Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Robert Francis Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Francis, Robert, 1901-1987.
Title: Robert Francis Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1926-1967
Quantity: 5.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American poet, author. Correspondence (1926-1966) with Robert Frost, John Holmes, Theodore Morrison, and others; writings (1936-1967) include typescript poems, essays, and book manuscripts; and printed material, including articles and poems.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert Francis (1901-1987) was an American poet and author. Born in Upland, Pennsylvania in 1901, the son of Ebenezer Francis, a minister, his childhood was spent in towns in New Jersey and New York states until 1910, when the family moved to Massachusetts. Francis graduated from Harvard College (B.A., 1923) and then taught in the preparatory school of the American University of Beirut, Lebanon, for a year. He returned to attend Harvard University, where he received an Ed. M., followed by a year of teaching high school English in Amherst (1926).

Francis began writing "with a view to publication" about the time he moved to Amherst. By living economically and by doing all his own chores, he has been able to live without salaried positions and to devote much of his time to writing. He held occasional positions as a violin teacher, as an English teacher at Mount Holyoke College, and as a teacher at summer writers' conferences. In 1940, Francis moved alone in a one-man house called Fort Juniper, in Amherst, Massachusetts and subsequently adopted the juniper as his "coat-of- arms."

Francis received numerous awards over his career, including the Shelly Memorial Award and the Golden Rose of the New England Poetry Club. He held fellowships at the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference and in Rome from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His poems have appeared in Saturday Review, The New Yorker, Forum, Yankee, and other national literary magazines. His prose works include We Fly Away (1948), The Satirical Rogue on Poetry (1968), and The Trouble With Francis (1971). His six volumes of poetry include Come Out Into the Sun (1965), The Orb Weaver (1960), The Face Against the Glass (1950), The Sound I Listened For (1943, 1944), Valhalla and Other Poems (1938), and Stand With Me Here (1936). Other works include Rome Without Camera (1958) and What a Witch Told Me (1956).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Francis Papers contain biographical material, correspondence, writings, and recordings. Notices of awards for Mr. Francis's poetry, published material about personal appearances, biographical material, 1939-1967.

Correspondence, 1926-1966, comprised of exchanges between Mr. Francis and his fellow-writers, includes both incoming and outgoing. Here are letters to critics, words of congratulation and criticism about Mr. Francis's books of poetry, and personal letters between friends. Important correspondents include American Academy of Arts and Letters, Borestone Mountain Poetry Awards, Gerald Warner Brace, Robert Frost, John Holmes, Houghton Mifflin Company, Amy Lowell Poetry Traveling Scholarship, The Massachusetts Review, Theodore Morrison, David Morton, New England Poetry Club, and Mary P. Sears Trust.

Writings, 1936-1967, consist of notes, original typescripts of individual poems, printed versions of the poems, book reviews, essays, non-fiction, poetry, and one item about Francis. Most of the writings are worksheets of poems revised by the author; also included are printed versions of some of the poem and notes about the revisions and publication of the poems. Essays, 1940-1953, consist of newspaper clippings taken from the "Home Forum Page" of the Christian Science Monitor, including fan mail about particular essays. A list of this correspondence, with dates, may be found in the first folder in Box 1. Non-fiction includes articles printed about literary subjects, 1963-1967. Poetry, 1947-1966, contains an alphabetical listing of poems, either in typescript or printed form, which were not included in any of Mr. Francis's volumes.

Published material contains issues of Forum and a copy of the Official Register of Harvard University, vol. XLII, no. 2. Three Tape recordings are of Mr. Francis reading his own poetry.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is subdivided into incoming and outgoing, each arranged alphabetically. Writings are arranged alphabetically by type and within that by title; writings about Francis appear at the end of this series. Most of the writings are worksheets of poems revised by the author; these are arranged alphabetically under the title of the book in which the poems appeared, as are printed versions of some of the poems. Notes about the revisions and publication of the poems are filed with the poem, though in some cases these notes were grouped together and called "Histories" by the author. Published material is arranged alphabetically. The oversize package of tape recordings is in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Francis, Robert, 1901-1987 -- Archives.
Frost, Robert, 1874-1963.
Holmes, John Clellon, 1926-
Morrison, Theodore, 1901-

Subjects

American poetry, 20th century.
Authors, American.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Essays.
Manuscripts for publication.
Poems.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Francis Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Robert Francis, 1968 and 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: RT
Date: 24 Jan 1969
Revision history: 28 Aug 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Correspondence 24 Aug.-14 Nov. 1960, undated - includes published material from 1960 and undated
Box 1 Awards 28 Feb. 1939-18 Mar. 1967 - includes published material from 1955 and 1957
Correspondence
Incoming "from fellow-writers" 13 July 1936-13 June 1966, undated
Box 1 Adams, Raymond
Box 1 Baird, Theodore
Box 1 Baker, Ray Stannard
Box 1 Bingham, Millicent
Box 1 Brace, Gerald Warner
Box 1 Bynner, Witter
Box 1 Carrier, Constance
Box 1 Dickey, James
Box 1 Dike, Donald
Box 1 Eberhart, Richard
Box 1 Fowler, Helen
Box 1 Frost, Robert (photocopy)
Box 1 Garrett, George
Box 1 Graves, W. L.
Box 1 Hall, Donald
Box 1 Hamburger, Michael
Box 1 Harding, Walter
Box 1 Hayford, James
Box 1 Hicks, John H.
Box 1 Holmes, John
Box 1 Houpt, C. Theodore
Box 1 Jackson, David
Box 1 Meredith, William
Box 1 Merrill, James
Box 1 Moore, Robert Thomas
Box 1 Morrison, Theodore
Box 1 Morse, Samuel French
Box 1 Morton, David
Box 1 Norvig, Gerda
Box 1 Schacht, Marshall
Box 1 Starbuck, George
Box 1 Stewart, Albert
Box 1 Still, James
Box 1 Stocking, Marion K.
Box 1 Summers, Hollis
Box 1 Sweeney, John L.
Box 1 Van Doren, Mark
Box 1 Wallace, Robert
Box 1 Whicher, George Frisbie
Outgoing, "most to fellow-writers"
Box 1 13 July 1926-13 June 1966, undated - includes published material
Writings
Box 1 Address: New England: Anthology An Expression in Poetry [1954] - original typescript and published material
Box 1 "Check list of reviews of all books except The Satirical Rogue" undated - original typescript annotated
Bibliography
Box 1 "Robert Francis: A Bibliography" undated - original typescript
Books
Come Out Into the Sun
Worksheets of poems
Box 1 "Ambush" 7 June 1962
Box 1 "Aphrodite" 8 Mar. 1962
Box 1 "The Articles of War" undated - original typescripts revised, notes
Box 1 "Astronomer" undated - original typescripts revised, notes
Box 1 "The Black Hood" undated - notes
Box 1 "Coin Diver 10 July 1961
Box 1 "Condor" undated
Box 1 "Dolphin" 22 Oct. 1961
Box 1 "Edith Sitwell" 21 Mar. 1961
Box 1 "Enviable (Observation)" 19 Nov. 1960 - original typescripts revised
Box 1 "The Forced Forsythia" 7 Jan. 1960
Box 1 "He Is The Boy" 27 Feb. 1956
Box 1 "Icicles" undated
Box 1 "Idyll of Lake Reedy" 14 Aug. 1964
Box 1 "Metal and Mettle" 1 Apr. 1964
Box 1 "My Teachers Are the Centripetal Ones" undated
Box 1 "Old Man's Confession of Faith" 29 Jan. 1963
Box 1 "Old Men" undated
Box 1 "The Packing Case" 29 Nov. 1960
Box 1 "Skier" undated
Box 1 "Sniper" [Sept. 1960]
Box 1 "Thoreau in Italy" undated
Box 1 "Time and the Sergeant" undated
Box 1 "Watching Gymnasts" undated
"These magazines contain first appearances of the poems later collected in the first section..."
Box 2 "The Articles of War," "The Eagle Plain" in The Massachusetts Review, vol. 6, no. 4 ( Autumn, 1965), pp. 690-691.
Box 2 "The Black Hood" in Harvard Alumni Bulletin, vol. 62, no. 17 ( 2 July 1960), pp. /4u.
Box 2 "Come", "Emergence" in Commonweal, vol. 81, no. 19 ( 5 Feb. 1965), p. 605.
Box 2 "Eagle" in Kentucky Writing, no. 3 ( 1960), p. 11.
Box 2 "The Forced Forsythia" in The Lyric, vol. 41, no. 2 ( Spring, 1961), p. 31.
Box 2 "Hallelujah: A Sestina," untitled c. 1959
Box 2 "In Memoriam: Four Poets" news clipping, untitled 6 Mar. 1965
Box 2 "Old Men" in Commonweal, vol. 82, no. 15 ( 2 July 1965), p. 468
Box 2 "Stellaria" in The Massachusetts Review, vol. 3, no. 1. (Autumn, 1961), p. 35.
Box 2 "Thoreau in Italy", "Sniper", "Cinna", "Edith Sitwell Assumes the Role of Luna of If you Know What I Mean Said the Moon," "The Packing Case", "Dolphin", "Observation", "Coin Diver" in the Massachusetts Review, vol. 3, no. 3 ( Spring, 1962), pp. 475-480.
Box 2 "Watching Gymnasts" in Syracuse 10, vol. 3, no. 3 ( Mar., 1961), p. 7.
The Face Against the Glass
Worksheets of poems
Box 2 "Amanita", published material undated
Box 2 "Babylon and Babel" 13-14 Aug. 1944, undated
Box 2 "The Big Tent" May 1948, undated - includes published material
Box 2 "The Buzz Plane" 3 Sep. 1947, undated
Box 2 "The Dandelion Gatherer" 4 Mar. 1950
Box 2 "The Faultless Dead" 7 Aug. 1947, undated
Box 2 "Fortune" undated
Box 2 "Gloria" 20 Dec. 1948, undated
Box 2 "The Heiress" 9 June 1947, undated
Box 2 "Here by the Sea" 1947-1950
Box 2 "Museum Birds" 10 Sept. 1945
Box 2 "Oh World of Toms" 1948, undated
Box 2 "Part for the Whole" 1 Feb. 1945, undated
Box 2 "Peace" 8 May 1946, undated
Box 2 "Portrait" 9 June 1947, undated
Box 2 "The Spy" 27 Oct. 1947, undated
Box 2 "Strewing Herbs" 2 May 1948, undated
Box 2 "Superior Vantage" 15 July 1948, undated
Box 2 "Thistle Seed in the Wind" 28 Oct. 1947, undated
Box 2 "Two Words" undated
Box 2 "Weathervane" 3 Mar. 1948, undated
"First appearances of some poems later collected in ..."
Box 2 "The Big Tent," "Portrait" in Poetry, vol. 73, no. 2 ( Nov. 1948), pp. 84-85.
Box 2 "Here by the Sea" in The New Yorker, vol. 24, no. 19 ( 3 July 1948), p. 57.
Box 2 "Superior Vantage" in The New Yorker, vol. 26, no. 19 ( 1 July 1950), p. 27--
Box 2 "Two Words", "His Wealth", "Fortune", "The Oxen", "The Hawk", in Poetry, vol. 63, no. 5 ( Aug., 1946), pp. 246-248.
Box 2 [vol. 1] c. 1950
The Orb Weaver
"precursors of poems in" (worksheets)
Box 3 "Eagle" undated
Box 3 "Poison Ivy" undated
Box 3 "Sun" undated
Worksheets of poems
Box 3 "The Aloof Peak" 22 Oct. 1954
Box 3 "Beyond Biology" 6 Mar. 1951
Box 3 "Boy Riding Forward Backward" [Spring, 1955]
Box 3 "Burial" [22-28 Jan. 1955]
Box 3 "Catch" [13-14 Jan. 1950]
Box 3 "Come Out Into the Sun", [1955]
Box 3 "Confession" undated
Box 3 "Demonstration" 1 Aug. 1950
Box 3 "Desiring to Give All" 18 Aug. 1946
Box 3 "Dog Day Night" 8 Aug. 1947
Box 3 "Dry Point" 7 Jan. 1952
Box 3 "The Eagle in Retreat" ("The Retiring Eagle") undated
Box 3 "Epitaph"
Box 3 "Farm Boy After Summer" 22 July 1953
Box 3 "High Diver" 26 June 1952
Box 3 "Monadnock" 1 May 1948
Box 3 "Remind Me of Apples" 6 Aug. 1947
Box 3 "The Revelers" undated [1955]
Box 3 "The Rock Climbers" 28 Aug. 1957
Box 3 "Sailboat, Your Secret" undated
Box 3 "Squash in Blossom" 17 July 1950
Box 3 "Three Darks Come Down Together" 6 Oct. 1955
Box 3 "With the Year's Cooling" 16 Sep. 1952
"...magazines in which 20 of the poems in the Orb Weaver first appeared." undated
Box 3 "Boy Riding Forward Backward" in Saturday Review, vol. 39, no.10 ( Mar. 10, 1956), p 13
Box 3 "Colo" in Poetry, vol. 84, no. 5 ( Aug. 1954), p. 271.
Box 3 "Come Out Into the Sun" in The New Yorker, vol. 31, no. 7 ( Apr. 2, 1955). p. 40.
Box 3 "Desiring to Give All" in Forum, vol. 107, no. 5 ( May, 1947), p. 457.
Box 3 "Dog Day Night" in Yankee, vol. 14, no.10 ( Oct. 1950), p. 74.
Box 3 "Encounter", Part for the Whole" in Poetry, vol. 66, no. 3 ( June, 1945), pp. 126-127
Box 3 "Exclusive Blue" in Saturday Review, vol. 36, no. 12 ( Mar. 21, 1953). p.22.
Box 3 "The Faultless Dead"," The Base-Stealer" in Forum, vol. 109, no. 6 ( June, 1948), p. 346.
Box 3 "Gold" in The New England Galaxy, vol. 1, no. 2 ( Fall, 1959), pp. 16-17
Box 3 "Hide-and-Seek" in Voices, no. 127 ( Autumn, 1946), p. 33.
Box 3 "My Teachers are the Centripetal Ones", "Past Tense", in The Lyric, vol. 33, no. 3 ( Summer, 1953), p. 208.
Box 3 "The Orb Weaver" in Forum, vol. 105, no. 2 ( Feb, 1946), p. 525.
Box 3 "Remind Me of Apples" in The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 24, no. 4 ( Autumn, 1948), p. 557.
Box 3 "The Revelers" in The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 32, no. 3 ( Summer, 1956), pp. 376-379.
Box 3 "Sailboat, Your Secret" in Poetry, vol. 86, no. 4 ( July, 1955), p. 233.
Box 3 "The Seed-Eaters" in Saturday Review, vol. 36, no.14 ( Apr. 3, 1954), p. 22.
Box 3 "The Strewing Herbs", "Monadnock", "Geology", "Glass", "Two Figures" in The Lyric, vol. 28, no. 4 ( Winter, 1949), pp. 146-148.
Box 3 "Swimmer" in Saturday Review, vol. 36, no. 28 ( July 11, 1953), p.14.
Box 3 "With the Year's Cooling" in Saturday Review, vol. 36, no. 42 ( Oct. 17, 1953), p. 24
Box 4 "Histories of all poems in" undated
Box 4 Book reviews, book jacket 1960-1961 1966-1967, undated - published material
The Sound I Listened For
"Precursors of poems in"
Box 4 "Flower and Bee undated
Box 4 "The Mouse" undated
Box 4 "October Summer" undated
Worksheets
Box 4 "Dedication Poem" undated [Dec., 1942?]
Box 4 "Afternoon Drive", holographs revised undated
Box 4 "Altitude" undated [6-10 Mar. 1940]
Box 4 "Answer" undated [11-26 Sep. 1941]
Box 4 "April Thunder" undated
Box 4 "As Easily as Trees" undated
Box 4 "Bluejays" undated [late summer or early autumn, 1942]
Box 4 "Boy Sleeping" undated
Box 4 "Clairvoyance" undated
Box 4 "Distance and Peace" undated
Box 4 "Evening Ride", holographs undated
Box 4 "Excellence" undated
Box 4 "Fair and Unfair" undated
Box 4 "Five Silver Foxes" undated [1943]
Box 4 "Flower and Bee" undated [1943]
Box 4 "The Four" undated
Box 4 "Fruit" undated
Box 4 "The Goldfish Bowl" undated
Box 4 "Good Night Near Christmas" undated
Box 4 "His Own"] [1943]
Box 4 "If We Had Known" undated
Box 4 "Indoor Lady" undated
Box 4 "Interrupted Fern" undated
Box 4 "It May Not Comfort You" undated
Box 4 "The Laughers" undated
Box 4 "Nothing is Far" undated
Box 4 "Now That Your Shoulders Reach My Shoulders" undated
Box 4 "Old Man Feeding Hens" undated [spring or summer of 1943]
Box 4 "The Old of the Moon in August" undated
Box 4 "Old Roofs" undated
Box 4 "On That Cool Plane", holographs [ undated [22 Aug.-14 Sept. 1943]
Box 4 "Past and Future" undated [1937?]
Box 4 "Poverty Grass" undated [Summer, 1943]
Box 4 "Preparation" undated [Feb. 1939]
Box 4 "The Reading of the Psalm" undated [1941]
Box 4 "Rocking Boulder" undated [1943]
Box 4 "Salt" undated
Box 4 "Serpent as Vine" undated [29 Aug. 1943]
Box 4 "Shadows" undated
Box 4 "Sight" undated
Box 4 "Sing a Song Of Juniper" undated [18 Nov. 1941]
Box 4 "Socrates and the Crowd", holographs undated
Box 4 "The Sound I Listened For" undated
Box 4 "Statement" undated
Box 4 "Summons" undated
Box 4 "The Thief" undated
Box 4 "Two Glories" undated
Box 4 "Unanimity" undated
Box 4 "The Wasp" undated
Box 4 "What Has To Be" undated
Box 4 "While Sunday Morning" undated
Box 4 "Who Comes As Light" undated
Box 4 "Willow Woman" undated
Box 4 "Winter" undated
Box 5 Notes original typescripts undated
"First appearances of some poems later collected in" - published material
Box 5 "Answer" in The Catholic World, vol. 150, no. 944 ( Nov., 1943), p. 171.
Box 5 "Evening Ride" in Poetry, vol. 56, no. 5 ( Aug., 1940), p. 253.
Box 5 "The Laughers" in The Lyric, vol. 23, no. 4 ( Winter, 1944), p. 93.
Box 5 "Perspective" in Voices, no. 112 ( Winter, 1943), p16.
Box 5 "Poems for James Harker" in Voices, no. 107 ( Autumn, 1941), pp. 23-25.
Box 5 "Statement" in Poetry, vol. 55, no. 2 ( May, 1942), p. 64.
Box 5 "Winter" in The Lyric, vol. 20, no.3 ( Autumn, 1940), p. 89.
[vols. 2 and 3] c. 1943, c. 1944
Box 5 "Histories of all poems in ... " undated
Box 5 Book reviews 20 June 1943-Winter, 1945 - published material
Stand With Me Here
Worksheets
Box 5 "Apple Gatherers" undated
Box 5 "Days" undated
Box 5 "Dirge" undated
Box 5 "Diver" undated
Box 5 "Earthworm" undated
Box 5 "Fall" undated
Box 5 "February Snow" undated
Box 5 "Firewarden on Kearsarge" undated
Box 5 "Gargoyle (First Sister)" undated
Box 5 "Grotesque (Second Sister)" undated
Box 5 "Iron Effigy (Third Sister)" undated
Box 5 "Hay" undated
Box 5 "The Hound" undated
Box 5 "Legend of Orient Point" undated
Box 5 "Pitch Pine" undated
Box 5 "Portraits" undated
Box 5 "Prophet" undated
Box 5 "Soldierhood" undated
"First appearances of some poems later collected in" published material
Box 5 "A Boy's November", in The Target, vol. 96, no. 45 ( 7 Nov. 1936), p. 2.
Box 5 "Comet" in Christian Science Monitor ( 2 Sept. 1930), p. 8.
Box 5 "Homeward", "Mountain Blueberries", "Artist", "Prophet", "Identity", Before", Pitch Pine" in The Lyric, vol. 16, no. 2 ( Summer, 1936), pp. 19-21.
Box 5 "The Hound" in Harper's Magazine, no. 1036 ( Sept., 1936) p. 385.
Box 5 "Iron Effigy" in Voices, no. 66 ( Oct.- Nov., 1932), pp. 29-31.
Box 5 "Night Train" in Christian Science Monitor ( 7 Aug. 1936), p. 8.
Box 5 "Roots" in The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 10, no. 4 ( Oct. , 1934), p. 558.
Box 5 Book reviews 16 Sept. 1936-Winter 1937, undated - published material
Valhalla
"First appearance of some poems later collected in"
Box 5 "Balance" in Christian Science Monitor ( 15 Aug. 1938), p. 12.
Box 5 "Blue Winter" in Christian Science Monitor ( 15 Sept. 1936), p. 7.
Box 5 "Bonfire on the Snow" in New York Times ( 7 Sept. 1938), p. 24.
Box 5 "Dwight" in New York Times ( 17 May 1938), p. 22.
Box 5 "The Name of Gold" in Christian Science Monitor ( 11 May 1938), p. 7.
Box 5 "White Throated Sparrow in Massachusetts" in Christian Science Monitor ( 16 June 1938), p. 20.
Box 5 Book review 14 Oct. 1938-22 Apr. 1939, undated - published material
We Fly Away
Box 5 Book reviews 10 Sept. 1948-1 Jan. 1949, undated - published material
Essays
"Home Forum" in Christian Science Monitor published material
Box 6 3 Aug. 1938-Oct. 1942 - includes correspondence 1942
Box 6 1 photo 6 Jan. 1940
Box 6 26 Apr. 1943-15 Dec. 1949 - includes correspondence 1943, 1946-1948
2 photos 5 Feb. 1947
Box 6 18 Jan. 1950-25 June 1952 - includes correspondence 1950-1952
Box 6 31 July 1952-3 Aug. 1954, undated - includes correspondence, 1953 and 3 photos, 1953 and undated
Non-fiction
Box 7 "The Muse Not Wholly Serious" in The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 42, no. 2 ( Spring, 1966), pp. 272-278.
Box 7 "On Robert Frost" by R. Francis, C.W. Cole, R. L. Cook in The Massachusetts Review, vol. 4, no. 2 ( Winter, 1963) pp. 237-239.
Box 7 "The Satirical Rogue" in The Massachusetts Review, vol. 6 no. 3. ( Spring-Summer, 1965), pp. 151-466.
Box 7 "Ten Below Ezra" in the New England Galaxy, vol. 19, no. 2 ( Fall, 1976), pp. 22-25
Box 7 "Wild But Polished" in Bits and Several Pieces from the Cranbrook Writing Conference 18-20 Aug. 1967, pp. 9-14.
Poetry
Worksheets "suitable for publication"
Box 7 "The Base Stealer" [1 Aug. 1947]
Box 7 "Bluejay" [21 Jan. 1956]
Box 7 "Delicate The Toad" [9 Mar. 1962]
Box 7 "Hide-and-Seek" [22 July 1944]
Box 7 "Sniper" [17 Sept. 1960]
Box 7 "Stellaria" undated
Worksheets
Box 8 "Aurea Apprehensio" undated
Box 8 "The Bull dozer" 9 July 1960
Box 8 "Cromwell" 14 Oct. 1966
Box 8 "Light Casualties" 5 Dec. 1965 - holograph
Box 8 "Two Young Women on a Late-Winter Holiday Morning" 22 Feb. 1966
Box 8 "High Diver", "Swimmer", "Pitcher", "Beyond Biology", "Picasso and Matisse", "Apple Peeler" in New Poems by American Poets, ed. Rolfe Humphries (New York, 1953), pp. 65-67. [vol. 4]
"Magazines containing poems not included in my volumes" published material Aug. 1953-Oct. 1967
Box 8 "The Hawk" in The Malahat Review, no. 4 ( Oct. 1967) p.118.
Box 8 "Late Cricket" in The Lyric, vol. 34, no. 1 ( Winter, 1954), p. 11.
Box 8 "Mr. Eliot's Day" in The New Yorker, vol. 29, no. 24 ( Aug. 1, 1953), p. 27.
Box 8 "The Net" in The Yale Review, vol. 43, no. 4 ( June, 1954), p. 534.
Box 8 "The Old Peppermint Ladies" in The New England Galaxy, vol. 3, no. 4 ( Spring, 1962), p. 43.
Box 8 "A Tribute to W. H. Auden and his Vocabulary" in The New Yorker, vol. 32, no. 24, ( Aug. 4, 1956), p. 28.
Box 8 "Weather" in The Lyric, vol. 35, no. 2 ( Spring, 1955) p. 53.
Writings about
Box 8 The Poetry of Robert Francis / Max Delhomme (Universite de Bordeaux, May, 1962 ).
Published material
Forum issues containing R. Francis's work: poetry and essays (see list in folder for titles of works
Box 9 1946 - notes
Box 9 1947-1950 (3 folders)
Box 10 "Harvard Film Service," catalogue, in Official Register of Harvard University, vol. XLII, no. 2 January 15, 1945
Tape recordings
Box 9 Untitled (1/4" 1200' plastic )
Phonodiscs
Package 1 The Harvard Vocarium Records Robert Francis Reading his own poems 1944 (2 discs)
Package 1 Fassett Recording Studio: Robert Francis Reading his poems ... 14-15 June, 1960
Package 1 Official Register of Harvard University, vol. XLII, no. 2 Harvard Film Service...Catalogue of Phonograph Recordings... 15 Jan. 1945

Return to top