Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Houston Stewart Chamberlain Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Chamberlain, Houston Stewart, 1855-1927.
Title: Houston Stewart Chamberlain Letter
Inclusive Dates: 1895
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: Letter from Houston Stewart Chamberlain, British (later German) author of books on political philosophy and on composer Richard Wagner, to W. Ashton Ellis, Wagner biographer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Houston Stewart Chamberlain (1855-1927) was a British-born author; he wrote on political philosophy, natural science, and German composer Richard Wagner. Chamberlain lived in Germany from his late teens or early twenties onward and became a German citizen in 1916; in his later life he wrote extensively in support of his adopted country and its policy of Nordic supremacy.

W. Ashton Ellis was a biographer of German composer Richard Wagner, and author of the exhaustive multi-volume biography, Life of Richard Wagner.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Houston Stewart Chamberlain Letter consists of a single brief letter from Chamberlain to Ellis, regarding "infamous behaviour" of editors of the Vienna Neue Musikalische Press and Cyrill Kistler. The letter was found in Syracuse University Library's copy of The Meister, of which Ellis was the editor. The copy was Ellis' personal copy.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Chamberlain, Houston Stewart, 1855-1927.
Ellis, William Ashton, 1852-1919.
Kistler, Cyrill, 1848-1907.

Subjects

Music -- Germany -- 19th century -- History and criticism.
Music publishing -- Germany -- History -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Biographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Houston Stewart Chamberlain Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Music to Rare Books, 1975.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 26 Jul 2011
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 662 To W. Ashton Ellis 28 Jun 1895

Return to top