TABLE OF CONTENTS
Overview of the Collection
Biographical History
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Arrangement of the Collection
Restrictions
Subject and Genre Headings
Related Material
Administrative Information
Inventory
Correspondence
Manuscripts
|
An inventory of
his papers
at Syracuse University
|
|
|
|
| Creator: |
Braithwaite, William Stanley, 1878-1962. |
| Title: |
William Stanley Braithwaite Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: |
1916-1962 |
| Quantity: |
3.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: |
Papers of the African-American poet, author, critic. Correspondence, and manuscripts by Braithwaite and others. Notable
correspondents include Arna Bontemps, Louis Bromfield, Sterling Brown, Marie Bullock, Witter Bynner, Cass Canfield, Bliss
Carman, Bennet Cerf, Katherine Chapin, James Cozzens, Countee Cullen, Gustav Davidson, W.E.B. DuBois, Kimball Flaccus, Robert
Frost, Claire and Nina Gerbaulet, Louis Ginsberg, Hermann Hagedorn, Leigh Hanes, Robert Hillyer, John Holmes, Langston Hughes,
Georgia Johnson, MacKinlay Kantor, Joseph Joel Keith, Florence Lennon, Benjamin Mays, David McCord, Marianne Moore, Maurice
Peloubet, Bliss Perry, Minerva Perry, Helen Channing Pollock, Ruby Altizer Roberts, Paul Robeson, Angelo Schmuller, Lulu Schultz,
George S. Schuyler, Delmore Schwartz, Eli Siegel, Jules Siegel, Noble Sissle, Chard Powers Smith, Vladimir Sokoloff, Arthur
Spingarn, Jesse Stuart, A.M. Sullivan, May Swenson, Ridgely Torrence, Carl Van Vechten, George Sylvester Viereck, Harold Vinal,
Booker T. Washington, Robert C. Weaver, John Hall Wheelock, Margaret Widdemer, William Carlos Williams, and Roscoe Wright.
|
| Language: |
English
|
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 http://scrc.syr.edu |
William Stanley Braithwaite (1878-1962) was an African-American poet, literary
critic, editor, and anthologist. Born in Boston, Massachusetts, he was for the
most part educated at home, but his love of literature led him to his first job
as an apprentice at the publishing firm of Ginn & Company. Over the course of
his career he wrote numerous books of poetry and literary criticism, including
Lyrics of Life and Love (1904), The House of Falling Leaves (1908), The Poetry
of Thomas S. Jones Jr. (1910), The Story of the Great War (1919), Our Essayists
and Critics of Today (1920), The Grecian Influence of John Myers O'Hara (1926),
Frost on the Green Leaf (1928), and The Bewitched Parsonage: The Story of the
Brontes (1950). Anthologies edited by Braithwaite include The Poetic Year for
1916 (1916), Golden Treasury of Magazine Verse (1918), The Book of Modern
British Verse, Victory: Contributed by 38 American Poets, and Anthology of
Massachusetts Poets (1922).
He served as literary editor of the Boston Evening Transcript, editor of The
Poetry Journal in Boston, Massachusetts, executive editor for B. J. Brimmer
Publishing Company, and editor of the annual Anthology of Magazine Verse and
Year Book of American Poetry, published from 1913 to 1939. He was also
Professor of Literature at Atlanta University for nearly ten years.
In 1918 Braithwaite received Honorary Masters degrees from Atlanta University
and Talladega College, and the same year the NAACP awarded him its Spingarn Medal.
Return to the Table of Contents
The William Stanley Braithwaite Papers is comprised of 3-1/2 boxes of literary correspondence and 3-1/2
boxes of manuscripts.
Correspondence contain more than a thousand letters, cards, telegrams and other items; correspondents include J. Donald Adams, Arna Bontemps,
Witter Bynner, James Gould
Cozzens, W.E.B. DuBois, Langston Hughes, Joseph Joel Keith, Paul
Scott Mowrer, Helen Channing Pollock, A.M. Sullivan, and many others.
Manuscripts contains numerous manuscripts of the author's works, outlines
for projected works, and typescripts of work of many leading poets collected for
the Braithwaite's famous anthologies.
Return to the Table of Contents
Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by name. Manuscripts are arranged ???
Return to the Table of Contents
Access Restrictions
There are no access restrictions on this material
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and
all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any
materials in this collection.
Return to the Table of Contents
A large part of William Stanley Braithwaite's personal library is at Boston University.
Return to the Table of Contents
Persons
Adams, James Donald, 1891-1968.
Auslander, Joseph, 1897-1965.
Bardolph, Richard, 1915-
Beebe, Lucius Morris, 1902-1966.
Benét, Rosemary, 1900-
Bligh, E. W.
Bonner, Amy.
Bontemps, Arna Wendell, 1902-1973.
Braithwaite, William Stanley, 1878-1962 Archives.
Bromfield, Louis, 1896-1956.
Brown, Sterling Allen, 1901-
Buchman, Marion.
Bullock, Marie, 1911-1986.
Bynner, Witter, 1881-1968.
Canfield, Cass, 1897-
Carman, Bliss, 1861-1929.
Carpenter, Margaret.
Cerf, Bennett, 1898-1971.
Chapin, Katherine Garrison, 1890-1977.
Clemens, Cyril, 1902-
Code, Grant Hyde.
Cozzens, James Gould, 1903-1978.
Cullen, Countee, 1903-1946.
Dargan, Olive Tilford, 1869-1968.
Davidson, Gustav, 1895-1971.
Du Bois, W. E. B. (William Edward Burghardt), 1868-1963.
Eaton, Charles Edward, 1916-
Engle, Paul, 1908-1991.
Farber, Norma.
Fenton, Charles A.
Flaccus, Kimball, 1911-1972.
Frost, Robert, 1874-1963.
Gerbaulet, Claire K.
Gerbaulet, Nina Joy.
Ginsberg, Louis, 1895-1976.
Gomme, George Laurence, 1853-1916.
Hagedorn, Hermann, 1882-1964.
Hanes, Leigh, 1893?-1967.
Hillyer, Robert, 1895-1961.
Holmes, John.
Hughes, Langston, 1902-1967.
Johnson, Georgia Douglas Camp, 1886-1966.
Kantor, MacKinlay, 1904-1977.
Keith, Joseph Joel.
Kline, Burton, 1877-1958.
Lennon, Florence Becker.
Mays, Benjamin E. (Benjamin Elijah), 1894-1984.
McCord, David Thompson Watson, 1897-
Moore, Marianne, 1887-1972.
Mowrer, Paul Scott, 1887-
Peloubet, Maurice E.
Perkins, Maxwell E. (Maxwell Evarts), 1884-1947.
Perry, Bliss, 1860-1954.
Perry, Minerva.
Pollock, Helen Channing.
Reid, Ira De Augustine, 1901-1968.
Roberts, Ruby Altizer.
Robeson, Paul, 1898-1976.
Schmuller, Angelo Aaron.
Schultz, Lulu Minerva.
Schuyler, George Samuel, 1895-
Schwartz, Delmore, 1913-1966.
Siegel, Eli, 1902-
Siegel, Jules.
Sissle, Noble, 1889-1975.
Smith, Chard Powers, 1894-
Sokoloff, Vladimir, 1889-1962.
Spingarn, Arthur B.
Stuart, Jesse, 1906-1984.
Sullivan, A. M. (Aloysius Michael), 1896-
Swenson, May.
Torrence, Ridgely, 1875-1950.
Van Vechten, Carl, 1880-1964.
Viereck, George Sylvester, 1884-1962.
Vinal, Harold, 1891-1965.
Washington, Booker T., 1856-1915.
Weaver, Robert Clifton, 1907-
Wheelock, John Hall, 1886-1978.
Widdemer, Margaret.
Williams, William Carlos, 1883-1963.
Wright, Roscoe.
Subjects
African American poets.
African Americans -- Biography.
American literature -- 20th century.
American literature -- African American authors.
American poetry -- 20th century.
American poetry -- African American authors.
authors, American.
Poets, American -- 20th century.
Genres and Forms
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Occupations
authors.
Poets.
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
William Stanley Braithwaite Papers, Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
Gift of Mrs. William S. Braithwaite, 1964.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: JSP
Date: Oct 1964
Revision history: 14 Mar 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)
Return to the Table of Contents
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Correspondence |
|
|
Incoming literary correspondence |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Aa-Az |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Academy of American Poets 1959 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Adams, J. Donald 1957-1959 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Auslander, Joseph 1959 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Austin, Edmund O. 1950-1958 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Ba-Bz |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Bardolph, Richard 1955-1957 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Beebe, Lucius 1946 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Benet, Rosemary 1959 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Black, John 1921-1948 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Bligh, E. W. 1919 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Bonner, Amy 1941 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Bontemps, Arna 1948-1960 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Brennan, John Payne 1958-1959 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Bromfield, Louis undated |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Brown, Sterling 1941 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Buchman, Marion 1960-1961 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Bullock, Marie 1958-1961 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Bynner, Witter 1958-1960 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Ca-Cz |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Canfield, Cass undated |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Carman, Bliss 1911 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Carpenter, Margaret 1958 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Cerf, Bennet A. 1942 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Chapin, Katherine Garrison 1958 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Clairmonte, Glenway and Joy |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Clemens, Cyril 1945 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Code, Grant H. 1939 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Coward-McCann 1949-1953 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Cozzens, James Gould 1924 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Crews, Caswell W. 1931 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Cullen, Ida and Countee undated |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Da-Dz |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Dargan, Olive T. 1958-1960 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Davidson, Gustav 1958-1960 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
DuBois, W. E. B. 1939-1949 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Ea-Ez |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Eaton, Charles Edward 1958-1960 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Ebony Magazine 1950-1956
|
| Box 1 |
|
|
Engle, Paul 1959 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Evans, Charles 1956 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Fa-Fz |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Farber, Norma 1959 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Fenton, Charles 1956 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Flaccus, Kimball 1953 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Frost, Robert 1958 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Ga-Gz |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Gardiner, George L. 1959-1960 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Ginsberg, Louis 1959 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Gerbaulet, Joy and Claire 1916-1917 |
| Box 1 |
|
|
Gomme, Laurence 1958-1962 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Ha-Hz |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Hagedorn, Hermann 1959 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Hanes, Leigh 1951-1956 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Hillyer, Robert 1925 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Holmes, John 1956-1958
- includes 2 copies of poems
|
| Box 2 |
|
|
Hughes, Langston 1947-1959 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Hunting, H.B. 1938-1939 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Ja-Jz |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Jackson, Ralph |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Johnson, Georgia Douglas undated |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Ka-Kz |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Kantor, Mackinlay 1956-1959 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Keith, Joseph Joel 1959-1960
- includes 1 inscribed poem
|
| Box 2 |
|
|
Kline, Burton 1955-1957 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
La-Lz |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Lawrence, Lillith 1958-1959 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Lennon, Florence Becker undated |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Ma-Mz |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Mays, Benjamin 1942 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
McCord, David 1958-1959 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Moore, Marianne 1960 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Mowrer, Paul Scott 1959-1961 |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Na-Nz |
| Box 2 |
|
|
Negro Digest 1947-1948
|
| Box 3 |
|
|
Oa-Oz |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Pa-Pz |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Peloubet, Maurice 1958-1960 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Perkins, Maxwell 1939-1949 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Perry, Bliss undated |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Perry, Minerva 1947 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Poetry Society of America |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Pollock, Helen Channing 1949 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Ra-Rz |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Reid, Ira De A. 1941-1946 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Roberts, Ruby Altizer 1956-1960 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Robeson, Paul 1949 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Ross, David 1960 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Sa-Sz |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Schmuller, Aaron 1959 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Schultz, Lula Minerva |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Schuyler, George S. 1953-1958 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Schwartz, Delmore 1958 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Scott, Dorothy L. 1942 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Siegel, Eli 1959-1960 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Siegel, Jules 1958 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Sissle, Noble |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Smith, Chard Powers 1955-1961 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Sokoloff, Vladimir undated |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Spingarn, Arthur B. 1941-1955 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Stiles, Roberta undated |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Stuart, Jesse 1958-1959 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Sullivan, A. M. 1958-1960 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Swenson, May 1958 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Ta-Tz |
| Box 3 |
|
|
The Dryden Press 1941-1942 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Tillman, N. P. 1944-1948 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Torrence, Ridgeley 1942
- inscribed photo
|
| Box 3 |
|
|
Tutin, William L. 1945-1947 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Ua-Uz |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Va-Vz |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Van Vechten, Carl 1947 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Viereck, George Sylvester 1958 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Vinal, Howard 1948 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Wa-Wz |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Wakefield, Oliver Lindsay |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Washington, Booker T. 1939 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Weaver, Robert C. 1961 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Wheelock, John Hall 1952 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Whitcomb, George Faunce 1958-1959 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Widdemer, Margaret 1958 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Williams, William Carlos undated |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Wright, Roscoe 1927-1962 |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Unidentifiable correspondence signed "Barbara" |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Unidentifiable correspondence |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Incoming family correspondence |
| Box 3 |
|
|
Miscellaneous correspondence |
|
|
Outgoing literary correspondence |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Aa-Bz |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Ca-Gz |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Ha-Lz |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Ma-Pz |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Qa-Zz |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Unidentifiable and/or fragments |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Manuscripts |
|
|
Verse by others |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Aa-Cz, typescripts |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Da-Lz, typescripts |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Hanes, Leigh, holograph, with short article |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Ma-Rz, typescripts |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Sa-Zz, typescripts |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Printed copies of verse by others |
| Box 4 |
|
|
Miscellaneous typescript copies of poems by other |
|
|
Verse by Braithwaite |
| Box 5 |
|
|
Holograph |
|
|
|
|
A Christmas card you cannot read Among my friends and those
An Easter Song For Wynone
A Mother's Prayer
A rose to the living is more
Dear Ike, we honor and adore you For Marianne Moore
Go, book, to her be heart and eyes Idiomatic
If Herrick had his Julia
I looked at the moon
In a sunken Pool
Not Wise Enough
Of One Who Spurns the Lyric
One Book Review by J—
On An Alabaster Burial Urn
Return of the Native
Rorty
Stardust Vendor
Shadows
Tenderer I Would Be
The Greeks Lost the Word For It
The Lady And the Census Taker
The Praying Hands
There are windows to houses
This is the year of great decision
Though he may come but once a year
Three tall candles may they flame
To Helen Channing Pollock
To Jane and Julie
To Laurie My Granddaughter On Her Second Birthday
To M.
To Robert Frost
We are the music-makers
What can I wish you more than this
When Mary, flower of maiden head
Who Makes the Wind
|
| Box 5 |
|
|
Typescript |
|
|
|
|
Ascension
Ambrose Bierce
Anne Bradstreet and Phyllis Wheatley
An Easter Song
Another
Avowal
Bewitchment
Blessing
Bryant Park
Chastisement
Christopher Cinicampius Writes a Letter in Memory of his Friend Erasmus
Del Cascar
Cynthia Taggart
Emily Bronte
Ever Old, Ever New
Femininity
Flower of the Hawthorne
For a Lady Who Asked Me to Write a Petrarchan Sonnet
For Truda T. Weil
Guynemer
Idiomatic
If I Were Prickled With the Scratch of Rhyme
Iron and corn to rust and ripen
How Have I Reached This Height That Now Surveys
Life's Trivia
Loves of the Puppets Mr. Kasebier's Orchard Mysteries
Not Wise Enough
Keat's Birthday
Of Dead Ladies
Of One Who Spurns the Lyric O Lady of the Hawthorne On An Alabaster Burial Urn
On Being Threatened With Blindness
On the Centenary of the Birth of Booker T. Washington
Only To the Soul Is lt Given On the Jiffy Bag
Petition
Photograph of Robert Frost Prophecy
Remembrance of Elizabethan Springtide
Saint Rose of Lima
Sara Teasdale
Sea Honeymoon To Icaria Shadows
Sidney Lanier
Should the bright world now fade out on a weight
Signal
Some Literary Epigrams Tender I Would Be The Age of Ebony
The Echo of the Singers
The Ghost In the Carpet
The Greeks Lost the Word For lt
The Hour Most Still The King's Daughter
The Mutuel Player's Prayer
These things now swept me on a tide
The Palm
The Praying Hands
The Septuagenarian Approaches Christmas
The Signal
The Tragedy of Lovers Leap
They Are Awakened Time For A Change To Jane And Julie
To Marianne Moore For Her Birthday
To One In Whose Feeding Lurks A Dragon
To Robert Herrick, In the Spring
To Smith, — Her Dog Trail-Breaker
Who Makes the Wind
With a fierce spring and loud alarm
Wreckage
Will There Be Another April
You Flashed Like A Cardinal Bird
|
|
|
Articles and books by Braithwaite |
| Box 5 |
|
|
Selected Poems
- typescript
|
| Box 5 |
|
|
Selected Poems
- printer's proofs
|
| Box 5 |
|
|
A Letter In Memory of Erasmus and Other Poems
- typescript
|
| Box 5 |
|
|
Anthology of Magazine Verse and Yearbook of American Poetry 1958
- partial proofs
|
| Box 5 |
|
|
The Bewitched Parsonage: The Story of the Brontes
- typescript table of contents
|
| Box 5 |
|
|
The Bewitched Parsonage: The Story of the Brontes
- typescript copies, Chapters I, II, III, V, VII, XVI, XVII, XVIII, XIX, XX, XX
|
| Box 5 |
|
|
The Bewitched Parsonage: The Story of the Brontes
- typescript copies, Chapters XXII, XXIV, XXV, XXVI, XXVII, XXVIII, XXIX, XXX, XXXI, XXXII
|
| Box 5 |
|
|
The Bewitched Parsonage: The Story of the Brontes.
- typescript partial manuscript
|
| Box 5 |
|
|
unnumbered chapters on Emily, Charlotte, Branwell Bronte,
Emily's Poems, and The Bronte Family.
- typescript copies
|
| Box 5 |
|
|
Miscellaneous material on The Bewitched Parsonage: The Story of the Brontes.
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Proposed book A Century of the Negro Novelist
- holograph outline
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Proposed book A Century of the Negro Novelist
- holograph copy
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Proposed book A Century of the Negro Novelist
- typescript copies
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Further material concerning author's proposal for book A Century of the Negro Novelist
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "Alain Locke and Negro Authorship"
- typescript copies
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, A Pioneer Magazine
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "A Prophetic Bible Course"
- holograph copy
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "A Prophetic Bible Course"
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "Dispensational Truth or God's Plan and Purpose In The Ages"
- holograph copy
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "Dispensational Truth or God's Plan and Purpose In The Ages"
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "Emily Bronte: A Study in Literary Alchemy."
- holograph copy
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "Emily Bronte: A Study in Literary Alchemy."
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "Gallant Sir Harry Vane."
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Pandora's Garden: An Anthology of the Women Poets of America
- typescript outline
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Story of the Years Between: 1918-1939
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "The Contemporary Novelist."
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "The Feast of the Poets."
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
The House Under Arcturus: An Autobiography
- typescript partial manuscript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "The Magazines and The Poets and Other Studies in Prose and Verse."
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "The Negro in American Literature."
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "The New Emancipation."
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
The Years Between 1918-1939
- typescript table of contents
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
The Years Between 1918-1939
- holograph copy
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
The Years Between 1918-1939
- transcript fragments
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article, "Three Friends: A Sheaf of Memoirs"
- holograph copy
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article on Boston and New England
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article on W. E. B. DuBois
- holograph copy
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Article on Negro Community of New York
- typescript
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Typescript and holograph copies of several short manuscripts |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Several short articles
- holograph copies
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Several short articles
- typescript copies
|
|
|
Reviews |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Reviews by W. S. Braithwaite
- holograph copies
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Reviews by W. S. Braithwaite
- typescript copies
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Reviews
- printed copies
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Review of The Bewitched Parsonage: The Story of the Brontes
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Reviews of Anthology of Magazine Verse and Yearbook of American Poetry
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Review of Selected Poems
|
| Box 6 |
|
|
Miscellaneous reviews |
|
|
Other material |
| Box 6 |
|
|
General clippings |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Material concerning anthology |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Song with lyrics by W. S. Braithwaite |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Photograph of W. S. Braithwaite |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Miscellaneous photographs |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Typescript articles on W. S. Braithwaite |
| Box 7 |
|
|
Tape recording: "Enjoyment of Poetry" series, WEVD 6 Jul 1958 |
| Box 7 |
|
|
Pamphlets and programs |
| Box 7 |
|
|
Magazines
(2 folders)
|
| Box 7 |
|
|
Miscellaneous material |
Return to the Table of Contents
|