Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Council of Europe Adult Education Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Council of Europe.
Title: Council of Europe Adult Education Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1966-1974
Quantity: 0.3 linear ft.
Abstract: Reports from various Council of Europe committees relating to adult and continuing education
Language: English, French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

"Founded in 1949, the Council of Europe seeks to develop throughout Europe common and democratic principles based on the European Convention on Human Rights and other reference texts on the protection of individuals."
[from the Council's website, http://www.coe.int/T/e/Com/about_coe]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Council of Europe Adult Education Collection consists of reports from several different Council committees relating to adult and continuing education.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Reports are arranged in alphabetical order by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections of both individuals and organizations, relating to adult education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. The library's circulating collection also has substantial adult education holdings; please refer to the Classic Catalog for a complete listing of cataloged items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Council of Europe. Committee for Higher Education and Research
Council of Europe. Committee for Out-of-School Education and Cultural Development.
Council of Europe. Committee for Out-of-School Education.
Council of Europe. Council for Cultural Co-operation.

Subjects

Adult education -- Audio-visual aids.
Adult education -- Research.
Adult education -- Study and teaching.
Degrees, Academic -- Research.
Occupational training -- Europe.
Television in education.
Vocational training -- Europe.

Genres and Forms

Reports.

Occupations

Adult educators.
Research.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Council of Europe Adult Education Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from circulating collection.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 19 Mar 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Reports
Box 1 Adult education theory and practice 1974
Box 1 Conceptual and technical problems of long-range educational planning 1974
Box 1 Equivalence of diplomas, degrees and certificates 1972
Box 1 Evaluation des systemes multi-media 1974
Box 1 Feasibility study in the collection of adult education statistics 1974
Box 1 International exchange of television programmes for schools: Legal and economic problems 1966
Box 1 Polyvalent vocational training 1971
Box 1 Recension de recherches sur les media audiovisuels pour adultes 1974
Box 1 Le role d l'enseignement par correspondance dans les systemes de formation multi-media 1974

Return to top