Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Alfred D. Crimi Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Crimi, Alfred D., 1900-1994.
Title: Alfred D. Crimi Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1912-1935.
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the Italian-American painter, muralist.
Abstract: Correspondence, blueprints, finanacial and legal papers, photographs, slides, and writings, including the manuscript for Crimi's autobiography, and other material by and about him.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Alfred D. Crimi was born in eastern Sicily on Dec. 1, 1900. He came to the United States in 1910 and was naturalized in 1924. He attended public school in East Harlem's Little Italy.

He was a student at the National Academy of Design from 1916-1924 and attended the Beaux Arts Institute from 1920-1921. In 1929, he returned to Europe to study fresco painting in Italy.

He has found most of his success in the field of mural work, winning numerous national contests for painting in public and semi-public buildings. Notably, he was hired by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) for the Harlem Hospitals murals project. He also worked for the Public Works of Art project in Key West, Florida.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alfred D Crimi Papers is divided into four series. The first series is Correspondence, which is further divided into incoming and outgoing correspondence. The incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically and by sender subject, and covers the years from 1935 to 1948; outgoing correspondence is arranged chronologically, covering the same period. The second series is the Subject File, which is arranged alphabetically by subject. This series contains blueprints, legal material, finances, notes, press releases, and reports. The Manuscripts series contains articles written by others. The last series, Published Materials, contains articles about Crimi and others, articles about ethics, legal processes, illustrations, and newspaper clippings.

The April 1982 Addenda to the collection contains one series, which includes correspondence, published materials, and other miscellaneous items.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Crimi, Alfred D., 1900-1994.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Church decoration and ornament -- United States.
Italian American painters.
Italian Americans.
Mural painting and decoration -- 20th century -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Autobiographies.
Awards.
Blueprints (reprographic copies)
Correspondence.
Drawings.
Exhibition catalogs.
Lectures.
Photographs.
Reviews (document genre)
Slides (photographs)

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alfred D. Crimi Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mr. Crimi, 1964-1987.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1966
Revision history: Apr 1982 - addenda added (-); 13 Feb 2007 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 5 Aug 2015 - inventory structure corrected (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming (4 folders)
Outgoing 1937-1940, 1946, 1948 (6 folders)
Of others
Box 1 National Society of Mural Painters 1937-1938, 1940-1941
Subject files
Box 1 Background material
Box 1 Blueprints of Rugers Church
Box 1 Contract, Crimi & Rugers Presbyterian Church
Box 1 Crimi versus Rugers Church
Box 1 Expenses incurred by artist, Rugers Church
Box 1 Notes
Box 1 Press releases
Box 1 Rugers Presbyterian Church, Insurance papers
Box 1 Reports and data of Society of Mural Painters
Manuscripts
Box 1 By others
Published material
Box 1 Articles about Crimi
Box 1 Articles by Crimi
Box 1 Articles about others
Box 1 Illustrations
Box 1 Miscellaneous articles, concerning ethics
Box 1 Miscellaneous articles, concerning Crimi's case
Box 1 News letters- Society of Mural Painters
Box 1 Newspaper clippings
1982 additions
Box 1 Adult Education Courses in Art, City College of New York
Box 1 Allied Artists of America
Box 1 Art critics, newspaper clippings to art publishers
Box 1 American Artist Magazine
Box 1 Artists Fellowship
Box 1 Allentown Art Museum
Box 1 American Watercolor Society
Box 1 Audubon Artists - Alfred D. Crimi's Presidency 1981
Box 1 Awards - Scholastic & Professional
Box 1 Board of Education - City of New York - License # 415192 - & Health Certificate
Box 1 Bookbinder - The School District of Philadelphia - on Lecture
Box 1 Butler Institute of Fine Arts
Box 1 Clippings - reviews
Box 1 Correspondence - Art Classic on the Plaza 1956 to 1975, West Orange, New Jersey
Box 1 Correspondence 1970 to 1979
Box 1 Exhibitions & galleries
Box 1 Federation of Modern Painters & Sculptors
Box 1 Rev. Thomas Diehl - Personal correspondence
Box 1 Fellow artists & friends
Box 1 Fellow artists & friends exhibition catalogues
Box 1 Fellow artists & friends
Box 1 Friends & fan letters
Box 1 Fordham University
Box 1 Gallery Association of N.Y.S.
Box 1 Harlem Hospital Mural
Box 1 Holyoke Museum - One-man exhibition
Box 1 Janoff & Kravitz - Attorneys - Water damage case
Box 1 Japanese & American Art exchange Record (Nipon Museum)
Box 1 Kearney, Leo R. - on the Caracci Painting
Box 1 Lectures & Tours - The Association of American Colleges
Box 1 Lecture Tours - Association of American Colleges - correspondence
Box 1 Correspondence 1949-61 - Liturgical Arts
Box 1 Liturgical - All inclusive - personal correspondence
Box 1 Marietta College - Mainstreams Internationals
Box 1 Magazine articles - catalogs & circulars
Box 1 Miscellanea - correspondence from 1936 to 1966
Box 1 Board of Education - P.S.# 5 Mosaic Murals
Box 1 Board of Education - P.S.# 110 Mosaic Murals
Box 1 Board of Education - Southeast Bronx High School N.Y.C.- Mural
Box 1 Board of Education Contract for Mosaic - P.S.#377- Brooklyn - Mosaic Mural
Box 1 Mural Board of Education - High Schools 131 & Mosaic Mural
Box 1 National Council of Jewish Women
Box 1 New York Botanical Garden, Bronx
Box 1 The New York Botanical Garden Record Gift of Drawings
Box 1 Personal circulars and News Bulletin of the National Society of Mural Painters
Box 1 New York Times, Letters to Hilton Kramer and New York Times
Box 1 Northhampton, Mass, - Proclamation & District Service Certificate "Save the Mural Week"
Box 1 Osservatorio Romano (Bruzichelli International Liturgical Arts Exhibition)
Box 1 Pennsylvania State University
Box 1 Portland Art Museum - Oregon
Box 1 Letters on Ringwood Mannor West Gallery - New Jersey
Box 1 Additional data to Rutgers Presbyterian Church Mural Demise
Box 1 Talks & lectures
Box 1 Universities - miscellanea & colleges
Box 1 Who's Who
Box 1 Magazines

Return to top