Finding Aids
printer friendly version

William Canfield Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Canfield, Bil, 1920-
Title: William Canfield Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: circa 1964-1966
Quantity: 1.75 linear ft.
Abstract: 37 original editorial cartoons.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Newton Canfield (1920- ), professionally known as Bil Canfield, is an American editorial cartoonist and illustrator.

William Newton Canfield was born in Orange, New Jersey on October 8, 1920. Canfield studied at the American School of Design in New York City from 1940 until 1941 and then served in World War II. As a Boatswain's Mate First Class in the Navy, Canfield, aboard the USS Massachusetts, drew cartoons for the ship's semi-monthly newspaper, The Bay Stater. Canfield was hired at the Morning Telegraph and Racing Form where he was a sports cartoonist until 1946.

Canfield then took a job at the Newark News as a sports cartoonist and staff artist where one of his influences, Bill Crawford worked. The News ceased publication in 1972 and Canfield became the editorial cartoonist at the Newark Star Ledger. While at the Star Ledger, the subjects of Canfield’s daily cartoons closely matched themes in the paper’s editorials.

During this time he also contributed editorial cartoons to the Red Bank Register under the name “Lev”. Canfield retired from the Star Ledger in 1995 but continued to draw cartoons for the Toms River Observer in Ocean County, New Jersey.

Canfield’s cartoons have been exhibited and included as illustrations in several books. Bil Canfield was inducted into the New Jersey Literary Hall of Fame in 1988.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Canfield Cartoons contain 37 original editorial cartoons circa 1964-1966. None of the cartoons are dated and dimensions vary. Canfield worked in ink, crayon and blue pencil on illustration board.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged alphabetically by caption.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Bill Crawford Cartoons for additional editorial cartoons from the Newark News.

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Canfield, Bil, 1920-

Associated Titles

Newark News.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- New Jersey.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Political cartoons.
Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- ) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Taxation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images).
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Canfield Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William Canfield, 1964 and 1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MS
Date: 24 May 1968
Revision history: 3 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 5 Oct 2009 - revised inventory and added index, revised bio (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
Oversize  1, Folder  1 Captions A-G undated - And Don't Give Me That I-Told-You-So Bit!; And This, Sir, Is The Last Lap!; By The Way, Whatever Became Of What's-His-Name?; Dear, I Couldn't Have Done Better Myself!; Easy Man, It's Just A Mirage!; Gate Crasher; Goal Line Stand; Guess What
Oversize  1, Folder  2 Captions H-I undated - Hang On, Dear… Only A Month To Go!; He's Just Been Assigned To Our Embassy In Peking!; Hi! If They're Not Going To Use Him, Why's He Warming Up?; I Know, Son, But She's A Great Cook!; I'm Warning You - Watch Your Speeding!; I Wish You Wouldn't Do That!
Oversize  1, Folder  3 Captions L-N undated - Latest Rungs; L.B.J. Was Right, Sarge, No Miracle Here!; Life, Liberty, Etc. - Mississippi Style; Looks Like A Longer Truce In This War!; Make A Wish… ; Man, Have We Got Work To Do!; Meanwhile Next Door…; Nations' Heritage; No, As You Can See, Nothing New!
Oversize  1, Folder  4 Captions O-R undated - OK…Two Weeks In The Country Or A Day At The Fair!; OK…Which One Did It?; The Outcast; Passing The Baton; P-E-A-C-E…What That Mean, Joe?; P-S-S-T…New Money!; Remember Me?
Oversize  1, Folder  5 Captions S-W undated - Seems There's All Kinds Of Job Opportunities!; Stop…In The Name Of Constitutional Government!; Suppose Our Being Around Affects Their Attitude?; There Must Be A Higher Road; Well, At Least We Can Be Thankful 1964's Over!; You Were Right, Dad, A College Education Certainly Pays Off!

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.

B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.

Return to top