Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Emmanuel Evangelical United Brethren Church (Binghamton NY) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Emmanuel Evangelical United Brethren Church (Binghamton, N.Y.)
Title: Emmanuel Evangelical United Brethren Church (Binghamton NY) Records
Inclusive Dates: 1877-1978
Quantity: 3.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Established as the Emmanuel Church of the Evangelical Association in 1870 when the Reverend J. Vossler (Evangelical Association) was sent to Binghamton, N.Y., in response to the request of the people. After Feb. 1970, the name changed to the Emmanuel United Methodist Church; the church closed officially May 1976. Collection includes business files including, minutes of board meetings (in German) (1890-1899), trustees (1939-1940); Sunday school reports (in German) (1880-1910), and those of other internal governing bodies (1880-1976); financial records include cancelled checks, budget reports, and treasurers records (1914-1977).
Language: Bulk in English, some in German.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The movement which formed the Emmanuel Evangelical United Brethren Church was organized by Jacob Albright in Pennsylvania in 1800. He ministered mainly to the Germans in the area until, unable to obtain funding through the Methodist Episcopal Church with which they were associated, he established the Evangelical Association. They organized their first mission in New York (the Mohawk Mission) in 1839 and in 1849 held their first New York conference in Buffalo. Reverend J. Vossler was sent to Binghamton in April of 1878 upon request of the people there. They formed Emmanuel Church of the Evangelical Association of Binghamton ion March 2, 1870 with 24 charter members. The church was located at 80 Front Street, with the parsonage next door at 82 Front Street. Sometime after February of 1970 the name was changed to the Emmanuel United Methodist Church. It closed officially on May 13, 1976, and its congregation consolidated with other local Methodist churches.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Emmanuel Evangelical United Brethren Church Records consist of business files, financial files, and legal files. Business files contain records of different organizations within the church. Financial files contains the financial records of the church and of its various organizations. Legal files pertain to the sale of the church buildings after it closed.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged alphabetically by topic or subject.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several collections relating to churches in New York State. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. Also, our Rare Books collection has numerous related printed items; for a complete list of these, please search the Classic Catalog .

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Vossler, H., Reverend.

Corporate Bodies

Emmanuel Church of the Evangelical Association.
Emmanuel Evangelical United Brethren Church (Binghamton, N.Y.)
Emmanuel United Methodist Church (Binghamton, N.Y.)
Evangelical Association.

Subjects

Church records and registers -- New York (State) -- Binghamton.
German Americans -- New York (State) -- Binghamton.
Methodist Church -- New York (State) -- Binghamton.
Methodists -- New York (State) -- Binghamton.

Genres and Forms

Minutes.
Reports.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Emmanuel Evangelical United Brethren Church (Binghamton NY) Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CMV
Date: 29 Oct 1979
Revision history: 16 Jul 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 22 Nov 2016 - rehoused, SULF prep (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

Business files
Box 1 Annual and board meeting minutes (in German) 1890-1899
Box 1 Board of trustees meeting minutes 1939-1948
Box 1 Council of administration records 1949-1976 (2 folders)
Box 1 Ladies Auxiliary Society secretary's records 1931-1938
Box 1 Lists of elected officers 1972-1973
Box 1 Local conference records 1959-1963
Box 2 Official board meeting records 1920-1949 (3 folders)
Oversize 1 Official church record book (in German) 1877-1916
Oversize 1 Official record book 1921-1961
Box 2 Quarterly conference records 1909-1923, 1947-1969 (2 folders)
Box 3 Reports 1969-1976
Box 3 Sunday School secretary's records (in German) 1880-1882, 1899-1910 (3 folders)
Box 3 Unidentified records (in German) 1889-1920 (3 folders)
Box 4 Young People's Alliance records 1905-1913
Box 4 Young People's Alliance roll call and dues records 1894-1932
Financial files
Box 4 Bank account records 1968-1978
Box 4 Bills 1974-1977 (4 folders)
Box 4 Cancelled checks 1974-1976 (2 folders)
Box 5 Cancelled checks and check stubs 1976-1977
Box 5 Check stubs 1965-1976 (5 folders)
Oversize 2 Church accounts ledger 1959-1976
Box 5 Conference remittance statements 1975-1976
Box 5 Evangelical League of Christian Endeavor, treasurer's records 1925-1945
Box 5 Final checking and savings account records 1976-1977
Box 6 Financial report to members forms 1966
Box 6 Proposed budgets 1975-1976
Box 6 Reports 1968-1976
Box 6 Savings accounts books 1965-1975
Box 6 Savings accounts book 1965-1976
Box 6 Statement of church assets 1977
Box 6 Treasurer's records 1914-1943, 1934-1937 (2 folders)
Box 6 Trustees' final statement 1978
Box 6 Trustees' statement of disbursement of church assets 1977
Legal files
Box 6 Documents concerning ownership and sale of church land 1972

Return to top