Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Edward J. Byrne Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Edward J. Byrne Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1947-1979
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Bound inventory of Byrne's collection of early New York imprints; photographs of Byrne and of title pages of books; essay on the collection
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Rt. Rev. Monsignor Edward J. Byrne was an American theologian, teacher and amateur historian. Ordained in 1905, he received his Ph.D. in Sacred Theology in 1908 from St. Bernard's Seminary in Rochester, New York and a second Ph.D. in philosophy from the Biblical Institute in Rome. He was Professor of Scripture at St. Bernard's for more than fifty years. He amassed a substantial collection of books printed in 19th century New York State, particularly in Auburn.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edward J. Byrne Collection consists of photographs and written material relating to Monsignor Edward J. Byrne and his collection of imprints from Auburn, New York.

The Photographs are of Byrne and of title pages of some of the books in the collection. The latter have accompanying negatives.

Written material consists of a bound inventory of the original collection of New York State imprints, compiled by Nazareth College, and an essay on the collection entitled "Some publishers I have never known." The essay is a photocopy of a typescript with handwritten corrections; it is unsigned and the author unknown.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Photographs and written material are foldered separately.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The book collection itself has been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog and search for "Edward J. Byrne (former owner)" to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Byrne, Edward J, 1880-1952.

Subjects

Printing -- History -- New York (State)
Printing -- New York (State) -- Auburn.

Places

New York (State) -- Imprints.
Rochester (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Essays.
Negatives (photographic)
Photographs.

Occupations

Book collectors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edward J. Byrne Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Nazareth College, 2006.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 17 Nov 2011
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
SC 679 Of Byrne, and of titles pages for some of the books in the collection 1947, undated
Written material
SC 679 Essay on the collection; bound bibliography 1978-1979

Return to top