932 Apr 1
    • 1932 May 3
    • 1932 Jun 10
    • 1933 Apr 10
    • 1933 Sep 4
    • 1934 Aug 10
    • 1934 Oct 23
    • n.d.
    • n.d.
  • General index to correspondence
    Correspondence is indexed alphabetically by the surname of the author of the letters. The number of letters from a particular correspondent and the bracketing dates are given. With a few exceptions, the date will locate a letter in the chronological Correspondence section (boxes 1-9). If the letter is not filed under Correspondence, the location is given as "filed under...xxx." Recipients of letters are given where known. Abbreviations of frequently-used names are as follows:
    JEF -- James Earle Fraser
    LGF -- Laura Gardin Fraser
    ATG -- Alice Tilton Gardin
    EAR -- Edwin Arlington Robinson
    Fraser -- indicates either James Earle or Laura Gardin Fraser
  • Acheson, Dean
    • 1933 Jun 27 (1, to Fraser)
  • Adams, Herbert
    • 1928 Aug-1940 Jun (5, to Fraser)
  • Albright, John Joseph
    • 1924 Feb 11 (1, to Fraser)
  • Baldwin, Raymond
    • 1944 May 5 (1, to Fraser)
  • Banks, Samuel J.
    • 1926 Jul 31 (1, to EAR)
  • Beatty, Bessie
    • 1944 Jun 7 (1, to Fraser)
  • Belmont, Eleanor (Mrs. August)
    • 1937 Feb-1942 Mar (4, to Fraser)
  • Belmont, Perry
    • 1929 Feb-1945 Oct (2, to Fraser)
  • Belmont, Perry
    • 1926 Feb-1936 Jun (9, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: Gallatin, Albert (Box 15)
  • Blashfield, Edwin H.
    • 1929 May-1936 Sep (5, to Fraser)
  • Bostrom, Wollmar Filip
    • 1929 Feb 14 (1, to Fraser)
  • Brooks, Van Wyck
    • 1941 Spring-1953 Oct (3, to Fraser)
  • Buis, Jules
    • 1928 Jun (1, EAR)
  • Calder, A. Stirling
    • 1928 Jul 29 (2, to Fraser)
  • Case, Francis
    • 1959 Nov-1960 Feb (2, to Fraser)
  • Cather, Willa
    • 1927 Apr 19 (1, to Edith J.R. Isaacs)
  • Chindblom, Carl R.
    • 1933 Feb-1933 Feb (2, to Fraser)
  • Collins, Mary Love
    • 1932 Jul-1948 Jul (56, to Fraser)
  • Collins, Mary Love
    • 1937 Mar 26 (1, to Ray Henderson)
  • Coolidge, Grace
    • 1929 Apr-1950 Dec (10, to Fraser)
  • Crisp, Charles R.
    • 1928 Jan 20 (1, to Fraser)
  • Curran, Charles C.
    • 1924 Apr-1932 Apr (4, to Fraser)
  • Cross, Wilbur L.
    • 1933 Mar 20 (1, to Fraser)
  • Darling, Jay N.
    • 1922 Sep-1956 Jun (141, to Fraser)
    • 1925 May 13 (1, to EAR)
  • Delano, William A.
    • 1928 Aug-1953 Oct (3, to Fraser)
  • Delue, Donald
    • 1950 Sep-1960 Sep (2, to Fraser)
  • Denys, Rev. F. Ward
    • 1925 Feb-1925 Nov (3, toFraser) - filed under Business Records: Denys, Rev. F. Ward (Box 13)
  • Dunn, James C.
    • 1949 Nov 17 (1, to Fraser )
  • Edison, Charles
    • 1947 Sep 19 (1, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: Edison, Thomas Alva, seated figure (Boxes 13, 14)
  • Edison, Mrs Thomas A.
    • 1931 Apr 1 (1, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: Edison, Thomas Alva, seated figure (Boxes 13, 14)
    • n.d. (1, to Fraser)
  • Erskine, John
    • 1927 Apr 20 (1, to Edith J.R. Isaacs)
  • Fackenthal, C. Frank
    • 1929 Mar-1934 Oct (7, to Fraser)
  • Faulkner, Barry
    • 1924 Nov-1953 Nov (10, to Fraser)
  • Finley, John H.
    • 1930 Jul-1933 Jun (10, to Fraser)
  • Firestone, Harvey S. Jr.
    • 1940 Dec-1953 Oct (6, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: Firestone, Harvey S. Memorial (Box 14)
  • Flanagan, John
    • 1928 Jul-1944 Jun (14, to Fraser)
  • Frazier, Kenneth
    • 1927 Jul-1932 Jun (3, to Fraser)
  • French, Daniel Chester
    • 1917 Jan-1931 Apr (18, to Fraser)
  • Gallatin, Albert
    • 1929 Jan-1947 Dec (9, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: Gallatin, Albert (Box 15)
  • Gardin, Alice Tilton
    • 1927 Nov-1939 Jan (9, to Fraser)
    • 1915 (1, to LGF)
    • 1899 Oct 22 (1, to Theodore Tilton)
    • n.d. (1, to unidentified)
  • Gardin, John E.
    • 1912 Feb-1919 Aug (4, to Fraser)
  • Garland, Hamlin
    • 1927 Apr 20 (1, to Edith J.R. Isaacs)
  • Gibson, Charles Dana
    • 1918 May-1941 Jan (8, to Fraser)
  • Gilbert, Cass
    • 1924 Oct-1934 Dec (5, to Fraser)
  • Gosoy, Emily G.
    • 1934 Dec-1935 Jan (2, to Fraser)
  • Grant, Ulysses III
    • (5, to Fraser)
  • Grimes, Frances
    • 1926 Apr 10, n.d. (2, to Fraser)
  • Grosvenor, Melville B.
    • 1951 Jan-1953 Jan (5, to LGF) - filed under Business Records: National Geographic Society (Box 18)
  • Gugler, Anne
    • 1937 Mar-1937 Apr (2, to LGF)
  • Gugler, Eric
    • 1932 Aug-1948 Jul (9, to Fraser)
    • 1948 May-1948 Aug (2, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: Franklin, Benjamin, seated figure (Boxes 14, 15)
    • 1931 Nov 24 (1, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: Edison, Thomas Alva, seated figure (Boxes 13, 14)
    • 1949 Jul-1949 Dec (3, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: Patton, Gen. George S. Jr., (West Point) (Box 19)
  • Hagedorn, Herman
    • 1929 Nov-1953 Oct (6, to Fraser)
  • Hamlin, Mrs. Whelyn
    • 1932 Jan-1932 Jul (6, to Fraser)
  • Hansen, Harry
    • 1927 Apr 25 (1, to EAR)
  • Harding, Ann
    • 1922-1953 Oct (34, to Fraser)
  • Harding, Ann
    • 1927 (1, to unidentified)
  • Harriman, Averell
    • 1958 Jul 31 (1, to Fraser)
  • Harriman, Mary W.
    • 1925 Jun-1927 Mar (2, to Fraser)
  • Harriman, Roland
    • 1943 Jul-1953 Oct (7, to Fraser)
  • Hazlitt, Henry
    • 1927 (1, to Edith J.R. Isaacs)
  • Helm, Edith
    • 1937 Mar 10-27 (7, to Fraser)
  • Henri, Robert
    • 1919 Dec 8, n.d. (2, to Fraser)
  • Hewlett, J. Monroe
    • 1930 Apr 9 (1, to Fraser)
  • Hoffman, Malvina
    • 1928 Nov 3 (1, to Fraser)
    • 1951 May 23 (1, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: National Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, Gold Medal (Box 18)
  • Hoover, Lou Henry
    • 1931 Jun 19 (1, to Fraser)
    • 1931 Jun 22 (1, to Charles Moore)
  • Howe, Mark Anthony
    • 1945 Nov 25 (1, to Fraser)
  • Hurst, Fannie
    • 1927 (1, to Edith J.R. Isaacs)
  • Huntington, Anna Hyatt
    • 1946 Jun-1956 Dec (9, to Fraser)
    • 1954 Apr-1954 Dec (6, to LGF) - filed under Business Records: Pegasus (Box 19)
  • Huntington, Archer
    • 1926 Apr-1953 Jun (7, to Fraser)
  • Huntington, Archer
    • 1948 Jul 15 (1, to LGF)
    • 1927 Apr 20 (1, to Edith J.R. Isaacs)
    • 1926 Feb-1930 May (7, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: American Geographical Society (Box 11)
  • Johnson, Robert U.
    • 1929 May-1936 Oct (13, to Fraser)
  • Keating, Joseph A.
    • 1932 Jan 15 (1, to Fraser)
  • Kent, Henry Watson
    • 1918 May-1933 Jun (5, to Fraser)
  • Keppel, Frederick
    • 1919 Jan-1934 May (5, to Fraser)
  • Lawrie, Lee
    • 1930 Apr-1953 Oct (20, to Fraser)
    • 1947 Dec 8 (1, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: Gallatin, Albert (Box 15)
    • 1937 May 18 (1, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: Washington, George, standing figure (Box 21)
  • Ledoux, Louis F.
    • 1919 Jan-1947 Apr (7, to Fraser)
  • Lippmann, Walter
    • 1927 May 2 (1, to Edith J.R. Isaacs)
  • Lodge, John
    • 1949 Nov-1953 Oct (3, to Fraser)
    • 1951 May 29 (1, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: National Institute of Arts and Letters (Box 18)
  • Low, Will Hicok
    • 1924 Jul 24 (1, to Fraser)
  • McAdoo, William G.
    • 1919 Nov 21 (1, to JEF)
  • Manship, Paul
    • 1930 Jan-1953 Nov (11, to Fraser)
  • Marquis, Don
    • 1927 Apr 26 (1, to Edith J.R. Isaacs)
  • Mellon, Andrew W.
    • 1927 May 4 (1, to JEF)
  • Minnigerode, C.P.
    • 1930 Feb-1930 May (4, to Fraser)
  • Mohler, A.L.
    • 1915 May-1915 Jul (2, to Fraser)
  • Moore, Charles
    • 1924 Nov-1942 Nov (18, to Fraser)
    • 1928 Sep 28 (1, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: Bacon, Robert, bust (Box 13)
    • 1922 Nov-1935 Dec (20, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: Com. of Fine Arts (Box 13)
    • 1928 Oct-1929 Sep (10, to LGF) - filed under Business Records: Lindbergh, Chas., medal (Box 17)
  • Noguchi, Isamu
    • 1930 Nov 17 (1, to Fraser) - filed under Business Records: Guggenheim, John S. Memorial Foundation (Box 15)
  • Patton, Beatrice
    • 1946 Feb-1953 Sep (33, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: Patton, Gen. George F. Jr. (Boxes 18, 19)
    • 1951 May (3, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: National Institute of Arts and Letters (Box 18)
    • 1947 Nov-1952 Nov (5, to JEF and LGF) - filed under Business Records: Patton, Gen. George F. Jr. (Boxes 18, 19)
    • 1950 Jun-1953 May (6, to LGF) - filed under Business Records: Patton, Gen. George F. Jr. (Boxes 18, 19)
    • 1948 May 22 (1, to Paul Harkins) - filed under Business Records: Patton, Gen. George F. Jr. (Boxes 18, 19)
  • Patton, Maj. G.S.
    • 1962 Jan 23 (1, to LGF) - filed under Business Records: American History Panels (Box 11)
  • Phelps, William Lyon
    • 1927 Apr-1927 May (2, to Edith J.R. Isaacs)
  • Pollard, John G.
    • 1930 Jun 27 (1, to Fraser)
  • Pope, John Russell
    • 1934 Jul-1937 Apr (4, to Fraser)
  • Pratt, George D.
    • 1927 Nov-1933 Mar (17, to Fraser)
  • Robinson, Edwin Arlington
    • See Edwin Arlington Robinson letters in the collection for a detailed index by date of EAR letters
    • 1913 Jun-1934 Dec (35, to JEF)
    • 1916 Feb-1934 Dec (121, to LGF)
    • n.d. (2 (tr.-frag.), to LGF)
    • 1923 Jan-1933 Dec (2, to JEF and LGF)
    • 1923 Apr-1929 Dec (2, to JEF, LGF and ATG)
    • 1922 May-1934 Oct (51, to ATG)
    • 1930 May 11 (1 (tr.), to ATG)
  • Romulo, Carlos P.
    • 1950 Oct-1952 Dec (2, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: End of the Trail (Box 14)
  • Roosevelt, Edith K.
    • 1938 Jun 23 (1, to Fraser)
    • 1938 Jun 15 (1, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: Roosevelt, Theodore, equestrian figure (Box 20)
  • Roosevelt, Eleanor
    • 1933 Apr-1944 Oct (7, to Fraser)
  • Roosevelt, Kermit
    • 1927 Apr 20 (1, to Edith J.R. Isaacs)
    • 1938 Jun 17 (1, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: Roosevelt, Theodore, equestrian figure (Box 20)
  • Roosevelt, Theodore Jr.
    • 1938 Jun 16 (1, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: Roosevelt, Theodore, equestrian figure (Box 20)
  • Root, Elihu
    • 1919 Jun-1930 Apr (4, to Fraser)
  • Ross, Nellie T.
    • 1946 Aug-1952 Jan (4, to Fraser)
  • Rubins, David
    • 1951 May 20 (1, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: National Institute of Arts and Letters (Box 18)
  • Sabin, Florence
    • 1933 Apr 3 (1, to LGF)
  • Saint Gaudens, Augustus
    • 1902 Oct-1908 Sep (17, to Fraser)
  • Saint Gaudens, Augusta H.
    • 1915 Sep-1919 Jul (2, to Fraser)
  • Saint Gaudens, Homer
    • 1929 Jun-1943 Jun (12, to Fraser)
    • 1927 Mar 17 (1, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: Chien Blessé by Frémiet (Box 13)
    • 1947 Jul-1948 Jan (11, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: Saint Gaudens, Augustus, memorial (Box 20)
    • 1927 Feb 26 (1, to LGF) - filed under Business Records: Chien Blessé by Frémiet (Box 13)
  • Sawyer, Mrs. Oliver
    • 1923 Sep-1957 Oct (29, to Fraser)
  • Schoellkopf, Paul
    • 1927 Jan 3 (1, to Fraser)
  • Skinner, Cornelia
    • 1923 (1, to Fraser)
  • Swartwout, E.
    • 1929 Sep-1937 Oct (3, to Fraser)
  • Taft, Lorado
    • 1918 Jun-1932 Apr (2, to Fraser)
  • Tilton, Theodore
    • 1882 Feb 4 (1, to unidentified)
  • Trowbridge, Alexander
    • 1928 May-1928 Oct (2, to Fraser)
  • Vanamie, Grace D.
    • 1927 Nov-1935 Oct (3, to Fraser)
  • Walcott, Frederic
    • 1937 Nov 3 (1, to Fraser)
  • Walter, James J.
    • 1927 Jul 19 (1, to Fraser)
  • Watrous, Harry
    • 1918 Apr-1928 Jul (2, to Fraser)
  • Waugh, Sidney B.
    • 1951 May 26 (1, to JEF) - filed under Business Records: National Institute of Arts and Letters (Box 18)
  • Weinman, Adolph A.
    • 1928 May-1947 Aug (4, to Fraser)
    • 1950 Aug 23 (1, to JEF)
  • Widener, Joseph
    • 1928 Sep 24 (2, to LGF) - filed under Business Records: "Fairplay" (Box 14)
  • Wilder, Thornton
    • 1928 Dec 17 (1, to EAR)
  • Williams, Wheeler
    • 1948 Jan-1964 Oct (6, to Fraser)
  • Woollcott, Alexander
    • 1937 Feb 24-25 (2, to LGF)
  • Return to top