Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Aymar Embury II Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Embury, Aymar, 1880-1966
Title: Aymar Embury II Papers
inclusive Dates: 1902-1965
Quantity: 35 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American architect. Died 1966. Architectural drawings and designs, photographs and slides, material relating to bridge design, articles by and about Embury.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Aymar Embury II (1880-1966) was an American architect.

Born in New York City, Embury graduated from Princeton University in 1900 with a bachelor’s degree in engineering. He earned a master’s degree the same subject in 1901, and began practicing architecture in New York City that same year. Embury taught architecture at Princeton while also working for various firms in New York City, including Cass Gilbert, George B. Post, Howells & Stokes, and Palmer and Hornbostel. During the First World War he served as a captain with the 40th Engineers of the United States Army, and designed the Distinguished Service Cross and the Distinguished Service Medal (Army).

Embury's specialties were college buildings, urban and country houses, hotels, library buildings, banks, clubs and community buildings. He was the architect for college buildings at Princeton University, Kalamazoo College, and Hofstra College and created two housing developments. His most significant efforts, however, were in connection with Parks Commissioner Robert Moses, with whom he worked as architect and supervisor of a design and construction team that executed more than six hundred projects for the city of New York, including the Triborough Bridge, the Lincoln Tunnel, the Henry Hudson Memorial Bridge, the Whitestone Bridge, the Rainbow Bridge, the Jamaica Bay Bridge and The Port of New York Authority Terminal Building. Embury was also the architect for the New York City and Argentine Pavilions at the 1939 World's Fair held in New York City.

Embury was a member of the President's Advisory Committee on Architecture from 1934-1943. He was also a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers and the New York Society of Architects. Mr. Embury wrote a number of books, including 100 Country Houses (1901), The Dutch Colonial House (1911), Country Houses (1914), Early American Churches (1914), The Liveable House (1917), and The Esthetics of Engineering Construction (1943).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Aymar Embury II Papers contains writings, photographs, prints, sketches, shop drawings, and published material. Material was received in two separate accessions (1967 and 1980), which have been integrated.

Correspondence contains one incoming and one outgoing piece of correspondence between Evans Kerrigan and Embury.

Memorabilia consists of a photographic portrait of Embury, a Christmas drawing, lithographs of bridges designed by Embury and various scrapbooks of his work, including bridges, churches, country clubs, residences, etc..

The Projects by Embury series contains contract documents, drawings and photographs for buildings designed by Embury or for which he served as a consulting architect.

Projects by other architects includes photographs and information on buildings not constructed by Embury. It also includes stock designs for post offices for the President’s Advisory Committee on Architecture. Embury served as the Chairman of this committee. Projects designed by other architects under his leadership can be found here. Post offices designed by Embury for this committee are found under Projects by Embury.

Writings by Embury consists of manuscripts and published versions of articles on architecture, engineering, design and a limited number of short stories and autobiographical writings by Embury.

Writings on Embury includes articles in various trade journals and pamphlets on his work.

Writings on other architects includes articles on architectural plates and on William Jensen, an employee of Embury’s office.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged alphabetically, by type where relevant, and then by title. Because the scrapbooks contain materials related to several projects, they have been placed in Memorabilia rather than Projects by Embury. Stock post office designs produced under the aegis of the President’s Committee on Architecture, for which Embury served as chairman, have been divided between two series, Projects by Embury and Projects by other architects.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A parallel of architecture by Jean-Louis-Nicolas Durand was transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to SUMMIT, our main catalog to locate this item.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Adams, Ansel, 1902-1984.
Chrystie, Edward F.
Embury, Aymar, 1880-1966.
Embury, Edward Coe.
Jensen, William.
Klauder, Charles A.
Rowe, J. Richard.

Corporate Bodies

Amann and Whitney.
Embury and Lucas.
Sigmond and Farkas.

Subjects

Architects -- United States.
Architectural design.
Architectural drawing -- 20th century -- United States.
Architectural firms.
Architecture -- Designs and plans.
Architecture -- New York (State)
Architecture -- United States -- History -- 20th century.
Architecture -- United States.
Architecture, American.
Bridges -- Design and construction.

Genres and Forms

Architectural drawings (visual works)
Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drawings.
Essays.
Photographs.
Slides (photographs)

Occupations

Architects.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Aymar Embury II Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DW
Date: 1980
Revision history: 29 April 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 5 February 2014 - integrated additions, expanded descriptions (TMH)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Kerrigan, Evans E. 1964
Memorabilia
Box 1 Portrait of Embury
Tube 950 Merry Christmas drawing - ink on tracing paper drawing
Map-Case 129 Lithographs of drawings of bridges by J. Richard Rowe - lithographs (some duplicates) including one of the Triborough Bridge tower lift span over the Harlem River and the anchorage of the George Washington Bridge (13 items)
See also the Bridges scrapbooks, the Triborough bridge and the George Washington bridge for photographs of these structures.
Scrapbooks
Oversize 1 70th and 71st Street houses (New York, New York) - exterior and interior photographs labeled Rothschild, Charles McVeigh and Bernard
Oversize 7 Bridges - contains photographs of various bridges designed by Embury including the Triborough Bridge; Marine Parkway Bridge; Lincoln Tunnel; George Washington Bridge anchorage; Henry Hudson bridge; and Croton Lake bridge (2 scrapbooks)
See also the Triborough bridge , the Marine Parkway bridge , the Lincoln Tunnel , and the George Washington bridge for more photographs of these structures.
Oversize 5 Churches - contains photographs of the Chapel in Watch Hill, RI; the First Congregational Church (Kalamazoo, Michigan); and the First Congregational Church (Springfield, VT)
See also the First Congregational church, Kalamazoo and the First Congregational church, Springfield for more photographs of these churches.
Oversize 6 Country clubs - contains photographs of the Charlotte Country Club and the Mountain Brook Country Club
See also the Charlotte Country Club and the Mountain Brook Country Club for more photographs of this structure.
Oversize 6 Kalamazoo, MI buildings - contains photographs of the First Congregational Church and Kalamazoo College buildings, etc.
See also the First Congregational church, Kalamazoo and Kalamazoo College for more photographs of these buildings.
Oversize 6 Mountain Brook Country Club (Birmingham, Alabama) - contains interior and exterior photographs
See also the Mountain Brook Country Club for more photographs of this structure.
Oversize 5 New York parks buildings - contains photographs of buildings including Sunset Park; Municipal Stadium (Randall's Island); Orchard Beach Bath House (Pelham Bay Park); Colonial Park Play Center; Arsenal; Central Park Zoo
Oversize 8 Oltman residence (Alpine, New York) - contains interior and exterior photographs
See also Oltman residence for more photographs of this house.
Oversize 6 Princeton Club of New York (New York, New York) - contains interior and exterior photographs
See also the Princeton Club for more photographs of this club.
Oversize 8 Residences - contains photographs of interior of Luther Blake residence (Bernardsville, New Jersey); interior of Richard Bernhard residence; interior of Charles McVeigh residence; exterior and interior of Arthur Lehman residence (New York, New York)
Oversize 8 Miscellaneous -
photographs of Aqueduct Race Track (Queens, New York); Congregational Church (Winnetka, Illinois); Dennison (Saddle River); Gas Station (Randall's Island, New York); Hotel Merida (Merida, Mexico); Jamaica Race Track (Queens, New York); Metropolitan Museum (New York, New York); Port Authority Building (New York, New York); Post Office (Lakewood, New Jersey); Toll and Administration Building (Marine Parkway); World's Fair, New York City Building (Queens, New York); includes drawing of farm building on the estate of Mr. and Mrs. Randolph Catlin (Charlottesville, VA)
See also the Catlin estate, Congregational church (Winnetka) , Hotel Merida , the Marine Parkway bridge, Metropolitan Museum, addition, and the World's Fair for more photographs of these buildings.
Projects by Embury
Adams residence (East Hampton, New York) - Mrs. John Cranford Adams (client)
Box 1 Contract documents 1958
Tube 934 Drawings 1958 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (18 items)
Arthur residence (Lloyd Harbor, Huntington, Long Island, New York) - Mr. and Mrs. Donald Arthur, Jr. (client); Embury and Lucas (architects); Edward Coe Embury (architect); Aymar Embury II (consulting architect)
Tube 932 Drawings 1950 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (22 items)
Tube 933 Drawings 1950 - graphite on tracing paper design development drawings (45 items)
Arthur residence, addition (Lloyd Harbor, Huntington, Long Island, New York)
Tube 932 Drawings 1962 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (8 items)
Astor residence (Newport, RI) - Vincent Astor (client)
Oversize 1 Drawings - graphite sketch on back of envelope
Box 1 Photographs - exterior and grounds (12); interiors (2); negatives (6) (20 items)
Bascule bridge over Flushing river (Queens, New York)
Oversize 4 Drawings - graphite on tracing paper drawing (1); reproductions of drawings (4) (5 items)
Battery-Brooklyn bridge and Battery Park (Brooklyn, New York)
Box 1 Photographs - bridge (7); model (2); photographs of drawings (5) (14 items)
Battery Park (Brooklyn, New York)
Oversize 10 Drawings - graphite drawing on tracing paper mounted on board showing suggested treatment of main axis
Bellport Memorial Library (Bellport, Long Island, New York)
Box 1 Photographs - exterior (9 items)
Oversize 1 Photographs 1923 - exterior
Betts residence (Darien, CT)
Box 1 Photographs 1938 - exterior (2 items)
Boyd residence (Southern Pines, North Carolina) - James Boyd (client)
Box 1 Photographs 1922 - exterior (17); interior (2); photographs, possibly of an existing structure (4) (23 items)
Bridge over Passaic river (Newark, New Jersey)
Oversize 4 Drawings - reproductions of drawings (4 items)
Bronx Zoo (Bronx, New York)
Crotona toll house - Harrison, Fouilhoux and Abramovitz (architects); Aymar Embury II (associated architect)
Oversize 10 Drawings - graphite on tracing paper (1); negative photostat of plan, elevation and perspective (1) (2 items)
Great apes house
Box 1 Photographs 1950 - exterior (17 items)
Penguin house
Box 1 Photographs 1950 - interior (17); sign (1) (18 items)
South approach to bridge over Bronx river
Oversize 9 Drawings - graphite on board perspective of bridge
Brookhaven library (Brookhaven, Long Island, New York)
Tube 934 Drawings 1925 - blueprint (1); graphite on tracing paper working drawings (9) (10 items)
Brooklyn bridge, proposed alterations (Brooklyn, New York)
Box 1 Photographs - photographs of drawings (8 items)
Brooklyn war memorial (Brooklyn, New York)
Oversize 10 Drawings - graphite on tracing paper mounted on board (2 items)
Bulova watch factory (Queens, New York) - Alexander D. Crosett & Associates (architects); Aymer Embury II (consulting architect)
Oversize 1 Advertisement February 1954 - featured in Fortune Magazine
Box 1 Photographs - exterior
Cady residence (Southern Pines, North Carolina) - Dr. E. E. Cady (client)
Box 1 Photographs - exterior (7); interior (1) (8 items)
Captree toll control
Oversize 9 Drawings - negative photostat of perspective drawing
Catlin estate, farm buildings (Charlottesville, VA) - Mr. and Mrs. Randolph Catlin (client)
See also Miscellaneous scrapbook for more photographs of this building.
Oversize 4 Drawings - graphite drawings of perspective, plans and elevation on board
Central Park band stand (New York, New York)
Oversize 9 Drawings - positive photostat of rendering
Chapel (Watch Hill, RI)
Box 1 Photographs - exterior (2 items)
Charlotte Country Club (Charlotte, North Carolina)
Box 1 Photographs - exterior
See also Country club scrapbook for more photographs of this building.
Charlotte Country Club, golf shop (Charlotte, North Carolina)
Tube 934 Drawings - working drawings, graphite on tracing paper (7 items)
Chauncey residence (East Hampton, Long Island, New York) - A. Wallace Chauncey (client)
Box 1 Photographs - exterior (7); interior (9); also includes a scrapbook, "Our Place" by Emma Romeyn (16 items)
Church of Saint James the Less (Scarsdale, New York)
Oversize 9 Drawings - perspective
Coe residence (Englewood, New Jersey) - E. P. Coe (client); first house designed by Embury circa 1902 according to note on wrapping for drawings
Tube 936 Drawings - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (21); ink on linen working drawings (14) (35 items)
Oversize 1 Photographs - exterior (1); interior (3) (4 items)
Box 1 Specifications
Collins residence (Princeton, New Jersey) - V. Lansing Collins (client)
Box 1 Specifications
Congregational church (Scarsdale, New York)
Oversize 9 Drawings - positive photostat of watercolor rendering
Davison residence (Princeton, New Jersey) - C. Herbert Davison (client)
Box 1 Photographs - exterior (5); interior (2) (7 items)
Donnell Free Circulating Library and reading room (New York, New York)
Box 1 Photographs - exterior (1); interior (7) (8 items)
Dull residence (Southern Pines, North Carolina) - Mrs. A. P. L. Dull (client)
Box 1 Photographs August 1921 - exterior (28); interior (6) (34 items)
DuPont Country Club (Wilmington, Delaware)
Oversize 1 Drawings - reproductions of perspective drawings (4 items)
Tube 937 Drawings 1946-1948 - graphite on linen working drawings (10); graphite on tracing paper working drawings (41) (51 items)
Tube 938 Drawings 1946-1948 - graphite on tracing paper drawings; mix of design development and working drawings (110 items)
Box 1 Photographs - exterior (1); negative photostat of exterior (1) (2 items)
East Hampton library (East Hampton, Long Island, New York)
Box 1 Photographs - exterior and grounds (12); 5 photographs of interior (5); negative photostat of drawing (1) (18 items)
Oversize 1 Photographs - exterior (3); interior (2) (5 items)
Embury residence (Englewood, New Jersey) - Aymar Embury II (client)
Box 1 Specifications
Fay residence (Dougan Hills, Staten Island, New York) - C. J. Fay (client)
Box 2 Photographs - exterior (7 items)
Oversize 1 Photographs - exterior; 1 has reproductions of plans attached (6 items)
First Congregational church (Kalamazoo, Michigan)
See also Churches scrapbook and Kalamazoo scrapbook for more photographs of this church.
Box 2 Photographs - exterior (13); negative photostat of exterior (1); interior (13); negative photostat of interior (1); construction photographs (8); and photographs of plans (2) (2 folders, 38 items)
Oversize 1 Photographs - exterior
First Congregational church (Springfield, VT)
See also Churches scrapbook for more photographs of this church.
Box 2 Photographs 1927 - exterior (15); interior (18) (33 items)
First Presbyterian church (Freeport, Long Island, New York)
Tube 935 Drawings 1944 - sepia diazo print
Garden State Parkway buildings (NJ)
Oversize 10 Drawings 1953 - graphite on board perspectives (6 items)
Gaylord residence (Rodsford, Illinois) - Robert M. Gaylord (client)
Oversize 1 Drawings - negative photostat of exterior perspective
Tube 943 Drawings 1949-1952 - graphite on tracing paper drawings; mix of design development and working drawings (48 items)
Tube 944 Drawings 1949-1952 - graphite on tracing paper drawings; mix of design development and working drawings (84 items)
Box 2 Photographs - exterior (6 items)
Gaylord residence, addition (Rodsford, Illinois) - Edward Coe Embury (architect); Aymar Embury II (consulting architect)
Tube 944 Drawings 1958 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (14); sepia diazo print working drawings (1) (15 items)
Box 2 Specifications 1958
George Washington bridge (New York, New York)
See also Bridges scrapbooks and Lithographs of Bridges for more images of this structure.
Oversize 4 Drawings - reproductions of drawings (3); photostat of article layout (1) (4 items)
Golf house - Edward Coe Embury (architect); Aymar Embury II (consulting architect)
Tube 950 Drawings 1956 - graphite on tracing paper working drawing (1); graphite on paper design development drawing (1) (2 items)
Greek Orthodox church
Oversize 9 Drawings - positive (1) and negative (1) photostat of watercolor rendering (2 items)
Greyhound bus terminal
Oversize 9 Drawings - reproduction of drawing
Guild Hall (East Hampton, Long Island, New York)
Box 2 Photographs - exterior (3); interior (5) (8 items)
Tube 928 Drawings 1931 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (42 items)
Tube 929 Drawings 1931 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings; very large (10 items)
Tube 930 Drawings 1931 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings; very large (8 items)
Tube 931 Drawings 1930-1931 - ink on linen working drawings (4); graphite on linen working drawings (3); graphite on tracing paper working drawings (26) (33 items)
Haas residence ( Mt. Kisco, New York) - George Haas (client)
Box 2 Photographs - exterior
Haggerty residence (Remsenburg, Long Island, New York) - Joseph J. Haggerty (client)
Box 2 Drawings - envelope with sketch
Box 2 Photographs - exterior (3 items)
Harbor Acres (Port Washington, Long Island, New York)
Gate lodge
Oversize 1 Drawings 1926 - color prints of drawing (2 items)
Oversize 1 Photographs 1926 - exterior (6); interior (1) (7 items)
Signs
Tube 935 Drawings - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (10 items)
Harvard Business School, competition (Cambridge, MA)
Oversize 9 Drawings - positive photostats of drawings of dining halls and library (2 items)
Box 2 Photographs - photographs of drawings (7 items)
Hastings residence, alterations (68 E. 54th Street, New York, New York) - Mrs. George Hastings (clients)
Box 2 Specifications
Highland Pines Inn (Southern Pines, North Carolina)
Box 2 Drawings - printed plan
Box 2 Photographs - exterior (26); interior (6); photograph of drawing (1); postcards (7) (40 items)
Oversize 1 Photographs - exterior (8); interior (2) (10 items)
Highway and railway bridges (Summit, Delaware)
Oversize 4 Drawings - drawings (3); reproductions of drawings (19) (22 items)
Oversize 4 Photographs - photograph of bridge
Hillsdale College, chapel (Hillsdale, Michigan)
Box 2 Drawings - negative photostat of plan
Hitchcock Memorial Presbyterian church (Scarsdale, New York) - Embury and Lucas (architects); Aymar Embury II (consulting architect)
Map-Case 128 Drawings - graphite on board drawings (3 items)
Hofstra College (Hempstead, Long Island, New York)
Oversize 10 Drawings - graphite drawings on tracing paper or board (4) and positive photostats of drawings (7) (11 items) 2 folders
Box 2 Photographs - photographs of college buildings and grounds (36 items)
Hope Valley Country Club (Hope Valley, North Carolina)
Box 2 Photographs - exterior (12); interior (3); photograph of plan (1) (16 items)
Hotel Merida (Yucatan, Mexico) - "Arturo Ponce" written in parentheses under the project name on the wrapping for the drawings
See also Miscellaneous scrapbook for more photographs of this hotel.
Oversize 9 Drawings - plans on board (2 items)
Tube 948 Drawings 1941, 1946, 1952 - graphite on drawing paper design development drawings (5); graphite on tracing paper working drawings (62); diazo print working drawings (2) (69 items)
Hughes residence (Bedford Hills, New York)
Oversize 1 Drawings - plans mounted on board (2 items)
Box 2 Photographs - exterior (9); interiors (26); postcards (3) (38 items)
Oversize 1 Photographs - exterior (3); interiors (4) (7 items)
John Street church (New York, New York)
Oversize 9 Drawings - graphite drawing on board (1); conte crayon drawings on tracing paper mounted on board (3); graphite sketch on paper (1); photostats of plans (3) (8 items)
Oversize 9 Photographs - exterior (1); photostats of interior (2); photostats of exterior (5) (8 items)
Johnson residence (Englewood, New Jersey) - Leonard Johnson (client)
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (11 items)
Oversize 2 Photographs - exterior (14); interior (4) (18 items)
Johnson, Drake and Piper
Box 3 Photographs - exterior
Junior high school, No. 77 (Brooklyn, New York)
Oversize 9 Drawings - watercolor of typical window bay (1); negative photostats of perspectives , plans, window, etc. (8); transparent film of perspective (1) (10 items) 2 folders
Kalamazoo Civic Auditorium (Kalamazoo, Michigan)
Box 3 Brochure
Tube 935 Drawings 1930 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (25 items)
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (3); interior (13); negative transparencies of exterior (4); negative transparencies of interior (10) (30 items)
Kalamazoo College (Kalamazoo, Michigan)
See also Kalamazoo scrapbook for more photographs of these buildings.
Bowen Hall
Tube 950 Drawings 1965 - diazo print working drawings (5); graphite on tracing paper design development drawing (1) (6 items)
New girl's dormitories, proposed scheme
Tube 947 Drawings 1945-1946 - graphite on tracing paper design development drawings (8); blueprint working drawing (1); photostats of perspective drawings (2) (11 items)
Stetson Chapel
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (2 items)
King Jagielo monument (Central Park, New York, New York)
Oversize 9 Drawings 1945 - negative photostat of plan and elevation
King residence (Irvington-on-Hudson, New York) - F. P. King (client)
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (11); exterior photograph cut from an unknown publication (1) (12 items)
Oversize 2 Photographs - exterior (7)
Knickerbocker Country Club (Tenafly, New Jersey)
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (21); interior (15) (36 items)
Lincoln Tunnel
See also Bridges scrapbooks for more photographs of this structure.
Oversize 4 Drawings - reproductions of drawings (8 items)
Box 3 Photographs - photographs of ventilation building and light standard (2 items)
Latter Day Saints chapel (Scarsdale, New York) - Edward Coe Embury (architect) and Aymar Embury II (consulting architect)
Oversize 9 Drawings - positive photostat of perspective rendering
Long Island Lighting (Long Island, New York)
Oversize 9 Drawings 1945 - perspective drawings in graphite on tracing paper (2 items)
Lyman residence (Dana Place, Englewood, New Jersey) - Stuart Lyman (client)
Box 3 Specifications
Magnolia cemetery, office building, Reese Memorial (Atlanta, Georgia)
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (5); photograph of painting (1) (6 items)
Maidstone Club (East Hampton, Long Island, New York) - Embury and Lucas (architects); Aymar Embury II (consulting architect)
Tube 941 Drawings 1931-1954 - graphite on tracing paper; mix of design development and working drawings (69 items)
Tube 942 Drawings 1931-1954 - graphite on tracing paper design development drawings (29); sepia diazo prints of working drawings (8); blueprint on linen working drawings of existing building by Roger Bullard (8); photostats of drawings (2); color samples (3) (50 items)
Box 3 Photographs - interior (5 items)
Marine Parkway bridge (Brooklyn, New York)
See also Bridges scrapbooks and Miscellaneous scrapbook and for more photographs of this structure.
Oversize 4 Drawings - reproductions of drawings (4 items)
Box 3 Photographs - photograph of bridge
McAlpin residence - David McAlpin (client)
Box 3 Photographs - photographs by Ansel Adams of exterior and grounds (4 items)
Memorial skating rink (Prospect Park, Brooklyn, New York) - Embury and Lucas (architects); Aymar Embury II (consulting architect)
Oversize 9 Brochure - hardbound brochure produced by the City of New York Department of Parks
Metropolitan Museum, addition (New York, New York)
See also Miscellaneous scrapbook for more images of this building.
Box 3 Drawings - photostats of drawings of west elevation (2 items)
Mid-Pines Country Club (Knollwood, North Carolina)
Box 3 Drawings - prints of drawings (4 items)
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (4); interior (2); construction photographs (7); exterior of cabin (4); and photographic excerpt from Architectural Forum (18 items)
Miller residence (Kalamazoo, Michigan) - O. F. Miller (client)
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (17); interior (10); negative of exterior (1) (28 items)
Oversize 2 Photographs - exterior
Motion Picture Association of America, office building (16th St., Washington, DC)
Map-Case 128 Drawings - charcoal rendering by Edward F. Chrystie
Morrisania housing (Bronx, New York)
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (14 items)
Mountain Brook Country Club (Birmingham, Alabama) - Miller and Martin (architects); Aymar Embury II (associate architect)
See also Country club scrapbook and Mountain Brook Country Club scrapbook for more photographs of this building.
Box 3 Brochure
Tube 949 Drawings 1928-1929 - ink on linen working drawings (8); graphite on tracing paper working drawings (40); blueprints of working drawings (5); photostats of working drawings (23); and 4 page list of revisions to drawings (76 items)
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (1); construction photographs (2) with accompanying letter (3 items)
Box 3 Specifications
Museum building of the New York Botanical Gardens (Bronx, New York) - Aymar Embury II and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (architects)
Oversize 10 Drawings - watercolor of front entrance (1); graphite on board perspective drawings (2); photostats of perspective drawings (10) (13 items)
Nathaniel Hawthorne junior high school (Queens, New York)
Box 3 Photographs 1948 - exterior (2 items)
New York Hospital, alteration (1307-1307 York Avenue, New York, New York)
Box 3 Photographs - exterior
New York conservation exhibition, introductory building (Bronx, New York) - Aymar Embury II and Harrison, Fouiloux and Abramovitz (associated architects)
Oversize 9 Drawings - negative photostat of plan and elevations
Office and apartment buildings (Southern Pines, North Carolina) - Dr. W. C. Mudgett (client)
Box 3 Photographs - exteriors (4 items)
Oltman residence (Alpine, New Jersey) - H. H. Oltman (client)
See also Oltman residence scrapbook for more photographs of this house.
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (6); interior (6) (12 items)
Orchard Beach entrance pavilions (Bronx, New York)
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (1); interior (1) (2 items)
Palisades Trust and Guaranty Company (Englewood, New Jersey)
Box 3 Specifications 1906
Park buildings (East Side Drive Park, New York, New York)
Box 3 Photographs - exterior (3 items)
Parsons junior high school (Queens, New York)
Box 3 Photographs 1952 - exterior (2); interior (4); and photograph of a perspective drawing (1) (7 items)
Phelps residence (Caracas, Venezuela) - Mr. and Mrs. William H. Phelps (client); house was also known as "La Casita"
Tube 945 Drawings 1934-1942 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (32 items)
Tube 945 Drawings 1958 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (5); sepia diazo print working drawing (1); diazo print working drawings (4); Edward Coe Embury (architect); Aymar Embury II (consulting architect) (10 items)
Box 4 Specifications - handwritten list of bath fixtures
Pomeroy residence (Englewood, New Jersey) - Mrs. D. F. Pomeroy (client)
Tube 936 Drawings 1925 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (7 items)
Box 4 Photographs - exterior (32) and excerpt from a magazine article (1) (33 items)
Oversize 2 Photographs - exterior (2 items)
Pomeroy residence, additions and alterations (Englewood, New Jersey)
Tube 936 Drawings 1927 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (7 items)
Post offices, from stock designs for President's Advisory Committee on Architecture
Embury served as the Chairman of the President's Advisory Committee on Architecture.. For other post office designs produced by the President's Advisory Committee on Architecture but not designed by Embury see Post offices, stock designs under Projects by other architects.
Box 4 Brochure - Terra Cotta Company brochure
Oversize 2 Drawings - positive photostats of plans and perspectives of typical post office designs (21 items)
Box 4 Photographs - Beacon, New York post office (7); Englewood, Colorado post office (1); Kennett, Missouri post office (1); Newton, Illinois post office (1); Richmond, Virgnia post office (1); Salem, Illinois post office (1); South Orange, New Jersey post office (3); Southern Pines, North Carolina post office (3); unidentified post office (1) (19 items)
Princeton Club of New York (New York, New York)
See also Princeton Club scrapbook for more photographs of this building.
Box 4 Drawings - print of drawing
Box 4 Photographs - exterior(15); interior (13) (28 items)
Princeton University (Princeton, New Jersey)
Dillon gymnasium
Map-Case 129 Drawings 1944-1945 - design development drawings (2); presentation drawings (5); photostats of presentation drawings (17) (24 items)
Box 4 Photographs 1961, undated - exterior (21); interior (11); color transparencies of interior (2); photographs of drawings (3); post-fire condition of building (9); and cover of alumni magazine (1) (47 items) 2 folders
Elm Club
Box 4 Photographs - exterior (2); interior (3) (5 items)
Nassau Hall
Oversize 10 Drawings - graphite and colored pencil interior perspective (1); charcoal drawing (1); reproductions of drawings (6) (8 items)
Rockefeller gymansium
Box 4 Photographs - exterior (2); interior (1) (3 items)
Student activities building
Box 4 Photographs - photographs of drawings (8 items)
West College
Box 4 Photographs - exterior (12); interior (1) (13 items)
Prisher residence (Southern Pines, North Carolina) - John Prisher (client)
Box 4 Photographs - exterior (3 items)
Queens war memorial (Queens, New York)
Oversize 4 Drawings - negative photostats of plan (2 items)
Map-Case 128 Drawings - watercolor renderings (2); graphite on board plans and perspectives (3) (5 items)
Rainbow bridge (Niagara Falls, New York)
Box 4 Drawings - negative photostats of drawings of toll booths and pedestrian entrance (3 items)
Box 4 Photographs - photograph of bridge (1); photograph of drawing (1) (2 items)
Richardson residence (Atlanta, Georgia) - Hugh Richardson (client)
Box 4 Photographs - exterior (26); interior (19) (45 items)
Oversize 2 Photographs - exterior (3); photographs of interior (6) (9 items)
Roberts residence (East Hampton, Long Island, New York) - Mrs. George Roberts (client)
Tube 950 Drawings 1930 - graphite on tracing paper working drawings (18 items)
St. George's bridge (St. George's, Delaware)
Box 4 Photographs - photographs of bridge (10); negatives (11) (21 items)
Skating rink, Prospect Park (Brooklyn, New York) - Embury and Lucas (architects); Aymar Embury II (consulting architect)
Tube 950 Drawings 1951 - ink on linen working drawings (2 items)
Southern Pines Country Club (Southern Pines, North Carolina)
Box 4 Photographs 1923 - exterior (19); postcards (4) (23 items)
Oversize 2 Photographs 1923 - exterior (2 items)
Strosacker Memorial Church (Midland, Michigan) - Edward Coe Embury (architect); Aymar Embury II (consulting architect); Sigmond and Farkas (engineers)
Box 4 Brochures
Box 4 Photographs - exterior (9); interior (7); construction photograph (1) (17 items)
Oversize 2 Photographs - exterior (2); interior (12); photograph of plans (1) (15 items)
Tube 946 Drawings 1949-1950 - VERY FRAGILE; blueprints of working drawings (27); blueprints of engineering drawings (8); sketch on butcher paper wrapper (1) (36 items)
Tube 947 Drawings 1943, undated - graphite on tracing paper presentation and design development drawings (21 items)
Teaneck public school (Teaneck, New Jersey)
Box 4 Specifications
Tiger Inn (Princeton, New Jersey)
Box 5 Photographs - exterior (6); interior (3); negative of exterior (1) (10 items)
Oversize 2 Photographs - exterior
Triborough bridge (New York, New York)
See also Bridges scrapbooks and Lithographs of Bridges for more images of this bridge.
Box 5 Drawings - prints of drawings (2 items)
Box 5 Photographs - photographs of bridge and garage and storage facility (9); photographs of drawings (4) (13 items)
Verrazano Narrows bridge, anchorage (New York, New York)
Box 5 Drawings November 3, 1959 - diazo print by Amann and Whitney (consulting engineers)
Box 5 Photographs - photograph of drawing
Way residence (Knollwood, North Carolina) - Judge Way (client)
Box 5 Photographs - exterior (2 items)
Wellington residence (Brookhaven, Long Island, New York) - C. Oliver Wellington (client)
Box 5 Photographs - exterior (6); negatives of exterior (4) (10 items)
Whitestone bridge (New York, New York)
Oversize 5 Drawings - graphite on tracing paper drawings (2); reproductions of drawings (8) (10 items)
Box 5 Photographs - photographs of bridge (13); negative photostat of bridge (1); photographs of toll plaza (4); construction photographs (6); photographs of drawings (3) (27 items)
Wilsey residence (Englewood, New Jersey) - James Wilsey (client)
Box 5 Photographs - exterior
Winnetka Congregational church (Winnetka, Illinois) - Aymar Embury II and John Leonard Hamilton (associated architects)
See also Miscellaneous scrapbook for more photographs of this church.
Box 5 Brochure - fundraising brochure
Tube 939 Drawings 1933-1934 - graphite on tracing paper design development drawings (60 items)
Tube 940 Drawings 1935 - ink on linen working drawings (9); graphite on tracing paper working drawings (3); blueprints of working drawings (15) (27 items)
Box 5 Photographs - exterior (2); negative of exterior (1) (3 items)
Oversize 3 Photographs - exterior (5); interior (7); reproductions of exterior photographs (2); photographs of drawings (3) (17 items)
"Woodstock" (Southern Pines, North Carolina)
Box 5 Photographs - exterior (2 items)
Wollman Memorial Skating Rink (New York, New York)
Box 5 Brochure - brochure produced by the City of New York Department of Parks
Oversize 10 Drawings - original drawing (1); reproductions of drawing (7); negative photostat of rendering (1) (9 items)
Box 5 Photographs - exterior (5 items)
Worcestor Royal Porcelain showrooms (234-236 East 46th Street, New York, New York) - Wor-Kho Corporation, Mr. E. N. Khouri (President)
Oversize 3 Photographs - exterior (1); interior (4) (5 items)
World's Fair, 1939 (Queens, New York)
See also Miscellaneous scrapbook for more photographs of the World's Fair buildings.
New York City building
Box 5 Brochure - Atlantic Terra Cotta brochure; cover of The Ladle
Box 5 Drawings - photostats of drawings (25 items)
Box 5 Photographs 1939 - exterior (10); interior (1); photographs of model (4); construction photographs (11) (26 items)
Oversize 3 Photographs 1939 - exterior (10); interior (3) (13 items)
State of New York amphitheater
Box 5 Photographs 1939 - photographs of drawings (9 items)
Zenger memorial (Mt. Vernon, New York)
Oversize 9 Drawings - graphite on tracing paper or board drawings (3 items)
Miscellaneous bridges
Oversize 4 Drawings - positive and negative photostats of drawings (24); graphite on tracing paper design development drawing (1); blueprint (1); prints of renderings (6) (7 folders, 32 items)
Miscellaneous projects
Box 5 Drawings - negative photostat of drawing, possibly of Queens War Memorial
Oversize 9 Drawings - negative photostats of interiors (5); graphite on tracing paper drawing (1) and negative photostat, possibly of Queens War Memorial (1); graphite on board drawing (1); charcoal drawing (1) (2 folders, 9 items)
Box 5 Photographs - exteriors (10); negatives of exteriors (4); 1 photograph of drawing (1) (15 items)
Oversize 9 Photographs - print of photographs of churches
Projects by other architects
In most cases, the names of these other architects are unknown.
Bureau of Engraving and Printing, annex (Washington, DC)
Box 5 Photographs - construction photographs (4 items)
General Accounting Office (Washington, DC)
Box 5 Drawings - print of drawing
Mint Museum of Art (Charlotte, North Carolina)
Box 5 Brochure
Box 5 Photographs - postcards (4 items)
Old Essex county courthouse
Box 5 Photographs - exterior (2 items)
Post offices, stock designs for President's Advisory Committee on Architecture
Embury served as the Chairman of the President's Advisory Committee on Architecture. These stock designs were produced by other architects. See also Post offices, stock designs for post offices designed by Embury.
Oversize 3 Drawings - positive photostats of plans and perspectives of typical post office designs (2 folders, 59 items)
Tunnels and bridges, studies
Box 5 Photographs - photographs of bridges and tunnels (7); photograph of drawing (1) (8 items)
United States Government Printing Office, warehouse
Box 5 Photographs - exterior (7) (7 items)
University of Colorado (Boulder, Colorado) - Charles A. Klauder (architect)
Oversize 3 Drawings June 1938 - reproductions of drawings (2 items)
University of Delaware (Newark, Delaware) - Charles A. Klauder (architect)
Oversize 3 Drawings - reproductions of drawings (3 items)
Oversize 3 Drawings - exterior (2 items)
World's Fair (Queens, New York)
Box 5 Photographs 1939 - exterior (13 items)
Miscellaneous
Box 5 Drawings - reproduction of drawing of Henry Hudson Parkway bridge
Box 5 Photographs - exteriors (9); negatives of exteriors (2) (11 items)
Writings by Embury
Articles
Box 5 Bibliography of articles by or concerning work of Aymar Embury II
Manuscripts
Box 5 "Articles on architectural and engineering design, vol. I"
Box 6 "Articles on architectural and engineering design, vol. II and III" (2 folders)
Box 6 "Articles on architecture in Europe, American Colonial and Mexico"
Box 6 "Book reviews"
Box 6 "Military articles" - includes a biographical account of Embury's service in World War I
Published
Box 6 "Aesthetics of Bridge Design," Pencil Points February 1938
Box 6 "Aesthetics of Concrete," Pencil Points May 1938
Box 6 "Aesthetic Design of Steel Structures," Pencil Points July 1938
Box 6 "Architect and the Engineer," Civil Engineering Magazine January 1938
Box 6 "Architecture in American Country Homes," The Mentor October 15, 1915
Box 6 "Breton Churches," Architectural Record July 1925
Box 6 "Engineering and Architecture," Journal of the American Institute of Architects May 1944
Box 6 "Esthetics of Bridge Design," Pencil Points February 1938
Box 6 Esthetic Design of Steel Structures," Civil Engineering Magazine April 1938
Box 6 "Forgotten Architectural Motif: The Moralaix Column," Architectural Record March 1924
Box 6 "House of Tomorrow," Architecture January 1934
Box 6 "How to Judge Architecture," House Beautiful December 1912
Box 6 "Letter Regarding the Architectural Plan for Hofstra College" 1957
Box 6 "Plan's the Thing," Home Journal March 1936
Biographical Writings
Box 6 Short stories and biographical sketches - includes autobiographical sketch
See also Military articles for a biographical account of Embury's service in World War I.
Writings on Embury
Articles
Box 6 "American Airlines Hanger," Engineering New Record July 22, 1948
Box 6 "Architects...," American Architect and Architecture February 1938
Box 6 "Brooklyn Zoo," Architecture January 1936
Box 6 "Charlotte Country Club," Architecture March 1935
Box 6 "Charlotte Country Club," National Geographic Magazine
Box 7 "Faculty Housing Group, Princeton, New Jersey," Architecture August 1930
Box 7 "Filling Stations," Pencil Point January 1941
Box 7 "Georgian Outside: A House for Luther Blake at Morristown, NJ," House and Garden November 1936
Box 7 "House of Richard F. Hoyt, New York City," Architecture
Box 7 "House of Arthur Lehman, New York City," Architecture April 1934
Box 7 "House of O. F. Miller, Kalamazoo, MI," Architecture
Box 7 Images in Moderne Bau Formen 1911
Box 7 "Old Long Island Town Gains a Guild Hall Done in Brick," House and Garden May 1932
Box 7 "Rebuild America," Architecture August 1935
Box 7 "Reptiles at Bronx Zoo Move into New Quarters," Architectural Record September 1954
Box 7 "Smiths of Wyncote, PA," Modern Living
Box 7 "Some Interesting Country House Alterations" Architectural Forum
Box 7 "Some Work of Aymar Embury II in the Sand Hills of North Carolina," Architectural Record June 1924
Box 7 "Two New Community Playhouses," Architecture March 1932
Box 7 "University Center," Princeton Alumni Weekly October 2, 1931
Box 7 "Winnetka Congregational Church," American Architect and Architecture October 1936
Box 7 "Work to Start at Once on $400,000 Winnetka Congregational Church," Chicago Tribune March 31, 1935
Box 7 Miscellaneous clippings - includes articles from Harper's and Pencil Points
Pamphlets
Box 7 "Bridges"
Box 7 "Center for Undergrad Life at Princeton," Princeton University 1926
Box 7 "Completion of the Henry Hudson Bridge" May 7, 1938
Box 7 "Prize Bridges 1928-1936," American Institute of Steel Construction
Box 7 "Prize Bridges 1928-1937," American Institute of Steel Construction
Writings on other architects
Articles
Box 7 "Some Plates with Directions for Use," Pencil Points July 1940
Box 7 "William Jensen of the Office of Aymar Embury II," Architectural Record

Return to top