Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Elizabeth Barrett Browning Collection

An inventory of her collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Browning, Elizabeth Barrett, 1806-1861
Title: Elizabeth Barrett Browning Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1857-1946
Quantity: 12 items (SC)
Abstract: Three holograph hymns for children, two holograph copies of a poem, an undelivered 1857 letter to Napoleon III requesting the pardon of Victor Hugo, and three pages of notes (photocopies). Also, a centenary publication which marked Robert and Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s 1846 marriage registration.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Browning, Elizabeth Barrett, 1806-1861

Subjects

Poets, English, 19th century
Women poets

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Poems.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Elizabeth Barrett Browning Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of George and Lena Arents

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SEH
Date: Nov 1993
Revision history: 16 Nov 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 13 Jun 2007 - changed inventory to SC format (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 113 Browning to Napoleon III Apr 1857 - ALS with envelope in red leather case (damaged) with holograph note: "Letter to the Emperor Napoleon III. Never sent." (4 p.)
Writings
Poems
SC 113 Hymns undated - "By the Children"; "Hymn 2. By the Children"; "A Hymn for Children." 4 p. signed holograph ms., typescript copy
SC 113 "Wisdom Unapplied" undated - 2 p. signed holograph ms.; 4 p. unsigned holograph ms. inserted into a blue leather book containing typescript and illuminated copies; 2 photocopies
SC 113 Notes undated - photocopies of miscellaneous holograph notes
Memorabilia
SC 113 Marriage centenary 1946 - publication with a copy of Browning's and Barrett's marriage registration

Return to top