Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Minna Citron Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Citron, Minna, 1896-1991
Title: Minna Citron Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1932-1965
Quantity: .5 linear feet
Abstract: Correspondence, 1946-1965; typescript essays; exhibition catalogs, invitations, and posters; photographs of Minna Citron and her work; newspaper clippings; and publicity
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American painter, printmaker.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Minna Citron Papers encompasses the correspondence, artwork, writings and memorabilia of the American painter and graphic artist (1896-1991). Although revealing little of her personal life, the collection documents Citron's artistic career from the 1930s through the mid-sixties.

Correspondence includes incoming and outgoing business letters, a few from the 1940s followed by a gap during the 1950s. Resuming in 1961 and continuing through 1965, the Correspondence focuses on Minna Citron's associations with art galleries (Ferdinand Roten Galleries, Inc., Aspen Art Gallery), educational institutions (Elmira College), museums (Whitney Museum of American Art, Roanoke Fine Arts Center), professional organizations (American Color Print Society, American Federation of Arts) and public libraries which sponsored her lectures or held exhibitions of her work.

Artwork includes an original etching for a bookplate, a partial inventory of Minna Citron's paintings and graphics, and black-and-white photographs of her work. Arranged by title, Writings feature manuscript essays and speeches as well as two articles, "Communication Between Spectator and Artist" (College Art Journal, Winter 1955), and: "The Uncharted Course" (Impression, Fall 1958).

Memorabilia contains awards, personal photographs, printed material, publicity, and reviews and comments about Minna Citron's work. Printed material includes clippings (1932-1965), exhibition catalogs (1930s-1960s) and posters for Minna Citron's one-woman and group shows.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Citron, Minna, 1896-, Archives

Subjects

Art, American
Art, American, 20th century
Engravers, United States
Engraving, 20th century, United States
Painters, United States
Painting, American
Painting, Modern, 20th century, United States
Printmakers, United States
Women artists, United States
Women painters, United States

Genres and Forms

Clippings
Correspondence
Exhibition catalogs
Manuscripts for publication
Photographs

Occupations

Artists
Engravers
Painters
Printmakers

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Minan Citron Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Minna Citron

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Nov 1992
Revision history: 2 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Biographical material
Correspondence
Correspondence 1940s, 1961-1965 (3 folders)
Artwork
Box 1 Bookplate of Louis N. Messing
Box 1 Inventory (partial) of Minna Citron's paintings, graphics
Box 1 Photographs
Writings
Box 1 Manuscript essays, speeches (by title) - typescripts
Box 1 Published articles
Memorabilia
Box 1 Awards
Box 1 Photographs (personal)
Printed material
Box 1 Clippings 1932-1965, undated
Exhibition catalogs
Box 1 One-woman shows 1930s-1960s (3 folders)
Box 1 Group shows 1940s-1960s (5 folders)
Box 1 Miscellaneous undated
Oversize 1 Exhibition posters (8)
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Box 1 Publicity
Box 1 Reviews, comments

Return to top