Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Coalition of Adult Education Organizations
Title:	Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) Records
Inclusive Dates:	1964-1991
Bulk Dates:	1969-1985
Quantity:	15 linear ft.
Abstract:	Records include Board of Directors’ minutes, agendas, memoranda, and reports; by-laws and articles of incorporation; committee files; conference programs; correspondence; drafts; newsletters, brochures and directories; and resolutions. Included are records from the Galaxy Conference (1969) and Wingspread Conference (1976); records of the Adult Education Action Council; and materials from UNESCO and the International Council for Adult Education, of which the Coalition is a founding member. Organizations represented include the Adult Education Association, Adult Student Personnel Association, American Association of Community and Junior Colleges, American Society for Training and Development, Association of University Evening Colleges, W.K. Kellogg Foundation, National Association of Public Continuing and Adult Education, National University Extension Association, and United States Association of Evening Students. Correspondents include Leonard P. Aries, Ray J. Ast, Alexander N. Charters, James R. Dorland, Norman D. Kurland, Charles J. Longacre, Constance J. McQueen, David Puddington, Yvonne K. Rappaport, Fran M. Spinelli, Hamilton Stillwell, Clarence H. Thompson, Willard L. Thompson, and Sandra Timmerman.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) had its beginnings in the early 1960s as adult educators recognized the need for greater interaction among adult education organizations. Its purposes from the beginning have been 1) to provide a forum for the discussion of issues, 2) to encourage cooperation within the field, and 3) to gain greater support from both the government and the general public. Originally known as the Ad Hoc Committee of Adult Education Organizations (later as the Committee of Adult Education Organizations), its first meetings resulted in the document, "Imperatives for Action," and the 1969 Galaxy Conference, at which the "Imperatives" were adopted as the charter document for membership in the newly created Coalition of Adult Education Organizations. Formal incorporation was realized in 1973. There was, in these formative years, an unsuccessful attempt to create a distinct political action arm known as the Adult Education Action Council (AEAC).

In 1976, another conference was held at the Wingspread Conference Center, from which emerged the revised "Imperatives for Policy and Action in Lifelong Learning." It was widely disseminated and helped to heighten the public's awareness of and interest in lifelong learning.

The CAEO has been recognized for its impact on federal legislative actions. Other accomplishments include the successful petition for an adult and continuing education section of the ERIC clearinghouse and an active international presence through both UNESCO and the International Council for Adult Education (ICAE), of which the CAEO is a founding member.

The CAEO's primary value, however, has been in the improved cooperation among its members, enhancing the identification and clarification of issues in adult education, and promoting activities to support continuing education.

More details concerning the CAEO's history and activities are available in the following two documents found in the collection:

Glancy, Keith E., compiler. Coalition of Adult Education Organizations, 1964-1989: An Index of Actions and Materials. 1990. [Box 1]

Policicchio, Armand. The Coalition of Adult Education Organizations: An Historical and a Network Perspective. Ph.D. diss., University of Pittsburgh, 1984. [Box 15]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The records of the CAEO have been divided into several series to reflect the organization's filing practices. A complete synopsis of these series can be found immediately following this introduction. Inclusive dates for the collection are 1964-1991, the bulk dates, 1969-1985.

The series on CAEO Business is the largest, encompassing several subseries whose contents are self-explanatory. A few comments need to be made concerning the Minutes and Board of Directors subseries.

Minutes: This series remains relatively intact as received. It is a succinct record of CAEO activities, and includes meeting minutes, resolutions, important documents and membership directories.

Board of Directors: Although it includes most of the same material as the Minutes series, the Board of Directors series also provides the supporting material, agendas, correspondence and handouts which pertain to the individual meetings. Most of the materials pertaining to the Galaxy and Wingspread Conferences have been removed to a separate Conference subseries.

Most materials, including the Committees subseries, are filed chronologically, however, some materials are arranged alphabetically by subject.

Within alphabetical arrangements, proper names are filed by last name although they appear in direct order, and folders on a single project or organization are kept together and presented chronologically.

Adult Education Action Council contains correspondence, minutes, articles of incorporation and other material related to the Council.

Organizations, councils and commissions contains material relating to a wide range of organizations relating to adult education. Organizations represented here include Adult Education Association, Adult Student Personnel Association (ASPA), American Association for Adult and Continuing Education, American Council on Education (ACE), American Society for Training and Development (ASTD) , Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC), Council of Graduate Schools, Kellogg Foundation, National Advisory Council on Adult Education (NACAE), National Association of Black Adult Educators (NABAE), National Association for Public Continuing and Adult Education (NAPCAE), National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH), Project Literacy U.S. (PLUS), Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults, and several U.S. government departments and offices.

International organizations contains general information from the International Council for Adult Education (ICAE) and UNESCO, and conference material from six international adult education conferences

Papers and reports contains various internal CAEO reports, most self-reflective in nature (e.g. "CAEO Retrospective: The First Ten Years" or "CAEO Through the Years").

Miscellaneous contains clippings, dissertation material, and other assorted items, from both individuals and organizations, while Pamphlets, newsletters and flyers consists of short printed material relating to adult education, including Adult and Continuing Education Today and Lifelong Learning.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged either alphabetically or chronologically as appropriate. The method of arrangement for each series is given with the series descriptions in the inventory below.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A number of pamphlets were removed and transferred to the Adult Education Pamphlets Collection. Also removed were the following publications, which can be found in the general collection (refer to the Classic Catalog ):

Learning. Vol. 4, No.2. Toronto: Canadian Association for Adult Education, 1985.

Literacy Discussion. Vol.?, No.4. Tehran, Iran: International Institute for Adult Literacy Methods, 1976.

Liveright, A.A. and DeCrow, Roger. New Directions in Degree Programs Especially for Adults. Chicago: Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, 1963.

National Advisory Council on Adult Education. A Target Population in Adult Education: Report of the National Advisory Council on Adult Education. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1974.

National Advisory Council on Extension and Continuing Education. A Measure of Success: Federal Support for Continuing Education: 7th Annual Report and Recommendations of the National Advisory Council on Extension and Continuing Education. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1973.

National Education Association of the United States. Combating Discrimination in the Schools: Legal Remedies and Guidelines. Washington, D.C.: National Education Association, 1973.

Thompson, Thomas, ed. The Schooling of Native America. Washington, D.C.: American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, 1978.

Verner, Coolie, ed. Administration of Adult Education. Adult Education: Theory and Method, Vol. 7. Washington, D.C.: Adult Education Association of the Q.S.A., 1965.

White, Thurman James. The Promise and Pragmatism of Adult Education. Syracuse, N.Y.: Syracuse University, 1979.

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of all adult education collections. In particular, see the ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education Records, Galaxy Conference Records, Clarence H. Thompson Papers. and Willard Thompson Papers.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

### (MARC 541 and/or 561)

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EEA
Date: Jun 1991
Revision history: 21 Jun 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 23 May 2018 - Leadership Directories added, Box 12 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Indexes
Box 1		Index of actions and materials 1964-1989
Box 16		Inventory of Folder Titles as Received by George Arents Library 1991

	CAEO business
Box 1		Minutes 1964-1990
		Board of directors (chron.)
Box 1			Ad Hoc Committee of Adult Education Organizations 1966-1967
Box 1			Committee of Adult Education Organizations 1968-1969
Box 1			Board of Directors 1970
Box 1			Sept. 28 1970
Box 1			Jan. 15 1971
Box 1			June 7-8 1971
Box 1			Sept. 26-27 1971
Box 1			Feb. 3-4 1972
Box 1			March 20-21 1972
Box 1			June 15-16 1972
Box 2			Nov. 9-10 1972
Box 2			Agenda Items 1973
Box 2			March 1-2 1973
Box 2			June 24-25 1973
Box 2			June 25-26 1973
Box 2			Aug. 15 1973
Box 2			Nov. 14-15 1973
Box 2			ICAE Agenda Materials 1974
Box 2			March 11-12 1974
Box 2			June 1974
Box 2			June 26-27 1974
Box 2			Dec. 5-6 1974
Box 3			Charles Longacre 1974-1975
Box 3			March 12-14 1975
Box 3			June 26-27 1975
Box 3			Dec. 4-6 1975
Box 3			March 11-12 1976
Box 3			June 24-25 1976
Box 3			Institute for Educational Leadership Dec. 4-5 1976
Box 3			Dec. 9-10 1976
Box 3			Possible Agenda Items 1977-1978
Box 3			March 10-11 1977
Box 3			June 23-24 1977
Box 3			Oct. 16-18 1977
Box 3			Feb. 23-24 1978
Box 3			June 22-23 1978
Box 4			Oct 12-13 1978
Box 4			Feb. 22-23 1979
Box 4			June 21-22 1979
Box 4			Charles Longacre 1979-1980
Box 4			Oct. 25-26 1979
Box 4			Frances M. Spinelli 1979-1980
Box 4			Feb. 21-22 1980
Box 4			Presidential Roundtable Feb. 22 1980
Box 4			Tenth Anniversary Meeting -- Presidential Remarks 1980
Box 4			June 5-6 1980
Box 4			Oct. 23-24 1980
Box 4			Dec.(?) 1980
Box 4			March 5-6 1981
Box 5			June 18-19 1981
Box 5			Oct. 22-23 1981
Box 5			Responsibilities and Guidelines 1982
Box 5			March 1-2 1982
Box 5			June 17-18 1982
Box 5			Oct. 7-8 1982
Box 5			Feb. 3-4 1983
Box 5			June 9-10 1983
Box 5			Oct. 6-7 1983
Box 5			Feb. 2-3 1984
Box 5			June 7-8 1984
Box 5			Oct. 18-19 1984
Box 5			Feb. 7-8 1985
Box 5			June 20-21 1985
Box 5			Oct. 24-25 1985
Box 5			Feb. 6-7 1986
Box 5			June 19-20 1986
Box 5			Oct. 9-10 1986
Box 5			Guidelines 1987
Box 5			Feb. 5-6 1987
Box 5			Strategic Planning Feb. 5-6 1987
Box 5			June 18-19 1987
Box 5			Oct. 20-21 1987
Box 5			Mar. 22-23 1988
Box 6			June 16-17 1988
Box 6			Feb. 23-24 1989
Box 6			June 15-16 1989
Box 6			Oct. 26-27 1989
Box 6			Feb. 22-23 1990
		Correspondence (chron.)
Box 6			Correspondence 1966-1974
Box 6			University of D.C. 1974-1975
Box 6			Correspondence 1975-1976
Box 6			Incoming--Constance McQueen 1977
Box 6			Correspondence 1977-1979
Box 7			Charles Longacre 1979-1980
Box 7			Correspondence 1980
Box 7			ICAE 1980
Box 7			Sandra Timmerman 1980-1981
Box 7			Frances Spinelli 1980-1981
Box 7			Correspondence 1981
Box 7			Sandra Timmerman 1981-1982
Box 7			Correspondence 1982
Box 7			Frances Spinelli 1982
Box 7			TV Project 1982-1983
Box 7			Correspondence 1983
Box 7			Frances Spinelli 1983
Box 7			Patrick Mullarney 1983-1984
Box 7			Correspondence 1984-1990
		Committee files (chron.)
Box 7			Advertising Council 1969-1974
Box 7			Executive 1971
Box 7			Advertising Council Project 1971-1975
Box 7			Advertising Council--Proposal Drafts 1972
Box 7			Advertising Council 1972
Box 7			Steering 1972
Box 7			Advertising Council 1972-1973
Box 7			ERIC/AE 1972-1975
Box 7			Steering 1973
Box 7			Executive 1973-1974
Box 7			Public Information 1974
Box 7			Steering Committee on Lifelong Learning 1974(?)
Box 7			Census 1974-1975
Box 7			Committee on Continuing Education 1974-1975
Box 7			Human Rights 1974-1975
Box 7			International Programs 1974-1975
Box 8			Issues Committee--Kurland Papers 1974-1975
Box 8			Legislative 1974-1975
Box 8			Membership 1974-1975
Box 8			Nominating 1974-1975
Box 8			Ways and Means 1974-1975
Box 8			Advertising and Public Information 1975
Box 8			Executive 1975
Box 8			Information Systems 1975
Box 8			Joint Committee to Consider Reorganization 1975
Box 8			Policy Planning and Data Collection 1975
Box 8			Steering 1975
Box 8			International Associates Selection 1976
Box 8			Policy Planning and Data Collection 1976
Box 8			Steering 1976
Box 8			International Programs 1976-1977
Box 8			Ad Hoc Committee on CAEO Constitution and By-Laws 1977-1978
Box 8			Human Rights 1977-1978
Box 8			International Associates 1977-1978
Box 8			Legislative 1977-1978
Box 8			Publicity and Public Relations 1977-1978
Box 8			Calendar Coordination 1978
Box 8			Committee on Continuing Education for Educators of Adults 1978
Box 8			Executive 1978
Box 8			International Associates 1978
Box 8			Membership 1978
Box 8			Nominating 1978
Box 8			Public Policy and Data Collection 1978
Box 8			Data Collection 1978-1980
Box 8			Executive 1979
Box 8			International Associates 1979
Box 8			Executive 1980
Box 8			International Associates 1980
Box 8			Party Platform 1980
Box 8			Department of Education 1980-1981
Box 8			Executive 1981
Box 8			International Associates 1981
Box 8			Nominating 1981
Box 8			Public Information 1981-1982
Box 8			International Associates 1981
Box 9			Committee Assignments 1981-1982
Box 9			Future Directions 1981-1982
Box 9			International Associates 1981-1982
Box 9			Ad Hoc Committee on CAEO Purposes 1982
Box 9			Ad Hoc Committee on Major Issues in Adult Education 1982
Box 9			Executive 1982
Box 9			Future Directions 1982
Box 9			International Associates 1982
Box 9			Committees 1982-1983
Box 9			Fiscal Health 1982-1983
Box 9			Committee on Adult learner 1983
Box 9			Executive 1983
Box 9			By-Laws 1983-1984
Box 9			International Associates 1983-1984
Box 9			Executive 1984
Box 9			International Associates 1984
Box 9			Executive 1985
Box 9			International Associates 1985-1986
Box 9			Future Directions Task Force 1986-1987
Box 9			International Associates 1987-1988
		Membership (chron.)
Box 9			Voting representatives 1970-1975
Box 9			Membership 1972-1981
Box 9			Membership, membership survey 1982-1983
Box 9			Membership 1984
		Legal matters (alphabetical)
Box 9			Archive disposition 1977-1978
Box 9			Articles of Incorporation 1973
Box 9			Articles of Incorporation, revised 1977
Box 9			Constitution and by-laws 1969-1981
Box 9			Incorporation--application 1977
Box 9			Legal counsel--Dorothy Wilson 1977-1979
Box 9			Tax exempt status 1974-1982
Box 9			Tax exempt status--application 1980-1981
Box 9			Tax exempt status--Dorothy Wilson 1980-1981
Box 9			Tax exempt status 1981
Box 9			Taxes--District of Columbia 1974
		Conferences (chron.)
			Galaxy Conference (1969)
Box 10				Planning Materials 1968-?
Box 10				General Information 1969
Box 10				Press Folder 1969
Box 10				Program 1969
Box 10				Robert Allen 1969
Box 10				Speeches 1969
Box 10				Reports 1969-1970
Box 10				Financial Reports 1970
			Wingspread Conference (1976)
Box 10				Johnson Foundation 1974-1977
Box 10				Planning--Mini-Wingspread 1975
Box 10				Background Materials, Notes 1975-1976
Box 10				Pre-Conference Correspondence 1975-1976
Box 10				Pre-Conference Comments on Imperatives for Action 1975-1976
Box 10				Planning Committee 1975-1977
Box 10				Applicants for Coordinator 1976(?)
Box 10				Correspondence--David Puddington 1976
Box 10				Participants--Invitations 1976
Box 10				Participants 1976
Box 10				Participants--non-CAEO 1976
Box 10				Participants--Regrets 1976
Box 10				Minutes, Agendas, Reports 1976
Box 10				Opening Remarks 1976
Box 10				Robert Allen 1976-1977
Box 10				Wingspread Conference 1976
Box 10				Documents 1976-1977
Box 10				Imperatives for Action--Draft Copies 1976
Box 10				Imperatives for Action--1000 Influentials 1976-1977
Box 10				Imperatives for Action--Requests 1976-1977
Box 10				Imperatives for Action--Barasch Synthesis 1977-1978
Box 11				Kellogg Foundation--Corres. 1976-1978
Box 11				Kellogg Foundation--Grant 1976-1978
Box 11				Kellogg Foundation--Proposal Development 1977
Box 11				Kellogg Foundation--Draft Proposal 1977-1978
Box 11				Kellogg Foundation--Draft Proposal--Reactions 1977
Box 11				Kellogg Foundation--Final Report 1977
Box 11				Kellogg Foundation--Grant Proposal 1977
Box 11				Kellogg Foundation--Draft Proposal II--Notes 1978
Box 11				Post-Conference Corres. 1976-1978
Box 11				Wingspread Conference 1977
Box 11				Follow-up 1977
Box 11				Post-Conference Reports 1977
		Legislative activities (chron.)
Box 11			Legislative Activities 1972-1973
Box 11			General Subcommittee on Education--Testimony, March 5 1973
Box 11			General Subcommittee on Education--Testimony, S.1814, June 28 1973
Box 11			Legislative Activities 1974
Box 11			Lifelong Learning Legislation 1974-1976
Box 11			Legislative Representatives--Full Funding 1978-1979
Box 11			Legislative Activities 1981-1984
		Projects (alphabetical)
Box 11			Advertising Council Project 1972-1973
Box 11			China Tour--Proposal 1975
Box 11			Community Education Project 1975-1978
Box 11			Community Education/Lifelong Learning Report 1977-1978
Box 11			ERIC/AE Clearinghouse 1973
Box 11			National Clearinghouse on Adult Education (ERIC/AE) Proposal 1975
Box 11			Staff Funding Proposal 1978
Box 11			TV Project--Grant Proposal 1981
Box 11			TV Project 1982-1983
Box 11			TV Project--Interim Report 1983
Box 11			TV Project--Final Report 1983
Box 11			TV Project--Domestic Policy Association 1983
Box 11			TV Project--PBS Materials 1983
Box 12			TV Project--PBS Materials--Guides and Catalogs 1983
Box 12			Whither CAEO? 1976-1977
		Printed materials (alphabetical)
Box 12			Announcements 1982-1983
Box 12			Brochures 1972-1977
Box 12			Brochures and Stationery 1978-1979
Box 12			Directories, International Associates 1983-1985
Box 12			Leadership Directories and member lists 1972-1982, 1986-1992 (4 folders)
Box 12			Leadership Directory and brochures 1977-1978
Box 12			Leadership Directory information 1977-1986
Box 12			Newsletters, Directory 1974-1976
Box 12			Newsletters 1974-1976
Box 12			Newsletters--"Material not prepared," Winter 1976
Box 12			Newsletters--International Associates 1982-1990
Box 12			Stationery 1976(?)
		Miscellaneous
Box 12			Misc. 1968-1970
Box 12			Misc. 198-?
Box 12			CAEO Award 1974(?)
Box 12			CAEO Award 1979-1981
Box 12			Patricia Cross 1986
Box 12			Financial Statements 1970-1975
Box 12			Ford Foundation--Rejection 1973
Box 12			Platform Statements 1972
Box 12			Platform Recommendations 1980
Box 12			Press Releases 1974-1985
Box 12			Survey 1986

	Adult Education Action Council
Box 12		Articles of Incorporation, By-Laws 1971-1975
Box 12		Receipts 1971-1972
Box 12		Financial Records 1971-1975
Box 12		Meetings, Memoranda, Reports 1971-1974
Box 12		Board Meeting, Jan. 24-25 1972
Box 12		Correspondence 1970-1975
Box 12		Willard Thompson 1971-1972
Box 12		misc. 1972

	Organizations, councils, commissions (alphabetical)
Box 13		List 1971
Box 13		Action Agenda Project 1985-1987
Box 13		Action Agenda--Postsecondary Rural Education--Proceedings 1986-1987
Box 13		Adult Education Association 1980
Box 13		Adult Education Legislative Workshop Feb. 26-27, 1973
Box 13		Adult Learning Program Service 1972-1973
Box 13		Adult Student Personnel Association (ASPA) 1973
Box 13		Advisory Council of National Organizations (ACNO)/ Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB) 1974-1975
Box 13		American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) 1983-1985
Box 13		American Association of Community and Junior Colleges (AACJC), Committee on International Adult Education 1980
Box 13		American Council on Education (ACE) 1980-1984
Box 13		American Society for Training and Development (ASTD) 1980-1982
Box 13		Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC) undated
Box 13		The College Board 1977-1978
Box 13		Committee for Education Funding 1987-1988
Box 13		Committee for Full Funding of Education Programs 1972-1974
Box 13		Council for the Progress of Nontraditional Study/Institute for Educational Development 1974
Box 13		Council of Graduate Schools 1983
Box 13		Council on the Continuing Education Unit--Conference Report 1984
Box 13		Eisenberg Associates 1984
Box 13		Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education 1973-1975
Box 13		Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education--Rejection 1973-1974
Box 13		Independent Sector 1983
Box 13		Intergovernmental Advisory Council 1981-1982
Box 13		Joint Council on Economic Education 1975
Box 13		Kellogg Foundation 1973-1974
Box 13		Kellogg Foundation--Lifelong Learning Leaders Retreat, Nov. 29-Dec. 1, 1982
Box 13		National Advisory Council on Adult Education (NACAE) 1980
Box 13		National Advisory Council on Continuing Education 1982
Box 13		National Association of Black Adult Educators (NABAE) 1972
Box 13		National Association for Public Continuing and Adult Education (NAPCAE)--Newsletter 1978
Box 13		NAPCAE/NIE Curriculum Development Task Force 1976
Box 13		National Center for Educational Brokering 1976-1977
Box 13		National Center for Higher Education Management Systems (NCHEMS) 1974-1976
Box 13		NCHEMS Technical Report #102 1977
Box 13		National Council on Community Services for Community and Junior Colleges undated
Box 13		National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) 1973
Box 13		National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA) undated
Box 13		National University Extension Association (NUEA)--Response to Higher Education Amendments 197?-
Box 13		NUEA/AEA/ACHE Dissent 1977
Box 13		NY State Education Department--Norman Kurland 1973-1975
Box 13		NY State Education Department 1983
Box 13		Pennsylvania Department of Education--Curriculum Development Project 1984-1986
Box 13		Postsecondary Education Convening Authority (PECA) 1976
Box 13		PECA--Clearwater Conference 1976
Box 13		PECA 1977-1978
Box 13		Project Literacy U.S. (PLUS) 1986-1988
Box 13		Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults 1980-1982
Box 13		United States Association of Evening Students (USAES) 1972-1983
Box 13		U.S. Department [Office] of Education 1973
Box 13		U.S. Department [Office] of Education--Lifelong Learning Project 1977-1978
Box 13		U.S. Department 1980
Box 14		U.S. Department of Education 1981-1982
Box 14		U.S. Office of the President 1981-1982
Box 14		Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) 1976

	International organizations
		General (alphabetical)
Box 14			ICAE--newsletters 1970, 1982-?
Box 14			International Council for Adult Education (ICAE)--Proposal 1972
Box 14			ICAE 1972-1976
Box 14			ICAE--International Adult Education Status Report 1976
Box 14			ICAE 1977-1980
Box 14			ICAE--Executive Committee, Washington, D.C. 1980
Box 14			ICAE--Ad Hoc Committee 1980
Box 14			ICAE--handouts 1980
Box 14			ICAE 1981
Box 14			ICAE--International Associates, Applications 1981-1982
Box 14			ICAE--Paris Conference 1982
Box 14			ICAE 1982-1986
Box 14			UNESCO 1969-1970
Box 14			UNESCO--IBE meeting on Documentation and Information Services for Adult Education May 29-June 1, 1973
Box 14			UNESCO--An Information System in the Specialized Area of Adult Education 1973
Box 14			UNESCO 1975-1976
Box 14			UNESCO--Adult Education Information Notes 1975-1981
Box 14			UNESCO--Draft Recommendations 1976
Box 14			UNESCO--Cooperative Educational Abstracting Service (CEAS) 1978
Box 14			UNESCO 1982-1986
Box 14			United Nations Bicentennial 1974-1975
Box 14			United Nations University 1974-1975
		Conferences (chron.)
Box 14			Third International Conferences on Adult Education July 25-Aug. 7, 1972
Box 14			Multi-National Workshop on Adult Education, Jan. 5-10, 1975 1974-1975
Box 15			Seminar on "Structures of Adult Education in Developing Countries, With Special Reference to Africa" 1975
Box 15			Hemispheric Conference on Adult Education, Ottawa May 28, 1975
Box 15			Hemispheric Conference--Norceca 1976
Box 15			International Associates--Annual Meeting, National Adult Education Education Conference, Oct. 30 1981

	Papers and reports
Box 15		An Analysis of the Statistics Canada Adult Education Survey 1985
Box 15		The CAEO: An Historical and Network Analysis--Dissertation 1985
Box 15		CAEO Retrospective: The First Ten Years undated
Box 15		CAEO Through the Years (A. Charters) 1976
Box 15		CAEO--Year Three 1972-1973
Box 15		Competencies and Characteristics Required for Literacy, Employability Occupational Success and Effective Citizenship undated
Box 15		A Framework and Language for Postsecondary Education 1976
Box 15		A Nation At Risk 1983
Box 15		Papers, Reports 1974-1975
Box 15		Presidents Report 1982(?)
Box 15		A Statement on Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (A. Charters) 1976

	Miscellaneous
Box 16		Adult Education Opportunity Act of 1971
Box 16		Chinese Adult Educators--visit 1980
Box 16		Dissertation Material--Walter Varner 1975-1976
Box 16		International Women's Year 1974-1975
Box 16		Laubach--Archive 1974
Box 16		Charles Longacre 1976-1980
Box 16		Newspaper Clippings
Box 16		Seminar--Publications in Continuing Education, June 8-10, 1971
Box 16		State 1202 Commission 1974-1975
Box 16		State Advisory Councils on Vocational Education--Directory 1980

	Pamphlets, newsletters, flyers
Box 16		Adult and Continuing Education Today
Box 16		Aging
Box 16		Clearinghouses
Box 16		Community Education
Box 16		Lifelong Learning
Box 16		Misc. flyers
Box 16		Misc. newsletters
Box 16		Inventory of Folder Titles as Received by George Arents Library 1991

Return to top