Finding Aids
printer friendly version

W. C. Crosby Autograph Collection

A description his collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Crosby, W. C.
Title: W. C. Crosby Autograph Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1856-1868
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: 8 letters sent to Crosby from prominent Republicans of the Civil War era.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

W. C. Crosby appears to have been a Republican who lived in Bangor, Maine during the mid-nineteenth century. He corresponded with many prominent Republicans of the Civil War era and collected their autographs. Possibly he is the same man as William Chase Crosby, a Maine anti-slavery advocate whose papers are held at the University of Maine.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The W. C. Crosby Autograph Collection contains 8 letters written by prominent Republicans of the Civil War era. Politicians represented in the collection include Hannibal Hamlin (1 item, undated), Lot M. Morrill (1 item, undated), Sidney Perham (1 item, 24 Apr 1868), Thaddeus Stevens (1 item, 12 July 1861), Israel Washburn Jr. (1 item, 2 May 1860?), and Henry Wilson (3 items, 22 Dec 1856, 31 Dec 1856, and 19 Jan 1857). Among the men included, there are founding members of the Republican Party (Israel Washburn Jr. and Henry Wilson), prominent Republican leaders (Thaddeus Stevens), two Vice Presidents (Hannibal Hamlin and Henry Wilson), and several governors of Maine (Hannibal Hamlin, Lot M. Morrill, Sidney Perham, and Israel Washburn Jr.).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The items are arranged in alphabetical order by correspondent's last name.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Crosby, W. C.
Hamlin, Hannibal, 1809-1891.
Morrill, Lot M. (Lot Myrick), 1812-1883.
Perham, Sidney, 1819-1907.
Stevens, Thaddeus, 1792-1868.
Washburn, Israel, 1813-1883.
Wilson, Henry, 1812-1875.

Corporate Bodies

Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- ) -- History -- 19th century.

Places

Bangor (Me.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Politicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

W. C. Crosby Autograph Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Albert George, 1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LMD
Date: 1 Mar 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 398 1856-1868 - also includes notes with biographical information about the correspondents

Return to top