Finding Aids
printer friendly version

William N. Fanton Sermons

An inventory of his sermons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fanton, William N.
Title: William N. Fanton Sermons
Inclusive Dates: 1898-1917
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American Methodist clergyman. Consists of Fanton's sermons and their source material, usually newspaper clippings, annotated with dates and places of delivery, all in New York State.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William N. Fanton was an American Methodist clergyman.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William N. Fanton Sermons consist of sermons and the material (usually newspaper clippings) which inspired Fanton to write these particular sermons.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Sermons are arranged chronologically. Clippings are filed with the sermon which they inspired.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Fanton, William N.

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Methodist Church -- Clergy.
Methodist Church -- New York (State)
Sermons, American.

Genres and Forms

Sermons.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William N. Fanton Sermons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 13 Jul 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 7 Jan 2010 - fixed subject formatting (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Sermons
Box 1 "Christ, the Universal Conqueror" first preached (f.p.) Oct 29, 1898 (a.m.)
Box 1 "Burden Bearing" f.p. Dec 18 1898 (a.m.)
Box 1 "Mary and Martha" f.p. Feb 19 1899
Box 1 "Simon's Money Fish" f.p. Aug 13 1899 (a.m.)
Box 1 "Art Thou in Health?" f.p. Aug 20 1899 (p.m.)
Box 1 "Life of Job" f.p. Dec 17 1899 (a.m.)
Box 1 "Triumphal Entry" f.p. Mar 31 1901 (a.m.)
Box 1 "Rational Enthusiasm" f.p. May 12 1901 (a.m.)
Box 1 "Tragedy of John the Baptist" f.p. Jul 21 1901
Box 1 "Promptness" f.p. Aug 18 1901 (p.m.)
Box 1 "Second Coming of Christ" f.p. Dec 29 1901 (p.m.)
Box 1 "Hebrew Poetry" f.p. Oct 21 1902 (p.m.)
Box 1 "Solomon" f.p. Jan 29 1905 (p.m.)
Box 1 "The Religion of Lincoln" f.p. Feb 12 1905
Box 1 "The Rich Food, Covetousness" f.p. Sep 17 1905 (a.m.)
Box 1 "Unjust Steward" f.p. Sep 24 1905
Box 1 "The Net Drawn" f.p. Oct 22 1905 (a.m.)
Box 1 "The Harvest of the Earth is Ripe" f.p. Oct 14 1906 (a.m.)
Box 1 "If Son Make You Free" f.p. Sep 4 1910 (a.m.)
Box 1 "The Soul Parts for God as a Boat for Water" f.p. Feb 5 1911 (a.m.)
Box 1 "They Brought him to Him" f.p. Sep 1 1911 (p.m.)
Box 1 "The Lord is with You if You're with Him" f.p. Sep 10 1911 (a.m.)
Box 1 "Biographies of Historical Characters" f.p. Oct 6 1911 (p.m.)
Box 1 "The Prison Opened" Dec 17 1911 (a.m.)
Box 1 "God's Power Over Soul" Dec 31 1913
Box 1 "Mary vs. Joseph" f.p. Sep 20 1914 (a.m.)
Box 1 "New Jerusalem" Jan 17 1915
Box 1 "Some Eccentricities of a Few Evangelists of Yesterday" (George Whitefield) f.p. Jan 4 1916
Box 1 "Bodily Exercise" Jul 30 1916
Box 1 "Thanksgiving" Nov 29 1917

Return to top