Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Frank Bolle Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bolle, Frank
Title: Frank Bolle Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1966-1969
Quantity: 6 linear ft.
Abstract: Original daily and Sunday cartoons from the newspaper comic strip Debbie Deere.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frank Bolle (1924- ) is an American cartoonist and illustrator.

Frank Bolle was born in New York City on June 7, 1924. After service with the U.S. Army Air Forces during World War II, Bolle attended the Pratt Institute, graduating with honors. His initial professional work included illustrating westerns, science fiction comics and adventure stories for Magazine Enterprises, Western Publishing, Boys' Life and others. Bolle also worked on a number of newspaper comic strips over the course of his prolific career. Debbie Deere may have been his first high profile newspaper feature, but it was short-lived (1966-1969). Subsequently, Bolle has left his mark on many prominent newspaper strips, including The Heart of Juliet Jones (1982-1999), Winnie Winkle (1983-2003) and Apartment 3-G (1999- ). Frank Bolle was recognized with an Inkpot Award at the 2003 San Diego Comic-Con, in recognition of his lifetime of achievement in comics.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frank Bolle Cartoons collection contains 953 original daily cartoons and 113 original Sunday cartoons from the newspaper comic strip Debbie Deere (1966-1969). Daily cartoon: traces of graphite, opaque white, pasteovers, brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 7 x 19 in. Sunday cartoon: traces of graphite, opaque white, pasteovers, brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 15 ½ x 21 ½ in.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Daily and Sunday cartoons are arranged separately in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bolle, Frank.

Corporate Bodies

McNaught Syndicate.

Associated Titles

Debbie Deere (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frank Bolle Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Frank Bolle, 1967-1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 17 Oct 2008
Revision history: 17 Oct 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 10 Apr 2009 - revised (MD)

Return to top

Inventory

Debbie Deere (1,066)
Click here for detailed inventory.
Daily cartoons (953)
Box 1 1966 May - 1966 Oct
Box 2 1966 Nov - 1967 Mar
Box 3 1967 Apr - 1967 Sep
Box 4 1967 Oct - 1968 Apr
Box 5 1968 May - 1968 Nov
Box 6 1968 Dec - 1969 Aug
Sunday cartoons (113)
Oversize 1 1966 Jun - 1967 Jun
Oversize 2 1967 Jul - 1968 Aug

Return to top