Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Martin Buxbaum Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Buxbaum, Martin.
Title: Martin Buxbaum Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1942-1991
Quantity: 11 linear ft.
Abstract: American author, poet; director of communications for Marriott Corporation, 1953-1976, editor of Hot Shoppes Table Talk and various in-house publications. Collection contains correspondence, incoming and outgoing (1937-1967); manuscript books, essays, poems, short stories, speeches; photographs; and printed material, including articles by and about Buxbaum, clippings, and house organs edited by Buxbaum for several companies for which he worked.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Martin Buxbaum (1912-1991) was an American poet, author and editor. Born in Richmond, Virginia, Buxbaum was blind but underwent a cataract operation which restored his sight. As Director of Communications for Marriott Corporation, he edited their monthly publication Table Talk for many years and received much acclaim for it. After retiring Buxbaum went on to write eleven books, including Rivers of Thought and The Underside of Heaven, and became known as a photographer, artist and humorist. He and his wife Alice had eight children. [Family information obtained from Buxbaum's granddaughter.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Martin Buxbaum Papers consists of biographical material, correspondence, subject files, manuscripts and published material.

Biographical material consists of a biographical sketch.

Correspondence, subdivided into business and personal, is mostly incoming with only a small amount of outgoing.

Subject files include book covers, Christmas cards, photographs, and two audiotapes.

Manuscripts includes those of books, magazine articles, poems, short stories, speeches and other items.

Published material contains a first edition of Buxbaum's book Rivers of Thought along with fliers, magazines with articles both by and about Buxbaum, and news clippings.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection comprises two separate accessions which have not been physically integrated; related material may therefore be scattered across several boxes. To simplify locating all relevant material, the inventory below lists the contents of the collection in logical, not physical, order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Buxbaum, Martin.

Corporate Bodies

Marriott Corporation -- Publishing.
Marriott Hot Shoppes.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Customer relations.
Hotels -- Public relations.
House organs.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Essays.
House organs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Poems.
Speeches.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Martin Buxbaum Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1966
Revision history: 11 May 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 27 Aug 2014 - bio updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 6 Awards
Box 1 Biographical sketch
Box 6 Miscellaneous 1957, 1959, 1965-1967, undated - includes some published material
Correspondence
Box 6 Books, Inc. 1965-1967
Box 6 Guideposts 1966-1967
Box 6 Quality Industries 1959, 1965-1966, undated
Box 6 Sunshine Press 1965-1967
Re: The Unsung
Box 6 Incoming 1963-1966, undated (2 folders)
Box 6 Outgoing 1966, undated
Box 7 Envelopes (2 folders)
Incoming
Box 1 Business (5 folders)
Box 1 Personal (4 folders)
Box 7 General 1953, 1956-1961, 1963-1965 (3 folders)
Box 8 General 1966-1967 (5 folders)
Box 8 Unidentified - includes Buxbaum family correspondence
Box 9 Greeting cards (2 folders)
Outgoing
Box 2 Miscellaneous 1937, 1964, undated
Subject files
Box 2 Book covers
Box 2 Bookmarks
Box 2 Christmas cards
Box 2 Invitation to commissioning of U.S.S. Tecumseh
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Box 13 Miscellaneous - two sketches, two unidentified photographs
Box 2 Photographs of Buxbaum and his books
Box 2 Tapes, "Red Cross" and "Poems"
Manuscripts
Books
Rivers of Thought
Box 2 Final draft
Box 9 Printer's copy, typescript with manuscript revisions
Box 9 Sing a Song of Sexpence - chapters 1 and 2, typescript with manuscript revisions
Table Talk for Family Fun
Box 9 Printer's copy, with revisions
Box 9 Galleys, with revisions
The Underside of Heaven
Box 9 Artist's page layout
Box 9 Book fragments, page proofs
Box 2 Layout (holograph and printed) (2 folders)
The Unsung
Box 9 Artist's page layout
Box 10 Biographies of contributors (2 folders)
Box 10 Poetry - typescript with manuscript revisions (2 folders)
Box 10 Poetry rejections - typescript and holographs (2 folders)
Box 2 Final draft, by others
Box 3 Final draft, by others
Box 10 Galleys - includes a sketch (2 folders)
Box 11 Galleys - with manuscript revisions
Box 11 Printer's copy - typescript with manuscript revisions (2 folders)
Whispers in the Wind
Box 11 Drafts - typescript with revisions (2 folders)
Box 11 Page proofs
Box 11 Galleys with manuscript revisions
Box 11 Unidentified - possibly Rivers of Thought or The Underside of Heavenprinter's copy with manuscript revisions
Essays
Box 11 Around Our House - typescript with manuscript revisions
Box 11 Reflections - typescript with manuscript revisions
Box 12 Miscellaneous, titled - typescript with manuscript revisions
Box 12 Miscellaneous, untitled - typescript with manuscript revisions; holographs
Magazines
Box 3 The Southern Diaries with comments by others
Memoranda
Box 12 Miscellaneous - typescript with manuscript revisions
Notes and sketches
Box 12 Miscellaneous
Poems
Box 3 A-W and untitled - rough drafts, holograph
Box 3 A-W and untitled - rough drafts, typescript
Box 3 from Whispers in the Wind - first draft
Box 12 Titled - typescript with manuscript revisions; holographs
Box 12 Untitled - typescript with manuscript revisions; holographs
Speeches
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Box 12 Miscellaneous
Short stories
Box 3 Published, B-T and untitled - typescript
Box 3 Unpublished, B-T and untitled - typescript
Of others
Box 12 Buxbaum children - typescript
Published material
Books
Box 4 Bux's Scrapbook
Box 13 History of Fairfield
Box 4 Rivers of Thought
Box 4 Table Talk for Family Fun
Box 4 Underside of Heaven
Box 13 Miscellaneous 1966-1967, undated - book-related items: book covers, articles about his books, photograph, etc.
Fliers
Box 4 Advertisements for The Unsung
Magazines
Box 4 Articles about Buxbaum
Box 4 Articles by Buxbaum
Box 4 Articles about others
Box 4 Bux's Scrapbook
News clippings
Box 4 Articles about Buxbaum
Box 5 Articles by Buxbaum
Newsletters
Box 5 Articles about Buxbaum
Box 5 Edited by Buxbaum - Table Talk
Box 13 Edited by Buxbaum 1960-1966 - Table Talk; Management Newsletter
Poems
Box 5 Magazines and booklets
Box 5 "Found in Cookbook"
Box 13 Miscellaneous 1953, 1958, 1960-1967, undated
Miscellaneous
Box 13 Baseball for Doodlers - pencil-and-paper game designed by Buxbaum
Box 13 Buxbaum-related items 1958-1967, undated
Box 13 Unrelated items 1882, 1960-1967, undated

Return to top