Finding Aids
printer friendly version

William Burn Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Burn, William.
Title: William Burn Letters
Inclusive Dates: 1797-1799
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters from a British Army officer in India to James Miller, his stockbroker and friend, in Calcutta.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Captain (later Lt. Colonel) William Burn was a British Army officer stationed in India during the late 18th century.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Burn Letters contains correspondence between William Burn in India and his stockbroker and friend, James Miller, in Calcutta, painting an interesting picture of an army officer's life during the British conquest of India. Burn describes the bloody battles between the Moslem followers of the Tartar and the Sikhs, the pomp and the parades, the diplomatic maneuverings between the British and the Indian princes, and the method of raising money by the British Government and British East India Company for the Indian campaign by public subscription. Burn also tells of his efforts to support his children and himself on an officer's pay, his desire for promotion, his worries about his future retirement on half-pay, and his attempts to supplement his income by buying Lottery tickets and trying to make shrewd investments.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Burn, William.
Miller, James.

Corporate Bodies

Great Britain. -- Army -- Officers -- Correspondence.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Burn Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 09 Sep 2008
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 230 7 Feb 1797 (4 pages)
SC 230 22 Feb 1797 (3 pages)
SC 230 04 Mar 1797 (1 page)
SC 230 26 Sep 1797 (2 pages)
SC 230 01 Oct 1797 (4 pages)
SC 230 13 Dec 1797 (2 pages)
SC 230 01 Jan 1798, 10 Jan 1798, 11 Jan 1798 (4 pages)
SC 230 13 Jan 1798 (2 pages)
SC 230 20 Jan 1798 (3 pages)
SC 230 30 Jan 1798 (4 pages)
SC 230 13 Feb 1798 (4 pages)
SC 230 17 Feb 1798 (3 pages)
SC 230 13 Jun 1798, 25 Jun 1798 (2 pages)
SC 230 04 Jul 1798 (2 pages)
SC 230 18 Aug 1798 (4 pages)
SC 230 20 Aug 1798 (3 pages)
SC 230 30 Aug 1798 (3 pages)
SC 230 11 Sep 1798 (4 pages)
SC 230 07 Oct 1798 (3 pages)
SC 230 25 Oct 1798 (3 pages)
SC 230 27 Nov 1798 (2 pages)
SC 230 01 Dec 1798, 16 Dec 1798 (3 pages)
SC 230 19 Jan 1799, 31 Jan 1799 (3 pages)
SC 230 22 Jan 1799 (3 pages)

Return to top