Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John L. Cable Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cable, John L. (John Levi), 1884-1971.
Title: John L. Cable Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1912-1964
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: United States attorney and congressman from Ohio, particularly interested in questions of citizenship. Collection includes correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, photographs, published material, speeches and memorabilia.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John L. Cable (1884-1971) was an American attorney and a United States Congressman from Ohio. He graduated from Kenyon College (1906) and from George Washington University law school (1909). He served four terms as a United States Representative from Ohio (1921-1925 and 1929-1933), and was assistant to the Ohio Attorney General (1933-1937). Cable was also the author of several works on law and citizenship. The Cable Act of 1922, which revised citizenship laws relating to American women who married foreign nationals, was largely his work.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John L. Cable Papers consist of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, photographs, published material, speeches and memorabilia.

Apart from two items (letters to Eisenhower and to George Romney), Correspondence is entirely incoming. Correspondents of interest include Admiraly Byrd, the American Lafayette Society, George Romney and J. Edgar Hoover.

Subject files include material on the Cable Act of 1922, articles about Cable, various certificates of membership and achievement, an official electoral college ballot from the presidential election of 1932, and miscellaneous items such as invitations, clippings, a congressional pass book, and others.

Manuscripts contains manuscripts authored by Cable on women's citizenship and notable citizenship court cases. The latter, a typescript in a large three-ring binder, may be an early draft of Cable's book Decisive Decisions of United States Citizenship.

Photographs consists of two items, one of Cable and one of a relative, Mary Hernley Cable.

Published material contains copies of books, pamphlets and articles by Cable and others. Included here are copies of three of Cable's books, as well as a memorial volume published on the death of his father, Davis J. Cable.

Speeches contains one given by Cable on the citizenship of George Washington and a bound collection of the text of speeches given by Cable before Congress.

Memorabilia consists of seven scrapbooks spanning some thirty years, One includes photostats of documents dated much earlier, perhaps accumulated as research notes for Cable's work on citizenship. There is also a George Washington Bicentennial commemorative pin.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A copy of Cable's "American citizenship rights of women. Hearing before a subcommittee of the Committee on immigration, United States Senate, Seventy-second Congress, second session, on S. 992..." has been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Cable, John L. (John Levi), 1884-1971.
Cable, John L. (John Levi), 1884-1971. -- Loss of citizenship, denaturalization, the alien in wartime.
Cable, John L. (John Levi), 1884-1971. -- Rights and responsibilities at railway grade crossings
Hazard, Henry B. -- Administrative naturalization abroad of members of the armed forces of the United States
Holliday, W.T. -- World Law or World Anarchy: The Case for a World Federal Government

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Congress. -- Senate. -- Committee on Immigration.

Subjects

Citizenship -- United States.
Legislators -- Ohio.
Married women -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- United States -- History.
Married women -- Nationality.
Naturalization -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Pamphlets.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Speeches.

Occupations

Lawyers.
Legislators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John L. Cable Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John L. Cable, 1965, 1967, 1973.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 13 Sep 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Adams, Sherman 1954-1955
Box 1 American Friends of Lafayette, State Department 1919, 1944-1962
Box 1 Byrd, R. E. 1930
Box 1 Eisenhower, Dwight D. 1954, undated - printed card, signed
Box 1 Hatfield, Mark O. 1964
Box 1 Hoover, J. Edgar 1958
Box 1 McCulloch, William M. 1953, 1955, 1961
Box 1 Romney, George 1962
Box 1 Wiley, Anna K. 1930
Subject files
Box 1 Acts of Congress by John L. Cable
Box 1 Articles about Cable
Box 1 Cable Act 1929-1931 - on citizenship for women
Box 1 Campaign material 1924, undated
Certificates
Box 1 Allen County Bar, membership 1913
Box 1 General Accounting Office 1925
Box 1 Interstate Commerce Commission 1933
Box 1 Ohio State Bar, membership 1908
Box 1 Ohio State Bar, 50 years circa 1960
Box 1 Selective Service Board, Appeals Agent appointment 1948, undated - 2 items
Box 1 Selective Service Board, 10 years 1958
Box 1 Selective Service Board, 15 years 1963
Oversize 1 United States Supreme Court, "attorney and counselor of the Supreme Court" 1931
Box 1 Congressional Record - clipping
Box 1 Electoral College 1933 - official final ballot
Box 1 Official invitations
Box 1 Miscellaneous - clippings, pass book, Congressional parking pass, more
Manuscripts
Box 3 "Famous Citizenship Cases by John L. Cable" 1963 - typescript, in three-ring binder
Box 1 "When is a woman an American?"
Box 1 "Women's battle for citizenship"
Photographs
Box 1 Of Cable - 1 item
Box 1 Of others circa 1885 - Mary Hernley Cable
Published material
Box 1 Cable, John L. and others / Davis J. Cable 1859-1924 1924 - Cable's father; consists of tributes to him and a short biography by John Cable
Box 1 Cable, John L. / Decisive Decisions of United States Citizenship and Loss of Citizenship — Denaturalization — The Alien in Wartime 1943 (2 volumes)
Box 1 Cable , John L. / Rights and Responsibilities at Railway Grade Crossings 1929
Box 1 Hazard, Henry B. / Administrative Naturalization Abroad of Members of the Armed Forces of the United States 1952 - reprint from The American Journal of International Law, vol. 46 no. 2
Box 1 Holliday, W.T. / World Law or World Anarchy: The Case for a World Federal Government Aug 1949 - article, American Bar Association Journal, vol. 35
Box 1 U.S. Department of Labor / Historical Sketch of Naturalization in the United States 1927
Speeches
Box 1 "The citizenship of George Washington" 1931
Box 2 Miscellaneous speeches before Congress 1921-1924 - 1 bound volume
Memorabilia
Box 3 George Washington Bicentennial medal 1932 - on pin/ribbon, with Cable's name engraved
Scrapbooks
Box 2 untitled, long narrow volume circa 1915-1921 - clippings relating to campaign, citizenship, various legal cases of interest
Box 2 "Scrap Book" on front in ornate white letters, photograph glued to front 1921-1922 - clippings
Box 2 "SCRAP BOOK NUMBER THREE" 1922-1923 - clippings; inside back cover is full page campaign ad for Cable
Box 3 untitled 1923-1924 - clippings
Oversize 1 "The Ideal Scrapbook" printed on front, large brown volume 1928-1933 - clippings relating to campaign, a few letters from constituents; much material detached from pages or never affixed
Oversize 1 "SCRAP BOOK" on front, large green volume 1930-1931, 1912, 1947 - clippings, telegrams, letters, includes photograph of daughter Mary from Washington DC Sunday Star
Oversize 1 untitled, picture of three-masted schooner printed on front - negative photostats of statutes and other material relating to citizenship, originals are dated as early as 1770s

Return to top