Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Margaret Bourke-White Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bourke-White, Margaret, 1904-1971.
Title: Margaret Bourke-White Papers
Dates: 1863-1984,
Inclusive Dates: 1928-1964
Quantity: 76.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Biographical material, correspondence, writings, and memorabilia. Memorabilia consists of financial, legal, and printed materials, photographic equipment, scrapbooks, and miscellany. Bourke-White's photographs and negatives comprise a separate collection, also located in Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Margaret Bourke-White (1904-1971) was an American photographer, war correspondent, author and photojournalist. Among her many achievements, she was the first foreign photographer allowed to take pictures in the USSR of Soviet industry, the first female war correspondent, and the first female photographer for Life magazine, where her photograph appeared on the first cover. She was the author of more than ten books, including her autobiography Portrait of Myself (1963). She received numerous awards over her career, including honorary doctorates from Rutgers University and the University of Michigan, and in 1997 she was designated a Women's History Month honoree by the National Women's History Project.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Margaret Bourke-White Papers, spanning 1863 through 1984, comprise biographical material, correspondence, writings, and memorabilia of the American industrial photographer, photojournalist, war correspondent and author (1904-1971). The collection not only reflects her personal life, but also illuminates the chaotic historical times (life in the United States during the Depression; World War II Africa, Germany, Italy and Russia; the partition of India; Korea's guerilla war) Bourke-White chronicled as a photographer for Henry Luce's Time, Inc. (first for Fortune (1930-1936) and then, from its inaugural issue in 1936, Life, magazines).

Biographical material (Box 1) contains autobiographical documents including data Bourke-White supplied for biographical reference books, chronologically arranged biographical items, and awards. Biographical materials include a birth certificate, marriage and divorce papers from the 1920s, a 1919 character analysis, mementos from her youth, and her mother's notes on Bourke-White's childhood.

Correspondence-Subject Files (Boxes 1-56) are categorized as Family and General. Arranged chronologically, Family correspondence (Boxes 1-3) begins with letters dated 1863 of Bourke-White's maternal grandparents, Joseph and "Bella" Bourke, and also includes those of parents Minnie and Joseph White, sister Ruth, brother Roger, and several other aunts, uncles, and cousins. The General Correspondence-Subject Files (Boxes 4-56) are arranged alphabetically and extend to Bourke-White's death in 1971. Through the mid-1950s, correspondence of most depth and duration includes that of advertising agency Meldrum & Fewsmith, Inc., friend M. Jerry Papurt, publishers Simon & Schuster, secretary Margaret Smith, and Time, Inc. Reflecting the scope of her influence and career, Bourke-White's correspondence includes that of artists (Boris Artzybasheff, Rockwell Kent, Georgia O'Keeffe, Lee Simonson, John Vassos, Gluyas Williams); authors (Sherwood Anderson, Pearl Buck, Stanley Burnshaw, Norman Cousins, Theodore Dreiser, Joseph Freeman, John Gunther, Lillian Hellman, Maurice G. Hindus, Joseph North, Robb Sagendorff, Stefansson Vilhjalmur); entertainers (Pablo Casals, Maurice Chevalier, Burl Ives, Andre Kostelanetz, Alexander (Abrasha) Schneider); industrial clients (Aluminum Company of America, American Iron and Steel Institute, Atlantic Refining Company, Bethlehem Steel Company, Congoleum-Nairn Corporation, Flintkote Company, Ford Motor Company, Gulf Oil Corporation, International Harvester Company, International Paper Company, Lehigh Portland Cement Company, National Engraving Company, Otis Steel Company, Oxford Paper Company, Swift and Company); journalists (Robert Cromie, Irv Kupcinet, Frank Moraes, Edward R. Murrow, Robert L. Sherrod, John Cameron Swayze, Lowell Thomas, Dorothy Thompson, Louis Wiley); photographers (Ansel Adams, Imogen Cunningham, Alfred Eisenstaedt, Yousef Karsh, Dorthea Lange, Jackie Martin, Edward Steichen, Ralph Steiner, Alfred Stieglitz, Edward Weston); and politicians/world leaders (Dwight D. Eisenhower, Hubert H. Humphrey, Jacob Javits, John Lindsay, Clare Boothe Luce, Jawaharlal Nehru, Richard Nixon, Franklin D. Roosevelt).

A pioneer in architectural and industrial photography, Bourke-White's literary collaboration (North of the Danube, You Have Seen Their Faces, Say, Is This the U.S.A.?) with and marriage (1936-1942) to author Erskine Caldwell introduced her to progressive causes and cultivated her dedication to social reform. (See the Erskine Caldwell Papers in the Special Collections Research Center for Bourke-White/Caldwell correspondence and other Caldwell material.) Correspondence with the American Artists Congress, American League for Peace and Democracy, American Youth Congress, Friends of the Soviet Union, Frederick Kuh, League of American Writers, League of Women Shoppers, Medical Bureau to Aid Spanish Democracy, New Masses, the New School for Social Research, Upton Sinclair, Anna Louise Strong, and Genevieve Taggard reflects Bourke-White's leftist political orientation and was subsequently cited (1951) as evidence of possible un-American activity (see Pegler case). After Bourke-White was diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease in 1954, correspondence centers around her illness and Time, Inc.

Writings (Boxes 57-72) include holograph and/or typescript manuscripts and published versions of articles, books, interviews, and lectures, as well as notes and miscellany. Writings are arranged alphabetically by title within each category and by beginning sentences or interviewing agency when titles are not supplied. Author and/or co-author of 10 books relating to her photojournalistic experiences, the collection contains typescripts for Dear Fatherland, Rest Quietly (a "candid picture" of a defeated Germany, people and country); Eyes on Russia ("personal impressions" of the Soviet Union and of the "new industry ... being built under the Five Year Plan" during the summer of 1930); Halfway to Freedom (a chronicle of the fight for India's independence and the resulting formation of Pakistan); Shooting the Russian War (documentation of the scenes relating to the German invasion of the Soviet Union in 1941); and They Called It "Purple Heart Valley" (observations of the World War II Italian war theatre, primarily Cassino Valley).

The collection also includes drafts and typescripts of Bourke-White's autobiography and last published work, Portrait of Myself, in which she wrote of her struggle with the Parkinson's Disease which was later to claim her life, the topic also of a photojournalistic article in Life. (For the Bourke-White book titles which are available in the Library, check the rare book card catalog and the online catalog system.) Reference notes (Boxes 67-71) are arranged by subject for various writing projects and include those Bourke-White assembled while on various photography assignments and as a World War II war correspondent, as well as the notebooks she kept in Japan and Korea. Miscellany (Box 72) contains the manuscript for an unpublished book, juvenilia, film notes and reviews.

Memorabilia (Boxes 73-105, Oversize boxes 1-7, Items 1-16) consists of financial and legal material, photographic equipment, printed material, scrapbooks, and miscellany. Financial material (Boxes 73-84) is predominantly banking records and Bourke-White Studios (1928-1941) business. Legal memorabilia (Box 84-86) comprises various insurance policies, contracts, wills and studio releases. Photographic equipment, listed and described separately below, consists of Bourke-White's cameras and other tools of her trade.

Printed material consists of books (Box 57); chronologically arranged clippings about Bourke-White, followed by those arranged by subject relating to India, Life, PM, and the Soviet Union (Boxes 88-97); and various issues of periodicals (Boxes 98-101) arranged by title, with the exception of Trade Winds which is out of sequence in deference to its extent and role in Bourke-White's early career. Scrapbooks (9) contain a variety of clippings about Bourke-White. Miscellany (Boxes 103-105, Oversize box 1) consists of mementos (memberships and identifications, theatre programs, stenographers' notebooks, photography studio plans, war bonds posters); items about Bourke-White (books, films, a 1984 video, her war record which she gathered as a defense to anti-American accusations); and items from other people (writings by others, including the diary of her physical therapist, music, and a pencil portrait).

Photographic equipment (Items 1-16) includes the contents of 13 suitcases, camera cases and cartons; 3 tripods are separate. Reflecting both technological growth and the rigorous demands Bourke-White placed upon her equipment (and herself), these range from a simple pocket box camera to a large camera specifically designed for aerial photography, and also include a wooden view camera, 35mm cameras, and optically complex German lenses, some in near-perfect condition and some moldy, rusty and broken.

Recordings consists of dictation discs, reel-to-reel tapes and phonodiscs, most 78rpm. The contents include speeches, interviews, and speech therapy recordings made after Bourke-White was diagnosed with Parkinson's.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Except for photographic equipment and the recordings, which are in no particular order, material is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Access to recordings may require advance notice for production of a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Researchers are not allowed to take photographic images of Margaret Bourke-White photo prints without copyright holders permission. Contact Public Services Librarian for more information.

Return to top

Related Material

Bourke-White's photographs and negatives comprise a separate collection. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

See also the papers of Bourke-White's husband, author Erskine Caldwell.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bourke-White, Margaret, 1904-1971.

Corporate Bodies

Time, Inc.

Subjects

Advertising -- Photographers
Advertising photography.
Aerial photography.
Commercial photography.
Documentary photography.
India-Pakistan Conflict, 1947-1949 -- Photography.
Korean War, 1950-1953 -- Photography.
News photographers -- United States -- 20th century.
Photographers -- United States -- 20th century.
Photographers -- United States -- Biography.
Photographs.
Photography -- Equipment and supplies.
Photography, Artistic.
Photography, Industrial.
Photography, Military.
Photojournalism.
War correspondents -- 20th century.
War photography.
Women photographers.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Italy -- Pictorial works.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Journalists.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Personal narratives, American.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Photography.

Places

India -- History -- 20th century -- Pictorial works.
Pakistan -- History -- Pictorial works.
Southern States -- Social conditions -- Pictorial works.
Soviet Union -- Pictorial works.
United States -- Social conditions -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Black-and-white photographs.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Documentary photographs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Negatives (photographic)
News photographs.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Sound recordings.

Occupations

News photographers.
Photographers.
War correspondents.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Margaret Bourke-White Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority of collection, gift of Roger B. White, 1972.

Additional items, gifts of White and others, 1973-2008.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SEH
Date: Nov 1991
Revision history: 20 Jul 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 1 Sep 2011 - corrected Roosevelt folder, box 42 (MRR); 30 Jan 2012 - added recordings, updated description (MRC); 22 Aug 2012 - added ID numbers for recordings (MRC); 17 Dec 2012 - updated equipment list (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Autobiographical 1928-1933
Box 1 Autobiographical 1904-1943
Box 1 Autobiographical 1944-1953
Box 1 Autobiographical 1954-1968, undated
Box 1 Awards 1935-1969
Correspondence-Subject Files
Family
Box 1 Family 1863-1919 (3 folders)
Box 2 Family 1921-1937 (13 folders)
Box 3 Family 1939-1971, undated (9 folders)
Box 4 A - Misc (6 folders)
Box 4 Abbey, Stuart G.
See University of Michigan; see also Memorabilia: Miscellany: Photos/Stuart G. Abbey
Box 4 Abbott, Berenice 1939
Box 4 Abeles, Elvin 1933
Box 4 Abercrombie & Fitch Co. 1934-1965
Box 4 Abraham Lincoln Brigade 1938-1939
Box 4 Abrams, Dorothy 1959-1960
Box 4 Acme Newspictures Inc. 1936
Box 4 Adams, Ansel 1933-1959
Box 4 Adcraft Club of Detroit 1935
Box 4 Advertising agencies (miscellaneous) 1932
Box 5 Advertising Women of New York 1935-1938
Box 5 Affiliated Schools for Workers 1937
Box 5 Airbrush designs (pencil)
Box 5 Airlines time tables 1934-1937
Box 5 Alber & Wickes, Inc. 1933-1934
Box 5 Albere, Jay H. 1934-1935
Box 5 Albers, W. H. 1928-1929
Box 5 Alexander, Albert Ernest 1968
Box 5 Alpha Omicron Pi 1935-1966
Box 5 [B.] Altman & Company 1933-1940
Box 5 Altschul, Frank 1933-1964
Box 5 Aluminum Company of America 1932-1941 (2 folders)
Box 5 Alva, Violet 1959-1960
Alves, Mary
See Time, Inc.
Box 5 Amateur Cinema League, Inc. 1933
Box 5 American Architect 1934
Box 5 American Artists Congress 1935-1938
Box 6 American Artists Congress 1939, undated
American Artists School 1936-1939
Box 6 American Can Company 1934-1942 (2 folders)
Box 6 American Catalin Corporation 1932-1935
Box 6 American Civil Liberties Union 1933, 1938
Box 6 American Education Press 1934-1935
Box 6 American Express Company 1933-1941
Box 6 American Federation of Arts 1933-1935
Box 6 American Federation of Labor 1932-1934
Box 6 American Federationist 1932-1936
See also Memorabilia: Scrapbooks: American Federationist
Box 6 American Friends Service Committee 1938-1939
Box 6 American Institute 1933-1938
Box 6 American Iron and Steel Institute 1935
Box 6 American League for Peace and Democracy 1938-1939
Box 6 The American Magazine 1933-1934
Box 6 American Museum of Natural History 1929-1940, undated
Box 6 American Optical Company 1936-1938, undated
Box 6 American Photographic Publishing Company 1935-1957
Box 6 American Russian Institute 1932-1939
Box 6 American Society of Magazine Photographers 1954-1959
See also University of Miami Photojournalism Conference
Box 6 American Tobacco Company 1934
Box 6 American Women's Association 1934-1957
Box 7 American Woolen Company 1935
Box 7 American Youth Congress 1937-1939
Box 7 American Youth Congress (newsletters) 1937-1939
Box 7 Amkino Corporation 1933-1935
Box 7 Amtora Trading Corporation 1932-1934
Box 7 Anderson, Sherwood 1935-1937
Box 7 Andress, Mary Vail 1934-1959
Box 7 Andrews, Archie M. 1933-1938
Box 7 Angeli, Mary-Louis 1963
Box 7 Angelone, Romolo 1933
Box 7 Angoff, Charles 1935
Box 7 Antigua 1965
Box 7 Antioch College 1935-1938
Box 7 Apeda Studio 1934-1941
Box 7 Apparel (miscellaneous) 1937-1953, undated
Box 7 The Architectural Forum 1932-1935
Box 7 The Architectural Record 1929-1939
Box 7 Arden, Elizabeth 1934-1936
Box 7 Argus Company 1934-1956, undated
Box 7 Armour and Company 1934-1935, undated
Box 7 Armstrong, Frank 1942-1961
Box 7 Armstrong, Hamilton Fish 1938-1939
Box 7 Art Institute of Chicago 1957-1958
Box 7 Artzybasheff, Boris 1939, undated
Box 7 Associated Press 1934, 1938
Box 7 [E. C.] Atkins and Company 1935
Box 8 Atkinson, J. H. and L. A. 1943-1965
Box 8 Atlantic Refining Company 1934
Box 8 [N. W.] Ayer & Son 1933-1956
Box 8 [L. S.] Ayres & Company 1935-1942, undated
Box 8 B-Bul (7 folders)
Box 9 Bum-Bz (1 folder)
Box 9 Bailey, Edna Watson 1937
Box 9 Baker, Jones, Hausauer, Inc. 1933-1936
Box 9 Baldwin, Faith 1959-1962, undated
Balfour, Honor
See Time, Inc.
Box 9 Barbirolli, John 1938
Box 9 Barta Press 1935-1938
Box 9 Barton, Bruce 1933-1959
Box 9 Batten, Barton, Durstine, & Osborn 1933-1962
Box 9 Baylinson, S. Brian 1934-1936 (2 folders)
Box 9 Beauvois, Jacques 1934-1935
Box 9 Beck Engraving Company 1933-1935, undated
Box 9 Bedi, Baba Pyare Lal 1948-1964, undated
Box 9 Bedlington terriers 1938-1939
Box 9 Behrens, Jacob 1937-1939
Box 9 Bell, Earl 1936-1937
Box 9 Bement, Alon 1934-1939
Box 9 Bemis, Alfred Hall 1931-1956
Box 9 Benes, Edouard 1939
Box 9 Benton & Bowles, Inc. 1933-1935
Box 9 Berindranath, Deuan 1964, undated
Box 9 Bethlehem Steel Company 1934-1936
Box 9 Better Vision Bureau 1934-1935
Box 9 Bharati, Dharam Vir 1965
Box 9 Bickel, Karl August 1933
Birth Control Clinical Research Bureau
See Stone, Hannah M.
Box 9 Black, Algernon D. 1969
Box 9 Black Star Publishing Company 1936-1964
Box 9 Blackman Company 1934-1963, undated
Box 9 Blaker Advertising Company 1933-1935
Box 9 Bloch, Lucienne undated
Box 9 Block, Irvin 1966, undated
Box 9 Bloomingdale Brothers, Inc. 1933-1940, undated
Box 9 Bogdanov, Peter A. 1934
Box 9 Bonnycastle, Richard H. G. 1937-1938
Box 9 Bonwit Teller 1933-1962
Bourke, Joseph and "Bella" (Isabella) (maternal grandparents)
See Correspondence-Subject Files: Family.
Box 9 Bowles, Chester and Steb 1958-1969
Box 9 Boyd, Maxwell 1942-1943, undated
Breathitt, Edward T.
See Thomas, Jean
Box 9 Brentanos 1934-1935
Box 9 British Broadcasting Corporation 1938-1964
Box 9 Bromfield, Louis 1942, undated
Box 10 Brooke, Smith & French, Inc. 1934-1939
Box 10 Brooklyn Institute of Arts and Sciences 1932-1936
Browder, William E.
See New Masses
Box 10 Brown, Karl 1934-1963, undated
Box 10 Brown, Kilburn R. 1934-1935, undated
Box 10 Brown & Bigelow 1935-1937
Box 10 Bryn Mawr College 1933-1937
Bryn Mawr Summer School for Workers in Industry
See Bryn Mawr College
Box 10 Buck, Pearl S. 1940-1941, undated
Box 10 Buckus, Jean L. 1935
Burnshaw, Stanley
See New Masses
Box 10 Business and Professional Women, Inc. 1935-1955
Butts, Virginia
See Time, Inc.
Box 10 C-Com (5 folders)
Box 11 Con-Cz (2 folders)
Caldwell, Erskine
See Erskine Caldwell Papers, Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Box 11 Caldwell family 1942-1969, undated
Box 11 Call, Hughie undated
Box 11 Callahan, Sean
See Time, Inc.
Box 11 Campbell-Ewald Company 1933-1942
See also Transcontinental & Western Airways and Hiram Walker & Sons, Inc.
Box 11 Canadian trip 1937, undated
Box 11 Canfield, Bertrand R. 1935
Box 11 Canon Camera Company, Inc. 1956-1957, undated
Box 11 Capa, Cornell 1959-1968, undated
Box 11 Capron, Mildred Stead 1963-1971
Box 11 Carroll, Theodus 1967, undated
Box 11 Casals, Pablo 1949, 1970
See also Schneider, Alexander
Box 11 Catlin, George Edward Gordon 1932-1934, undated
Box 11 Cats 1957-1971, undated
Box 11 Chapman, Everett (first husband)
See Correspondence-Subject Files: Family.
Box 11 Chase National Bank 1933-1941
Box 11 Chen, Jack 1938
Box 11 Chevalier, Maurice 1969
Box 11 Chicago Daily News 1934
Box 11 Chicago trips 1933-1934
Childs High School exhibit
See Evander Childs High School exhibit
Box 11 Choosing-a-Career Conference Jun 1934
Box 12 The Christian Science Monitor 1933-1936
Box 12 [W. P.] Chrysler Building Corporation 1930-1934
Box 12 Chrysler Corporation 1934-1935
Churchill, Bill
see Time, Inc.
Box 12 Churchill, Winston 1939
Box 12 Clark, Emily 1939
Box 12 Cleveland Museum of Art 1934-1964
Box 12 Clyne, William Patrick 1933-1941
Box 12 Coates, Robert M. undated
Box 12 Cocktail party 1933-1934
Box 12 [Abe] Cohen's Exchange Inc. 1935-1936
Box 12 College Art Association 1932-1938
Collins Publishers
see Knittel, Robert/Rainer, Luise
Box 12 Color photography 1934, undated
Box 12 Columbia Broadcasting System Inc. 1935-1964, undated
See also Wershba, Joe
Box 12 Columbia Lecture Bureau 1941-1942
Box 12 Columbia Pictures Corporation 1933-1934, undated
Box 12 Columbia University 1933-1970
Box 12 Commercial Solvents Corporation 1936-1937
Box 12 Concert Management Arthur Judson, Inc. 1934
Box 12 Conde Nast Publications, Inc. 1929-1941, undated
Box 12 Congoleum-Nairn Corporation 1936-1937, undated
Box 12 Cook, Marion Belden 1935-1937
Box 12 Coolidge, Elizabeth Sprague 1949
Box 12 Corbett, Edith 1934
Box 12 Cornell University 1932-1939 (2 folders)
Box 13 Cornell University 1940-1971, undated
Box 13 Cosmopolitan 1933-1936
Box 13 Cousins, Norman and Ellen 1939-1971, undated
Box 13 Coxe, Daniel and Dorothy 1936-1969, undated
Box 13 Crane, Arnold H. 1966
Box 13 Cromie, Robert 1933-1963
Box 13 Crone, Berta 1934
Box 13 Crowninshield, Frank undated
Box 13 Culinary 1950s
Box 13 Cunningham, Imogen 1971
Box 13 Curtis, E. P. "Ted" 1932-1966
Box 13 Cushman, Helen Caldwell 1951-1963, undated
Box 13 D (4 folders)
Box 14 Daily Times (Chicago) 1933
Box 14 Dam assignments 1934-1936, undated
Box 14 Darien Community Association 1956-1967
Box 14 Dearing, Albin Pasteur 1939
Box 14 Andre Debrie 1931-1934
Box 14 De Liagre, Alfred and Mrs. 1931-1939
Box 14 Delineator Editorial Offices 1934-1936, undated
Box 14 Delman Inc. 1934-1935
Box 14 Deskey, Donald 1932-1934
Box 14 Detroit Institute of Arts 1933-1966
Box 14 Deutsche Botschaft undated
Box 14 DeVries, Lini 1966
Box 14 Dewey, John and Evelyn 1932-1939
Box 14 [M. H.] de Young Memorial Museum 1932-1933
Box 14 Diehl, Ambrose and Frances 1933-1967, undated
Directions
See Harris, Marguerite Tjader
Box 14 Dodd, Martha 1938-1939
Box 14 Dodd, Mead & Company 1935, 1940
Box 14 Dombo,"Tubby" Luf 1931-1966, undated
Box 14 [R. R.] Donnelly & Sons Company 1942, 1970
Box 14 Dorne, Albert 1964, 1967
Box 14 Dreiser, Theodore 1938
See also Meyer, Rose D.
Box 14 Dreyfuss, Henry 1934-1942
Box 14 Drought assignment Aug. 1934-1935, undated
Box 14 Duell, Sloan & Pearce, Inc. 1941-1942
Box 14 Dugan, Tom 1953, undated
Box 14 The Dupont Magazine 1934-1935, undated
Box 14 Durant, Kenneth C. and Clara 1933-1963, undated
Box 14 Duryea, Drix 1933-1935, undated
See also National Broadcasting Company
Box 15 Dust storm assignments 1935, 1954, undated
Box 15 E (2 folders)
Box 15 Earhart, Amelia 1933-1934
See also Putnam, George Palmer
Box 15 Earle, Harley 1935
Box 15 Eastern Airlines job 1935-1963, undated (2 folders)
Box 15 [George] Eastman House exhibitions 1956-1965
Box 15 Eastman Kodak Company 1930-1956, undated (3 folders)
See also Newhall, Beaumont and Nancy
Box 15 Eisenhower, Dwight David 1943
Box 15 Eisenstaedt, Alfred and Kathy 1947-1971, undated
See also Time, Inc.
Box 15 Elliott Company 1933
Elson, Robert
See Time, Inc.
Box 15 Employees 1934-1935
Box 15 Erwin, Wasey & Company, Inc. 1933-1939, undated
Box 16 Esquire 1933-1957, undated
Box 16 European trips 1938-1939
Box 16 Evander Childs High School exhibit 1964
See also United States Information Service
Box 16 Exhibition catalogs (miscellaneous) 1931-1968 (2 folders)
Experimental Cinema
See Stern, Seymour
Box 16 "Eyes on Russia" and "Red Republic" (motion pictures) 1932-1934, undated
Box 16 F-Fk (2 folders)
Box 17 Fl-Fz (2 folders)
Box 17 Fairchild Aerial Camera Corporation 1935-1937
Box 17 Fairfield County Trust Company 1957-1966
Box 17 Famous Photographers School 1964-1968, undated
Box 17 Farrar, Straus and Cudahy, Inc. 1955-1957, undated
Box 17 Federation for the Support of Jewish Philanthropic Societies of New York City 1934-1959
Box 17 Feibleman, James Kern undated
Box 17 Fern, Alan 1970-1971
Box 17 Film and Photo League 1933-1935, undated
Box 17 Film Society Inc. 1933-1937, undated
Box 17 Finlay Colour Limited 1933-1934
Box 17 Firestone Tire and Rubber Company 1935
Box 17 Fischer, Louis and Markoosha 1932-1964
Box 17 Fisher, Ray and Sue 1960-1971
Box 17 Fitelson, H. William 1932-1936, undated
Box 17 Fleming, Archibald Lang 1937-1952
Box 17 Fletcher & Ellis, Inc. 1934-1935
Box 17 Fleury, Serge 1933-1934
Box 17 Flintkote Company 1934-1936
Box 17 Foley, Martha 1934, 1938
Box 17 Ford Motor Company 1934-1935
Box 18 Foreign Policy Association 1933-1942
Box 18 Form letters 1932-1936
Box 18 Forsee, Aylesa 1965-1966
Box 18 Fortiner, Virginia J. 1934, undated
Fortune
See Time, Inc.
Box 18 Frary, Ihna Thayer 1960
Box 18 Fratkin, Ethel (employee) 1932-1960, undated (3 folders)
Box 18 Freeman, Joseph 1931-1963
Box 18 Fred F. French Management Company 1933-1938
Box 18 Friends of the Soviet Union 1932-1938, undated
Box 18 Fritzsche Brothers, Inc. 1935-1936
Box 18 Fuller, Richard Buckminster 1933
Box 18 Fuller & Smith & Ross, Inc. 1933-1939
Box 18 G-Grd (3 folders)
Box 19 Gre-Gz (1 folder)
Box 19 Gafney, Hugh 1934-1967, undated
Box 19 Gale Company 1930-1944 (2 folders)
Box 19 Gallagher, Barrett 1933
Box 19 Galleon Press, Inc. 1936-1937
Box 19 Gannett, Lewis Stiles and Ruth Crisman 1934-1936
Box 19 Gardening 1939
Box 19 Gardner Advertising Company 1929-1939
Box 19 Geddes, Norman Bel 1929-1944, undated
Box 19 Geer, Will and Herta 1939, undated
Box 19 General Biological Supply House 1937-1938
Box 19 General Electric Company 1930-1935
Box 19 General Motors Corporation 1934-1935, undated
Box 19 General Printing Corporation 1935
George Eastman House exhibitions
See Eastman House exhibitions
Box 19 Georgian (USSR) songs 1934
Box 19 Gernsheim, Helmut 1957, 1970
Box 19 Getchell, J. Stirling 1934-1936
Box 19 Gibson, Lydia 1934
Box 19 Gilbert, Ariadne 1944-1963
Giles, Barbara
See New Masses
Box 20 Gilfillan, Francois Archibald 1925-1963
Box 20 Ginn and Company: Publishers 1936-1941
Box 20 Glintenkamp, H. 1938-1939
See also American Artists Congress
Box 20 Goldwyn, Samuel 1934, 1943
Box 20 Good Housekeeping 1934-1958
Box 20 Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company 1933-1937, undated
Box 20 Gorham Company 1930
Box 20 Grace & Holiday 1930-1935
Box 20 Graebner, Walter 1964
See also Time, Inc.
Box 20 Graflex 1930-1957, undated
Box 20 Graubner, Oscar A. 1933-1963, undated
Box 20 Grauert, Charlotte (Klien) 1930-1965
Box 20 Great Lakes Exposition 1936
Green, Kenneth
See Lehmann-Haupt, Hellman and Letitia
Box 20 Greenbaum, Wolff & Ernst 1951-1971
Box 20 Greenwald, Dorothy undated
Box 20 Greer, Howard 1937-1939
Box 20 Griffin, Arthur and Claire 1962, undated
Box 20 Griffin, Florence 1930
Box 20 Griffith, Sanford 1933-1938
Box 20 Grimm, Peter 1951-1970, undated
Box 20 Grolier Incorporated 1941-1964
Box 20 Gruppo, Nelson 1933
Box 20 [John Simon] Guggenheim Memorial Foundation 1939
Box 20 Gulf Oil Corporation 1933-1936
Gulf Refining Company
See Gulf Oil Corporation
Box 21 Gumpertz, Julian 1934-1937
Box 21 Gunther, John 1931-1959
Box 21 H (6 folders)
Box 21 H.E.R. Laboratories, Inc. 1932-1936
Box 21 Habicht, Hermann R. 1931
Box 22 Halle Brothers 1934-1966, undated
Box 22 Haloid Company 1934-1935
Box 22 Hamilton, William 1933
Box 22 [C. S.] Hammond & Company 1935-1936
Box 22 Hanc, Joseph 1938
Box 22 Hanff-Metzger, Inc. 1933-1936, undated
Box 22 Hanson, Joseph E. 1968
Box 22 Harcourt, Brace & Company 1937-1959
Box 22 Harno, Albert James 1944
Box 22 Harper & Brothers 1934-1935
Box 22 Harris, Marguerite Tjader 1957, undated
Box 22 Harvard University 1930-1968
Box 22 Hawes, Elizabeth 1933-1938, undated
Box 22 Hearst Enterprises, Inc. 1933-1938
Box 22 Heilman, Robert D. 1963
Box 22 Hellman, Lillian 1938-1941
See also North America Committee to Aid Spanish Democracy in N (general)
Box 22 Henny, Keith 1935
Box 22 Henry Street Visiting Nurse Service 1936-1938, undated
Box 22 Hepburn family 1936
Box 22 Heppenstall Steel Company 1933-1934
Box 22 Herrick, Frances 1939, undated
Box 22 Hession, Eileen 1957-1961
Box 22 Heyman, Ken 1963
Box 22 Heyman, Mark 1933
Hicks, Wilson
See Time, Inc.
Box 22 Hiett, Helen 1958-1964, undated
Box 22 Higgins, Lisetta 1957-1964
Box 22 Hill, John W. 1930-1963
Box 22 Himber, Charlotte 1942
Box 22 Hindus, Maurice Gerschon 1930-1963
Box 22 Hinni, K. T. 1961-1968, undated
Box 22 Hitler, Adolf 1940
Box 22 Hood, Robert E. 1962-1968
Hoover, Dorothy
See Time, Inc.
House & Garden
See Conde Nast Publications, Inc.
Box 22 Household 1957-1970, undated
Box 22 Howe, James Wong 1935
Box 22 Hudson's Bay Company 1937-1938
See also Bonnycastle, Richard H. G.
Box 22 Hughes, Wolff & Company 1933-1935
Box 22 Humphrey, Hubert H. 1965
Hussey, Margaret Parton
See Parton, Margaret
Box 22 Hutchins, C. T. 1931-1935
Box 23 I (1 folder)
Box 23 The Illustrated London News 1930-1936
Box 23 Inches, Howard Von Hardenburg 1935-1937
Box 23 Indianapolis Motor Speedway Corporation 1935
Box 23 Ingersoll, Ralph and Marian 1933-1959, undated
See Time, Inc.
Box 23 International Correspondence Schools 1934-1936
Box 23 International Exhibition of Photography 1933
Box 23 International Harvester Company 1935, 1960
Box 23 International Labor Defense 1933-1938, undated
Box 23 International Paper Company 1937-1944
Box 23 Ives, Burl 1950
Box 23 J (2 folders)
Box 23 Jackson, Phyllis 1964-1971, undated
Box 23 Jaffe, Herb 1956-1964
Box 23 Jakobovits, Leon A. 1965
Box 23 James, Frederick 1946
Box 23 Javits, Jacob K. 1961
Box 23 Jayasinghe, Peter L. 1946-1963, undated
Box 24 Jenkins, Florence Foster 1938
Box 24 Jenter Exhibits, Inc. 1934-1937
Box 24 Jesuits 1953-1968, undated (2 folders)
Box 24 Jewell, Edward Alden 1933-1935
Box 24 Jinnah, Fatima 1946
Box 24 "Journeyman" (play) 1937-1938
Box 24 K (3 folders)
Box 24 Albert Kahn, Inc. 1934-1936
Karas, George
See Time, Inc.
Box 24 Karsh, Yousef 1963-1966
Box 24 Katz, Nathan 1937-1938
Box 24 Kearney, Josephine (employee) 1929-1932
Box 24 Keasbey, Edie and Tom 1964-1967, undated
Box 24 Keelor & Stites Company 1933
Box 24 Keen, Kennard G. 1935, undated
Box 24 Keep, O. D. 1935-1937, undated
See also Time, Inc.
Box 24 Keller, Helen 1938
Box 24 Kelley, Etna 1934-1938
Box 24 Kelly, Fred C. 1933, undated
See also Commercial Solvents Corporation
Box 24 Kent, Rockwell 1936-1939
Box 24 Kenyon & Eckhardt 1933-1934
Box 24 Keppler, Victor 1933-1937, undated
See also Famous Photographers School
Box 25 Kerner, Robert Joseph 1938-1939
Box 25 Ketchum, Carl J. 1933
Box 25 Ketchum, Macleod & Grove, Inc. 1935-1936
Box 25 Khama, Seretse and Ruth 1950-1953, undated
Box 25 King Features Syndicate, Inc. 1934-1964
Box 25 Kingsbury, John Adams 1932-1937
Box 25 Kirchwey, Freda 1937-1939
Box 25 Kirstein, Lincoln 1935
Box 25 Kitts, Alfred 1960
Box 25 Klarnet, Philip 1956-1969, undated
Box 25 Knittel, Robert/Rainer, Luise 1963-1965
Box 25 Knopf, Alfred A. and Blanche Wolf 1935-1960
Box 25 Kopf, Elizabeth (employee) 1934-1937
Box 25 Kopperl, Bert (employee) 1938-1963
Box 25 Korner, Ruth 1938-1939
Box 25 Kostelanetz, Andre 1944
Box 25 Arthur Kudner Inc. 1935-1936, undated
Box 25 Kuh, Frederick 1930-1964, undated
See also United Press
Box 25 Kupcinet, Irv 1960
Box 25 L-Lk (3 folders)
Box 26 Ll-Lz (1 folders)
Box 26 Laboratory School of Industrial Design 1939
Box 26 Ladies' Home Journal 1933-1960, undated
Box 26 La Montaine, John 1964-1968, undated
See also Memorabilia: Miscellany: Music/John La Montaine
Box 26 Lange, Dorothea 1939-1966
Box 26 Langner, Lawrence 1959-1960
Box 26 League of American Writers 1937-1939
Box 26 League of Women Shoppers 1935-1939, undated
Box 26 Lehigh Portland Cement Company 1940-1941, undated
Box 26 Lehmann-Haupt, Hellman and Letitia 1933-1934, undated
Box 26 Leigh, Colston 1933-1968, undated
Box 26 Leighton, Clare 1933-1935
Box 26 Leitch, Norma "Paddy" Dershimer 1933-1935, undated
Box 26 Lengyel, Emil 1935-1936
Box 26 Lennen & Mitchell, Inc. 1933-1935
Box 26 Leroux, Germaine/Safranek, Milos 1939, undated
Box 26 Letchworth Village 1933-1938
Box 26 Levarie, Siegmond 1959, 1964, undated
Box 26 Lieber, Maxim 1936-1942, undated
See also"Journeyman" (play)
Life
See Time, Inc.
Box 26 Lindsay, John V. 1961, undated
Box 26 Liss, Joseph 1959-1964, undated
See also Memorabilia: Miscellany: Writings by others
Box 26 Litvinov, Maxim 1933-1942
Lloyd-Smith, Parker
See Time, Inc.
Box 26 Lloyds Film Storage Corporation 1934-1938
Box 26 Loewy, Raymond 1936
Box 26 London Electrotype Agency 1931-1935, undated
Longwell, Daniel
See Time, Inc.
Box 26 Loomis, Louise Ropes 1933
Box 26 Lord & Taylor 1932-1939
Box 26 Lord & Thomas Advertising 1933-1936
Box 26 Louisville flood assignment 1937
Box 27 Love, N. Stewart 1936-1939, undated
Lower, Elmer
See Time, Inc.
Box 27 Lubin, Isadore 1934-1936
Box 27 Luce, Henry R., Clare Boothe and family 1935-1963, undated
See also Time, Inc.
Box 27 Ludewig & Deutsch 1932-1936, undated
Box 27 Ludlum Steel Company 1929-1937
See also Wm. B. Remington, Inc.
Box 27 Lugene, Inc. 1933-1936
Box 27 Lynn, Rhoda (employee) 1940-1942
Box 27 Lyons, Eugene 1931-1934
Box 27 M-Mim (5 folders)
Box 28 Min-Mz (2 folders)
Box 28 McBride, Mary Margaret 1933-1942, undated
Box 28 McCall Company/McCall's 1933-1968, undated
Box 28 McCann-Erickson Inc. 1932-1937, undated
Box 28 McGarry, William A. 1931-1937, undated
Box 28 [J. S.] McHugh, Inc. 1934-1940
Mackland, Ray
See Time, Inc.
Box 28 MacMannus, John & Adams, Inc. 1932-1937
Box 28 Macmillan Company 1931-1935, undated
Box 28 McNiff, Alice E. 1966-1968
Box 28 [R. H.] Macy & Co. 1932-1963, undated
Box 28 Magnuson, Libby (employee) 1957-1963, undated
Magonet, Fern
See Time, Inc.
Box 29 Maloney, Thomas J. 1933-1966, undated
Box 29 Mandell, Maurice 1937
Box 29 Marin, John 1933
Box 29 Marine Midland Trust Co. 1946-1957
Box 29 [A. N.] Marquis Company 1939
Box 29 Marshall, Bratter & Seligson 1935
Marshall College
See Leigh, Colston
Box 29 Marshall Field & Company 1931-1942
Box 29 Martin, Jackie 1936-1968
Box 29 Martin, Miles Jay 1936-1938
Box 29 Mayer, Arthur L. 1934, 1958
Box 29 Mayer, Carlos 1932-1934, undated
Box 29 Medical Bureau to Aid Spanish Democracy 1934-1939
Box 29 Medo Photo Supply Corporation 1935-1940
Box 29 Meiss, Edwin R. 1934-1960, undated
Box 29 Meldrum and Fewsmith, Inc. 1930-1936, undated (4 folders)
Box 29 Mellon Institute of Industrial Research 1935
Box 30 Menchin, Robert S. 1965
Box 30 Meng, Chih 1939
Box 30 Meredith Publishing Company 1934-1935
Box 30 Metcalf, Jim 1945
Box 30 Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer 1932-1938, undated
Box 30 Meyer, Eugene and Agnes 1932-1935
Box 30 Meyer, Rose D. 1932
Box 30 Mezhlauk, V. I. 1931-1937
Michelson, Herman
See New Masses
Box 30 Miki, Jun and Yasuko 1958-1966
See also Time, Inc.
Box 30 Milbank Memorial Fund 1933
Box 30 Milgrim 1933-1936
Box 30 [George W.] Millar & Co. 1932-1940
Box 30 Millard, Charles W. 1966
Box 30 I. Miller & Sons, Inc. 1931-1935
Box 30 Mills, Robert and Ann P. 1963
Box 30 Mills College 1933-1935
Box 30 Monnet, Jean 1935
Box 30 Montgomery Ward & Co. 1934-1935
Box 30 Moore, Iola Willie 1937-1939
Box 30 Moraes, Frank 1945-1968, undated (2 folders)
Box 30 Morang, Alfred 1937
Box 30 Morgan, Willard D. 1942-1963
Box 30 [C. V.] Mosby Company 1933-1939
Box 31 Muller-Munk, Peter 1932-1944
Box 31 Mumford, Lewis 1933-1937, undated
Box 31 Mumm-Romer-Robbins & Pearson 1934-1936
Box 31 Munger, Jessie "Mother" 1931-1955, undated
Box 31 Munkacsi, Martin 1935
Box 31 Murphy, Francis X. 1941
Murray, D. C."Bill"
See Time, Inc.
See also Adcraft Club of Detroit
Box 31 Arthur Murray's Studio 1935-1960, undated
Box 31 Murrow, Edward R. 1963-1964
Box 31 Museum of Modern Art 1931-1966, undated
Box 31 Muslim, Faesol 1962
Box 31 N (3 folders)
Box 32 Nair, Pyarelal 1968
Box 32 Nakano, Goro 1955
Box 32 "Naked Eye" (motion picture) 1958-1960
Box 32 Nakian, Reuben 1934-1936, undated
Box 32 Nathan, Adele Gutman undated
Box 32 The Nation 1932-1936
Box 32 National Alliance of Art and Industry Inc. 1932-1935
Box 32 National Broadcasting Company 1933-1960, undated (2 folders)
Box 32 National Engraving Company 1931-1932, undated
Box 32 National Foundation for Infant Paralysis 1952-1958
Box 32 National Geographic Society 1934-1936
Box 32 National League of American Pen Women, Inc. 1957-1968, undated
National Recovery Administration (NRA)
See United States. National Recovery Administration
Box 32 National Studios Inc. 1932-1935
Box 32 National Urban League, Inc. 1959-1960
Box 32 NEA Service, Inc. 1932-1938, undated
Box 32 Neher, Irene 1939
Box 32 Nehru, Jawaharlal undated
Box 33 New Canaan Library exhibit 1963-1964, undated
Box 33 New Jersey State Museum 1936
Box 33 New Masses 1933-1942, undated
Box 33 The New Republic 1934-1938, undated
Box 33 New School for Social Research 1933-1939, undated
Box 33 New Workers School 1934, undated
Box 33 New York (State). Department of Commerce 1963-1964
Box 33 New York Central Railroad 1932-1934
Box 33 New York Herald Tribune 1932-1959
Box 33 New York Institute of Photography 1934-1936
New York Post
See Wershba, Joe
Box 33 New York Telephone Company 1931-1939
Box 33 The New York Times 1930-1963, undated
See also Wiley, Louis
Box 33 New York University 1937-1963
Box 33 Newell Emmett Company 1932-1936, undated
Box 33 Newhall, Beaumont and Nancy 1936-1971, undated
See also Museum of Modern Art
Box 33 Newspaper Guild of New York 1936-1937, undated
Box 33 Nichols, Elaine 1945
Box 33 Nixon, Richard M. 1969
North, Joseph
See New Masses
Box 33 Nye, Gertrude 1931-1939
Box 33 O (2 folders)
Box 33 Oglesby, Catherine 1934-1947
See also Ladies' Home Journal
Box 33 Ohio State University 1932-1969, undated
Box 34 O'Keeffe, Georgia 1932-1936, undated
Box 34 Open Road, Inc. 1931-1935
Box 34 Openhym, Evelyn Tennyson 1932-1937
Box 34 Otis Steel Company 1931-1953
Box 34 Oumansky, K. 1933-1939, undated
Box 34 Overseas Press Club of America 1939-1971
Box 34 Owen, Ray and Gladys 1963
Box 34 Owens-Illinois Glass Company 1931-1932, undated
Box 34 Oxford Paper Company 1932-1942
Box 34 P-Pp (4 folders)
Box 35 Pr-Pz
Box 35 Pacific Western Airlines 1957
Box 35 Pan American Airways 1934-1942, undated
Box 35 Papurt, M. Jerry 1943-1944, undated (4 folders)
Box 35 Pardoe, J. B. 1931-1939, undated
Box 35 Parker, Dorothy 1938
See also American Friends Service Committee
Parkinson's Disease
Box 35 correspondence 1954-1958
Box 36 correspondence 1959-1960 (12 folders)
Box 37 correspondence 1961-1971, undated (12 folders)
Box 38 medical misc.
Box 38 miscellaneous
Box 38 printed material
Box 38 Parshalle, Eve 1963
Box 38 Parton, Margaret 1963
Pearce, Charles A.
See Harcourt, Brace & Company
Box 38 Pearl Harbor, Hawaii 1939
Box 38 Peel, Fred P. 1933-1935
Box 39 Pegler Case 1947-1952, undated (3 folders)
Box 39 Pellissier, Raoul 1933-1934
Box 39 Pennsylvania Museum of Art 1932-1934
Box 39 Pepin, Lee 1957-1958
Box 39 Perkins Institute and Massachusetts School for the Blind 1932-1963
Box 39 Perry, Helen Swick 1964
Box 39 Philadelphia East-West Committee 1951-1952
See also Pegler Case
Box 39 Phillips, John 1959-1969, undated
Box 39 Phillips Academy 1934-1941
Box 39 Photo League 1938-1941
Box 39 Photographic Illustrators, Inc. 1933-1936, undated
See also United States. National Recovery Administration (NRA)
Box 39 Photographic Society of America 1935-1962, undated
Box 40 Photographic Society of Philadelphia 1932
Box 40 Photographic Workers League 1933
Box 40 Photokina 1958-1969
Box 40 Pictorial Photographers of America 1930-1938, undated
Box 40 Pictorial Review 1931-1936
Box 40 Pierce-Arrow Motor Car Company 1931-1935, undated
Box 40 Pilnyak, Boris 1931-1935
Box 40 Pittsburgh assignment 1937, undated
Box 40 Plainfield High School 1934-1971
Box 40 Platinel, Inc. 1931-1932
Box 40 PM 1940-1941, undated
Box 40 Podolsky, M. 1932
Box 40 Pollack, Peter 1957-1963
Box 40 Pollak, Bernard E. 1931-1932
Box 40 Pope, Arthur Upham 1933-1939
Box 40 Popular Photography 1937-1967
Box 40 Postal Telegraph-Cable Company 1931-1937
Box 40 Powers Reproduction Corporation 1935-1941
Box 40 Preston, Scherer 1931-1932
Box 40 Price Brothers Sales Corporation 1932-1936
See also Publicity
Box 40 Printers' Ink Monthly 1933-1964
Box 40 Professional Photographers Club of New York, Inc. 1931-1933
Box 40 Professional Photographers of America 1933-1966
Box 40 Prudden, Bonnie 1964-1966, undated
Box 40 Public Utilities Fortnightly 1933-1935
Box 40 Pudovkin, Vsevolod Illarionovich 1931-1933
Box 40 Purdue University 1930-1938
Box 40 Putnam, George Palmer 1933-1935
See also Earhart, Amelia
Box 40 Q (1 folder)
Box 40 Quick, Wallace J. 1954-1966, undated
Box 41 Quill and Scroll 1960
Box 41 Quinby, E. Jay 1934-1935
Box 41 R (4 folders)
Box 41 Rabinovitch 1935
Box 41 Random House 1937-1939, 1967
Box 41 Ratoff, Gregory 1944
Box 41 RCA Victor Company, Inc. 1931-1935, undated
Box 41 Reader's Digest 1956-1962
Box 41 Realites 1961-1966
Box 41 Red Book Magazine 1932-1935, undated
"Red Republic"
see "Eyes on Russia" and"Red Republic" (motion pictures)
Box 42 Redmond, William F. 1932
Box 42 Reilly, Frank C. 1929-1939, undated
Box 42 [Wm. B.] Remington, Inc. 1931-1937, undated
See also Ludlum Steel Company
Box 42 Remington Rand, Inc. 1931-1936
Box 42 Republic Steel Corporation 1931-1936, undated
See also Meldrum and Fewsmith, Inc.
Box 42 Reswick, William 1930-1940, undated
Box 42 Retzer, Florence Horn 1955
Box 42 Rice, Alan 1935-1936
Box 42 Rice, Elmer C. 1933-1935
Box 42 Richardson, Alley & Richards 1932-1936
Box 42 Richie, Robert Yarnall 1934-1938, undated
Box 42 Rickard and Company 1933-1941, undated
Box 42 Rickenbacker, Edward Vernon 1935-1936
Box 42 Riegel, Emil Raymond 1933
Box 42 Rieker, Jane 1959-1962, undated
Box 42 Riguin, A. A. and family 1932-1933
Rindl, Johan
See Gumpertz, Julian
Box 42 Ringel, Fred James 1933-1935
Box 42 Roche, Bettie (employee) 1957-1960
Box 42 Rochester Chamber of Commerce 1932
Box 42 Rockefeller Center 1935-1941, undated
Box 42 Rogers-Kellogg-Stillson 1932-1935, undated
Box 42 Rogovin, Milton 1962
Box 42 Rohrbach Metall-Flugzeugbau 1930-1932
Box 42 [Albert] Romeike & Company, Inc. 1931-1938, undated
Box 42 Roosevelt, Franklin D. and Eleanor B. 1929-1944 - also includes correspondence of Mrs. Theodore Roosevelt Jr. (Eleanor B. Alexander-Roosevelt), wife of Franklin's cousin
Box 42 Roper, Elmo 1943-1971
Box 42 Rosenbaum Grain Corporation 1932-1935, undated
Box 42 Rosenberg, James N. 1934-1939
Box 42 Rosenfeld, Beth and Jay 1955-1965
Box 42 Rosenfeld, Irene 1965
Box 42 The Rotarian 1932-1935
Box 43 Rowe, Edna undated
Box 43 Royal Typewriter Company, Inc. 1934
Box 43 Rubenstein, Rafael 1931-1936, undated
Box 43 Rudge, William Edwin 1931-1938
Box 43 Rudie, Robert 1952-1961, undated
Box 43 Rukeyser, Muriel 1939
Box 43 Rumford Press 1933-1934
Box 43 Ruthven, Alexander 1951-1963
See also University of Michigan
Box 43 S-Std (5 folders)
Box 44 Ste-Sz (2 folders)
Box 44 Sadjaia, Kalet 1933-1937, undated
Safranek, Milos
See Leroux, Germaine/Safranek, Miles
Box 44 Sagendorph, Robb 1943-1966, undated
Box 44 St. John, Robert undated
Box 44 St. Peter State Hospital 1934-1935
Box 44 Saks-Fifth Avenue 1931-1940
Box 44 Salten, Felix 1931
Box 44 Samaroff Stokowski, Olga 1929-1931
Box 44 Sanger, Margaret 1923
Box 44 The Saturday Evening Post 1931-1959
Box 44 Sauder, Rae Norden 1934
Box 44 Schiller, Gunther 1932-1964
Box 44 Schillinger, Joseph 1933, undated
Box 44 Max Schling, Inc. 1933-1934
Box 44 Schneider, Alexander "Sasha" 1949-1962, undated (2 folders)
Box 44 Schulke, Flip 1959
Box 44 Schwartz, A. 1932-1934
Box 44 Scripps-Howard Newspapers 1930-1936
Box 44 Seid, Herman 1931-1941, undated
Box 45 Selby Shoe Company 1934-1937, undated
Box 45 Serlin, Oscar 1933, undated
Box 45 Shahini, Ranjee 1961
Box 45 Sherrod, Robert Lee 1968
Box 45 Shouse, Catherine Filene 1933-1960, undated
Box 45 Simon and Schuster, Inc. 1931-1971, undated (9 folders)
Box 45 Simonson, Lee 1931-1937, undated
Box 45 Sinclair, Upton 1933
Box 45 Skvirsky, Boris 1932-1933
Box 45 Smith, Alfred E. 1931
Box 45 Smith, Bradley 1965-1969, undated
Smith, Dorothy
See Time, Inc.
Box 46 Smith, Margaret (employee) 1936-1961, undated (6 folders)
Box 46 Smithsonian Institute 1965, undated
Box 46 Snow, Edgar 1948-1963
Box 46 Sochurek, Howard 1960
Box 46 Society of Woman Geographers 1938-1969
Box 46 Soho, Limited 1936-1939
Box 47 Sokoloff, Nikolai 1929-1934, undated
Box 47 Sokolsky, George E. 1934
Box 47 Sonnenberg, Benjamin 1933-1939
See also Selby Shoe Company
Box 47 South Africa assignment 1950
Box 47 South America assignment 1936
Box 47 Southern Summer School for Women Workers in Industry 1937-1938
Box 47 Soviet Russia Today 1932-1939, undated
Box 47 Soviet Union 1931-1938 (2 folders)
Spencer, Terry and Leslie
See Time, Inc.
Box 47 Sprackling, Helen 1931-1939, undated
Box 47 Stanley, Edward "Tuck" and Paulie 1933-1971, undated
Box 47 State Journal Company 1932-1933
Box 47 Statue of Liberty assignment 1936
Box 47 Stefansson, Evelyn 1956
Box 47 Stefansson, Vilhjalmur 1933-1939
Box 47 Steichen, Edward 1931-1954
See also Museum of Modern Art
Box 47 Steiner, Ralph 1929-1940, undated
Box 47 Steinhardt, Laurence 1941
Stern, Alfred
See Dodd, Martha
Box 47 Stern, Seymour 1933-1934
Box 48 Sternau, Herbert and Polly 1939-1971, undated
Stieglitz, Alfred
See O'Keeffe, Georgia
Stiles, Vivien
See Time, Inc.
Box 48 Stone, Hannah M. 1937
Box 48 Stowe, Leland 1969
Box 48 Streit, Clarence K. 1958-1963
Box 48 Strode, Hudson 1938
Box 48 Strong, Anna Louise 1933
Box 48 Stryker, Roy E. 1928-1939
Box 48 Stuart, Charles E. 1933
Box 48 Studebaker Corporation 1931
Box 48 Studin, Charles 1932-1939
Box 48 Studio Publications, Inc. 1932-1938
Box 48 Sudeten German Party 1938
Box 48 Sullivan, Harry Stack 1931-1939
Box 48 Sullivan, Thelma D. 1966
Box 48 Swank, Luke undated
Box 48 Swayze, John Cameron 1953
Box 48 Swift and Company 1929-1934, undated
Box 48 Swing, Raymond 1937-1939, undated
Box 48 Syracuse University 1964-1976
Box 48 Szilasi, Bela and Alix 1931-1941, undated
Box 48 T (3 folders)
Box 49 Taggard, Genevieve 1934-1937, undated
Box 49 Taliesin 1931-1933
Box 49 Tauber, Edward 1964
Box 49 Tausig, Lilian B.
See New Masses
Box 49 Taylor, Clarence R."Tony" 1931-1959, undated
Box 49 The Technological Review 1931-1936
Box 49 Teleki, Paul 1939
Box 49 Tennessee Valley Authority 1934-1941
Box 49 Terminal Tower Company 1962-1963
Box 49 Thacker, Earl M. 1939
Box 49 Theatre Arts Committee 1932-1939, undated
Box 49 Theatre Guild, Inc. 1931-1941
Box 49 Theatre Guild Magazine 1929-1932
Box 49 Theatre Union 1932-1934
Box 49 Thomas, Jean 1960-1964
Box 49 Thomas, Lowell 1938-1944
Box 49 Thompson, Clara 1934-1956, undated
Box 49 Thompson, Dorothy 1945
Thompson, Edward K.
See Time, Inc.
Box 49 [J. Walter] Thompson Company 1932-1957
Box 49 Throckmorton, Cleon and Juliet 1931-1967
Time, Inc.
Box 49 1929-1937 (2 folders)
Box 50 1938-1955 (7 folders)
See also Smith, Margaret
Box 51 1956-1971, (8 folders)
Box 52 Tisse, Edouard 1933-1934, undated
Box 52 Train, Arthur 1932, 1942
Box 52 Transcontinental & Western Air, Inc. (TWA) 1935-1941, undated
Treacy, Eleanor
See Time, Inc.
Box 52 Tretiakov, Sergei Mikhailovich and Olga 1931
Box 52 Tudor City 1932-1937, undated
Box 52 Tyrwhitt, Jaqueline 1957
Box 52 U (2 folders)
Box 52 Ulmer, Ernest 1962
Box 52 Union Trust Company 1928-1932, undated
See also Stryker, Roy
Box 52 Unionbild GMBH 1932-1933
Box 52 United Foundation 1950-1951
Box 52 United Nations 1962-1963
Box 52 United Press 1931-1939, undated
See also Kuh, Frederick
Box 52 United States. Department of Labor 1933-1970
Box 52 United States. National Recovery Administration (NRA) 1933-1935
Box 52 United States. Works Progress Administration 1936-1938
Box 52 United States Information Agency 1944-1966
Box 52 United States Information Service 1964-1966, undated
See also Knittel, Robert/Rainer, Luise
Box 52 University of Miami Photojournalism Conference 1958-1959, undated
See also American Society of Magazine Photographers
Box 52 University of Michigan 1928-1971, undated
Box 52 Urey, Harold Clayton 1939
Box 53 V (1 folder)
Box 53 Vacuum Oil Company 1931
Box 53 Valenti, Fernando 1959
Box 53 Van Beuren Corporation 1934-1936
Box 53 Van Dusen, William D. and Hazel 1934-1937, undated
See also Pan American Airways
Box 53 Van Dyke, Willard 1938
Box 53 Van Fleet, James A. 1953
Box 53 Vanity Fair 1931-1935
Box 53 Van Kleeck, Mary 1934-1938
Box 53 Van Sweringen (Union Terminal) 1931-1939
Box 53 Vassos, John and Ruth 1931-1963, undated
Box 53 Vestal, David 1965
Box 53 Viking Press 1930-1939
Box 53 Villard, Oswald Garrison 1932
Box 53 Volunteer Service Photographers, Inc. 1954-1964
Box 53 Vondermuhll, Valerie see Time, Inc.
Box 53 Von Seeckt, Hans 1933
Box 53 Vu 1931-1934
Box 53 W-Wh (3 folders)
Box 54 Wi-Wz (3 folders)
Box 54 WOR 1931-1957, undated
Box 54 Walden Book Shop 1931-1932
Box 54 [Hiram] Walker & Sons, Inc. 1934-1935
Waller, Helen Hiett
See Hiett, Helen
Box 54 Walters, Emile 1935
Box 54 Ward, Henry Baldwin 1937
Box 54 Washington and Lee University 1938-1939
Box 54 Washington assignment 1934-1935
Box 54 Weinberg, Robert Charles 1932
Box 54 Weiss, Julius 1932-1968, undated
Box 54 Wershba, Joe 1963-1969, undated
Box 54 Wertenbaker, Lael Tucker 1963
Box 55 Wertheim, Maurice 1935-1938, undated
Box 55 West Point Manufacturing Co. 1936-1937
Box 55 Western Electric Company 1935-1939, undated
Box 55 Western Union Telegraph Company 1932-1935, undated
Box 55 Weston, Edward 1936, 1960
Box 55 Weston, Harold and Faith 1933-1935, undated
Box 55 Westover, Wendall 1931-1937
Box 55 Weygant, (Sister) M. Noemi 1963-1965
Box 55 White, Cynthia 1935-1944
White, Minnie and Joseph (parents)
See Correspondence-Subject Files: Family.
White, Roger (brother)
See Correspondence-Subject Files: Family.
White, Ruth (sister)
See Correspondence-Subject Files: Family.
Box 55 [Clarence H.] White School of Photography undated
Box 55 [Wm. A.] White & Sons 1934-1936
See also Grimm, Peter
Box 55 White Company Ltd. 1931
Box 55 White House Festival of the Arts 1965
Box 55 Wieman, Regina Westcott 1938-1939
Box 55 Wiley, Louis 1932-1935, undated
Box 55 Wilhelm, Donald 1932-1937, undated
Box 55 Wilkinson, Richard G. 1964, undated
Box 55 Williams, Alford 1936, undated
Box 55 Williams, Gluyas 1937-1939, undated
Box 55 [Alfred N.] Williams Co. 1934
Box 55 Willoughby's 1932-1936
Box 55 Witkin, Lee D. 1970
Box 55 Wolf, Friedrich 1935
Box 55 Woman's Home Companion 1931, 1955
Box 55 Wood, Thomas 1937-1941
Box 55 Wood and Wood 1930-1936, undated
Box 55 Workers Film and Photo League 1933-1934
Box 55 World's Work 1930-1931
Wright, Frank Lloyd
See Taliesin
Box 55 Wright, Russel 1932-1934
Box 55 Wright, Teresa undated
Box 55 Wurlitzer, Rudolph 1929-1938
Box 55 Wurm, Werner 1964
Box 56 Y (1 folder)
Box 56 Yakhontoff, Victor A. 1934-1937
Box 56 Yeomans, Edward 1935, undated
Box 56 Yim, Louise 1963
Box 56 Yolen, Will H. 1953-1963
Box 56 Young and Rubicam 1932-1938
See also Meldrum and Fewsmith, Inc.
Box 56 Young Women's Christian Association 1931-1964
Box 56 Yudewitz, Hyman 1930-1936, undated
Box 56 Z (1 folder)
Box 56 [Carl] Zeiss, Inc. 1937-1958
Box 56 Zonta International 1937, undated
Box 56 Unidentified, incoming (by date)
Box 56 Unidentified, outgoing (by date)
Writings
Articles
Box 57 "And So My Ship Came In" - manuscript draft
Box 57 "Assignments for Publication" - The Complete Photographer Sept. 20, 1941
Box 57 "Assignments for Publication" - The Encyclopedia of Photography 1965
Box 57 "The Best Advise I Ever Had" - Reader's Digest [British Edition] 1957
Box 57 "Bird in Flight" - The Washington Post Jan. 11, 1942
Box 57 "Caldwell Calls Red Soldier Unlike Any Other in History" - PM Oct. 22, 1941
Box 57 "Camel Corps--Syria" - U.S. Camera The Year's Photography Vol. II 1941
Box 57 "A Career in Photography" - manuscript drafts
Box 57 "Challenge to Women" - The Hartford Times guest editorial Nov. 29, 1951
Box 57 "Dust Changes America" - The Nation May 22, 1935
Box 57 "F.D.R. and the Three Blonds" - Introduction - manuscript
Box 57 "Famous Lady's Indomitable Fight" - Life June 22, 1959
Box 57 "Favorite Pictures" - American Society of Magazine Photographers' Picture Annual 1957
Box 57 "I'll Monitor Your Breath" - manuscript drafts
See also Portrait of Myself early drafts-deletions
Box 57 "Introduction for Lens Portfolio" - manuscript draft
Box 57 "The Jesuits in America" - Life Oct. 11, 1954
Box 57 "Margaret Bourke-White in the Lyons Den" - New York Post Aug. 21, 1943
Box 57 "The Nizam Capitulates" - The Star Weekly May 7, 1949
Box 57 "Photographing This World" - The Nation Feb. 19, 1936
Box 57 "Pictures of Czecho-slovakia" - Direction Jan./Feb. 1939
Box 57 "Resourcefulness" - Think Feb. 1948
Box 57 "Shooting from a Whirlibird" - manuscript draft
Box 57 [Six Part Series on Russia] - The New York Times - manuscript drafts 1932 (2 folders)
Box 57 "Spin, Please, Madam Photographer" - manuscript drafts
Box 57 "They Called Me Incurable" - Reader's Digest Oct. 1959
Box 57 "Women in Lifeboats" - Life Feb. 22, 1943
Box 57 "Women in Photography" - Famous Photographers School - manuscript 1964
Box 57 "Words About Pictures" - Infinity June 1958
Box 57 Untitled - "Eight miles straight up ..." - manuscript draft
Box 57 Untitled - "General Notes for Journal-American Article" - manuscript draft
Box 57 Untitled - "In the little known war ..." (Korea) - manuscript draft
Box 57 Untitled - "The life of a photographer ..." - manuscript draft
Box 57 Untitled - "Normally, one bandage ..." (National War Fund) - manuscript draft
Box 57 Untitled - "Photography is a window ..." - manuscript draft
Box 57 Untitled - "When Portrait of Myself came out ..." - manuscript draft 1963
Box 57 Untitled - "Several summers ago ..." - manuscript draft
Box 57 Untitled - "When I remember how I ..." (Van Gogh exhibit) - manuscript draft
Books
Box 58 Dear Fatherland, Rest Quietly" - Chapters 1-18 - manuscript drafts (2 folders)
Box 58 "Dear Fatherland, Rest Quietly" - captions for photo sequences - manuscript
Box 58 "Dear Fatherland, Rest Quietly" - book cover - production records
Box 58 Eyes on Russia - production records
Box 58 Halfway to Freedom - book notes (3 folders)
Box 58 Halfway to Freedom - Introduction-Chapter VII (2 folders)
Box 59 Halfway to Freedom - Chapters VIII-XXVI - manuscript drafts (4 folders)
Box 59 Halfway to Freedom - cover, ads - production records
Box 59 North of the Danube - book notes
Box 59 Portrait of Myself - book notes (2 folders of 4)
Box 60 Portrait of Myself - book notes (2 folders of 4)
Box 60 Portrait of Myself - calendars of travels - manuscript
Box 60 Portrait of Myself - chapter sequences, lists of pictures - manuscript
Box 60 Portrait of Myself - deletions - manuscript drafts (2 folders)
Box 61 Portrait of Myself - Table of Contents, Chapters 1-11 - manuscript drafts (8 folders)
Box 62 Portrait of Myself - Chapters 12-20 - manuscript drafts (8 folders)
Box 63 Portrait of Myself - Chapters 21-28 - manuscript drafts (7 folders)
Box 64 Portrait of Myself - Chapters 29-31, postscript - manuscript drafts (3 folders)
Box 64 A Report on the American Jesuits - book notes
Box 64 A Report on the American Jesuits - "Note by Margaret Bourke-White" - manuscript draft and photo layout
Box 64 Shooting the Russian War - book notes
Box 64 Shooting the Russian War - Introduction-Chapter VI - manuscript drafts (3 folders)
Box 65 Shooting the Russian War - Chapter VII-XVIII, glossary, appendix - manuscript drafts (5 folders)
Box 65 They Called It "Purple Heart Valley" - book notes
Box 65 They Called It "Purple Heart Valley" - Chapters I-III - manuscript drafts
Box 66 They Called It "Purple Heart Valley" - Chapters IV-XIX, "Note About the Author" - manuscript drafts (5 folders)
Box 66 They Called It "Purple Heart Valley" - official censored chapters - manuscript
Box 66 They Called It "Purple Heart Valley" - miscellany
Box 66 You Have Seen Their Faces "Notes On Photographs by Margaret Bourke-White" - manuscript drafts
Interviews
Box 67 Adventurous Careers for Women" - WNEW Radio May 8, 1935
Box 67 "Margaret Bourke-White/Erskine Caldwell" - Counterpoint / Roy Newquist
Box 67 The Proceedings of "Youth Wants to Know" - radio transcript - printed material July 8, 1956
Box 67 "Success Stories"
Box 67 WABC Radio, Gold Medal Flour Program Aug. 31, 1936
Box 67 WLTH Radio Feb. 16, 1933
Box 67 WMCA Radio June 20, 1935
Box 67 WPCH Radio - notes, outline 1933
Box 67 Unknown June 30, 1970
Box 67 Unknown - radio
Lectures
Box 67 "Advice to Embryonic Photographers" - notes July 1937
Box 67 "Behind the Lenses" (Korea) Jan. 13, 1953
Box 67 "Creative Staff Meeting" Feb. 1, 1933
Box 67 Czechoslovakia Sept. 30, 1938
Box 67 "Keynote Speech" - Second Annual Photojournalism Conference
Box 67 Korea speech 1952 - "Transcript of speech by MBW on Korea, Sacramento Cal for use in speech practice", possibly a transcript of one of the recordings in the collection
Box 67 "Lenses Behind the News"
Box 67 N.B.C. Jan. 1932
Box 67 "Opportunities for Young Women in the Field of Photography" - RCA Women's Radio Review June 14, 1934
Box 67 "Photography Changes Perception" - New School for Social Research Mar. 13, 1934
Box 67 "Radio Talk Delivered Over the Chinese International Broadcasting Station at Chungking" 1941
Box 67 Russia Dec. 15, 1932
Box 67 Sacramento lecture 1952 - "Transcript of Sacramento lecture Disc #5 - by MBW", possibly a transcript of one of the recordings in the collection
Box 67 "What Must We Do to Improve the Health and Well-Being of the American People?" - Town Meeting Dec. 8, 1941
Box 67 "Wisconsin Speech"
Box 67 "Women of Achievement"
Box 67 "World of Art" - NBC broadcast Feb. 1954
Box 67 W.O.R. Radio 1931
Box 67 WRNY Radio Jan. 26, 1952
Notes
Box 67 Datebooks 1950, 1954
Box 68 Datebooks 1960
Box 68 Dust storm assignment 1935
Box 68 Exhibitions
Box 68 India
Box 68 Items on loan 1957-1958
Box 68 Japan
Box 68 Japan notebooks
Box 68 Jesuits
Box 68 Korea (2 folders)
Box 69 Korea notebooks (2 folders)
Box 69 Life assignments (various)
Box 69 Life assignments (various) - captions
Box 69 Life assignments - dams
Box 69 Lists and addresses
Box 69 Movies
Box 69 Natural history 1933-1935
Box 69 Parkinson's Disease (2 folders)
Box 69 Photography - technical data
Box 70 Photomurals
Selassie, Haile
See Notes: South Africa
Box 70 South Africa (2 folders)
Box 70 Soviet Union
Box 70 Studio information
Box 70 TV appearances
Box 70 United States
Box 70 World War II - England
Box 70 World War II - Germany
Box 71 World War II - Italy
Box 71 World War II - North Africa Dec. 1942-Jan. 1943
Box 71 World War II (miscellaneous)
Box 71 Miscellaneous (3 folders)
Miscellany
Box 72 Book (unpublished) - typescript (2 folders)
Box 72 Book chapter - Heros for Our Time chapter on Ghandi 1968
Juvenilia
Box 72 "An Ill-treated Individual" - holograph Feb. 28, 1921
Box 72 "The Biography of a Baby Robin" - holograph undated
Box 72 "Continuation School" - typescript undated
Box 72 "In a King's Dwelling Am I" - typescript undated
Box 72 "A Modern Pilgrimage" - holograph Apr. 18, 1921
Box 72 "Teddy", The Oracle, p. 10-12 - typescript 1919
Motion picture
Box 72 "Eyes on Russia" - outlines, captions, narrative, reel sequences - typescript
Box 72 "Eyes on Russia" - notes (holograph), film
Box 72 Clippings
Box 72 Poetry - holograph, typescript
Reviews
Book
Box 72 "Country of Youth", The Nation 1935 - galley proof
Box 72 "Portrait of a Year", The Nation 1935 - typescript
Motion picture
Box 72 "Hell on Earth" undated - typescript
Memorabilia
Financial
Box 73 Banking records 1933-1957 (6 folders)
Box 74 Banking records 1957-1958 (5 folders)
Box 75 Banking records 1962-1971 (2 folders)
Box 75 Bills and receipts 1931-1941 (3 folders)
Box 76 Bills and receipts 1951-1971, undated (3 folders)
Box 76 Employee salaries 1940-1966
Box 76 Expense accounts with Time, Inc. 1936-1956
Box 76 Profit-sharing plan with Time, Inc. 1954-1971
Box 77 Royalty statements 1931-1971
Box 77 Social Security 1966-1969
Box 77 Stocks 1932-1971
Box 77 Studio - bills and receipts 1928-1941, undated
Box 77 Studio - bills and receipts (bound) 1931-1933
Box 77 Studio - office financial records 1934-1937
Box 77 Studio - petty cash receipts 1933-1934 (1 folder of 2)
Box 78 Studio - petty cash receipts 1933-1934 (1 folder of 2)
Box 78 Studio - production and delivery orders 1932-Nov. 1934 (7 folders)
Box 79 Studio - production and delivery orders Nov. 1934-Feb. 1935 (6 folders)
Box 80 Studio - production and delivery orders Feb. 1935-May 1935 (6 folders)
Box 81 Studio - production and delivery orders May. 1935-Aug. 1935 (7 folders)
Box 82 Studio - production and delivery orders Sept. 1935-Apr. 1936 (8 folders)
Box 83 Studio - production and delivery orders May 1936-Oct. 1936, undated (5 folders)
Box 83 Studio - shipping orders and packing slips 1933-1937
Box 83 Studio - statements 1931-1935
Box 83 Taxes (Cleveland) 1931-1932
Box 83 Taxes (New York State sales) 1933-1938
Box 83 Taxes - Income 1931-1956 (3 folders)
Box 84 Taxes - Income 1957-1971 (3 folders)
Box 84 Miscellaneous 1930-1958, 1969
Legal
Box 84 Contracts and agreements - trust with power of attorney 1967-1969
Box 84 Contracts and agreements - misc. 1931-1971
Box 84 Insurance - accident and liability 1930-1971
Box 84 Insurance - auto 1957-1967
Box 84 Insurance - home and property 1932-1971
Insurance - life
Box 84 New York Life Insurance Company 1924-1965
Box 85 Provident Mutual Life Insurance Company of Philadelphia 1937-1957
Box 85 Prudential Insurance Company 1936-1968
Box 85 Ruth White's life insurance 1961
Box 85 Insurance - medical 1952-1966
Box 85 Insurance - miscellaneous 1934-1966 (2 folders)
Box 85 Leases 1932-1959
Box 85 Studio - releases 1931-June 1934
Box 86 Studio - releases July 1934-1936, undated (3 folders)
Box 86 Wills 1964-1968
Box 86 Miscellany 1930-1965
Photographic equipment
See Equipment list
Printed Material
Books
Box 87 The American Annual of Photography 1930
Rare Books
Box 87 Martha's Vineyard - photographs / Alfred Eisenstaedt; text / Henry Beetle Hough 1970 -
Box 87 Pictorial Hyderabad Vol. I / K. Krishnaswamy Mudiraj 1929
Box 87 Pictorial Hyderabad Vol. II / K. Krishnaswamy Mudiraj 1934
Box 87 "Progress" in the Graphic Arts / T. M. Cleland 1950
Box 87 Sechzig Choralgesange von Johann Sebastian Bach 1920
Box 87 Something Is Missing . . . / Arthur Goodfriend 1955
Rare Books
Clippings
M. B-W. General
Box 88 1927-1937 (9 folders)
Box 89 1938-1943 (6 folders)
Box 90 1943-1947 (5 folders)
Box 91 1948-1953 (7 folders)
Box 92 1954-1959 (6 folders)
Box 93 1960-1963 (6 folders)
Box 94 1963-1971,undated (9 folders)
Box 95 India
Box 95 Life (4 folders)
Box 96 PM (2 folders)
Box 96 Soviet Union
Box 96 Miscellaneous (1 folder)
Box 97 Miscellaneous (4 folders)
Exhibition catalogs (miscellaneous)
See Correspondence-Subject Files: Exhibition catalogs (miscellaneous)
Periodicals (by title)
Box 98 A-F (except The Central European Observer) (4 folders)
Oversize 1 The Central European Observer, vol. XVI nos. 25-26, Dec. 16, 1938
Box 99 G-P (5 folders)
Box 100 Q-T (4 folders)
Box 101 U-Z (2 folders)
Miscellany
Box 101 Educational materials
Box 101 Pamphlets - photography
Box 102 Pamphlets - miscellany
Box 102 A-Z (except Memories of Bapu)
Oversize 1 Memories of Bapu
Scrapbooks
Oversize 2 "Album 3 - 'Say' 'Russia' "Jan. 1941-Sept. 1941, 1938 (2 books)
Oversize 3 American Federationist1930-1934, 1942-1945, 1948-1949 (3 books)
Oversize 4 Scrapbooks1933-1934
Oversize 5 "Album 1"1936
Oversize 6 Scrapbooks1936-1938
Oversize 7 "ReBk - Album 2"1937-1938
Miscellany
Box 103 Cards by M. B-W. undated
Oversize 1 Cartoon flats
Box 103 Diary of Victoria Cabrera, M. B-W.'s live-in physical therapist 1954
Oversize 1 Film - 1 reel from American Broadcasting Corporation
Box 103 Filmstrips - 2 Life filmstrips: The Connecticut River; South Africa and Its Problem
Box 103 Identifications and memberships
Oversize 1 Life - exhibition proofs
Oversize 1 Life - mounted clipping - June 28, 1963
Oversize 1 Life - proof pages (color and black & white)
Box 103 Maps A-E
Box 104 Maps E-Z (2 folders)
Box 104 Medallion of Pablo Casals/Bach from Prades Bach festival
Oversize 1 Music / John La Montaine
Oversize 1 Music / "Triolet to a Student of French", words / M. B-W., music / Robert E. Sherwood
Box 104 Name plate (brass) for M. B-W.'s camera in a cloth bag
Oversize 1 Pencil portrait of M. B-W. / Karl E. Johnson
Box 104 Photography - brochures and miscellany
Oversize 1 Photos / Stuart G. Abbey
Box 104 Publicity
Oversize 1 Publicity (overszie)
Box 104 Stenographers' notebooks (3) 1956-1957, 1968
Box 104 Studio - interior design and furnishings
Box 104 Studio - plans
Box 105 Theatre (plays and movies)
Box 105 Vacation places
Box 105 Videotape - Margaret Bourke-White "The Humanitarian Vision" 1984
Oversize 1 War Bonds posters (2)
Box 105 World War II war record
Writings by others
Box 105 Apocalypse / Gordden Link
Box 105 Cameras and Courage - Margaret Bourke-White / Iris Noble 1973
Box 105 M. B-W. Goes to a Party / Franklin E. Brill
Box 105 "We Were There" / Sgt. Jack Delaney
Box 105 Sunday Showcase "Margaret Bourke-White Story" / Joseph Liss 1959
Box 105 Miscellaneous
Photographic Equipment
Item 1: Small leather shoulder carrying case
Contains:
  • 1 C.P. Goerz, Berlin Dopp-Anastigmat Series 1B Celor f=420mm lens No. 211510 with engraved words "Fried Krupp A.G., Essen" on the mount
  • 1 small leather lens case containing 1 Linhof Schneider Kreuznach Tele-xenar lens 1:5, 5/180 No. 2296691
  • 1 soft leather pouch containing a Carl Zeiss Jena lens No. 2561101 Goerz-Dagor 1:9 f=7.5 cm.
  • 1 small round metal Harrison Duraline case containing 1 series VIII Wratten orange filter no. 22.
  • 2 Graphic Model 2 film pack adapters
  • 5 dark slides
  • 1 wooden viewer 5U
  • 1 Schneider-Kreuznach Retina-Longar-Xenon f=4/80 mm lens No. 4309698 in a plastic case
  • 1 small leather filter case containing 1 Franke & Heidecke, Rollei yellow filter
  • Item 2: Small zippered leather carpet bag
    Contains:
  • 1 Carl Zeiss Jena Biotar 1:1.5 f=7.5 cm lens No. 3320918 (lens scratched) in brown soft leather case
  • 1 Nippon Kogaku lens No. 323360
  • 7 adapter rings
  • 2 Wratten series VIII yellow filters K1 and K2
  • 1 Soho wooden lens board
  • Weston Master III Universal exposure meter, model No. 737, No. 2210794 in gray leather case (glass loose)
  • 1 Nippon Kogaku Nikkor Q C 1:3.5 f=13.5 cm. lens No. 257282
  • Item 3: 1 Quick-Set Senior tripod
    Item 4: Black leather suitcase with "Margaret Bourke-White, New York" stencilled across the top
    Item 5: Black camera case "12 Life" stencilled on the front
    Contains:
  • 1 Nikon camera Nippon Kogaku no. 6145898 with W-Nikkor C 1:4 f=2.5 cm lens no. 402979
  • 1 R.O.C. View view camera (wooden) with Bausch & Lomb Rapid Rectilinear 4x5
  • 1 half of a camera case with "M. Bourke-White" stamped on underside
  • Item 6: Black leather suitcase containing flash equipment
    Item 7: Carton
    Contains:
  • 1 Nikon 35mm camera in half leather case, no. 6145141 C 1:4 f=2.8 cm lens no. 342402
  • 1 small leather case containing dark slides
  • 1 tripod attachment
  • 1 Canon model VT 35mm camera, No. 501257 with Canon 35mm f:1.8 lens No. 12895
  • 1 Kodak-Medalist camera with Kodak Ektar 100mm f:3.5 lens No. EE3739
  • 1 rubberized black cloth
  • Item 8: Carton
    Contains:
  • 1 reflector for No. 3 Superflash
  • 1 leather camera case containing: Synchro lens for a Speed Graphic camera, telephoto; Xenar f:5.5 F 27 cm Jos Schneider & Co. Kreuznack No. 295838; Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar 1:4.5 f=14.5cm lens No. 1745899 on Ilex No. 3 Acme Syncro mount #S101-31; Kodak lens hood
  • 1 Canon lens 50mm f=1.8 No. 202135
  • 1 Ilex Paragon Telephoto 9 in. lens f:6.3 No. 9164
  • Assorted filters, lens shades, leather lens bags, camera cords
  • 1 Leica-Meter No. 36719
  • Item 9: Camera case with "Camera, Aircraft Type F:8 15"" stencilled on front
    Contains 1 Keystone Camera, Aircraft, Type F8, focal length 15 in., Contract No. N-288-S10913, Serial No. 3405, with Wollensak 15" f:5.6 telephoto lens No. 423878, 1 viewer in case's pocket along with key to case
    Item 10: Linhof camera D.B.P., APa No. 43808 (bad condition)
    Item 11: Carton
    Contains:
  • 1 Graphic View camera
  • 1 leather shoulder bag containing various hoods, filter holders, small leather Kodak filter holder with 1 yellow filter, box of Wratten filters, electrical cord, 1 Retina-Curtar-Xenon C f:5.6/35mm Schneider- Kreuznach optical finder (made for Kodak) No. 4340397, 1 Carl Zeiss Jena Goerz-Dagor 1:9 f=12.5cm lens No. 2009032, 1 Kodak lens hood box containing viewer and shutter pieces
  • Item 12: Green velvet, 8 compartment lens box
    Contains:
  • 6 lens mounts/shutter assemblies (5 Compur with no ID, 1 Compur ID# 258646)
  • 1 Bausch & Lomb Protar VII Focus 18 7/8 in. lens No. 3236941
  • 3 miscellaneous mounts
  • Item 13: Carton
    Contains:
  • 1 Franklin President Dual film editor
  • Various adaptor rings strung on a rope
  • 1 Kodak Electric-Eye Remote flash unit
  • 1 J.H. Dallmeyer 9" Dallon telephoto lens No. 99979 (corroded)
  • 1 Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar 1:35 f=16.5cm lens No. 1903560 (corroded)
  • 1 Carl Zeiss Jena Goerz-Dagor 1:6.8 f=30cm No. 2075128 with "Fried. Krupp A. G. Essen" engraved on side (corroded)
  • 1 Hugo Meyer & Co., Gorlitz & New York wide angle Aristostigmat 1:6.3 foc. 4 in. lens No. 853289 (corroded)
  • 1 Schneider-Kreuznac Xenar f:3.5 F=12cm lens No. 1410094 on Compur mount No. A055841 (corroded)
  • Item 14: Amigo Motorial camera tripod No. 25832
    Item 15: 1 wooden tripod
    Item 16: 1 corroded camera case containing 1 very corroded Graflex series D view camera
    Item 17: 1 5x7 Deardorff view camera New 450 series (wooden)
    Item 18: 1 Soho Limited view camera with small plaque saying, "M.B.W. From C.E.M. with best wishes 1944" No. M3831
    Item 19: 1 Ilex Paragon Anastegmat f:4.5 E F 51/2 in. series S lens No. 45468
    Recordings
    Dictation discs
    These are small green plastic discs, varying in size, from dictation machine of unknown make and model. Many are clipped to an envelope, perhaps that in which they were originally sent. There are annotations, done by an unknown person, on many of the new archival sleeves. ID numbers for the discs are given in parentheses. For an itemized listing, contact the repository listed above.
    Box 106, Folder 1 (MBW-003 through MBW-018) Miscellaneous (16 items)
    Notes on sleeves include the following words and phrases: early dictating on bk and Italy government, singing disks, Gilbert and Sullivan
    Box 106, Folder 2 (MBW-019 through MBW-026) "Voice and Hand" (8 items)
    Notes on sleeves include the following words and phrases: Sacramento, Jap. Luncheon, May Day riot, Col. Henderson, Prof. [illegible] LA Times, machine gun, one BB, lib paper, Beklerim, grand opening, SAC, children grow up trained [illegible]
    Box 106, Folder 3 (MBW-027 through MBW-032) "Recording flying flitgun[?] & Mission" (6 items)
    Notes on sleeves include the following words and phrases: lecture, SF town hall
    Box 106, Folder 5 (MBW-033 through MBW-060) "Disks for speech practice only and Mr. Kline" (28 items)
    Notes on sleeves include the following words and phrases: notes, speeches, Korea song, to Mrs Barbara Warner, not needed.
    Box 106, Folder 6 (MBW-001; MBW-061 through MBW-093) "Korean discs - Book" 1960-1963 (34 items)
    Notes on sleeves include the following words and phrases: notebook sides A-D, speech, trial, Henry Simon, speech practice before Wisc speech, Life with Father.
    Box 106, Folder 7 (MBW-094 through MBW-108) "Personal letters - ans." 1962-1963, 1968, undated (15 items)
    Notes on sleeves include the following words and phrases: Sacramento disk, Japanese song, happy easter from MBW, for Harriet's nieces, practice read aloud, noteook 8, D.R. Solomon
    Box 106, Folder 8 (MBW-109 through MBW-147) "Daily work on speech" - (39 items)
    Notes on sleeves include the following words and phrases: Wisc speech, speech practice, war between children, speech Mr Carini, speech Mrs Lord and BW together, women guerrillas, Berkeley Women's City Club, BW song to Miki, Fountain A, funny disk with Andres, Los Angeles.
    Box 106, Folder 9 (MBW-148 through MBW-150) Miscellaneous (3 items)
    Two disks are unlabeled and contents unknown; the third is labeled "Wm. Thomas Cleveland 3/8/53"
    Box 106, Folder 10 (MBW-151 through MBW-158) Miscellaneous - includes typed transcripts of some discs (8 items)
    Topics include Bourke-White's involvement with the early days of LIFE magazine, Peggy Smith Sargent, Bourke-White's studio. Some discs appear to be chapters from her book.
    Phonodiscs
    Belfer  Miscellaneous - interviews, speeches, other recordings (77 items)
    Tapes
    Box 107 Brief summary of five of the tapes: Norman Ross, "For Women Only" (2 tapes), San Joaquin Valley Town Hall, Voice of America - source unknown; possibly prepared by processing staff (1 reel-to-reel tape, 7-1/2 ips)
    Box 107 (MBW-002) "Voice of America Joel Alderman" August 1963 (1 reel-to-reel tape, 7-1/2 ips)
    Topics include beginnings of career at Cornell; beauty of industry/machines; on being a woman; inspirations; difficulties in various shoots; emotion in her photos; advice to young people; trends in modern photographic equipment; description of her study; book.
    Box 107 (MBW-159) "possibly Stanford Blank, possibly practice w/Mrs. E." 1965 (1 reel-to-reel tape, 7-1/2 ips)
    Box 107 (MBW-160) "WBKB-TC (Chicago) Norman Ross Show, 12-1:00PM CDT (Margaret Bourke-White)" 9/16/1963 (1 reel-to-reel tape, 7-1/2 ips)
    Topics include MBW childhood and early life; LIFE, Fortune and TIME covers; Parkinson's Disease and therapy.
    Box 107 (MBW-161) "Interview from This is NY with Mrs. [illegible]" 8/26/1957 (1 reel-to-reel tape, 7-1/2 ips)
    Box 107 (MBW-162 (part 1), MBW-163 (part 2)) "For Women Only" parts 1 and 2, hosted by Lillian Ordman 5/12/1963 (2 reel-to-reel tapes, 7-1/2 ips)
    Topics include LIFE cover; awards; how she got started; photographing Stalin; war experiences; General Doolittle; Gandhi.
    Box 107 (MBW-164) "MBW speaking to children - 2 cuts" - case includes notes about transferring to new tape (1 reel-to-reel tape, 7-1/2 ips)
    Box 107 (MBW-165) "Margaret speech therapy tape" 1970 (1 audiocassette)
    Box 107 (MBW-166) "San Joaquin Valley Town Hall series Margaret Bourke-White 7pm" 1/23/1953 (1 reel-to-reel tape, 7-1/2 ips)
    Primary topic is Korean War. Also include MBW singing Korean song (approx. 25 seconds)

    Return to top