Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection
Inclusive Dates: ca. 1875-1946
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Miscellaneous printed material and correspondence relating to cultural life in Central New York. Theatres, clubs, musical performances, etc.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection contains miscellaneous printed material and correspondence relating to cultural life in Central New York, including musical performances, lectures, theatres, clubs and hobbies.

Individuals of interest represented in the collection include Israel Zangwill, a Russian Jewish author, and Charlie Brown, a local salesman and musician who led his own dance orchestra for many years. Among the institutions represented are Hamilton College, Cortland County Teachers' Institute, Madison University (later Colgate University), and many others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically within each series.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Brown, Charles F.
Roddy, Edith J.
Zangwill, Israel, 1864-1926.

Corporate Bodies

Dauber's Club.
Syracuse University Flying Club.

Subjects

Theater -- United States -- History -- 20th century.

Places

Cortland (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Societies and clubs.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Membership cards.
Photographs.
Programs.
Scrapbooks.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Core collection pf theatre material purchased with funds from Library Associates.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 1 Nov 2007
Revision history: 26 Mar 2008 - adds (MRC); 10 Jul 2008 - adds (MRC); 3 Dec 2008 - additions (MRC); 19 Mar 2009 - additions (MRC); 19 Oct 2009 - additions (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Zangwill, Israel - author
Printed material
Oversize 1 Anti-war rally poster
Box 1 Bastable Theatre
Box 1 Charlie Brown (bands) - scrapbook of clippings; also includes some correspondence
Box 1 Crescent Theatre
Box 1 Empire Theatre
Box 1 Grand Opera House
Box 1 Syracuse University Flying Club - also includes some correspondence and a ledger with minutes of the meeting
Box 1 Temple Theatre
Box 1 Valley Theatre
Box 2 Wieting Opera House (2 folders)
Box 2 Miscellaneous (2 folders)

Return to top