Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults
Title: Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) Records
Inclusive Dates: 1951-1969
Quantity: 45.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Established by a grant from the Fund for Adult Education in 1951, the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) worked with universities seeking to initiate or to improve adult education programs. Its purpose was to help American higher education develop greater effectiveness and a deeper sense of responsibility for the liberal education of adults. During its tenure the Center had three directors; John S. Diekhoff (1952-1953), John B. Schwertman (1953-1956), and A.A. Liveright (1956-1968). The records include correspondence, organizational files, publication files, writings, and miscellany. Key correspondents, mostly from the Center, are James T. Carey, Alexander N. Charters, Roger DeCrow, John S. Diekhoff, C. Scott Fletcher, Freda H. Goldman, Morton Gordon, Kenneth Haygood, Cyril Orvin Houle, A. A. Liveright, Harry L. Miller, John B. Schwertman, Peter E. Siegle, Marilyn M. Vaughan, and James B. Whipple.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) was established in 1951 with a grant from the Fund for Adult Education (FAE) that had been awarded on the basis of a proposal submitted by the Committee on Liberal Education of the Association of University Evening Colleges. Throughout its history the Center's primary source of financial support was the FAE. Established to work with universities seeking to initiate or to improve adult education programs, the Center's general purpose was to help American higher education develop greater effectiveness and a deeper sense of responsibility for the liberal education of adults. The Center fulfilled this purpose of working with university adult education administration through Center projects, consultation services of the Center staff, four publication series (Notes and Essays, Reports, Research Reports, and Occasional Papers), a semi-monthly newsletter, Continuing Education for Adults, which contained information gathered from the field, and services of the Center clearinghouse on adult education information.

The Center produced experimental study-discussion guides for adult use in evening colleges and later shifted focus by studying the quality of administrative leadership, faculty performance, and status of continuing education in colleges and universities. Increasingly the Center's activities concerned national leadership conferences, the development of special degree programs specifically for adults, and seminars for faculty, deans, and presidents. Its research resulted in an extensive and influential list of publications. The Center also made numerous small "seed" grants to try out experimental ideas. In 1956, upon formal invitation, the Center's services were extended to the institutions of the National University Extension Association. In 1958 it began to work with a special committee of black colleges and universities and in 1959 with a newly formed Committee on Liberal Education of the Association of American Colleges. Thus the Center's work of liberally oriented higher education for adults had spread across the spectrum of higher education. CSLEA was also influential in the development of international adult education, providing the International Congress of University Adult Education with a secretariat during its formative years.

James B. Whipple points out in his history of the Center that the distinguishing characteristics of the Center included its quasi-independence. The Center was established on the campus of the University of Chicago, but remained independent of that institution. From 1964 until its termination in 1968, the Center was affiliated with Boston University but retained its independence. There were three directors of the Center:

John Simeon Diekhoff, 1952-1953
John B. Schwertman, 1953-1956
Alexander Albert Liveright, 1956-1968

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) Records are arranged in five series: correspondence, organizational files, publication files, writings, and miscellany. The inclusive dates of the collection are 1951-1969; the 1969 materials consists exclusively of correspondence dealing with the termination of the Center. Besides correspondence, the collection contains printed material including dittoed and mimeographed material, published material, periodical and newspaper clippings, some computer print-outs and galley proofs, typescript copy of material published by the CSLEA, and financial material. The categories of correspondence and organizational files contain 78% of the material in the collection.

Correspondence contains incoming and outgoing letters from 1951 to 1969. Incoming letters are arranged ahead of paired outgoing letters, regardless of which ones are the responses. Arrangement is chronological according to the date of the letter or the date of the incoming letter where two or more letters are attached. Undated correspondence is located at the end of the category. Correspondence dated only to the year is placed at the end of the year folder, and correspondence dated only to the month is placed at the end of that month. Correspondents include members of the CSLEA staff, members of the Center's board of directors, key staff members of the Fund for Adult Educatiobn, as well as administrators of adult education programs throughout the country and staff members of other adult education organizations. Correspondents significant for the volume of their letters, their authority with and within CSLEA, and/or the subject matter of their letters, include the following:

Carey, James T.
Charters, Alexander N.
DeCrow, Roger
Diekhoff, John Simeon
Fletcher, C. Scott
Goldman, Freda H.
Gordon, Morton
Haygood, Kenneth
Houle, Cyril Orvin
Liveright, Alexander Albert
Miller, Harry L.
Schwertman, John B.
Sheats, Paul H.
Seigle, Peter E.
Vaughan, Marilyn M.
Whipple, James B.

Organizational files of CSLEA are divided into administrative, financial, legal, and project categories.

Administrative files contain board of directors meeting reports, meeting files, memoranda, personnel files, general reports, and staff files. Board of directors meetings from 1951 to 1967 generated agendas, minutes, and meeting reports. Meeting files include material dealing with meetings of bodies within CSLEA, meetings sposored by the Center, and meetings not held under the Center's auspices but attended by CSLEA staff members. Other files were generated by the annual CSLEA staff meetings. Among the minutes are informal reports of meetings, as well as recorded and approved minutes and minutes of staff meetings from 1951 to 1967. There are resolutions passed at meetings, conference proceedings, and transcripts. There are memoranda that are often staff reports on Center projects, institutional visits, conferences, and interviews. These memoranda, by their individual and collective bulk and for their wide range of content, detailed information, and sometime confidential nature, provide an important source concerning the activities and philosophy of the Center. Personnel files, general reports, and staff files complete the administrative section of organizational files.
Financial data include proposed budgets, an accounts payable and receivable journal, cash receipts and disbursement journals, payroll records, compensation vouchers, payroll checks, bank statements, auditor's reports, income tax records, salary lists, petty cash records, and bank signature authorizations.
Legal files consist primarily of articles, agreements, and by-laws.
Projects files complete the organizational category and make up the largest part of the collection. These folders relate to various projects, including conferences, workshops, institutes, and meetings, as well as grants for basic support of CSLEA and its programs. Although it includes reports and proposals both by and to CSLEA, the bulk of the material was prepared by CSLEA. Reports include staff reports on Center projects, research, and institutional visits, as well as committee reports and Center reports to the Fund for Adult Education. In addition to more formal reports and proposals, these files include general material dealing with areas of interest to CSLEA, listed by subject. Several of the more important groups of material are the Carey Study (the Center's report of AUEC and NUEA to the Fund), the Arts Project, the Evaluation Project, Liberal Education for Specialists (Operation Micro), Negro College Program, the Leadership Conferences of CSLEA, and special degree programs. The folders are arranged alphabetically by project titles.

Publication files include brochures, curriculum materials, publication lists and schedules, and material relating to the CSLEA newsletter. The group of adult education curricular materials prepared by the CSLEA staff dates mostly from 1951 and 1952. This material is arranged chronologically, with undated material placed at the end of the group.

Writings are divided into two sections: addresses, and articles and books. Notable authors include A. A. Liveright and James B. Whipple, former assistant director of the Center and author of its history. Addresses includes speeches delivered by members of CSLEA, by non-CSLEA personnel at meetings sponsored by CSLEA, as well as speeches dealing with subjects of interest to the Center. Addresses are arranged alphabetically by author, with unidentified authors placed at the end. The date given for an address may be the date it was typed, but it is more often the date it was delivered. Ar ticles and books contains manuscripts of CSLEA staff and board of directors, consultants to the Center, and, in a few cases, students of Liveright. Also here are manuscripts of books published by CSLEA, some of them written or edited by members of the Center's staff. The arrangement of the drafts of these books does not necessarily correspond to their order of revision. However, where there are large-format typescript printer's copies of manuscripts, these are identified as the last draft. Material is arranged alphabetically by author or editor, and the manuscripts of each individual are arranged alphabetically by title. Manuscripts, the authors of which are unidentified, are placed at the end of the group. The date given for each article is generally the date it was typed. For books the date is either the publication or copyright date.

Miscellany is arranged by type. Brochures and announcements include descriptions of the Center and its programs. Reprints of articles by CSLEA staff members are arranged chronologically. Periodical clippings of articles by CSLEA staff members or about the Center are arranged chronologically. Newspaper clippings, also arranged chronologically, contain articles about the Center and its activities.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of all adult education collections. In particular, see also the following:

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Carey, James T., 1925-
Charters, Alexander N.
DeCrow, Roger.
Diekhoff, John S.
Fletcher, Cyril Scott, 1904-
Goldman, Freda H.
Gordon, Morton, 1933-
Haygood, Kenneth.
Houle, Cyril Orvin, 1913-
Liveright, A. A. (Alexander Albert), 1907-
Miller, Harry L., 1920-
Schwertman, John B.
Sheats, Paul H., 1907-1984
Siegle, Peter E.
Vaughan, Marilyn M.
Whipple, James B.

Corporate Bodies

Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, Archives.

Subjects

Adult education, United States
Education, Curricula
Education, Humanistic
Education, United States
Evening and continuation schools
Universities and colleges, United States

Genres and Forms

Agendas
Announcements
Articles
Books
Brochures
Clippings
Correspondence
Financial records
Legal files
Manuscripts for publication
Minutes
Pamphlets
Reports
Speeches

Occupations

Adult education

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Various sources, including transfer from University Archives, gift of B.J. Vaughn, gift of CSLEA.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: Oct 1976
Revision history: Jan 1977 - unspecified revisions; Jun 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 1951, Mar-Dec (2 folders)
Box 1 1952 (4 folders)
Box 1 1953 (3 folders)
Box 2 1954 (4 folders)
Box 2 1955 (6 folders)
Box 2 1956, Jan-Sep (3 folders)
Box 3 1956, Oct-Dec
Box 3 1957 (4 folders)
Box 3 1958, Jan-Jul (7 folders)
Box 4 1958, Aug-Dec (5 folders)
Box 4 1959, Jan-Jul (7 folders)
Box 5 1959, Aug-Dec (5 folders)
Box 5 1960, Jan-May (5 folders)
Box 6 1960, Jun-Dec (7 folders)
Box 6 1961, Jan-Feb (2 folders)
Box 7 1961, Mar-Oct (8 folders)
Box 8 1961, Nov-Dec (2 folders)
Box 8 1962, Jan-Jun (6 folders)
Box 9 1962, Jul-Dec (6 folders)
Box 9 1963, Jan-Feb (2 folders)
Box 10 1963, Mar-Oct (8 folders)
Box 11 1963, Nov-Dec (2 folders)
Box 11 1964, Jan-Feb (4 folders)
Box 12 1964, Mar-Jun (5 folders)
Box 13 1964, Jul-Dec (6 folders)
Box 13 1965, Jan (to Jan 15)
Box 14 1965, Jan (from Jan 16)-May (7 folders)
Box 15 1965, Jun-Oct (5 folders)
Box 16 1965, Nov-Dec (2 folders)
Box 16 1966, Jan-Feb (2 folders)
Box 17 1966, Mar-Aug (6 folders)
Box 18 1966, Sep-Dec (4 folders)
Box 18A 1967, Jan-Mar (5 folders)
Box 19 1967, Apr-Sep (6 folders)
Box 20 1967, Oct-Dec (3 folders)
Box 20 1968, Jan-Apr (4 folders)
Box 21 1968, May-Dec (2 folders)
Box 21 1969
Box 21 Undated
Organizational files
Administrative files
Board of directors meeting reports
Box 22 1951
Box 22 1953 - Jun 4-6, Nov 16-17 (2 folders)
Box 22 1954 - May 16 (special), Nov 12-14 (2 folders)
Box 22 1955 - Mar 5 (special), Nov 17-18 (2 folders)
Box 22 1956 - Jun 30-Jul 1 (special), Sep 8 (special), Nov 11 (3 folders)
Box 22 1957 - Mar 7 (special), Nov 10 (2 folders)
Box 22 1958 - Mar 4-7, Nov 15-16 (2 folders)
Box 23 1959 - Mar 3-4, Oct 4 (special committee on broadening the base of private support for higher adult education), Nov 7-8 (4 folders)
Box 23 1960 - Mar 12-13, Jul 24-25, Dec 3-4 (3 folders)
Box 23 1961 - Mar 11-12, Nov 4-5 (2 folders)
Box 24 1962 - Mar 9-11, Nov 3-4 (2 folders)
Box 24 1963 - Mar 9-10, Jun 14 (special), Sep 26 (special committee on affiliation), Oct 26-27 (4 folders)
Box 24 1964 - Mar 12, Oct 31, Dec 14 (3 folders)
Box 24A 1965 - Mar 10, Nov 20 (2 folders)
Box 24A 1966 - Mar 16, Oct 29, Dec 14 (3 folders)
Box 24A 1967 - Mar 20, Sep 15-16, Dec 17-18 (4 folders)
Meetings
Agendas and Programs
Box 25 1950-1958
Box 25 1959-1960
Box 25 1961-1962
Box 25 1963-1964
Box 25 1965-1966
Box 25 1967
Box 25 Undated
Lists of Participants
Box 25 1954-1960
Box 26 1961-1962
Box 26 1963-1965
Box 26 1966-1968
Memoranda
Box 26 Index 1953-1963
Box 26 1951-1954
Box 26 1955
Box 26 1956
Box 27 1957 (2 folders)
Box 27 1958 (2 folders)
Box 28 1959 (3 folders)
Box 28 1960 (3 folders)
Box 29 1961 (3 folders)
Box 29 1962 (3 folders)
Box 30 1963 (2 folders)
Box 30 1964 (2 folders)
Box 30 1965
Box 30 1966
Box 31 1967
Box 31 Undated
Personnel data
Box 31 A-W (3 folders)
Box 31 A-K
Box 32 L-W
Reports
Annual reports
Box 32 1953-1964 To the State of Illinois
Box 32 1956-1958 Printed annual reports
Box 32 1961-1965 To the Fund for Adult Education
Box 32 1965 Semi-annual report to to the Fund for Adult Education
Box 32 1967 Annual report to foundations
Box 32 1961-1965 To the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Board of directors, interim reports to the Fund for Adult Education
Box 32 1952-1954
Box 32 1955-1957
Conference reports
Box 33 1954 (2 folders)
Box 33 1955
Box 33 1956
Box 33 1966 NUEA business meeting
Staff files
Box 33 Committee on Staff and Personnel 1958-1959
Box 33 Consultation and field work 1964-1967
Box 33 "Focus" 1967
Box 33 Monthly field reports 1964
Box 33 Notes by A. A. Liveright undated
Box 34 Notes by Peter Siegle undated
Box 34 Notes by J. B. Whipple undated
Box 34 Notes by other staff members undated
Box 34 Notes on "Teaching the Liberal Arts to Adults" ca. 1955
Box 34 Office procedures and job descriptions 1956-1967
Box 34 Resolution on retirement plan 1961
Box 34 Staff assignments 1954-1965
Box 34 Staff meeting minutes 1951-1967
Box 34 Staff members 1951-1963
Financial records
Accounts receivable and payable journal
Box 34 1961-1964
Box 34 1964-1967
Box 34 1967-1968
Box 34 Auditor's reports 1958-1964
Box 34 Bank signature authorizations 1961-1962
Bank statements
Box 34 1963
Box 34 1964
Budgets
Box 35 1953-1961
Box 35 1962-1965
Box 35 1966-1969
Box 35 Miscellaneous
Cash disbursements journal
Box 36 1962
Box 36 1963
Box 36 Cash receipts journal 1962
Box 36 Compensation vouchers 1964-1968
Financial statements
Box 36 1951-1959
Box 37 1960-1962
Box 37 1963-1964
See also Package 1
Box 37 1965-1968
See also Packages 2-11
Box 37 Grants made to organizations 1957-1959
Box 37 Income tax 1952-1964
Box 37 Insurance policies 1953-1964
Box 37 Investment of Center funds, memorandum 1962
Payroll
Box 38 1961
Box 38 1962
Box 38 1963
Box 38 1964
See also Package 12
Box 38 1965
See also Packages 13 and 14
Box 38 1966 (Package 15)
Box 38 1967 (Package 16)
Box 38 1968 (Package 17)
Box 38 Payroll checks (Package 18) 1963-1964
Box 38 Petty cash 1962-1968
Box 38 Staff salaries 1951-1963
Legal Records
Box 39 Agreement with Macmillian Company 1961
Box 39 Agreement with the University of Michigan, 1959
Box 39 Articles of dissolution, Illinois and Massachusetts 1968
Box 39 Articles of incorporation in Massachusetts and agreement of association with Boston University 1964
Box 39 By-laws 1952-1964
Box 39 Certificates of registration of claims to copyright 1952-1968
Box 39 Conditions of transfer of CSLEA publications to Syracuse University 1968
Box 39 Memo of understanding between Boston University and CSLEA 1964
Box 39 Opinion in the case of Dr. A. A. Liveright v. Joint Committee of the General Assembly of the State of Tennessee 1968
Project files
Box 40 Administrator Attitude Study 1959, 1960, 1961 (3 folders)
Box 40 "Adult Education: A New Imperative for Our Times," report of its public reception 1962
Box 40 Adult education agencies, report of conference with representatives of 1960
Box 40 Adult Education Planning Project, Advisory Committee, Commonwealth of Massachusetts 1967-1968
Box 40 Adult learning projects, Allen Tough's study 1967
Box 40 Adult motivation and programming, preliminary proposal for research, ca. 1967
Adult Education Association
Box 40 Establishment of a national clearinghouse of adult education 1960
Box 40 Labor Education Section, "Workers' Education in the United States" undated
Box 40 Residential Adult Education Committee 1958-1961
Box 40 AEA-NUEA Continuing Committee on Urban Life 1960-1963
Box 40 American policies and practices on advanced placement and advanced standing procedures, Maurice Needham's "College Without Classes," draft 1958
Box 40 Agriculture and home economics cooperative extension work, Commonwealth of Massachusetts 1965-1967
Box 41 Air Force Special Degree Programs Conferences 1962-1963
Box 41 Armed forces off-duty education programs, review and evaluation 1967
Box 41 Arts and sciences deans program, proposal 1962
Arts Project
Box 41 General 1957-1964
Box 41 Audience Education Project 1966
Box 41 Building a Cultural Program for Adult Students, draft 1967
Box 41 New theater and adult education 1965
Box 41 Survey of presenters of art in Syracuse, New York undated
Box 41 University of Chicago, Fine Arts Program, University College 1958
AUEC
Box 41 Committee on Liberal Education 1956-1960
Box 41 Committee reports 1951-1965
Leadership Workshop annual confereces
Box 41 1954-1956
Box 42 1957-1958
Box 42 1963
Box 42 AUEC-CSLEA Committee on Future Directions in the Evening College 1962-1965
Box 42 AUEC-CSLEA Committee on Future Tasks of the Evening College 1962
Box 42 AUEC-NUEA joint meeting, Committee on Minimum Data and Definitions 1963
Box 42 AUEC-NUEA statistical report form 1964
Box 42 Beloit College, proposals on adult education 1958-1959
Box 42 Boston Center for Adult Education 1965-1967
Box 42 Boston Public Schools, proposal for study of the new role of the school in the urban community 1965
Box 42 Boston University 1958-1960
Box 42 Boston University Committee for Adult Education 1958
Box 42 Boston University goals for continuing education 1967
Box 42 Boston University graduate program in urban affairs 1968
Box 42 Boston University proposal for CSLEA, draft 1957
Box 42 Boston University, university council meetings 1964-1967
Box 42 Boston University Women's Guild 1965-1966
Box 42 Boston University Workshop in Planning and Administration of Higher Adult Education 1965
Box 42 Brigham Young University 1963
Box 42 Brighton Canyon Conference, University Adult Education in the Arts 1958
Box 42 Britannica Schools 1964
Box 42 Brooklyn College 1955-1961
Box 42 Business, Labor, Industry, and Education Conference 1957
Box 43 Butler University 1955
Box 43 CADESS-CSLEA Seminar on Quality and Validity in University Adult Education 1960
Box 43 Careers for women, State University of New York at Farmingdale Evening College 1966
Carey Study
Box 43 Research proposal, ca. 1957-1958
Box 43 Draft A 1959
Box 43 Draft B 1959
Box 43 Final report 1959
Questionnaires 1958
Box 44 A-Co (5 folders)
Box 45 D-O (5 folders)
Box 46 P-V (6 folders)
Box 47 W-Z, miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 47 Center for Higher Continuing Education, proposal 1967
CSLEA
Box 47 Ability and achievement of evening college and extension students, ca. 1958
Box 47 Affiliation contacts 1963
Box 47 Affiliation possibilities with Syracuse University and Boston University 1963
Box 47 Analysis of Center activities to implement policy, ca. 1959
Box 47 Audience Education Project, report 1966
Basic foundation proposal
Box 47 1963
Box 47 1964
Box 47 Supporting material undated
Box 48 Clearinghouse 1953-1960
Box 48 Committee on Bibliographic Services in Adult Education 1960
Box 48 Community education programs, ca. 1961
Box 48 The community problem 1955
Box 48 Conference on Evening College Adult Education, proposal 1956
Box 48 Continuing Education Almanac undated
Box 48 Cooperative research project, proposal 1961
Box 48 Core operation procedures 1960
Box 48 CSLEA-NSA Joint Committee 1956
Box 48 Discussion Leader Training Project 1954
Box 48 Evaluation Project 1961
Box 48 Evening college recruitment, proposal 1960
Box 48 Faculty newsletter, ca. 1960
Box 48 Ford Foundation urban research, education, and extension grants 1962
Box 48 Foundation contacts 1962
Box 48 Future Center directions, recommendations 1958
"Future Directions of CSLEA," 1960
Box 48 Volume 1
Box 48 Volume 2
Box 48 Resume of field questionnaire
Box 48 History of the CSLEA, by J. Whipple, draft 1968
Box 48 Image of the CSLEA 1966
Box 49 Institute in Liberal Studies, proposal 1958
Box 49 Institute in Liberal Studies for University Administrators 1957
Box 49 Inter-American Adult Education Project 1961-1963
Box 49 Kenwood Cultural and Art Center, proposal, ca. 1958
Box 49 Lake Wilderness Liberal Arts Seminar for Community Leaders 1958
Box 49 Liberal arts program in the evening college, study 1952
Box 49 Liberal arts seminars 1958
Box 49 Long-range research plans 1959
Membership rosters and mailing lists
Box 49 1964-1968
Box 49 1956-1963
Box 49 Metro-Urban Education Conference, proposal 1966
Box 49 National Endowment for the Humanities, staff discussion notes 1967
Box 49 National policy statement on adult education in the United States 1957
Box 49 National Seminar on University Urban Programs, proposal 1962-1963
Box 49 New program for administration, outline undated
Box 49 Oxford Conference on Adult Education and Race Relations 1966
Box 49 Participation in adult education programs, questionnaire undated
Box 49 Planning Conference on the Future of the Center 1954
Box 49 Policy on credit and non-credit programs 1957
Box 49 Policy on grants 1958-1961
Box 49 Pre-retirement education program ca. 1966
Box 49 Program goals ca. 1963
Box 49 Programmed learning and adult education, memorandum 1962
Box 49 Project for strengthening associations in higher education, ca. 1956
Box 49 Project "Teacher behavior, classroom social structure, student personality, and learning," 1961-1963
Box 49 Projects of the Center 1956
Box 49 "Projected programs during 1963-1970" 1962
Box 49 Proposal to the Carnegie Foundation 1964
Proposals to the Fund for Adult Education
Basic support of the Center
Box 49 1951-1952
Box 49 1954-1958
Box 50 1959-1960
Box 50 1960-1961
Box 50 Internship program at the Center undated
Box 50 Introduction of an adult liberal arts degree into the evening college movement 1953
Box 50 Proposal to the Inland Steel Foundation 1963
Box 50 Proposal to the Inland Steel-Ryerson Foundation 1963
Box 50 Proposals to the Johnson Foundation 1965
Box 50 Proposals to the Kellogg Foundation 1960-1963
Box 50 Proposal to U.S. Steel and other foundations 1963
Box 50 Proposal to U.S. Steel Foundation 1964
Box 50 Ranking of Center activities undated
Box 50 Recommendations to FAE on internships, scholarships, and fellowships ca. 1952
Box 50 Relationships with associations in higher education 1963
Box 50 Reports on current projects 1959
Box 50 Research and development center ca. 1967
Box 50 Research resources undated
Box 50 Resident labor education program brochure draft 1964
Box 50 Results and accomplishments 1963
Box 50 Special staff-board committee 1960
Box 50 Status study of evening college and extension operations 1959
Box 50 Subcommittee on Community Development Projects, report 1956
Box 50 Survey of student opinion of teaching extension classes 1958
Box 50 Unresolved problems in adult degree programs, report, ca. 1963
Box 50 Visiting staff member programs, report 1960
Box 50 Visits with AUEC-NUEA affiliates 1957-1964
Box 51 Child psychology textbook, report 1957
Box 51 Cleveland College 1956-1960
Box 51 Cleveland State University, recommendations for continuing education program 1966
Box 51 Committee on Effective Teaching 1960-1961
Box 51 Committee on Future Directions in Higher Adult Education 1959
Box 51 Comparative adult education, proposal for a summer institute 1965
Box 51 Conference on Newer Opportunities in College-Level Adult Education 1955
Box 51 Conference on Special Degree Programs for Adults 1964-1965
Box 51 Continuing Committee on Urban Affairs 1961-1963
Box 51 Continuing education for the ministry, proposal for a center 1965-1967
Box 51 Continuing education of the clergy, proposal for an institute 1965-1967
Box 51 Correspondence education research project 1965
Box 51 Correspondence Study Workshop 1960
Box 51 Council on College-Level Examinations ca. 1966
Box 51 Deans' and Directors' Institute on Liberal Studies 1966
Box 51 Degree programs especially for adults, meeting 1963
Box 51 Discussion Leader Project 1954-1955
Box 51 Drake University, survey of evening college deans and directors 1955
Box 51 Drexel Institute of Technology, interviews 1954
Box 51 Ecumenical Institute of Religious Studies, description undated
Box 51 Education of counselors of adults, proposal 1964
Box 51 Educational implications of the language arts, proposal for a summer institute 1952
Box 51 ESSO Education Foundation, proposal for a grant to CSLEA 1964
Evaluation Project
Box 51 Annual reports 1961
Box 52 Community affairs area 1960
Box 52 General 1957-1961
Box 52 Illustrative evaluation devices 1958
Box 52 Interim report 1958
Box 52 Moral and ethical area 1960
Box 52 Political and social area 1960
Box 52 Report on present status and future plans for the project 1961
Box 52 Report on the relevance to development of area examinations for special degree programs 1961
Box 52 Summary of developments 1960
Box 52 Summary report of progress 1959
Box 52 "Experience for Living," memorandum on research and development project 1966
Box 52 Experimental liberal arts curriculum materials for adults, evaluation 1952
Box 52 Faculty grant program ca. 1955-1957
Box 52 The Faculty Member in Adult Education 1955
Box 52 Family Relations Program, New Haven County Extension Service 1966-1967
Box 52 First International Conference on Comparative Adult Education, report 1966
Box 52 Future directions in higher adult education 1959-1963
Box 52 Girl guides and girl scouts, reports and various papers 1960-1968
Box 53 Gould House Conference, Seminar on Liberal Education for Management (2 folders)
Box 53 Great Plains Conference on Liberal Education for Adults 1961
Box 53 Harvard University, survey form 1962
Box 53 Higher adult education trends and directions, CSLEA statement, ca. 1965
Box 53 Higher Adult Education and the Emerging City Conference, summary 1963-1964
Higher adult education in Ohio
Box 53 Report 1964
Box 53 Working papers 1963-1964
Higher Education Act of 1965
Box 53 Analysis 1965-1966
Box 53 Projects 1965
Box 53 Higher education for cultural change, research proposal ca. 1963
Box 53 Highlander Research and Education Center, Inc. 1967-1968
Box 53 Highlander Research and Education Center, Inc., board of directors 1964-1968
Box 53 Hofstra University, draft proposal of special program for high school graduates 1960
Box 53 Home economics agents' meeting 1966
Box 53 Home Economists Extension Professional Development Program 1966-1967
Humanistic Institute for Women in Business, Vassar College
Box 54 General 1956
Box 54 Newsletter 1957-1958
Box 54 Participant reactions 1956
Box 54 Questionnaires 1956
Box 54 Staff notes 1956
Box 54 Hunter College experimental course, CSLEA project #1 1958-1959
ICUAE
Box 54 Individual memberships 1966
Box 54 Journal and occasional papers, constitution and by-laws 1962-1968
Box 55 Newsletter 1961-1966
Box 55 Illinois Continuing Education Program, rough draft ca. 1958
Box 55 Illinois Leaderhip Training Program for Liberal Adult Education 1959, ca. 1961 (2 folders)
Box 55 Improvement of Teaching Project 1952, 1953 (3 folders)
Box 56 Independent study program for management development, preliminary proposal undated
Box 56 Indiana University, survey 1963
Box 56 Institute on Urban Education 1965
Box 56 Institutional self-studies, surveys 1960-1961
Box 56 Integrated curriculum for adults, draft of discussions 1958
Box 56 Inter-American Adult Education Committee 1961
Box 56 Inter-American Exploratory and Planning Conference 1961
Box 56 Interest-aptitude test for adults, inventory 1958-1962
Box 56 International Adult Education Conference 1959
Box 56 International Center for Study and Learning in Education 1965
Box 56 International Conference on University Adult Education (Sagamore Conference) 1960
Box 56 International Conference on Residential Adult Education 1954-1960
Box 56 International Congress on University Adult Education 1960-1965
Box 56 Labor Education Committees 1957-1963
Labor Education (Residential) Program at Indiana University
Box 56 Blue Collar Scholar 1963-1967
Box 56 Cupriot Observer 1963
Box 56 General 1957-1966
Box 57 Supporting papers 1957-1966
Box 57 Laboratory college instructional team 1957
Box 57 Laboratory college project 1957-1958 (5 folders)
Leadership Conferences of CSLEA
Box 57 Second annual 1954
Box 57 Fourth annual 1956
Box 57 Sixth annual 1958
Box 57 Seventh annual 1959
Box 57 Eighth annual 1960
Leading group discussion
Box 57 Notes ca. 1954
Box 57 Proposal for a book on the subject ca. 1957
Box 58 Training guide III 1954
Box 58 League of Women Voters of New York State Workshop on China, miscellaneous papers ca. 1966
Box 58 Leisure-time activities of adults, program 1957-1958
Box 58 Liberal adult education programs, resume of study of liberal arts colleges' involvement 1956
Box 58 Liberal arts for labor at UCLA 1958
Box 58 Liberal arts for service clubs, proposal and report 1960-1961
Box 58 "Liberal Education and the Practical Man," by George E. Barton, Jr. undated
Box 58 Liberal Education for Adults Faculty Seminar at the University of Oklahoma 1958
Liberal Education for Management Seminar 1957
Box 58 Gordon group
Box 58 Miller group
Box 58 Plenary session
Liberal Education for Specialists Programs (Operation Micro)
Box 59 DeKalb Project 1956-1961
Box 59 Executives ca. 1959 (2 folders)
Box 59 General 1954-1960
Box 59 Journalists 1955-1956
Liberal education in evening college credit programs ca. 1960
Box 59 Liberal Studies for University Administrators, Second Institute 1958-1960
Box 59 Liveright Study on Adult Education, progress reports and drafts 1965
Liveright trips
Box 59 Africa 1961
Box 59 London and UNESCO in Paris 1963
Box 59 Metrocenter at Boston University, proposal 1955
Box 59 Metrocenter Seminar at Boston University 1966
Box 59 Metroplex Assembly 1957
Box 59 Metropolitan College 1965-1967
Metropolitan Education Project
Box 60 1964
Box 60 1965
Box 60 1965-1966
Box 60 1966-1967
Box 60 Metropolitan Residential School Board Institute, St. Louis, MO 1960
Box 60 Millard Fillmore College, survey 1955-1958
Box 60 M.L.S. Degree Program Committee 1968
Box 60 National Adult Education Resources Institute and Field Demonstration Centers, proposal 1961-1967
Box 60 National Conference on the Urban University and Community Needs 1954
Box 60 National Conference on Urban Life 1962
Box 60 National Council of Churches Advisory Committee on an Experimental Center for Continuing Education 1966
Box 60 National Education Television 1960-1966
Box 60 National Seminar on Adult Education Research 1961-1966
Box 60 National Seminar on Urban University Problems, proposal 1963
National University Extension Association
Box 60 Business section, proposals for submission, 1961
Box 60 Division of correspondence study, meetings and correspondence 1960-1963
Box 60 National Liberalizing Conference and Institute programs 1961
Box 60 Policy Statement Committee, report 1961
Box 61 Reports of various committees 1951-1968
Box 61 Nature and purposes of the evening college 1953
Negro College Program
Box 61 1959-1963
Box 61 1962 (2 folders)
Box 61 1962-1963
Box 62 1963
Box 62 1964-1967
Box 62 Undated (2 folders)
Box 62 Negro College Program survey on adult education, questionnaires undated
Box 62 Neuffer Study of Administrative Practices in AUEC Institutions 1961
Box 62 New Center for Adult Education, development meeting 1967
Box 62 New England Regional Center for Continuing Education Planning Conference 1965
Box 62 Non-credit Programs Workshop 1954-1956
Box 62 Northeast Film Center for Children 1967
Box 62 Northeastern University, survey 1957
Box 62 Northwestern University, survey 1954-1962
Box 63 NUEA-AUEC survey for adult education research and evaluation, draft form undated
Box 63 NUEA-IUS comparative evaluation, proposal 1963
Box 63 Observations on developments in higher adult education 1965
Box 63 OEF Leadership Institute, field work 1965, 1968
Box 63 OWHA meetings 1968
Box 63 Ohio State University, survey 1955-1966
Box 63 Operation Micro 1954
Box 63 Oregon State University, survey 1957-1959
Box 63 Oxford Seminar on Adult Education and Race, working paper 1966
Park Forest College
Box 63 Board of trustees minutes 1964
Box 63 Survey 1964
Box 63 Pennsylvania State University, survey 1957-1962
Box 63 Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, survey 1954
Box 63 C. W. Post College, Adult Education Program 1967
Box 63 Professors of Adult Education 1960-1966
Box 63 Project for the Improvement of Curriculum Materials and Teaching Methods 1953
Box 63 Queens College, survey 1955-1961
Box 63 Resident labor education program at Indiana University, overview and evaluation 1964
Box 63 Rochester Institute of Technology, Pageant of the Arts 1959
Roosevelt University
Box 63 Adult education for women 1963
Box 63 Alumni Association proposal to the Fund for Adult Education 1953
Box 63 Rutgers University Extension Service 1960-1963
Box 63 Second Annual Workshop on Adult Education, proceedings 1960
Box 63 Second International Seminar on Workers and Adult Education 1964
Box 64 Seminar for Urban University Presidents 1956
Box 64 Social roles of the middle-aged person, research proposal 1954
Box 64 Social trends: implications for adult education, memorandum 1955
Box 64 Social Trends in the U.S., discussion and draft report 1955
Box 64 Soft pedagogy study 1954
Box 64 South Bend Study on Liberal Adult Education and Cultural Activities 1964
Special degree programs
Boston University
Box 64 Graduate 1964-1968
Box 64 Undergraduate 1965
Box 64 Evaluation project undated
General
Box 64 1953-1959
Box 64 1960-1966
Box 64 M.A. especially for adults 1964
Box 64 M.A. especially for teachers 1956-1959
Box 65 M.A. in general education 1955-1956
Box 65 Master of Liberal Studies program for Metropolitan College of Boston University 1968
Box 65 Report of conference 1963
Box 65 Universities of Oklahoma, Pittsburgh, and Syracuse 1959
Box 65 University of Oregon, Portland Extension Center, ca. 1959
Box 65 Steelworker Institute Program at Pennsylvania State University 1957-1961
Box 65 Steelworkers' sabbaticals 1963-1964
Study of University Extension
Box 65 Institute for University Studies 1962-1963
Box 65 St. Louis University 1954
Box 65 Syracuse University 1958-1963
Box 65 Temple University undated
Box 65 Tulane University 1955-1966
Box 65 University of Akron 1954
Box 65 University of British Columbis 1962
Box 65 University of California 1960-1963
Box 65 University of Chattanooga 1958
Box 65 University of Chicago 1956-1964
Box 65 University of Cincinnati 1952-1957
Box 65 University of Delaware 1957-1959
Box 65 University of Denver 1958
Box 65 University of Hawaii 1960-1961
Box 65 University of London 1962
Box 66 University of Minnesota 1954-1967
Box 66 University of Mississippi 1956-1958
Box 66 University of Missouri 1968
Box 66 University of Nebraska undated
Box 66 University of New Hampshire ca. 1962
Box 66 University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 1958
Box 66 University of Oklahoma 1961-1962
Box 66 University of Omaha 1958
Box 66 University of Pennsylvania 1958
Box 66 University of Pittsburgh 1958
Box 66 University of Rhode Island 1957
Box 66 University of Rochester 1958-1959
Box 66 University of South Dakota 1965
Box 66 University of Texas, ca. 1959
Box 66 University of Toledo 1955
Box 66 University of Utah undated
Box 66 University of Washington 1954
Box 66 University of Wisconsin 1957-1964
Box 66 Villanova University undated
Box 66 Washington University 1954
Box 66 Western Reserve University 1954-1957
Box 66 Task Force on Urbanism 1966
Box 66 Teacher behavior, classroom social structure, student personality and learning, research proposal 1962
Box 66 Thirteenth National Conference on Higher Education, report of Session F 1958
Box 66 "The Uncommon College," report by A. A. Liveright on Metropolis University 1966
Box 67 Undergraduate honors program, proposal 1959
Box 67 UNESCO and higher education, report 1962
Box 67 UNESCO Regional Seminar in Australia on Adult Education, proposal 1962
Box 67 University adult education and manpower utilization 1960-1961
Box 67 University adult education in metropolitan New York, analytic survey ca. 1965
Box 67 University Adult Education Workshop, Group C 1960
Box 67 The university and its urban setting, proposal for a study ca. 1961
Box 67 University and the Community: Urban Affairs Conference Toward Improving Local Community Leadership 1966
Box 67 University Christian movement, description 1967
Box 67 University Council on Education for Public Responsibility 1962-1967
Box 67 University of Bridgeport, grant application for experimental study into preparations for part-time faculty 1959
Box 67 University of Chicago, research report on differentiating characteristics of students 1959
Box 67 University of Chicago, University College, self-study project ca. 1958
Box 67 University of Colorado, basic course in labor education for union leaders 1958-1959
Box 67 University of Oklahoma, Extension Council, meetings 1957-1958
Box 67 University of Wyoming, workshops and programs 1960
Box 67 University-PTA Project, report 1952-1954
Box 67 Urban Affairs Conference 1961
Box 67 Urban Extension 1961-1963
Box 67 Washington University Alumni Institute Conference, miscellaneous papers 1958
Box 67 Western Reserve University, Women's Association of Cleveland College, analysis of costs, 1958
Box 67 White Sulphur Springs Conference, summary 1958
Box 68 Wingspread Conference on the Arts, various papers 1962
Box 68 Women college graduates as agents to increase opportunities for disadvantaged youths, proposal 1966
Box 68 Workshop on Accelerating the Preparation of Adult Educators, final report 1965
Box 68 Workshop on Adult Education Opportunities in Greater Boston, invited participants 1967
Box 68 Workshop on the Purpose of the Evening College 1953
Box 68 World Conference on University Adult Education, proposal 1964
Publication files
Box 68 Brochures and announcements undated
Curriculum material
Box 68 The American tradition 1952
Box 68 Analytical reading 1952
Box 68 Core curriculum for teacher training institutes 1966
Box 68 Group living 1952
Box 68 Laboratory course in literature 1951
Box 68 Laboratory college for adults 1957, 1958 (2 folders)
Box 68 The teaching of adults ca. 1952
Box 68 Themes and variations: an invitation to literature 1952
Box 68 World politics 1952
Box 68 Miscellaneous undated
Box 68 Macmillan-CSLEA Adult Education Series 1961
Box 69 Memoranda re publications 1951-1967
Box 69 News items for the AUEC Newsletter 1961-1965
Newsletter
Box 69 1957-1964
Box 69 Clearinghouse Bulletin 1958-1960
Continuing Education for Adults
Box 69 1961-1963
Box 69 1964-1968
Box 69 Pattern and innovation 1967-1968
Box 69 Publication lists 1952-1964
Box 69 Publication schedules 1960-1965
Box 69 Publications Committee meetings 1954-1964
Box 69 Publications Committee reports 1955-1956
Writings
Addresses
Bacon, Emery F.
Box 70 Achieving Excellence in Labor Education 1959 Nov 20
Beirne, Joseph A.
Box 70 Remarks at CWA Staff Trainee Program 1961 Oct 1
Blakely, Robert J.
Box 70 Adult Education in and for a Free Society 1952 Oct 20
Box 70 Adult Education, For What? 1959 Mar 9
Box 70 The Educative Role of the Labor Leader 1966 Jun 4
Byrd, Robert C.
Box 70 How Can the American University Reach out to the Nation's Capital? 1965 May 15
Coombs, Philip H.
Box 70 The University and Its External Environment undated
Demerath, Nicholas J.
Box 70 The Changing Character of the University 1959 Mar 5
Diekhoff, John S.
Box 70 The Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults 1951 Jul
Box 70 The Domain of the Evening College Faculty undated
Golden, Clinton S.
Box 70 The American Trade Union Movement 1959 Jun 23
Haygood, Kenneth
Box 70 Remarks at AUEC Convention 1964 Oct 27
Johnson, Earl S.
Box 70 Some Reflections on the Meaning of Work 1963 Mar
Liveright, Alexander A.
Box 70 Advances in the Development of Professional Education of Adult Educators 1958
Box 70 New Directions in Liberal Adult Education 1958 Apr 20
Box 70 Liberal Education Defined and Illustrated 1958 Nov 17
Box 70 Adult Education in the Daring Sixties 1959
Box 70 Remarks to Graduates, University High School 1959 Jun 11
Box 70 Continuing Adult Education: A Challenge in the Liberal Arts 1959 Sep 17
Box 70 Liberal Adult Education--For Today and Tomorrow 1959 Oct 1
Box 70 Leadership for What 1960 Oct 10 - outline
Box 70 National Trends in Higher Adult Education 1960 Nov 10
Box 70 Shape of the Future in Continuing Education 1961 Feb 11
Box 70 The First Commencement, or There are Still Frontiers in Oklahoma 1961 Mar 18
Box 70 University Adult Education, The Center of Experiment in Education 1961 May
Box 70 The Role of the University in an Undirected Society 1961 Jun 12
Box 70 Finding and Developing Hidden Potentials 1961 Oct 4
Box 70 Report of the Center 1961 Nov 6
Box 70 Evaluation: Its Relationship to Research in Adult Education 1961 Dec 1
Box 70 Creativity in Programming 1962 Mar 26
Box 70 New Directions in University Programming for Adults 1961 Apr 3
Box 70 Continuing Education: An Essential for Competence and Fulfillment 1962 Jul 11
Box 70 New Horizons for Liberal Adult Education 1962 Dec
Box 70 Remarks at CSLEA-CADESS Meeting 1963
Box 70 "Aging and Social Policy: Liberal and Avocational Education" 1963 Jun
Box 70 Formal and Informal Adult Education 1963 Jul 16
Box 70 Modifications in Credit Systems of Other Universities 1964 Jun
Box 70 A University for Adults in a Learning Society 1964 Sep 21
Box 70 Role of the University in Continuing Education 1964 Oct 16
Box 70 Toward the New Learning Society 1965 Nov 30
Box 70 Identification and Development of Leadership 1966 Jan 18
Box 70 Order Out of Chaos: Toward a Sound Program of Comprehensive Continuing Education in the United States 1966 Feb 11
Box 70 Nature and Aim of Adult Education 1966? Mar 24
Box 70 University Extension, A Function of the Modern University 1966 Apr 14
Box 70 Continuing Education in the Modern City 1966 Apr 20
Box 70 Trends in University Adult Education 1966 Jul 6
Box 70 The Urban Condition: The Stakes of the University 1966 Dec 8
Box 70 Legislation for Social Change 1967 Nov 17
Box 70 Liberal Education for Adults 1967
Box 70 The Challenge of Liberal Adult Education undated
Box 70 Focusing Public Attention on Adult Education undated
Long, Herman
Box 70 Political Developments undated
McConnell, Thomas R.
Box 70 A Look at the Total Educational Scene 1959 Mar 9
McMahon, Ernest E.
Box 70 The NUEA 1964 Oct 26
McNeil, Donald R.
Box 70 A New Look at Some Old Friends 1962 Oct 14
Box 70 Crises in University Adult Education 1962 Nov 11
Miller, Harry L.
Box 70 Becoming a Profession: Its Problems and Rewards 1957 Mar
Box 70 Your Stakes in Adult Education 1957 Mar 29
Box 70 No title undated
Powell, John Walker
Box 70 Remarks at the International Congress of University Adult Education 1967
Rouch, Mark A.
Box 70 What Does the Minister Need for his Continuing Education? 1967 Aug
Schwertman, John B.
Box 70 Challenges to Formal Classroom Programming in Adult Education 1953 Dec 16
Siegle, Peter E.
Box 70 Some Remarks on a Panel at the New England Regional Conference on Industry-Liberal Education Relations 1957 Oct 20
Box 70 Kitch and U 1959 Jun 11
Box 70 Remarks undated
Spengler, Edwin H.
Box 71 Bench Marks and Turning Points 1964 Sep 26
Theobald, Robert
Box 71 Human Rights in a Cybernated Age 1963 Dec
Thiede Wilson B.
Box 71 The Role of the Extension Dean--Mobilizing the Faculty for Change 1966 Jul 6
Ward, Barbara
Box 71 Forethought for Tomorrow's Needs 1957 Mar 5
Whipple, James B.
Box 71 The Continuing Task 1967 Mar 22
White, Thurman
Box 71 Professional Training for Leadership 1962 Apr
Box 71 The Dynamic Challenge of Continuing Education in the Decade Ahead 1962 Apr
Winters, Clifford L., Jr.
Box 71 Cooperating with Other Groups 1963 Oct 27
Box 71 A Paradigm for a New Professional Association for Continuing Higher Education 1964 Oct 26
Wright, Marion A.
Box 71 The Negro College and Adult Education 1962 Jun 9
Authors unidentified
Box 71 Buddhism and Modern Science undated
Box 71 "College Life Begins at 40" undated
Articles and books
Barton George E., Jr. (ed.)
Box 71 Education in New Perspectives 1956 - draft (incomplete)
Box 71 Liberal Education in Perspective undated - draft
Box 71 "The Perspective of Method" 1954
Blakely, Robert J.
Box 71 Anthology on Liberal Education 1964 - draft (incomplete)
Toward a Homeodynamic Society 1965
Box 71 Draft A
Box 71 Draft B
Box 72 Draft C
Box 72 "What is Adult Education" undated
Burkett, J. E. and Paul G. Ruggiers (eds.)
Box 72 Bachelor of Liberal Studies: Development of a Curriculum at the University of Oklahoma 1965 - Draft A, Draft B, Proof copy and errata page (3 folders)
Cotton, Webster
Box 72 Rationale for Adult Education in a Free Society 1967 - Draft A, Draft B (2 folders)
Crimi, James E.
Box 72 Adult Education in the Liberal Arts Colleges 1957 - draft
Cummings, Thomas F., Jr. (ed.)
Box 72 Anthropological Backgrounds of Adult Education 1968 - Draft A (incomplete), Draft B (2 folders)
Box 73 Political Backgrounds of Adult Education: The University in Urban Society 1967 - Draft A (incomplete), Draft B, Printed matter (3 folders)
Daigneault, George
Box 73 "Future of the Evening College" 1965 - draft
DeCrow, Roger (ed.)
Box 73 Growing Time 1964 - Draft A, Draft B (2 folders)
Deinum, Andries
Box 73 Speaking of Myself 1966 - Draft A, Printed matter (2 folders)
Dickerman, Watson
Box 73 "Another Pilgrim Consults the Danish Oracle" 1965
Drucker, Peter F., et al.
Box 74 The Oakland Papers 1965 - Draft A, Draft B, Draft C (3 foldes)
Getzels, Jacob W.
Box 74 Learning Theory and Classroom Practice in Adult Education undated - script of a film strip
Goldberg, Maxwell H.
Box 74 Knowledge and the Whole Man undated - draft (2 folders)
Box 74 Meaning and Metaphor 1965 - Draft A, Draft A miscellaneous papers, Printed matter (3 folders)
Goldman, Freda H.
The Arts in Higher Education 1966
Box 74 Draft A
Box 75 Draft B
Box 75 "New Theater and Adult Education" 1965
Box 75 "University Adult Education in the Arts" undated
Box 75 Women, Work and Education undated - Draft A, Draft B (2 folders)
Gordon, Morton
Box 75 Daytime School for Adults: A New Program Dimension at the University of California, Berkeley 1967 - Draft A, Draft B, Draft C (3 folders)
Box 75 "University Level" undated
Havighurst, Robert J.
Box 75 "Social Roles of the Middle-Aged Person" 1953
Haygood, Kenneth
Box 75 Developing and Administering Community Education Programs 1960 - printed matter
Box 75 "Education for Urban Change" 1962 - printed matter
Box 75 "The Impact of Urbanization on University Extension" 1962 - printed matter
Box 75 The Informal College Program, University College, the University of Chicago 1959 - draft
A Live Option: The Future of the Evening College (ed.) 1965
Box 75 Draft A
Box 76 Draft A, miscellaneous material
Box 76 Draft B
Houle, Cyril O.
Box 76 "An Appraisal of the American Universities' Role in Adult Education" 1958
Box 76 Federal Policies Concerninq Adult Education 1967 - printed matter
Johnson, Eugene I.
Box 76 Metroplex Assembly 1965 - draft
Kaplan, Max
Box 76 The Arts for Free Time 1965 - draft
Kellan, Horace
Box 76 "The Liberation of the Adult" 1954
Knox, Alan B.
Box 76 "Dimensions of Education" 1959
Liveright, Alexander A.
Box 76 Adults in College undated - outline
Box 76 "Conference on University Adult Education in Africa" 1962
Box 76 "Curing Ciardi's Ulcers" 1962
Box 76 "Degree Programs Especially for Adults" 1964
Box 76 "Education Beyond the Regular Schools" 1961
Box 76 "Extension Utopia" 1959
Box 76 "Informal and Continuing Education" 1965
Box 76 "Innovation in Higher Education" 1965
Box 76 Liberal Adult Education 1961 - draft outline
Box 76 "Lifelong Education" undated
Box 76 "Match the Role to the Task" 1959
Box 76 "New Institutional Forms" 1967-1969
Box 76 "The Scene in 1980" undated
Box 76 "The Self-Educating Man" 1961
Box 76 "The Shape of the Future in Continuing Education" undated
Study of Adult Education in the United States 1965
Box 76 Draft A; Draft B, preliminary; Draft C, plus 1968 postscript (3 folders)
Box 77 Printed matter
Box 77 Study of Adult Education in the United States 1968 - Draft A, Draft B (2 folders)
Box 77 "The Universities' Unfinished Business--Liberal Education for Adults" undated
Box 77 "Who Are America's Lay Readers--What Do They Do?" undated
Liveright, Alexander A. and Freda H. Goldman
Box 77 Significant Developments in Continuing Higher Education 1965 - draft
Liveright, Alexander A. and Noreen Haygood (eds.)
Box 77 The Exeter Papers 1967 - Draft A, Draft B (3 folders)
Liveright, Alexander A. and Harry L. Miller
Box 77 Leading Group Discussion undated (2 folders)
McCall, B. C. and Peter E. Siegle
Box 77 "The Learning Process" ca. 1959
Miller, Harry L.
Box 77 Participation of Adults in Education: A Force Field Analysis 1967 - Draft A, Draft B (2 folders)
Miller, Harry L. and Barbara Berger
Box 77 Leading Group Discussion 1954
Montross, Harold W.
Box 78 "Review of Adult Learning Studies" 1959
Morrison, Philip
Box 78 "Science: Promethean Hope and Despair" undated
Needham, Maurice
Box 78 College Without Classes 1961
Neuffer, Frank B.
Box 78 "Administrative Policies and Practices of Evening Colleges" 1953
Neugarten, Bernice L.
Box 78 "Personality Changes During the Adult Years" 1962 - draft
Niimi, Violet
Box 78 "Skeleton Outline of Points Which May Be Covered in the National Policy" 1957
Ohliger, John
Box 78 Listening Groups: Using Mass Media in Adult Education 1967 - Draft A (incomplete), Draft B, Draft C (3 folders)
Oleon, Sally J.
Box 78 Changing Patterns in Continuing Education for Business 1967 - Draft A, Draft B (2 folders)
Pagano, Jules
Box 78 Peace Corps Training: A Developmental Concept in Adult Liberal Education 1965 - Draft A, Draft B (2 folders)
Professors of Adult Education
Box 78 Adult Education: A New Imperative for Our Times 1961 - final draft and printed matter
Adult Education as a Field of Professional Study undated
Box 79 Introduction, Liveright, Alexander A.
Box 79 Chapter 1, Hallenbeck, Wilbur C. - 3 drafts
Box 79 Chapter 2, Verner, Coolie - 2 drafts
Box 79 Chapter 3, Knowles, Malcolm S. - 3 drafts
Box 79 Chapter 4, Houle, Cyril 0. - 4 drafts
Box 79 Chapter 5, Liveright, Alexander A. - 3 drafts, 1 galley
Fields and Methods of Adult Education undated
Box 79 Preliminary Outlines
Box 79 Preface
Box 79 Chapter 3, Knowles, Malcolm S. - 2 drafts
Box 79 Chapter 4, Liveright, Alexander A. - 2 outlines and 2 drafts
Box 80 Chapter 5, Whipple, James B. - 2 drafts, 1 galley
Box 80 Chapter 6, McClusky, Howard Y. - 2 drafts
Box 80 Chapter 7, Jensen, Gale - 1 draft
Box 80 Chapter 8, Hallenbeck, Wilbur C. and Jack London - 3 drafts
Box 80 Chapter 9, Essert, Paul L. - 3 drafts
Box 80 Chapter 10, Barton, George E., Jr. - 1 draft
Box 80 Chapter 12, Houle, Cyril 0., and Malcolm S. Knowles - 2 drafts
Box 80 Chapter 14, Bergevin, Paul and John McKinley - 1 draft
Box 80 Appendices material
Box 80 Planning and Improving Programs of Graduate Study in Adult Education undated - draft
Reed, Bernard and Peter E. Siegle
Box 80 "The Future and Uniqueness of Evening College Programs" 1960
Schwartz, ?
Box 80 Self-Study Outline ca. 1961 - proposal
Schwertman, John B.
Box 80 "Brief Factual History of the Center" 1956
Box 80 "Emerging Theory in Adult Education" 1953
Box 80 "The Purposes of the Evening College" 1953
Box 80 Writings 1955-1956 - printed matter
Sheats, Paul H.
Box 80 The Need for Continuing Education, or the Case Aqainst the Adult Dropout 1965 - Draft A, Draft B (2 folders)
Siegle, Peter E.
Box 80 College and its Community undated - draft
Box 80 The Continuing Task 1967 - Draft A, Draft B (2 folders)
Box 80 "Counseling in the Evening College" undated
Box 80 "Liberal Education for Adults" undated
Box 80 "The Social Life of a Jewish Community" undated - abstract of a dissertation
Box 80 "Something for Everyone," Vassar Institute 1956 - draft
Smith, Russell F. W.
Box 80 "When it Comes to the Pooling of Ignorance" 1952
Soloman, Daniel
Box 81 "Teacher Behavior Dimensions, Course Characteristics, and Student Evaluation of Teachers" 1964
Box 81 "Teaching Styles and Student Achievement" 1962
Spengler, Edwin H., Ernest E. McMahon and Clifford L. Winters, Jr.
Box 81 Inter-Association Cooperation Reconsidered 1965 - printed matter
Stern, Bernard H.
Box 81 "Adults Grow in Brooklyn" 1955
Box 81 "Never too Late for College" 1963
Storr, Richard
Box 81 "The Public Conscience of the University" 1955
Theobald, Robert, John W. C. Johnstone, and Jack Weinberg
Box 81 Perspective on Automation 1964 - Various drafts, Final draft (3 folders)
Torrence, Andrew B.
Box 81 "Race and the University" ca. 1968
Warren, Helen F.
Box 81 "Some Thoughts on a National Policy for Adult Educatio"n 1957
Whipple, James B.
Box 81 "Comparison of Academic and Business Perspectives" undated
Box 81 CSLEA: A History 1967 - Draft A (incomplete), Draft B, Draft C, Draft D (4 folders)
Box 81 "Degree Programs Especially for Adults" 1966 - 2 drafts
Box 81 "Democracy and Education for Public Responsibility" 1962
Box 81 "Master's Degree Especially for Adults" 1966 - 2 drafts
Box 81 "My Liberal Education Bias" undated
Purposes of the Evening College (ed.) 1967
Box 81 Draft A
Box 81 Draft B
Box 82 Draft C
Box 82 Review of J. A. Burrell A History of Adult Education at Columbia University 1954
Box 82 "Southern Rebel" undated
Toward the Liberal Education for Adults 1952-1958
Box 82 Notes for a book ca. 1968
Box 82 Rough draft ca. 1968
Whipple, James B. and F. Goldman, K. Haygood, and P. Siegle
Box 82 Liberal Education Reconsidered: Reflections on Continuing Education for Contemporary Man 1969
Winters, Clifford L., Jr.
Box 82 Dynamics of Change in the Modern University 1966 - Draft A, Draft B (2 folders)
Zahn, Jane
Box 82 Creativity Research and Its Implications for Adult Education 1966 - Draft A, Draft B (2 folders)
Box 83 Various articles 1959-1968
Author or editor unidentified
Box 83 Book reviews 1966
Box 83 Developing Critical Judgment 1958 - printed matter
Box 83 "Education for Adults--Luxury or Necessity?" 1959?
Box 83 "Education Outside and Beyond the Regular Schools" undated
Box 83 Unidentified undated
Micsellany
Box 83 Bright ideas file 1953-1962
Box 83 Brochures and announcements, undated
Box 83 Cartoons
Box 83 Clippings from periodicals 1963-1968
Box 84 Log of institutional relations (Package 19) 1957-1964
Box 84 Memorabilia undated
Box 84 News releases 1960-1968
Box 84 Newsclippings 1951-1968, undated (3 folders)
Box 84 Photographs undated (3 folders)
Box 84 Press releases 1958-1968
Box 84 Reprints 1952-1964
Box 84 UNESCO material 1964-1967

Return to top