Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John Edward Foster Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Foster, John Edward.
Title: John Edward Foster Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1860-1865
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Union soldier (1834?-1864), served with Vermont Volunteers. Collection includes correspondence with family in Vermont during Civil War service; some letters from brother, Julian, to family members; miscellaneous material including two diary pages, a list of debts, and a pencil drawing of encampment of Company E, 2nd Regiment, Vermont Volunteers.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Edward Foster (1834-1864) was a native of Tunbridge, Vermont. He enlisted in the Union Army in 1860 with Company E of the 2d Regiment, Vermont Volunteers. He served as a foot soldier and wagoneer until his death in 1864 at the Battle of the Wilderness. Julian Foster, his younger brother, enlisted in January of 1864 and died in December of that same year, of causes unspecified in these papers.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Edward Foster Papers consists of correspondence and miscellaneous.

The majority of the Correspondence is to his family in Vermont, and covers topics such as bad food, poor winter quarters, and the horrors of battle. Occasional letters are more light-hearted, such as one which describes a snowball attack on another regiment and an expedition to steal chickens. In two letters (12 Nov 1862 and 22 Apr 1864) he refers to the soldiers' intense loyalty to "Little Mack" (General George McClellan).

The collection includes a few letters from John's brother Julian to his family, written in the months between his enlistment and his death. There are also some letters from John and Julian's parents and siblings, as well as a few letters of condolence from relatives and friends. Many of the letterheads and envelopes carry Union symbols, drawings and slogans.

Miscellaneous material contains a pencil drawing of the encampment of Company E, a note to the paymaster from John Foster, and two small fragmentary pages of a diary.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of collections of Civil War letters and correspondence. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Foster, John Edward Correspondence.
Foster, Julian.

Subjects

Soldiers -- United States.

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources.
United States -- History, Military -- To 1900 -- Sources.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Edward Foster Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1970
Revision history: 7 Apr 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Undated
Box 1 1860
Box 1 1861 (8 folders)
Box 1 1862 (12 folders)
Box 1 1863 (12 folders)
Box 1 1864 (13 folders)
Box 1 1865
Box 1 Envelopes 1861-1865
Miscellaneous
Box 1 Miscellany 1861-1862

Return to top