Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Lucius P. Deming Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Deming, Lucius P.
Title: Lucius P. Deming Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1807-1919
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the manufacturer of women's clothing in New Haven, Connecticut. Collection includes scrapbooks, 1807-1919, containing periodical articles and newspaper clippings relating to Deming and a variety of subjects he found interesting. Also, a number of single issues of popular periodicals, mostly 1867.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The collection suggests that Lucius P. Deming was an American manufacturer of women's clothing in New Haven, Connecticut. The collection also suggests he was a lawyer and judge. The two may have been the same Deming or a father and son.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lucius P. Deming Papers comprise published material and scrapbooks.

Published material consists mainly of magazines of the late 1800's, including Godey's Lady's Book, Peterson's Magazine, Harper's New Monthly Magazine, and Frank Leslie's Popular Monthly. The 19 volumes of Scrapbooks contain primarily clippings, but also a few letters, handwritten items, ledger pages, sketches, notes, and other miscellanea.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Materials are divided as described above; within that, items are in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Deming, Lucius P.

Subjects

Fashion -- 19th century -- United States.
Fashion -- History.

Places

New Haven (Conn.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Periodicals.
Scrapbooks.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lucius P. Deming Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CMV
Date: Jan 1979
Revision history: 27 Oct 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Published material
Magazine fragments
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1861, 1867, undated
Godey's Lady's Book and Magazine, December, 1861 (fashion, historical, and literary articles)
Unidentified fragments
Peterson's Magazine, April, 1867
Peterson's Ladies National Magazine, April, 1867
Peterson's Magazine, October, 1867
Box 1 Peterson's Magazine June, 1867; November, 1867; December, 1867
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1867, 1869, undated
The Atlantic Almanac for 1869
Peterson's Magazine, May, 1867
Harper's New Monthly Magazine, undated
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1867, undated
Peterson's Magazine, March, 1867
Unidentified
Peterson's Magazine, August, 1867
Box 1 Peterson's Magazine January, 1867
Box 1 The Dollar Monthly Magazine January to July, 1863
Box 1 The Atlantic Almanac 1869
Box 1 Our Boys and Girls November 12, 1870
Box 1 Demorest's Young America July, 1869
Box 1 Godey's Lady's Book and Magazine March, 1859
Box 1 The Lady's Friend March, 1868
Box 1 American Agriculturist June, 1866; July, 1866
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1871, undated
Frank Leslie's Popular Monthly
Harper's Weekly, December 9, 1871
Box 1 Newspaper clipping fragments 1892-1894
Scrapbooks
Box 3 Volume 1 1807-1911
Note: this book was an actual ledger for a business-the clippings have been pasted in over many of the entries.
Albany Sales Book written on front flyleaf 1807-1850; illustration plates (Civil War) 1861-1865; Los Angeles Times Illustrated Weekly Magazine, 1911; poetry clippings, etchings, lithograph; ledger entries showing shipment by water; handwritten poetry; pieces of what seems to be greeting cards or fashion plates
Box 1 Volume 2 1880-1912
Includes "Biennial Report of the Commissioners to Manage Yosemite Valley and the Mariposa Big Tree Grove 1891-92"; articles on Irish Relief Committee, also clippings containing printed letters from different Irish counties that give accounts of the famine in the 1870's-80's; clippings on issue of Home Rule for Ireland.
Box 1 Volume 3 1876-1880
Assorted clippings; p4 mentions L.P. Deming & Cooke as a cloak manufactuer and as adding a lingerie department; p52-53 has inserted sheets of paper listing "Hon. Lucius P. Deming, Judge' as part of the masthead of the City Court of New Haven (Connecticut); p57 has clipping of death notice for "Laura E., wife of Lucius P. Deming"
Box 3 Volume 4 1869-1872
Note: this book was an actual ledger for a business-the clippings have been pasted in over many of the entries; some of the accounts in the ledger include the Oneida Community, The Elm City Co., Calhoun, Robbins & Co., and Wallingford Community.
Front page contains label of "Lucius P. Deming successor to C.B. Burwell retail dealer in Ladies' Dress Trimmings", etc.; some rough sketches of coats of arms; a handwritten piece of prose about history; an Index on p391; handwritten line on last page "Nothing is from all parts happy."
Box 1 Volume 5 1892-1919
Assorted clippings (political, economic, etc.); p16-17 slip of paper with Deming-Clarke Mica Mining Company general office Auburn, NY; mine office Ingalls, NC; LP Deming, Sec'y and Gen'l Mgr.; p48-49 Christmas Card (1915) from a William S. Hutchinson to Lucius P. Deming, P.G.M., Grand Lodge I.O.O.F. of Connecticut, 49 Aurelius Ave., Auburn, New York
Box 1 Volume 6 1878-1880
Clippings: crime and its punishment (ie. prison conditions)
Box 1 Volume 7 1884-1915
Clippings: speeches of a Henry W. Grady of The Atlanta Constitution (about some issue of the day); p62 clippings speaking of Judge L.P. Deming; history clippings
Box 3 Volume 8 1869-1897
Includes clippings from The Syracuse Daily Journal (newpaper), many of which are of a column by Bill Nye, who is traveling worldwide and giving accounts of these travels; copy of The Manufacturer and Builder, Vol. 1, 1869 nos. 1-12 (Jan.-Dec.); Practical Journal of Industrial Progress 380 p.
Box 1 Volume 9 1884-1919
Clippings on the Conant-McClellan murder case in New London, Conn.; several parts of The Syracuse Herald (1915, 1918), one piece of The Post-Standard (1919)
Box 1 Volume 10 1877-1883
Clippings are mainly human interest; p92-93 piece of paper stating "State Prison Contract Labor Commission" listing Lucius P. Deming as a commissioner; p96 in an article about the Fair Haven Cemetery, Lucius P. Deming is listed as a director for the year 1882; some clippings p. 100-101 are old time 'cures' and recipes for liniment, etc.
Box 2 Volume 11 1881-1891
Includes political tickets and a sheet of paper with "Scrap bks from Dr. W. Freeman Galpin not wanted for Vc or a Vc" written on it; clippings (political and economic); p81 has a canvass ticket for New Haven, Ct. for the candidate Lynde Harrison (Oct. 18, 1884) signed byLucius P. Deming as the 'Chairman Town Committee'; p86 & 87 have the printed 'Rules of the Republican Party in the Town of New Haven'
Box 2 Volume 12 1876-1890
Letter about the raising of funds for the pedestal of the Staute of Liberty; clippings about the "Sons of Revolutionary Sires"; also notices of deaths of the members of the above organization; also materials about the "Society of Sons of the American Revolution" (had state-designated chapters); p45 form letter listing Lucius P. Deming as President of the New Haven, Conn. chapter of The Connecticut Society of the Sons of the Revolution; p102-103 copies of both House and Senate bills to incorporate the Sons of the American Revolution (Deming was listed as one of the incorporators)
Box 2 Volume 13 1882
Inside front cover is handwritten notes of Yale Law School Lectures in International Law, President Woolsey; clippings are mainly law (includes Malley case)
Box 2 Volume 14 (continuation of Volume 13) 1882-1914
Malley case clippings; clippings of HM Brooks case
Box 2 Volume 15 1880-1883
Assorted clippings (political, economic, general, crime); p46-53 party election tickets; p96 has listing of Judge Deming's City Court cases
Box 2 Volume 16 1879-1884
Assorted clippings (law), including Holmes's trial; prison conditions
Box 2 Volume 17 1875-1895
Assorted clippings (human interest, etc.); p14-15 has clippings of published letters which have the initials LPD written in on top of them and signed by D., the subject of the letters is a vacation taken by the writer in the Adirondacks; p79 article clipped from May 22, 1884 speaks of Dr. L.P. Deming; p83 clipping of Judge Deming
Box 2 Volume 18 1879-1881
Clippings (political, general interest, prison system)
Box 3 Volume 19 1864-1881
Clippings (general interest, politics, economics); p41-49 have clippings of Bourbon Ballads (folk tunes); p120-121 containes a signed, handwritten letter, apparently written to Deming, but with fairly illegible handwriting
Published material
Box 3 Magazine fragments 1866

Return to top