Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Central New York Transportation Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Central New York Transportation Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1801-1868
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of ephemera relating to transportation in and around central New York (Erie Canal, railroads, etc)
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Central New York (often abbreviated "CNY") is a term used to broadly describe the central region of New York State, roughly including the counties of Cayuga, Cortland, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Tompkins, and Herkimer. Towns, villages and cities in the area include Auburn, Cortland, Oneida, Rome, Sherrill, Utica, Syracuse, Fulton, Oswego, Ithaca, Cazenovia, and Seneca Falls. The Central New York Military Tract, land reserved from soldiers of the American Revolution, was located here, and many towns derived from the tracts have classical names.

The borders of Central New York are not precisely defined, however. The core of the region consists of Onondaga County, Cayuga County, Oswego County and Madison County. Tompkins County and Cortland County are often considered part of New York's "Southern Tier" region, while Oneida County and Herkimer County are often considered part of the "Mohawk Valley" region.

In 2009 the region had a population of about 1.1 million.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Central New York Transportation Collection is a small collection of ephemera -- petitions, deeds, letters, etc -- relating to transportation in and near Central New York.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to local history. For a complete list, please refer to the the SCRC Subject Index . In particular, see also the Central New York Trade Catalogs and Business Ephemera, Central New York Cultural Ephemera, and Central New York Local History collections. There are also a number of collections relating to railroads in the Northeast; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a full listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corning, Erastus, 1794-1872

Corporate Bodies

First Company of the Great Western Turnpike Road.

Subjects

Canals -- New York (State)
Chenango Turnpike Road (N.Y.)
Roads -- New York (State)
Tariff -- Law and legislation.
Toll roads -- New York (State)
Transportation--New York (State)

Places

Albion (N.Y.) -- History.
Camden (N.Y.) -- History.
Chenango (N.Y.) -- History.
Rochester (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Minutes.
Newspapers.
Petitions.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Central New York Transportation Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, various.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 29 Jul 2009
Revision history: 7 Dec 2009 - additions (MRC); 8 Jan 2010 - additions (MRC); 6 Oct 2011 - additions (MRC); 8 Sep 2014 - additions (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Business records
Oversize 1 Canal Board 1866
Oversize 1 Chenango Turnpike 1801-1810 - meeting minutes; indenture; memoranda; Governor's permissions to survey and to erect gates, signed by Morgan Lewis and Daniel D. Tompkins respectively
Oversize 1 Mohawk Turnpike Bridge Company 1802 - receipt
Ephemera
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous 1827, 1849, 1854, 1856, 1868 - includes broadside/poster of rates for "Ogdensburg & Lake Champlain Rail Road Merchandise Tariff!" with distances and classifications of material

Return to top