Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Hal Clement Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Clement, Hal, 1922-2003
Title: Hal Clement Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1953-1970
Quantity: 2.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American author, science fiction short story writer and novelist. Real name: Harry Clement Stubbs. Includes correspondence, typescript drafts, revisions, and manuscripts of articles, novels, short stories, and speeches.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Born Harry Clement Stubbs, Hal Clement was an American science fiction author, writing primarily "hard" science fiction short stories and novels. He graduated from Harvard University in 1943 with a B.S. in astronomy, having published his first short story the year before. Clement served with the 8th Air Force in World War II and flew 35 combat missions over Europe; after the war, he served in the United States Air Force Reserve and eventually retired with the rank of colonel. He taught chemistry and astronomy for many years at Milton Academy in Milton, Massachusetts. He also painted astronomy-oriented artworks under the name George Richard.

Clement was named a Grand Master by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) in 1998, and in 1996 he retroactively received a 1946 Hugo Award for his short story "Uncommon Sense." The Hal Clement Award for Young Adults for Excellence in Children's Science Fiction Literature is presented in his memory each year at the World Science Fiction Convention (better known as Worldcon).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hal Clement Papers includes correspondence, typescript drafts, revisions, and manuscripts of articles, novels, short stories, and speeches.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of science fiction and fantasy authors as well as an extensive collection of early science fiction and fantasy magazines and 'zines and a large book collection. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of manuscript collections; for more information on the magazines, 'zines, and books please contact the repository listed above.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Clement, Hal, 1922- Archives.
Stubbs, Harry C. (Harry Clement), 1922-

Subjects

American literature, 20th century.
Authors, American.
Novelists, American.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Fiction.
Manuscripts for publication.
Speeches.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hal Clement Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Harry C. Stubbs, 1968, 1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 11 Oct 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top