Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Rollin Crampton Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Crampton, Rollin McNeil, 1886-1970.
Title: Rollin Crampton Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1945-1964
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American painter, sculptor (1886-1970). Copies of letters received, 1952-1964; exhibition notices and photographs of work; manuscript 'Laws of Proportion', 1964; also published materials.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Rollin Crampton (1886-1970) was an American painter and illustrator known for his geometric abstractions.

Born in New Haven, Connecticut, Crampton studied at Yale University School of Fine Arts and won a scholarship from the Art Student's League. In 1936 he was appointed mural supervisor for the New York City Art Project. He was the recipient of two Purchase Prizes (SUNY New Paltz and Lousiana State University); his work was exhibited at museums and galleries across the country (including the Museum of Modern Art) and is in the permanent collections of the Whitney Museum of American Art and the Albright Gallery.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Rollin Crampton Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and published material.

Biographical material contains a biographical sketch by Crampton for the Program Director of the Longview Foundation.

Correspondence is incoming only; the majority are photostats, not originals. Included in the photostats are letters from art critic Clement Greenberg and artist Jackson Pollock.

Subject files contains exhibit notices, a genealogy of Mrs. Crampton, and photographs of Crampton, his work, and others.

Manuscripts contains a one-page manuscript entitled "Laws of proportion."

Published material consists of a newspaper and magazine clippings about Crampton and his work.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than one hundred painters, illustrators, and other artists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Crampton, Rollin McNeil, 1886-1970 -- Archives.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American.
Painting, Modern -- 20th century -- United States.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Rollin Crampton Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Rollin Crampton, 1964-1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Apr 1967
Revision history: 12 Jan 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographcal material
Box 1 Letter
Correspondence
Box 1 E-R 1952, 1954, 1960-1961, 1964, undated
Box 1 Greenberg, Clement 1960 - photostat
Box 1 Pollock, Jackson undated - letter about Crampton; photostat
Box 1 Unidentified 1952-1954, undated - photostat
Subject files
Box 1 Exhibit notices 1945, 1946, 1948, 1951, 1954, 1956, 1959-1960, undated
Box 1 Genealogy of wife undated
Photographs
Box 1 of Crampton undated
Box 1 of others undated
Box 1 of Crampton's work undated (2 folders)
Manuscripts
Box 1 "Laws of proportion" 1964
Published material
Magazine articles
Box 1 about Crampton and others, Art Digest 1959
Box 1 Photocopies 1954, 1959-1960, undated
Box 1 Newspaper, Hue and Cry 1945
Newspaper clippings
Box 1 about Crampton and others 1951, 1960, undated
Box 1 Photocopies 1958-1960, undated

Return to top