Finding Aids
printer friendly version

William Claire Collection Relating to Alan Swallow

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Claire, William F.
Title: William Claire Collection Relating to Alan Swallow
Inclusive Dates: 1942-1990
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Two copies of Publishing in the West: Alan Swallow, edited by William Claire, along with a collection of material pertaining to the creation and production of the book, including correspondence, manuscripts, galleys, reviews, notes, clippings, etc.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Alan Swallow (1915-1966) was an American professor and publisher. A graduate of the University of Wyoming (1937) and Louisiana State University (1939), he taught English at several universities before becoming the founder and owner of his own publishing firm, Alan Swallow, Publisher. As publisher, he focused on poetry and fiction of contemporary writers, both well-known and lesser-known; he also published several collections of his own poems.

William Claire was the founding editor and publisher of the literary magazine Voyages, a Yaddo and MacDowell scholar, and a Rockefeller Foundation resident in Bellagio, Italy. His essays and reviews have appeared in over 50 major publications. [Adapted from Georgetown University's finding aid for the William F. Claire Papers.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Claire Collection Relating to Alan Swallow consists of correspondence, printed material, writings and a small amount of miscellany, all pertaining to Claire's Publishing in the West: Alan Swallow.

Correspondence includes letters to Claire from Jene Lyons (publisher) and Robert Dickey (founder of Poetry Bag), as well as photocopies of letters from Swallow, presumably for use in Claire's book.

Printed material consists of two copies of Publishing in the West: Alan Swallow, along with the manuscript, galleys, and reviews.

Writings contains writings by Swallow and about Swallow, some of which may have been used in the book. All are either eprints or photocopies.

A small amount of Miscellany completes the collection -- a photocopy of one of Swallow's catalogs, a typed list of the book's proposed contents, and a few others items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by name or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Claire, William F.
Dickey, R. P. (Robert Preston), 1932-2002.
Lyon, Jene.
Pauker, John.
Stanford, Ann.
Swallow, Alan, 1915-1966.

Corporate Bodies

Alan Swallow, Publisher.
Lightning Tree, Inc. (Santa Fe, N.M.)

Associated Titles

Publishing in the West : Alan Swallow : some letters and commentaries / edited, with an introd. by William F. Claire.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Poets, American.
Publishers and publishing -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Book reviews.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Essays.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Poems.

Occupations

Authors.
Biographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Claire Collection Relating to Alan Swallow,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 9 Sep 2015
Revision history: 27 Feb 2017 - additions (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Dickley, R. P. 1975
Box 1 Lyon, Jene (Lightning Tree Inc.) 1973-1976, 1986-1987, 1990
Box 1 Pauker, John 1967
Box 1 Princeton University Library 1973
Box 1 Schevill, James 1968 [?]
Box 1 Stanford, Ann 1975
Box 1 Swallow, Alan 1948-1951, 1963, undated - photocopies of letters used in Publishing in the West (below)
Box 1 Swallow, Mrs. Alan 1967 - by an attorney on her behalf
Box 1 The Swallow Press 1968, undated
Wagner, Durrett
See The Swallow Press.
Box 1 Yueh, Norma 1968 - includes letter to Ana├»s Nin
Box 1 Miscellaneous, A-Z
Box 1 Miscellaneous, first name only, A-Z undated
Printed material
Box 1 Book reviews, Publishing in the West : Alan Swallow [1974]
Box 1 Publishing in the West : Alan Swallow - early manuscript, with working title "Some Letters of Alan Swallow"
Box 1 Publishing in the West : Alan Swallow - galleys
Box 1 Publishing in the West : Alan Swallow 1974 - hardcover
Box 1 Publishing in the West : Alan Swallow 1974 - softcover
Box 1 Miscellaneous - newsletter, undated catalog of Alan Swallow, Publisher, Swallow's obituary,
Writings
Box 1 About Swallow
This folder contains essays, articles, and poems by Gus Blaisdell, Cleanth Brooks, [Robert?] Chrisman, J. V. Cunningham, Richard Elman, Vi Gale, Mark Harris, Weilliam Hogan, Lewis Nichols, Prairie Press, Bobbi Sherman, William Stafford, Jim Wood, and Norma Yueh, as well as Swallow's obituary. All items are either photocopies or reprints.
Box 1 By Swallow
This folder contains the following: "Story of a publisher," "The tenth year: An editorial," Yvor Winters: A publisher's comment," "Epitaph" (excerpt from letter to friend), and an interview of author Vardis Fisher. All are photocopies, no originals.
Miscellaneous
Box 1 Miscellaneous handwritten notes

Return to top