Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Joseph Farris Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Farris, Joseph.
Title: Joseph Farris Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1950-1969
Quantity: 2.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American cartoonist. Consists of original cartoons arranged alphabetically by periodical in which they appeared.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph G. Farris (1924- ) is an award-winning American cartoonist. Born in Newark, New Jersey, he grew up in Connecticut and in his teens took art classes from The New Yorker and Esquire cartoonist Rich Taylor. Farris served in the army for three years during World War II and was awarded a bronze star. He contributed several cartoons to Stars and Stripes. Back in Connecticut as a civilian, Farris continued his art training by attending the Whitney School of Fine Art in New Haven.

A contract cartoonist with The New Yorker since 1971, his work has also appeared in numerous daily papers and weekly magazines, including Collier's, Ladies Home Journal, McCall's, New York Times Book Review, Playboy, Punch, Redbook, and the Saturday Evening Post. For almost twenty years his cartoons were featured in Stern magazine in Germany. He has had two syndicated features (FarrisWheel, a daily panel for the Chicago Tribune Syndicate (1971-1974) and Phipps for United Features Syndicate) and has published several collections of his own cartoons, as well as appearing in cartoon anthologies including a compilation of UFO cartoons called UFO Ho Ho. He has done covers for The New Yorker, Barron's, Harvard Magazine, ABA Journal and many others, and his work is held in both public and private permanent collections. Farris also pursues sculpture and painting.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph G. Farris Cartoons consists of more than 175 original cartoons, including a few unpublished ones. The majority were published in American magazines but there are also a few from magazines in Germany and England. The single-panel gag cartoons are black and white pencil or pen-and-ink drawings with watercolor shadings. Themes consist of general American humor, including dating, work, families, and so on; UFOs and aliens also appear regularly.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are listed alphabetically by publication in which they appeared. Miscellaneous unpublished cartoons and foreign cartoons are listed at the end.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of more than one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Farris, Joseph.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph G. Farris Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Joseph G. Farris, 1967, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: unknown
Revision history: 13 Nov 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 14 Oct 2009 - inventory added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
Box 1 Air Force - Space Digest 1964-1967 (6 cartoons)
Box 1 American Artist undated (1 cartoon)
Box 1 American Express 1960 (1 cartoon)
Oversize 1 American Legion 1956-1957 (6 cartoons)
Oversize 1 American Magazine 1952-1954, 1959-1961 (12 cartoons)
Oversize 1 American Management 1966 (1 cartoon)
Box 1 Artists Magazine 1965 (2 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Blue Book 1952-1955 (7 cartoons)
Box 1 The Bulletin 1953 (2 cartoons)
Box 1 Cartoons and Gags 1960 (1 cartoon)
Oversize 1 Cavalier 1962-1963 (2 cartoons)
Box 1 Chain Store Age 1954 (1 cartoon)
Chicago Tribune
Box 1 1959 (2 cartoons)
Box 1 1960 (7 cartoons)
Box 1 1961 (15 cartoons)
Box 1 1962 (14 cartoons)
Box 1 1963 (12 cartoons)
Box 1 1965 (1 cartoon)
Box 1 1966 (11 cartoon)
Box 1 1967 (36 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Christian Science Monitor 1960-1966 (29 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Climax 1962, 1964 (2 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Collier's 1953-1956 (4 cartoons)
Box 1 Commerce 1954 (1 cartoon)
Box 1 Compact 1954 (1 cartoon)
Box 1 Con Ed BDD&O 1962, 1965 (2 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Consumer Reports 1967 (1 cartoon)
Box 1 DAC News 1958-1964 (10 cartoons)
Box 1 Doctor's Wife 1960 (3 cartoons)
Box 1 Ethyl News 1960 (2 cartoons)
Box 1 Family Weekly 1955, 1960 (4 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Field and Stream undated (1 cartoon)
Box 1 The Fisherman 1957 (1 cartoon)
Box 1 George Matthew Adams Service 1956-1958 (20 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Golf Magazine 1958-1960 (19 cartoons)
Box 1 Good Housekeeping 1962 (1 cartoon)
Box 1 Gourmet 1961 (1 cartoon)
Box 1 Harper's Magazine 1964 (1 cartoon)
Box 1 Hilton Carte Blanche 1960 (1 cartoon)
Box 1 Horticulture 1958-1960 (4 cartoons)
Box 1 Intercom 1956-1961 (9 cartoons)
Box 1 Kiwanis 1958 (1 cartoon)
Oversize 1 Ladies Home Journal 1963, 1965 (3 cartoons)
Box 1 Leisure 1957, 1959 (3 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Look 1956 (5 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Maclean's 1954-1959 (13 cartoons)
Box 1 Marriage 1959-1962 (15 cartoons)
Oversize 1 McCall's 1957, undated (4 cartoons)
Box 1 McNaught Syndicate 1967 (1 cartoon)
Oversize 1 Medical Economics 1957-1963 (13 cartoons)
Box 1 Men 1956 (3 cartoons)
Box 1 National Observer 1962 (2 cartoons)
Oversize 3 New York Times Book Review 1953-1964 (33 cartoons)
Oversize 1 New Yorker 1966-1969 (4 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Nugget 1957-1958, 1963 (3 cartoons)
Box 1 Olds Rocket Guide 1961 (1 cartoon)
Box 1 Oregonian 1955 (2 cartoons)
Box 1 Penney News undated (1 cartoon)
Oversize 1 Plymouth Traveler 1960-1962 (15 cartoons)
Box 1 Popular Home 1956 (1 cartoon)
Box 1 Popular House 1957 (2 cartoons)
Box 1 Popular Mechanics 1961-1961 (5 cartoons)
Box 1 Practical English 1965-1966 (5 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Punch 1958-1962 (23 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Redbook 1954-1962 (14 cartoons)
Box 1 Report undated (1 cartoon)
Oversize 3 Saturday Evening Post 1953-1967 (34 cartoons)
Oversize 1 Saturday Review 1957-1966 (35 cartoons)
Oversize 2 Scholastic 1959-1967 - includes Scholastic, Scholastic Teacher, Senior Scholastic, Scholastic Review (42 cartoons)
Oversize 2 School Management 1966-1967 (4 cartoons)
Oversize 2 Science World 1962-1963, 1967 (4 cartoons)
Box 1 Ski 1962 (2 cartoons)
Oversize 2 Sports Illustrated 1954 (1 cartoon)
Oversize 2 Star Weekly 1953, 1955, 1957-1958, 1962 (9 cartoons)
Box 1 Town Journal 1953, 1955 (2 cartoons)
Oversize 2 True Adventures 1960 (3 cartoons)
Oversize 2 TV Guide 1965-1966 (8 cartoons)
Box 1 Washingtonian undated (5 cartoons)
Oversize 2 Weekend 1957 (7 cartoons)
Oversize 2 Weekend (Canada) undated (3 cartoons)
Box 1 Woman's Home Companion 1956 (3 cartoons)
Box 1 World Week undated (2 cartoons)
Oversize 2 Miscellaneous unidentified 1950-1969 (19 cartoons)
Box 1 Miscellaneous foreign magazines 1950-1969 (36 cartoons)
See also Weekend (Canada)

Return to top