Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Manfred A. Carter Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Carter, Manfred Amos.
Title: Manfred A. Carter Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1905-1965
Quantity: 18 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American clergyman, author, poet. Biographical and family material, correspondence, memorabilia, including cartoons, church bulletins, financial documents, original drawings, photographs, school and seminary papers, and scrapbooks. Writings include an inventory of prose works, a reviews scrapbook, articles, editorials, fiction, lyrics, and manuscript poems arranged chronologically in notebooks, dated pre-1940-1961. Also included are a large collection of chronologically arranged sermons as well as children's sermons. There are also a number of essays arranged in titled notebooks.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Manfred Amos Carter (1897-1971) was a Methodist minister who received his education at Wesleyan University and Boston University. He was also a published poet and author whose work appeared in religious periodicals, various newspapers and small poetry magazines.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Manfred A. Carter Papers consists of biographical and family material, correspondence, memorabilia, and writings.

Biographical and family material includes miscellaneous material about Carter and his family. Family correspondence is interfiled in Correspondence, which includes both incoming and outgoing.

Photographs, school and seminary papers, financial documents, a scrapbook, and miscellaneous other items comprise Memorabilia

The bulk of the collection is Carter's Writings, in both manuscript and published forms. This includes articles, editorials, fiction, lyrics, poetry, sermons, and speeches, as well as several notebooks containing manuscripts of various pieces.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Within each series material is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Carter, Manfred Amos -- Archives.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Clergy -- United States.
Clergy as authors.
Clergy, Writings of.
Poets, American -- 20th century.
Sermons, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Editorials.
Notebooks.
Photographs.
Poems.
Scrapbooks.
Sermons.

Occupations

Authors.
Clergy.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Manfred A. Carter Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: ca. 1990
Revision history: 8 Apr 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical and family material
Box 1 Miscellaneous (non-correspondence)
Family correspondence is interfiled in Correspondence section.
Correspondence
Box 1 Correspondence (11 folders)
Box 2 Correspondence (12 folders)
Box 3 Correspondence (12 folders)
Box 4 Correspondence (13 folders)
Box 5 Correspondence (12 folders)
Memorabilia
Artwork
Cartoons
Box 6 Scrapbooks (2 items)
Box 6 Tearsheets
Box 6 Original drawings
Box 6 Painting inventories
Box 7 Church bulletins (2 folders and 2 scrapbooks)
Box 7 Financial documents
Box 8 Photographs (2 folders and 1 scrapbook)
Box 8 School and seminary papers (4 folders)
Box 8 Scrapbook (general)
Box 8 Miscellanea
Writings (in manuscript)
Box 9 Inventory of prose works
Box 9 Reviews scrapbook
Box 9 Articles (some miscellaneous manuscripts are interfiled) (6 folders)
Box 10 Articles (8 folders)
Box 11 Articles (9 folders)
Box 12 Editorials
Box 12 Fiction (4 scrapbooks of short fiction)
Box 13 Fiction: arranged by Carter into Adventure, Crime, Fantasy, Humor (4 scrapbooks)
Box 14 Fiction: arranged by Carter into Love (2), Quality, Western, Miscellaneous (5 scrapbooks)
Box 14 Lyrics
Poetry
Box 15 Poetry inventories (2 folders)
Box 15 Manuscripts (10 folders)
Notebooks, chronologically arranged by Carter
Box 16 1940 and before
Box 16 1941-1942
Box 16 1943-1946
Box 17 1947-1948
Box 17 1949-1951
Box 17 1952-1954
Box 18 1955-1957
Box 18 1958-1961
Box 19 Undated (2 notebooks)
Sermons
Box 19 Notebooks (2 notebooks)
Box 19 Sermons in Guilford
Box 19 Children's sermons
Box 20 Sermons (chronological sequence) (9 folders)
Box 21 Sermons (chronological sequence) (7 folders)
Box 22 Sermons (chronological sequence) (11 folders)
Box 23 Sermons (chronological sequence) (6 folders)
Box 23 Sermons (numerical sequence), 1-120 (5 folders)
Box 24 Sermons (numerical sequence), 121-260 (6 folders)
Box 24 Selected sermons
Box 25 Talks (9 folders)
Titled notebook manuscripts, as arranged by Carter
Box 26 "Christian Sensitivity"
Box 26 "Coyotes"
Box 26 "Earth Windows"
Box 27 "The House of Art"
Box 27 "How ... the Educated"
Box 27 "Learning from Death"
Box 27 "Like a Tree Planted"
Box 28 "Moving Morals"
Box 28 "Paul Brown's Life"
Box 28 "Roots of Crime"
Box 28 "Selected Citizens"
Box 29 "Spring Minds for Thoughtful Ministers"
Box 29 "Starters 1-4"
Box 29 "Starters 5-6"
Box 29 "Starters 6"
Box 29 "Starters 7-12"
Box 30 "Substance Poetry"
Box 30 "Time Windows"
Box 30 "The Unquiet Heart"
Box 30 Unidentified manuscript notes
Writings (as published)
Box 31 A-Z, alphabetical by title
Box 32 Clippings notebook of published poetry before 1962
Box 32 Clippings of published prose (2 folders)
Box 32 Journal contributions
Box 32 Miscellaneous

Return to top