Finding Aids
printer friendly version

First Methodist Church (Auburn, N.Y.) Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator:
Title: First Methodist Church (Auburn, N.Y.) Records
Inclusive Dates: 1833-1969
Quantity: 3 reels microfilm.
Abstract: Microfilm of 18 bound volumes and two folders of loose papers. Financial records, minutes, church history, record books, registers, and other church documents.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The First Methodist Church in Auburn, New York was organized in 1819. The church had several locations in Auburn: its first home was a wooden structure on Chapel Street in 1821, followed by a stone church in 1833 and a brick church on Exchange Street in 1869. The present (2010) location is the corner of South Street and Fitch Avenue, consecrated in 1957.

In 2008 the congregations of First Methodist and of Trinity United Methodist voted to merge the two bodies into the Auburn Methodist Church.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The First Methodist Church (Auburn, N.Y.) Records consists of three reels of microfilm representing 18 bound volumes and two folders of loose papers. The collection includes financial records, minutes, church history, record books, registers, and other church documents. The original material was in .

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Bound volumes are in chronological order. Two folders of loose papers appear at the end of Reel 3.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of collections relating to a number of churches in and around Central New York. Please refer to the the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

First Methodist Church (Auburn, N.Y.)

Subjects

Methodist Church -- New York (State) -- History.
Church records and registers.
Churches -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.

Places

New York (State) -- Church history.

Genres and Forms

Church records.
Microfilms.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

First Methodist Church (Auburn, N.Y.) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, circa 1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 10 Sep 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Church records
Reel 1 Volume 1 1844-1869
Reel 1 Volume 2 1872-1885
Reel 1 Volume 3 1885-1906
Reel 1 Volume 4 1906-1935
Reel 1 Volume 5 1832-1866
Reel 2 Volume 6 1868-1901
Reel 2 Volume 7 1908, 1850-1938
Reel 2 Volume 8 1909-1919
Reel 2 Volume 9 1819-1873
Reel 2 Volume 10 1855-1877
Reel 2 Volume 11 1887-1908
Reel 3 Volume 12 1927-1940
Reel 3 Volume 13 1940-1949
Reel 3 Volume 14 1892-1903
Reel 3 Volume 15 1903-1910
Reel 3 Volume 16 1914-1927
Reel 3 Volume 17 1927-1940
Reel 3 Volume 18 1889-1908
Reel 3 Folders 1 and 2 1833-1969

Item 1: No. 42, History of First Methodist Church, Rev. John Alabaster, pastor 1879, 1879
Item 2: No. 36, History of First United Methodist, Ralph C. Paul 1969-02-21, 21 Feb 1969
Item 3: No. 35, Bank note of $8000, to be paid to James Hall 1839-01-22, 22 Jan 1839
Item 4: No. 2, Indenture of the First Society of Methodist Episcopal Church, Talmadge Cherry, clerk 1833-02, Feb 1833
Item 5: No. 23, Yesterday and Today church history, Harold George Stearns, pastor 1939-03-01, 1 Mar 1939
Item 6: No. 44, An Historical and Pictorial Souvenir and History of the First Methodist 1911-05, May 1911
Item 7: No. 139, The King's Daughters of the First Methodist Church constitution and minutes 1889-10-17, 17 Oct 1889
Item 8: No. 123, Record of Women's Foreign Missionary Society of Auburn 1914/1927, 1914-1927
Item 9: No. 134, Epworth League minutes of meetings and membership lists 1903-05-15/1910-10-14, 15 May 1903-14 oct 1910
Item 10: No. 122, Offical Board of 1st M.E. Church record of meetings, Dr. Purington, Sec'y 1909/1919, 1909-1919
Item 11: No. 130, Minutes of Sunday School board 1940-10-15/1948-09-26, 15 Oct 1940-26 Sep 1948
Item 12: No. 129, Minutes of Sunday School board 1927-12-07/1940-09-17, 7 Dec 1927-17 Sep 1940
Item 13: No. 196, Record book of first M.E. Church 1868/1899, 1868-1899
Item 14: No. 197, General alphabetical register, marriages and baptisms 1861/1868, 1861-1868
Item 15: No. 120, Minutes of Women's Missionary Society 1927-09/1940-06-12, Sep 1927-12 Jun 1940
Item 16: No. 3, Record of stewards of the First Society of M.E. Church 1832-11-03/1866-09-17, 3 Nov 1832-17 Sep 1866
Item 17: No. 119, Minutes of the North St. M.E. Sunday School 1855/1877, 1855-1877
Item 18: No. 135, Board meeting minutes 1908/1938, 1908-1938
Item 19: No. 121, Secretary's record book of Y.P.S.C.E. 1892-09-08/1902-09-17, 8 Sep 1892-17 Sep 1902
Item 20: No. 205, Comprehensive Church Record of M.E., John C. Nichols, Pastor 1906-06-18, 18 Jun 1906
Item 21: No. 198, Comprehensive Church Record 1885, 1885
Item 22: No. 206, Church Record 1885/1906, 1885-1906

Return to top