Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Clearinghouse Resources for Educators of Adults (CREA) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Syracuse University, Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults
Title: Clearinghouse Resources for Educators of Adults (CREA) Records
Inclusive Dates: 1975-1981
Quantity: 3.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Administrative files, correspondence, proposals, and publications of the Clearinghouse Resources for Educators of Adults at Syracuse University. Correspondence of significant duration or amount includes Charters, Alexander N.; Rivera, William; Holmwood, Donald; and the State Education Department.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Clearinghouse Resources for Educators of Adults (CREA) began operation as a state-wide grant-funded program at Syracuse University (Syracuse, NY) in November 1975. Its stated purpose was to provide access to and information on professional development material aimed at administrators, teachers, counselors, and others working in adult and continuing education. CREA identified, acquired, cataloged and housed some 1800 relevant print and non-print items which it then made available for loan to New York State educators. CREA also developed and published a number of subject-matter bibliographies on topics such as English as a Second Language (ESL), administration and management, teacher education, and program development and instructional techniques. Eventually its mission expanded to include organizing or offering regional workshops and colloquia on topics related to adult and continuing education. CREA operated until 1981, when the State Education Department (Albany, NY) declined to renew its funding.

Donald P. Holmwood served as director of CREA from 1975 to 1978, after which William Rivera assumed leadership.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Clearinghouse Resources for Educators of Adults (CREA) Records comprise the files of the organization over its six-year lifespan. The collection consists of administrative files, correspondence, financial information, printed material, promotional material, proposal forms and instructions, proposals themselves, publications and reports.

Administrative files contains collection information, order forms and mailing lists, policies and procedures, etc. Correspondence holds business correspondence and includes directors, graduate assistants and others who worked with or for CREA at Syracuse University as well as correspondence with external organizations such as the State Education Department (SED) and ERIC. Of particular interest is the material on CREA refunding, as it demonstrated the support for and usefulness of CREA. Financial information includes budget amendments (because CREA was grant-funded, budget amendments exceeding $500 or 10% required approval from SED) as well as internal ledgers and account printouts. Printed material and Promotional material offer clippings, press releases and other instances of CREA in the news.

As a grant-funded program which operated on a year-to-year basis, CREA had to reapply each year for renewal of its funding from SED. Proposal forms and instructions contains the requirements for these applications, while Proposals contains drafts, revisions and final versions of all six proposals submitted by CREA to SED. (This material has been organized as well as possible, given that xerox copies of previous budgets and proposals were often marked up as drafts for later versions, so that dates are not always definitive.)

CREA was an active disseminator of information, and Publications includes articles and papers by CREA staff members, subject matter bibliographies, and complete or nearly-complete runs of the CREA newsletter, CREA-tivity in New York, and the Federal Register Review. Reports is divided into reports about CREA (e.g. quarterly and annual progress reports, expense reports, and final evaluations) which were required by the SED, and reports by CREA, whch include a variety of internal evaluations, surveys, assessments, white papers, and project evaluations.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In particular, see also the papers of Dr. Alexander Charters, who was directly connected with CREA.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Charters, Alexander N.
Hiemstra, Roger.
Rivera, William McLeod, 1934-

Corporate Bodies

Syracuse University, -- Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Associated Titles

CREA-tivity in New York.
Federal Register Review.

Subjects

Adult education -- New York (State)
Adult education teachers, Training of.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Brochures.
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Manuscripts (document genre)
Proposals.
Reports.

Occupations

Adult education teachers.
Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Clearinghouse Resources for Educators of Adults (CREA) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the Clearinghouse Resources for Educators of Adults (CREA), 1982.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 23 May 2006
Revision history: 23 May 2006 - converted to EAD (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Administrative files
Collection information undated
Director search 1979
Dissemination plan undated
Information file (Holmwood) 1976
Needs assessment
See also Reports: By CREA: "CREA Needs Assessment: A Report on User Needs in New York State"
"Central New York Needs Assessment Project in Continuing Ed" 1977
"Michigan Adult Basic Education Needs Assessment" 1978
Orders
Forms
List of publishers undated
Mailing list 1975-1979
Requests for CREA material 1980-1981
Policies and procedures 1976-1978
Position descriptions
Proposals
ADELL proposal 1977
See also Correspondence: ADELL
Special education proposal 1980
Pyrex
Resource units 1979, undated
Section 309 programs
New York 1975-1976
Other states (alpha by state)
Solicitation letters 1980-1981
Summary of activities 1976-1978
Miscellaneous
Correspondence
Letters are generally filed under their originator in chronological order. If multiple copies existed in the files, copies may also be filed under recipient, if appropriate. All communication from the State Education Department (Albany, NY) is filed together under that name, regardless of the individual sender.
ADELL 1977-1978
See also Administrative files: Proposals: ADELL
Adelphi University 1977
Carr, Neil W.
See State Education Department (Albany, New York)
Charters, Alexander N. 1975-1980, undated
CREA refunding 1981
ERIC/EPSIS 1978-1979, undated
Gooler, Dennis 1979-1981
Greenfest, Michael
See Rivera, William M.
Gschwender, Ed 1978-1980
Hatfield, John N.
See State Education Department (Albany, New York)
Hiemstra, Roger 1980
Holmwood, Donald P.
General correspondence 1975-1978
Notes 1975-1978
Johnson, Harvey J.
See State Education Department (Albany, New York)
Matheson, Lois A.
See State Education Department (Albany, New York)
Murphy, Garrett
See State Education Department (Albany, New York)
New York Association for Continuing Education (NYACE)/New York Association for Continuing and Community Education (NYACCE) 1975-1980
Office of Sponsored Programs (Syracuse University) 1976-1980
Patchen, William L.
See Office of Sponsored Programs (Syracuse University)
Poczik, Robert
See State Education Department (Albany, New York)
Purga, Robert
See State Education Department (Albany, New York)
Regional Learning Service of Central New York 1980
Reiss, Mary
See State Education Department (Albany, New York)
Rivera, William M. 1979-1981 - also includes correspondence of Michael Greenfest, assistant to director
See also Publications: CREA: Articles and papers by CREA staff
State Education Department (Albany, New York) 1975-1981 (2 folders)
Miscellaneous
Internal (within CREA and/or Syracuse University) 1976-1981
External 1977-1980
Financial
Budget amendments (Forms FA-10A) 1977-1981
Ledgers and account printouts 1978-1981
Travel expenses (Forms FA-60) 1978-1980
Miscellaneous (by date) 1976-1981
Printed material
Clippings 1977-1981
Publicity
Press releases 1975-1976, undated
Miscellaneous 1976, 1979-1980
Proposal forms and instructions
State Education Department [SED]
See also Correspondence: State Education Department (Albany, NY)
1975
1976
1977
1981
Syracuse University Proposal Information Checklists undated
Proposals
Conditions of approval undated
Excerpts 1975-1978
Excerpts 1978-1980
1975-1976 - drafts, budget
1976-1977 - draft, proposal and budget, proposal and budget with revisions, budget with revisions, budget with revisions, amendments
1977-1978 - drafts, proposal with budget, budget only
1978-1979 - drafts, proposal and budget with revisions, drafts incorporating revisions, budget (partial)
1979 Supplementary proposal
1979-1980 - drafts, budget
1980-1981 - proposal w/o budget, several versions of budget with revisions
Publications
CREA
Articles and papers by CREA staff
Bibliographies
CREA newsletter (continued as CREA-tivity in New York) 1976-1981
CREA-tivity in New York 1981
Federal Register Review 1977-1981
See also Reports: By CREA: Federal Register Review evaluation
"Learning to Read Should Make Sense" undated
Professional Development series 1978
"A Research Study Aimed at the Adaptation of Tasks for the Measurement of Logical Judgment in Adults" undated
Miscellaneous - brochures etc
Non-CREA
Articles and papers
Miscellaneous
Reports
About CREA
Internal reports 1978-1980
Progress reports
Quarterly 1976-1981 (2 folders)
Annual 1979, 1980
Final Evaluations
Excerpts 1975-1977
1975-1976
1976-1977
1978-1979
1979-1980 - draft appendices (2 folders)
1979-1980 (2 folders)
Final Expenditure Report (Form FA-10-F) 1975-1976
Final reports
1977-1978
1978-1979
By CREA
"Clearinghouse Resources for Educators of Adults 1975-1979" - report with drafts (2 folders)
"Comparative Study of the CREA: Two-Year Existence" 1978
"CREA Needs Assessment: A Report on User Needs in New York State" 1980
See also Administrative files: Needs assessment
"CREA Through 1983: A Middle-Range Plan" 1980
"Designing a Comprehensive Professional Development Program for Educators of Adults: The CREA Experience" [1978?]
"Evaluation Report on the Inventory Conducted by the Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults Collection" undated
Federal Register Review evaluation 1979
See also Publications: CREA: Federal Register Review
"Formative Evaluation of CREA" undated
"Older Adults Educational Interest Survey" 1979
"Project Evaluation FY 80/81" 1981
"Proposed CREA Participation in New York State 310 Project Dissemination" 1979
"Third Quarter Program Review FY 81/82” 1981
Unidentified report (draft) 1976
Unidentified draft/notes 1978

Return to top